Nacogdoches, TX 
Pecan Acres Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #13 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Pecan Park

5+    4/2/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: Choade
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great, wide open course. Some long straight holes as well as challenging shorter ones but always a good place to get a good game in.
Cons: Long and short par 3's, wish they offered some par 2's and par 4's. Sometimes the tee boxes get a little nasty and it would help if the markers for each hole/tee box were updated...or even there.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course in a Pecan Orchard

5+    3/25/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: 4th Rock
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful and well-maintained course that lies on the floodplain of LaNana Creek. This course also plays under an old pecan tree orchard that houses upwards of 30-4o very large pecan trees that bear quite a good harvest of nuts every year. If you need a snack and forgot one, don't worry; pecans are everywhere. In the growing season even the squirrels can't eat them all, so plenty of fresh pecans can be found. A thick-rimmed driver like a Champion Boss makes for a great nut cracker.

- As previously mentioned, this course is lightly wooded with well maintained fairways. The pecan trees do not branch out until about 15 feet up, so the trunks of the trees are the only obstacles present normally,

- Very open course comprised 60% of holes less than 350 feet. Hole 2 is a massive 500 footer, with holes 3,4,11,16 and 18 coming in at a tad over or around 400 feet, so there is plenty of room to air out the long arm.

-An old, almost 100 year old truss bridge now resides in the park and has become quite the obstacle for holes 8 and 9. Interesting scenery and historical object of Nacogdoches county.

Cons: -Thick vegetation will be found if a disc leaves the fairways. It would be ill-advised to play with a green colored disc. The forest likes to eat those the most.

-Poison ivy is out in the thickly vegetated areas, so be careful if you are susceptible to that kind of chemical warfare. Roomate played that course and git into it a lot, and ended up with a serious infection after the chemical agents got inside a laceration on his leg. Walking around with a itchy black/blue leg that looks like it's about to fall off any moment is no fun, according to him. I'll take his word for it.

-The course lies in a floodplain, so after rain events portions of #2, 12,13 and 15 will be saturated or inundated with water. Don't play in your Air Jordans, they will leave the course as Muddy-Soggy Jordans.

-This course shares space with a park, so other park patrons will often be unwittingly in your way at the worst time and will set up shop in the fairways. Not a bag deal, just irritating. Most of them know the course is there and will make room, but some are woefully ignorant of disc golfers.

-Earthen teeboxes. These can get terrible after a rain event, but as with everything else, the costs of putting in better options can get high.

-Course navigation is nonexistent.
Other Thoughts: Pretty fun course to play in your down time , but not one I'd make a special trip for, like the awesome Lake Nacogdoches. I play this course the most, mainly because i live a stones throw away from it.

This place gets a lot of traffic from university students, families, joggers, walker, bikers, rugby players, and almost everything else you could think of, so be mindful when you are playing a round that you may( will) not be the only one there. Unless you play in the morning or in the late evening, you are bound to run into somebody.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/9/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When compared to the other two courses in the area this course is definitely in the best shape. The grass seems like it is cut frequently and the area just has a clean feeling.
The obstacles of the course are huge pecan trees thrown throughout the course. The trees dictate what kind of shot the thrower will have to take since there are multiple per hole. No hole is a straight shot.
This course has a few unique holes like #14 that plays almost like an island over a creek. Water comes into play on the course but it is not bad enough to lose a disc; you will just lose a stroke.
This could be a pro or a con, I think of it more as a pro, but Pecan Acres is the easiest of the three parks in the area. It is also the most centrally located which makes for an easy trip and an easy time playing.
Cons: The theme for the cons of Nacogdoches courses are present at Pecan as well.
The tee pads are red dirt and gravel. They are not great and could be improved easily.
There is also a lack of tee signs on some holes or directions to the next hole. Here at Pecan this may not be a huge problem as navigation is not a big problem but it can still be annoying.
With the few unique holes come a lot of repetitive shots throughout the pecan trees. When it come to holes that stick out in my memory 10,11,14,15 all come to mind but the others are blurred together because they felt so similar.
Other Thoughts: Like mentioned previously, this is a course for the beginners of the area. It is by no means a typical "pitch and putt" course. It is still a 6000~ foot course that demands distance off the tee.
When coming in from out of town this course was almost an after thought but I was pleasantly surprised by what this course had to offer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pecan = enjoyable

5+    1/28/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Pecan Park offers a beautiful setting for someone wanting to enjoy a fun round of disc golf! The course is easy enough to attract new players but still offers enough challenge for Adv and Pro players.

2) The course was updated in 2012 with new Discatcher Pro baskets which were a noticable step up from the previous single-chained baskets.

3) The course has a good mix of distances with plenty of holes under 300ft but some newly lengthened pins moving the number of 400ft+ holes to 5.

4) Pecan Trees! This course has a unique ambiance with plenty of shot options available through the well defined lanes in the old pecan orchard.. The tree trunks are very large but you will rarely find a low hanging limb on these mature trees to impede your shot.

According to past PDGA events a 1000 rated round at Pecan is right at -7 (in a tournament). Plenty of opportunities to birdie but also a few areas to find water (7,8,14,16)


Cons: The dirt teeboxes are not in the best condition and can get fairly slick.

There are very few holes that require a right handed player to throw an anhyzer shot. Basically the course can be shredded with a bunch of hyzers.

Along those lines if a player is putting well they can easily shoot a hot score even if they are throwing poor drives. This stems from the fact that it is easy to get an open putt on pretty much every hole without a "great shot".

The course layout can be hard to follow for many players if they have not played the course before.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to play a beautiful park that won't be too punishing to your game Pecan park is a perfect place to play and in the "Oldest Town in Texas"

The course receives a lot of use from joggers/bikers along with young children on the playground so just be aware of your surroundings when throwing!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety is the Spice!

1    4/4/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of players can enjoy the course, playing a variety of shots, on a variety of elevation and obstacles! My beginner wife and I (Sr GM) had a lot of fun on this course. There are a mixture of open, treed, uphill and downhill, ditches to cross, long and short holes to play. A rest room is available. The course is in a scenic pecan orchard with plenty of shade. On most holes there are several lines you can play, and risk v. reward shots are optional on many holes. I really thought the basket placements were well-planned and a definite plus. The placement could make an seemingly easy hole more challenging for sure. Parking is very adequate, even when competing with SFA students. Steve at Old Town General Store on Main Street was really helpful, and you can buy discs there as well. He gave us a much-appreciated map, and invited me back for the Nacogdoches Open coming up. If he is representative of the DG'ers in Nacogdoches, you guys are doing things right. Plus you can get some great food at OTGS.
Cons: Had we not been given a map, we would have had a bit of a struggle doing the course from the signage in place now. A map on the Nacogdoches Crushers website, as is present for Pioneer and Lake Nacogdoches, would be very helpful. We went the morning after a heavy rain, and our shoes got pretty wet. So, if the course had a recent rain, wear waterproof or be prepared for wet feet from standing water. Those are my only two cons.
Other Thoughts: Nacogdoches has three courses, and Pecan may be the easiest. Pioneer is harder I'm told, and Lake Nacogdoches is getting a really great reputation if you are looking for a challenge. So Nacogdoches has something for everyone. I think you could make a DG weekend there and leave very happy.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Never a bad round

5+    10/30/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of opportunities for great shots. This park has at least one or two holes for everyone. A couple of long bombers, places for you to work shots around trees, water hazards on a few holes to test your skill and shorter holes to tempt you to try for an ace. Good basket placement among the trees in the middle of park. A mostly flat, easy to play, extremely fun course.
Cons: If you're a local, learning the course is easy, but signage would be extremely helpful for out-of-towners and first-timers, especially since a few of the holes were changed before the last Pecan Park Open.
If your disc goes into the water on holes 14 or 16, you'll more than likely be able to find it, but the "cleanliness" of that water is questionable at best on some days.
During little league seasons, some parents have claimed the park as their practice field, making holes 1, 3 and 5 unplayable in the late afternoon on practice days. There's also a group of college students who've taken to playing soccer in the middle of the fairway on 18.
Lastly, the people who live behind the number 12 teebox could stand to clean their kennel a bit more regularly.
Other Thoughts: Regardless of anyone's list of 'Cons' (including mine), you'll have a great time at this course. Even if you're having a rough day, there's always at least one hole where you'll make a great shot that will make up for it.
Pecan Park fits well in Nacogdoches' trio of courses. Newer players will find it an enjoyable place to begin playing, and larger-sized players will find the terrain easier to navigate than the up/down hiking treks of the Lake and the front 9 at Pioneer.
Keep a Whippet, a Predator or something similar in stability in your bag for your drive on hole 10. A good spike hyzer from the teebox can shave off a stoke on that one.
Pecan is also the best spot in town for a round of night golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Alum Coming Home

2-4    11/28/2009   5/30/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course, well kept up.
Good use of pecan orchard and several creeks. Not a lot of trash which is a plus for me.
Cons: A little difficult to navigate course as signs are not the best.
Mostly flat and no real "wow" holes for me.
Other Thoughts: I am an Alum for Stephen F Austin and wished this course was around then as would have kept me out of trouble. I really enjoyed course. Better signage and would rate higher. Of course I'm sure alot better now then when I last played. It is on my list to replay some day.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but Fun

1    2/26/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a fun course set in a beautiful old Pecan Orchard. Very busy area with the college being right across the street.

Some of the holes need new signage, from what some locals told me the disc club is doing some renovations and changing up some of the holes.

Course has some difficult holes but also has some ace runs, which I always enjoy, seeing as how I am still searching for that elusive first Ace!!!

Some sweet SFA eye candy running around the park!!!!!!
Cons: Very busy, you have to watch out for Peds and you will definitley have to deal with some ignorant people that try to set up a picnic right in front of a basket.

Single chain baskets.... Not my favorite but not a round killer.

Some holes have been changed, so updated signage should be coming soon.

5.0 Alert!!!! Tons of police and school police roaming the area. Not really any secluded areas to kick back and "relax".
Other Thoughts: I would definitley play this course again, fun and quick round. My home courses are Lindsey park in Tyler, but a 1 hour drive to Nac is worth it for this course and a challenging round over at the Lake!!!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/17/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A lot of good open shots. There are a few long holes and a few that have some good tree coverage you have to throw around.
Cons: Old baskets, a lot of walkers and other pedestrians you have to watch out for, signage and directions to other tee boxes could be improved. Nothing real major though.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/27/2004   6/27/2010
Review By: jubbub
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Peaceful setting runs along a wide creek, and through a Pecan Orchard. Most holes are wide open with the occasional tree in the way. If not careful, hole #2, the creek will eat up and swallow your discs.
Cons: Active park with running and biking trial cutting thorugh some of the holes, so watch out for the moving obstacles
Other Thoughts: Was my favorite course in East Texas until I moved!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center