Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 386ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Reverse

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A Sad Little course

1    6/12/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 18 Holes. Concrete Pads.
Cons: Poorly maintained/vandalized. Holes are crammed together. Poor flow from hole to hole. Could not find a couple of holes due to no signage, confused layout. Right next to two major roads.
Other Thoughts: This is a sad little course. They tried to cram 18 holes into too small a space and it does not work. It needs some serious upkeep and upgrades. I would rather drive a few extra miles to have a better experience.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots
Lots of easy/wide open shots
lots of trashcans
Very easy to navigate from hole to hole
Good park location
Putt practice hole
Cons: The baskets seem kind of outdated- I hit the chains a lot and my disc didnt stay in.
Could lose a disc pretty easily if youre not carful
Other Thoughts: Really likes that the disc had plenty of room to be thrown but you had to have them end up in good places. (hole nine is a good example) Other times small windows had to be hit early in flight then it opens up. It was nice to have to make the adjustments needed for each shot.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place

2-4    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Bathroom
Decent flow from hole to hole
Good mix of mid and long holes
Hole 17 has alt basket
Has bonus hole 19 hidden in the woods (May be missing )
Two parking lots
Very hard to lose a disc
Tees are in great shape
Good after rain
Cons: No water fountains
Some holes are too close, watch for stray discs
Very flat, could use some elevation
Can get EXTREMELY busy on weekends
Signs are vandalized
Other Thoughts: I really like this place a lot, its straight forward and easy to follow and most holes allow you to throw any line you want and its rather difficult to lose a disc. Hole 16 is a great great hole, do not be scared to throw over it! The alt holes are great but they can be a little hard to find on your first time out.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth playing

2-4    12/15/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Interesting variety of long and short holes. Well maintained and cleaner than most. Challenging enough for advanced players, yet playable enough for beginners.
Cons: Located within some quite busy roads. Although it is well maintained and overall clean, it's just not the most beautiful course you'll play.
Other Thoughts: Don't be scared of #16 (or whatever the hole that plays over the rather large creek). Just let it fly and you'll be fine. This hole is one of my favorites in the DFW metroplex.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/15/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: gregbrowning
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun enough with lots of open holes. Discs that find their way off the fairway are usually easy to find, as the shule is not terribly thick or deep in most places.
Cons: Not a big challenge for most players. It is mostly a pitch & putt course except for a couple of holes.

Definitely shows its age, which is not surprising, as this course gets tons of traffic, and can be very busy at times.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate basket placements which makes the course more challenging by adding a little distance and a couple holes with the baskets on a steep slope within the trees.
Hole #9 is one of these that benefits from the change and is my personal favorite despite the parking lot on the left side of the fairway that diminishes the aesthetics of the course a bit.
Lots of birdie chances.
Hole #8 sits beside #1 so you can play 8-18 first and finish 1-7 to avoid possible crowding plus there is a port-a-potty there too in case a pit stop is needed.
Cons: More poison ivy than I remembered so stay out of the trees if you can help it. There was no wind today which made it a sweat box once it got around 9:00 a.m. Other times there is too much wind so it seems this course is never just right weather-wise.
Other Thoughts: This course may zig-zag a bit but it's unavoidable due to the limited space which also makes this inner-city spot a quick and fun 18. Every disc golfer in the DFW area should play this course IMO.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, Variety of holes, some good for the forehand throwers and some good for the back hand throwers. As well as some nice opportunities for birdies.
Cons: They some times move the holes, When they do you can't always see them and the set up shots get risky as there is a creek that runs behind most of the moved holes. It also makes it harder to track my progress. when the holes are moved it can add as many as 6 strokes if your still new.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a really nice course to learn on. You can really open up your drives on a number of holes with out risk of losing a disc. It will just take a better approach shot to make up for it. Plays well, Just remember that hole 2's tee pad is back by the basketball courts and otherwise it navigates fairly easily.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/31/2007   6/3/2011
Review By: ezyrider
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for working mid distance drives with accuracy. This was my home course for six years while living in Dallas.
Cons: Course is heavily played. Afternoon rounds can be slow.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that can be played quickly if pressed for time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    5/1/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: ClayParrot
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course and it is very close to my home. It plays quickly ~1.25 hours at a leisurely pace. There are multiple pin placements at holes 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15 (1 short, 2 long), 17, & 18. Usually the pin placements are a mix of long and short. This is a well maintained mix use public park, but it is predominately a park for disc golf. A good mix of open/semi-open holes, long and short, and many baskets are well protected tucked into the edge of woods (or even deeper in long positions). If I could give this course a 3.75 I would, but it gets the higher tick because it is my home course. (UPDATE, after playing numerous other courses, I have downgraded my rating to 3.5, though I still love the course).

Great course for beginners thru advanced intermediate, but I suspect that true pros wouldn't care to much for it.
Cons: Wind can be a real problem on the front 7 (& 16) due to it's mostly open nature. Can be a bit crowded due to its popularity, but that is also a good thing, isn't it? Too many people litter (I'm always picking up quite a bit of trash) even though there are plenty of rubbish bins.

Like others have mentioned before me, busy streets to the south (Walnut Hill) and west (Plano Rd).
Other Thoughts: A very friendly regular crowd plays here often, discs are sold pretty regularly on weekends, I have had a disc returned by someone that found it a day later (always put your name and number on your disk!).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    1/17/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good small course. I aced hole 8 with my TeeRex. So I will be remembering this course. It has a good mix of long and short holes. One of the best courses I have played in such an urban environment.
Cons: There are a lot of people that play the course. I felt rushed and slowed at the same time. It is kinda hard to find the flow of the baskets toward the last 4 or 5.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a good course to play if you are nearby.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.