Nacogdoches, TX 
Pecan Acres Park Share
Uploaded By: chalos13 Hole #12 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Cute course that lacks creativity

1    5/30/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: princesabin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean, friendly players, plenty of room to throw hard.

IMO, this course is nicer than Pioneer Park. Its cleaner and while significantly easier, its because the course is straight forward. It doesn't have very much elevation, but that's ok. Free to play, so nice after being used to San Diego's Morley Field.
Cons: No creativity with holes. Almost all the holes feel the same. Tee boxes are not well marked, but the course overall is pretty well marked for a free course.

Other Thoughts: Solid beginner course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: creeper78
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course. Wide range of shots from longer drives to shorter technical shots. Players were extremely friendly and willing to help direct us to the correct tee.
Cons: Originally, there had been some holes w/o proper signage on the tees, but that has since been cleaned up. Last time, the only one I noticed is that the tee for 17 still showed a 9. Otherwise, the all had been updated. There is still some construction equipment on one of the holes, but we were still able to play it.
Other Thoughts: Good course once you figure out where to go. Has lots of open space around tee #2 to practice driving, especially if you're someone who can throw those longer drives (which I am not). Was dry on the above date, but I can see how a couple of holes would be difficult to play for a few days after a decent rain. I'll definitely become a regular at this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/10/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: SparX
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a lot of technical shots that really test your short-game/mid-range. There are a few holes that have decent drives that really test your range. There is a good mix of par 3 and 4. The scenery is great. There is hardly anywhere in the park you could loose a disc.
Cons: There is some construction going on that hinders a few of the fairways. A few of the baskets are located in overgrown areas and if you don't know what you are looking for it could be confusing. A few of the baskets are too close together, and could make for a confusing drive.
Other Thoughts: You pretty much get a feel for the course on the first drive, it is a monster drive- par 4. i can always tell how my day is going to go from that first hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    1/9/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love both this and its crosstown brother because together they bring together just about anything that you would want. This course is set in an old pecan orchard and plays through it which makes the scenery excellent. There is a good mix of shots ranging from open shots to some technical shots although not to technical. You also have the chance to throw just about any other type of shot that you might have in your bag and many times you will see different lines being used by others on your card. This course can be enjoyed by both the rec/int players along with the adv/pro. The baskets are in pretty good shape even though they are older and still catch very well. The little elevation that is here is used well and there isnt too many places to lose plastic.
Cons: The teepads could be upkept a little better but thats what you get with natural teepads and the amount of use that they get. This course can get very busy but never too bad. There are some soggy spots that find this course after a rain but not horrible.
Other Thoughts: This course has a high fun factor for all these reasons and should be visited any chance that you get. I havent played thier tourney in 2 years but the past years I did it was great times and I look forward to getting back real soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Orchard

2-4    12/17/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: disc4life
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As has been said before: beautiful setting in an old, mature Pecan Orchard. The Course starts and finishes at the parking lot. It is a safe park, with the parking lot on a fairly busy street by the college (SFA), so your car is rather safe.

Most holes are open, even when you get into the orchard, so it's a good course if you want to learn, or brush up on, a power drive. Heck, if it bores you and you want to get crazy, make up your own mondos and see if you can weave your disc in and out of the pecan trees (set up in grid pattern)..

There are a few mondos that might (I emphasize might) make you step up your game. The mondo signs/markings could be better defined/highlighted though.
Cons: As has been said before: the park can get busy, but the people are friendly; if you want time your game when people won't be there (school hours, late morning / early afternoon).

There are minimum bathroom facilities (I couldn't find any -- they may be around the play area and not near the disc golf course), but plenty of corners and trees if you must...

Baskets need a fresh coat of paint on the top blaze and numbers. Several signs are missing, but many of the next tee pads are so obvious it is hard to miss (2 or 3 can be confusing).

The tee pads are dirt (filthy, East Texas red clay/dirt) and pea gravel, and tend to not get filled in regularly, so there's a ditch or a puddle of water/mud in the middle of them if it recently rained... Seriously though, don't wear anything you won't want red dirt on, especially if you go into a creek ditch for a disc.

The park is in a flood plain, so water tends to stand for days after a rain, especially in winter when nothing is soaking it up. The back holes (15 - 18) stay wet the longest and will be marshy for DAYS after a good rain. This isn't as bad as the neighboring disc golf course at Pioneer Park, though, where you might have to forfeit playing 6 or 7 holes.

Most holes are very open: they use the pecan trees often, but most shots are more distance/power intensive than technical.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to do anything about being in the lowlands, but If the local club, or whatever they are, would get the money for new signs, basket paint (maybe some chains?), and either keep the tee pads groomed or slowly replace them all with concrete, the course would be much better.

Hole 9 has the sharpest dogleg/hook (left) I've ever seen; it is also common to land in hole 10 fairway on this drive. In fact, holes 8 - 11 are crammed into a corner.. kind of sucks, but I guess they worked with the space they had. It makes for a couple technical shots, though.

Hole 11 has a crazy-cool double-mondo shot between two trees.

The long, open holes might get monotonous to some (and indeed would for me if I lived in Nacogdoches), but I enjoy the chance to bomb a lot (most holes at my home courses are tight/wooded). Besides, that's what traveling disc golf is all about: seeing how other places utilize the land they have. And as far as that goes, I give Pecan a thumbs up: might not become a favorite or an out-of-the-way stop, but if you are: close, have the time, and weather permits, you won't regret spending a couple hours.

And if it's that time of year, take a sack and pick up pecans all you want. Hope this helps.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/23/2008   8/23/2009
Review By: tylaj04
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awesome scenery any time of year, great park with not too many pedestrians in the way of the holes. Easy to follow layout. Good variety of holes... long, short, easy, hard, straight, crooked, open, tree-infested....
Cons: Low lying areas get really muddy after a big rain. Some poison ivy around the edges. Plenty of ways to lose a disc.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Me and the squirrels

1    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. freshly mowed greens. extremely peaceful setting. Mature pecan trees with little to no low hanging branches set up in a grid with perfect spacing, resulting in multiple paths to the basket on most holes. A creek in play with a couple of baskets making use of it quite well. Numbers are visible enough to be able to read it. Tee signs with terrain detail and pin location and when 2 baskets are visible the tee sign will have them both numbered so you will not waste any time re-shooting your tee shot. Design makes good use of space, terrain and what little elevation is available. Hole 1 and 18 are both by the parking lot. Good course to teach or learn on without having to sacrifice overall quality, instead of the typical mostly flat and open city park cram job. Clean course for the most, enough benches and a decent amount of shade. Not busy today, a fun change up from the more technical Pioneer which is 1 mile away, both are a blast.
Cons: Not enough trash cans. some pars were not correct. 1 hole was about 360 and labeled as a par 4. Would be easy for most pros or experienced players. Not much elevation considering the elevation at pioneer. 1 or 2 tee signs were missing. Several times 2 baskets would be close and would confuse some people.
Other Thoughts: Pecan Park is a course that is fun to play and perfect for introducing new players to DG. It isn't a bunch wide open field shots but isn't too tightly wooded for a newbie. It does not have many cons if you are not a upper level player. With Pioneer a mile away this is a fun day of disc golf in East Texas. After hole 8 walk past 11's basket and look to the left for 9's tee.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 open

2-4    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of nice open shots, good use of trees in the tee placement, I ended up putting from behind a few of them. Looks like new tee signs. Played again recently, on hole 5 there is a downed tree right by the basket, it makes a good challenge. Good for open shots, long arms.
Cons: Couldn't find a map, a couple times we weren't sure were to go. Around hole 15 or 16 we got lost the second time I played. Totally skipped a hole and never knew it. Lots of people walking around picking up pecans, they get in the way, and are always looking down so they don't see you. Doesn't drain well after a rain, so lots of large puddles.
Other Thoughts: From number 8, turn around, and head back past tee box 11 and hole 10, hole nine is back in the corner, to your right if you're standing at hole 8. Lots of squirrels. This course is good, but pioneer is better.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pecan Park

5+    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Plenty of Room to throw bombs all day long!! very nicely laid out. nice course for begginers. There are a couple locals that are fixing the tee boxes(adding more dirt) and changing up the holes. if you play the mandos there is a good variety of shots. No technical holes, could be a pro or con. if you make a bad drive you have plenty of room to make it up. locals are very friendly, i used to be one of them. Great place to go and just enjoy the great outdoors. very well kept.
Cons: Dirt teeboxes. personally i preffer concrete, just depends on personal prefferance i guess.

Not very technical.

needs new signs. still not hard to follow though.

lots of people at park(its a multi-use park) most will move if asked nicely.
Other Thoughts: this is my original home course, this is where i learned to play, i imagine i ranked it a little higher than what it deserves as i am a little biased. but overall it is a beautiful course. very nice place to go if you just want to get out and throw and not have to worry about 10-15 ft windows. fun course, very shaded. if you ever drive through nac you must stop by pecan.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Love Pecan Park!!

5+    12/20/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: kpc2004
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long, open fairways allow power shots. It is easy to throw pin high on most holes. Since there aren't too many trees it is easy to recover from a bad drive and save par. Most shots are not too technical, so this course is easier than Pioneer, the other course in Nac. The course is easy to follow and you will most likely not get lost.
Cons: The signs on the tee boxes are mostly all gone. There is water that comes into play on holes 6,7,14, and 16, and if your disc goes into the deep parts it may not be retrievable unless you go for a swim. One problem I constantly have is children playing in the middle of hole 18, or old folks searching for pecans on random fairways. Be patient and kind when asking them to move!!
Other Thoughts: Holes 15 and 17 are short, good luck on the ace hunt!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.