Dallas, TX 
B. B. Owen Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #17 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Fairway #17



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Quick and challenging

5+    7/20/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: rocnroll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park flows very nicely. Good combination of big arm and tecnical shots that keep me coming back for more. Always a good golf experience-even for those who have never thrown.
Cons: Sometimes there can be lots of traffic on the course. Go early. Especially on the weekends. There are two busy streets near the course.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here. The minis are run very well and the payouts are great. The course is challenging for almost any skill level. Combine that with the friendly crowd and it's always worth coming back to.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ole BB

5+    5/28/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that challenges everyone. There are lots of different lines to most of the holes that make it fun for everyone. Not tons of trees but just enough to make you think about your shot and then execute it. The wind can get you and its always windy. There arent any really long hole but there are some that are 375ish so they make you have to test your accuracy, especially when pins are in long position. All tees are concrete and the baskets catch very well. Great course that doesnt really favor any one particular throwing style which gives anyone a chance at throwing a great round!
Cons: Some of the signs are worndown but still not too hard to follow. Can get REALLY busy on the weekends!!! Thugs comes out at night, or close to it.
Other Thoughts: Mini on the weekends, and a great "medium" course that is not too hard for rookies and not too easy for pro/adv players!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Dallas Course

5+    3/10/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the greatest varieties of holes I have ever seen on a course. Many open fairways but pin placements near trees allow you to drive with power, and then approach and putt with accuracy.
Cons: Signs are old, but don't really make it hard to find your way around the course.
Always windy. At its best it is calm, but bring your discs that do well in the wind, especially on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in all of Dallas. As a novice player of seven years, it always provides a challenge, but not so much that it is frustrating.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great course! Great location!

5+    4/28/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: plitzel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of wooded and open holes. Great mix of hyzer/anhyzer shots. Not too easy to lose a disc. Hole 16 throws over a storm drain, great hole! most holes offer elevation change. PLENTY of parking on back half... which is not far from hole 1. nice shade on back half... Texas get really hot in the summer i'm sure you know.
Cons: After a rain this course becomes very muddy, I know they are working on this though (putting mulch on the really muddy holes)
Other Thoughts: 17's alternate needs to come back. I enjoy it more than the real 17!! I think the graffiti offers a nice feel to the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Agnes Moffitt of Dallas

1    4/16/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Practice basket and info board at the main parking lot. Good sized concrete tee pads on all holes. Double chain baskets with numbers on top still in playable shape but showing their age. Decent elevation changes, some of which are even noted on the tee signs. No significant water in which to lose a disc. There are a lot of birdie opportunities if you can throw well off the tee. Relatively compact course allows for quick play. Navigation of the course with a map is very easy.
Cons:
Poor balance of shots. This is a big time lefty friendly course. For a RHBH player almost every hole either straight or an anyhzer shot; the only real RHBH hyzers are #12 and #17. Several tee signs were missing and most had been vandalized to the point of almost being unreadable. They look like they used to be nice. Some of the quoted distances on the tee signs are no longer accurate. The multiple pins have no indicator on the tee sign to let you know which position is active. The off-fairway brambles are very thick and sharp. Poison ivy is present. The Mando on #9 could be clarified with the word "Mando" printed on the marker. The transitions from #7 to #8 to #9 are not obvious, #15 to #16 might be a little tricky.
Other Thoughts:
This looks to be a pretty popular course as most holes were filled with players when I was there. However, as dusk approached the course emptied really fast giving me the feeling this was not a course to be at when the sun was setting. I read that the pins change frequently; that can be a pro or con depending on your preference. #9 was the signature hole in my opinion. I suggest parking in the side lot (by #9/#10); that way you can start your round on the short #10 and finish on the really cool #9.

I enjoyed my round at this course a lot and as Steve says it compares well to Agnes Moffitt in Houston. Not very difficult but still a fun course to play and filled with lots of locals. I would definitely play this course again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Staple

1    4/10/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Unlearn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think most people that live around the northern part of Dallas know this course, whether you play or not. I just started playing a few months ago but this was probably the only course in Dallas I knew of. When I played it, it was different than I expected, the play was comfortable and challenging. It is not in the greatest neighborhood but, I didn't feel any danger. There were even some car keys that had been lost on the course hanging on the board. Hole 1 starts out cool with a creek crossing and a tunnel of trees that lead into the open.
Cons: Most of the signs were very aged and hard or impossible to read. I will agree with a previous review that the distances felt off. The traffic can be a problem, I felt very timid to grip it and rip it on the holes next to the road because of that.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good well maintained older course, and if you live in Dallas and play, and have never played this course, you have to re-evaluate what you are doing:) Great fun, Check it out!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An oldie but a goodie.

1    3/15/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The concrete tees were big and wide enough for any step and launch. This is a course truly designed around pin position - it may get confusing, but I think the designer sacrificed some course flow to let the player enjoy a quality pin location.

I had read about the safety issues on this course, but the people on the course were friendly and helpful when I lost my way. I would take my kid to this course.

Hole distances are varied, and some holes force a player out of their comfort zone to conform to a certain shot. There are also a fair amount of "grip it and rip it" holes for people who want to test out their fancy new distance drivers.

BEST HOLE/S: #16; #17; #18
Cons: B.B. Owens has a nice course layout, though a bit confusing for first time players. An example is heading back over the bridge to hole 8, or realizing I'm playing hole 17 and not hole seven because I can't find a sign anywhere to tell me otherwise.

The graffiti is bad, and yes - I'm sure the area of it's in isn't great, but I never once felt unsafe. The wear and tear is immediately apparent when looking at the hole signs, which were worn or simply non-existent. The baskets, although certainly still playable, also show their age.

Someone needs to take a laser and mark off hole distances, because I certainly didn't trust the signs. (This con has been remedied since the original review, so if you want accurate yardage, you'll have to print it off this site.)

Parking is limited, so be prepared to park on the north side by hole nine rather than hole one on a busy day. (This can be a plus, since some would prefer starting the more impressive back nine first.)

WORST HOLE/S: #12; #14
Other Thoughts: I would compare B.B. Owens to my home course, Anges Moffitt, in Houston. It's an established, well-used course in a not so great area. It's been around the block, and probably, much like Moffitt, has a faithful group of followers that play it over the newer courses in the area. You can tell by the concrete stumps in different areas that used to house pins, that this is a course that has seen many transformations over the past decade and a half. And, amidst it all, you just can't help but enjoy every hole of it.

This course capped a five course day marathon for me, and yet it's held it's own (in my opinion) to both Harry Myers in Rockwall and Towne Lake, the new course in McKinney. It wasn't as fancy, and I did get tired of the faded graffiti filled yardage signs, but I still couldn't help smiling at the creek drop offs, dog-legs, and nicely wooded 17th and 18th holes. If I'm ever back in the Dallas area enjoy some golf, I would definitely come back to B.B. Owens for a solid 18.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a fun-n-fast round

5+    8/17/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-maintained park - mowed regularly, trash cans emptied often, 2 port-o-johns near the well-lit parking lot.

The course is 75% open and offers a lot of slight elevation changes, with a few steep spots around the baskets to add some difficulty. For the most part, it isn't a very challenging course...but there is a good amount of variety in type of shot and distance. Most of the holes are easily birdieable, but there are few long ones for the big arms. Looking at the park itself, you wouldn't think it could house an interesting disc golf course, but whoever designed it did a good job of using the available land. Holes 1 and 9 (long pin position) are both pretty interesting - Hole 1 has a low/tight ceiling you have to clear right off the tee, and Hole 9 has a mando tree on the left, thick woods on the right, and a basket set downhill inside the edge of the woods. Also, hole 16 plays over a large concrete drainage ditch to a basket perched below a large tree...not the most aesthetically pleasing hole, but fun nonetheless. The locals are good about moving the basket locations every few weeks to keep things interesting.

There are always plenty of people playing, so if you like playing impromptu doubles matches or cash rounds...this is the place to go. I used to stop by every night on my way home from work, and 90% of the time I could find a group fo 5 or more to play a ca$h round with.
Cons: All of the holes have concrete tees and signs, but they could use some regular upkeep. Some of the tee pads are cracking and the signs have a little grafitti.

The biggest complaint I hear about BB Owens is the neighborhood it's in. The course is bordered by 3 pretty busy streets with well-lit parking lots all around...so safety really isn't an issue, but sometimes you'll see a few shady looking guys hanging out in the parking lot. I used to play night golf here a lot and never had a single problem, but some people might feel a bit uncomfortable.

Also, this isnt' really a con in my books, but people should be aware: a homeless gentleman lives under the bridge between 8 and 9. He typically keeps to himself, but you might have to wait on him while he crosses your fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course gets a bad rap around the DFW...mainly because there are so many other courses that are of a higher caliber that none of the "big guys" in the metroplex really play BB Owen. Personally, I find it very fun, it's centrally located (right off the highway), and you can always find people to play with.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/10/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: itskinnan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By far one my favorite courses in Dallas. Easy to get to and very fun to play at. This park is regularly maintained and cared for. The pins are moved every few weeks to spice things up a bit if you play there often. Short walks inbetween holes makes for a convenient and quick game.
Cons: Lots of woods. Lost many discs. Have also found many discs while looking for mine. A few holes are right next to a busy road. I have hit a truck before on a disc drive. Luckily they did not know what hit them and did not turn around. Its not the greatest of neighborhoods so you wanna try and keep your discs in the park. Also theres a group of about 15 to 25 guys that go there every day and chat and hang out near the first tee in the summer and they act like they own the place. If they are playing behind you then keep your eyes peeled for discs flying at you. They will play right into you with no warning.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park on a hot day...

1    8/9/2008   8/11/2008
Review By: Profesor Bato
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: quick, enclosed park; some fun holes over a creek, with a couple on the edge of a creek bed. Easily accessible in the northern part of Dallas; baskets on good shape
Cons: some of the tees are beginning to show their wear and age; some signs missing, particularly on the latter holes

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.