Waco, TX 
William Cameron Park Share
Uploaded By: sub ceroh Hole #22
4 / 540ft.   4 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Love This Course

1    10/4/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18
Pros: - Very well maintained course in community park
- Tons of shot variety (every type of shot imaginable)
- Good baskets
- Good tee pads
- Plenty of parking and restrooms
Cons: - Can be difficult to play if park is crowded with non-disc golfers
- Hard to navigate if you don't download the map
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite course in Texas. I make a point to stop here when I'm traveling on I-35. Worth traveling out of the way if you can, especially since the east course is right around the block to play as well.

Ups and Downs Plus Variety

1    7/10/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: balanceseeker8
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
Pros: Lots of ups and downs in the course (for texas). There is a variety of different types of holes.
Cons: The breeze off the river can be hard to handle. This course can also be a little crowded. The whole just past the old fountain has too much ground cover.
Other Thoughts: It's cool to hear the animal chatter from the near by zoo.

Lovely Park

1    4/11/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful multi-purpose park with mature trees along a large river
- Significant elevation change on many holes, requiring unique shot shapes
- Creek behind many shorter holes, adding risk when attacking the basket
- A nice variety of wooded and open holes, although each type is all grouped together
Cons:
- A surplus of short, left-handed holes, starts to feel repetitive
- Very busy
- Sprawling park with windy roads, difficult to locate first hole
Other Thoughts:
The scenery at this park was great. It felt clean and peaceful, and the locals were friendly. We came upon a herd of Baylor cliches with their raybans and croakies, but they let us play through.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

William Cameron Park

5+    3/14/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: MrCoff3y
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course! Lots of trees to shoot around/through. There are a lot holes that you can flick which I appreciate being a RHFH thrower. Good mix of long and short holes. Tee signs are beautiful and more importantly accurate and also available at every hole.
Cons: It's a busy park. If you go in the afternoon you may be waiting at every tee box and there will be a lot of people playing soccer/football/catch on holes 14-23.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice

2-4    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has become one of my favorites, it's better than most equivalently rated courses in the DFW area. Lots of nice wooded holes, many different kinds of shots needed. Lots of trees to shoot around and under. Most of the rough is cleared out enough to keep it from being unbearable. The Houck tee-signs are excellent. Cameron Park itself is an amazing park, lots of stuff on it along the Brazos.

Holes one to four play in a single single area. Five through fourteen make another group. These fourteen holes are mostly wooded shots, save for three oir so open holes. Fifteen to nineteen are across the road from the others (the road is an elevated bridge, so you actually cross under it). These holes are much more open than the rest of the course, and really feel like a different course. Twenty throws across a creek that feeds into the Brazos. Twenty-one to twenty-three play in another fairly open area, back on the same side of the road as the others.
Cons: The transition from 4 to 5 is awkward. The park is very busy, 15 through 19 are in an area that can be very busy. 21 through 23 can be almost impossible to play on weekends. There seems to always be an organized event, or just a large number of people to work around. In our trips there we have not been able to play them due to everything from triathlons to larpers.
Other Thoughts: I really don't understand the low ratings on this course. It is well above all 3.7ish courses I've played. I understand there have been some issues in the past (mainly old baskets, signs and reconfigurations). These have all been taken care of at this point, and the older reviews don't do Cameron justice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Alot Nicer then the OL'

2-4    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redesigned finally with more sidewalks to utilize out of bounds the new holes make the course more fun.Dual pin locations,Excellent idea to protect the tree on hole 5 wrapping a protective plastic over the tree!There wasn't but a couple or three really boring holes out here so thats not bad at all.The ground is not full of foilage on the densely wooded holes which makes for easier play,Check out the awesome sign that explains where all the holes are under the bridge by the kids water park.
Cons: I liked the course it was kinda hard to figure out where hole 4 is but someone helped its past the pavilion to the west all the way across the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Bring swimshorts for the natural spring thats a must to take a dip in after or before hole 10.Bring a fishin pole too for bass wrangling along the Beautiful Brazos river as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Recently expanded

2-4    6/3/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
After expanding by adding five holes mostly through the woods this course is now nicely balanced between open vs. tight and long vs. short. The variability of the course is enhanced by multiple pin positions on many of the holes. For the most part baskets are quality multi-chain Chainstars. Concrete tees are always a pleasure. Some brutal drop-offs add to the risk/reward challenge of the course, which is designed to be played with sidewalk/street and beyond as OB. Excellent use of elevation. Good use of trees and water hazards. Nice restrooms with water fountains on site.
Cons:
Signage here is atrocious: leftover signs from the old layout haven't been removed and cause confusion on the new layout. Many holes have no signs at all. Distances on most signs are no longer correct and there is no way of indicating which pin position is active on a hole. This course is subject to hordes of mob golf which can lead to long waits on some holes. Parking has the potential to be tight, but is offset by multiple parking lots spread throughout the course. The holes between #15-19 run through a playground/picnic area where you're apt to run into a lot of oblivious non-golfers in the fairways. Hole #8 needs to lose a couple of the trees on the downside of the hill to reward a shot that hits the early gap. First timers require a map, especially for the transitions between #4/5, #14/15, and #19/20.
Other Thoughts:
For the 2011 Waco Charity Open painted hole numbers were added to each tee pad. Those were nice but we'll see if they hold up over time. Don't be fooled by the "multiple tee" listing here: only two or three holes actually have two pads. Cameron is a good course that will challenge many parts of your game, especially if you play with the tight OB rules.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent all-around course

5+    5/13/2013   7/15/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 23 holes with all kinds of shots. You'll encounter uphill, downhill, wooded, open, and a small smattering of water hazards.
- The course is short enough for beginners to enjoy themselves, but also interesting enough to keep the attention of more experienced players. Birdie/ace runs galore, if you have the ability for it.
- Restrooms (parking area, 15, 19, and 21) and water (4, 12, everywhere that has restrooms) are available at numerous points throughout the course.
- Good tee signs, still very new and in good condition. The signs are almost superfluous; you can usually see the basket from the tee.
- The course is split into "pods" - 1-4, 5-9, 10-14, 15-19, 20/21/23, and 22 out on its own. If you're short on time, it's very easy to piece together a custom round.
- Hole 23 in the uphill configuration provides a wonderful twist at the end.
- Local tip: there is a spring in between holes 4 and 5 that runs at around 60 degrees. It's a great place to refill your water bottles, especially on a hot summer day.
Cons: - Course length: most of the holes are in the 200's, and only two holes are above 350'. In some areas, the hole lengths start to feel monotonous.
- Some of the walks between "pods" are long and confusing for a first-time player. Consult the course map or a local for help.
- Mob golf can be an issue on evenings and weekends when the weather is nice. Course etiquette is okay - some groups are bad, others great.
- Parking can be difficult if there's an event going on at the Redwood Shelter. If that's the case, there are other parking areas available (mainly the 4th Street lot, between holes 4, 5, and 10).
- There is poison ivy on the course.
- Some holes are starting to see slope erosion and slipping hazards. Be careful.
- Holes 15-19 are in a "multi-use" area. It's very common to see people barbecuing, picnicking, or playing soccer in the middle of the fairways.
- The Brazos River loves to consume errant throws on 22.
Other Thoughts: Cameron Park is the most popular course in Waco, and for good reason. It's well-designed, there's something in it for all skill levels, and the facilities are good and improving. I'd definitely recommend this course to anyone in or visiting Waco, along with what's left of Brazos Park East.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 You might want a sherpa to play this course

1    1/17/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) OK variety in hole distances. Most are the mid to upper 200's but there are some shorter ones in the 100's and a few in the 300's and 400's. I like to see this as part of a good design.

2) Concrete tees are always a plus. Apparently these have been updated since I was there!

3) Massive elevation changes on this course on the first half of the course. It isn't a skihill but it is nice elevation for Texas that's for sure.

4) Nice park with lots of other things going on. Disc golf seems to be well removed from most of these areas but you still need to be aware of other park users.

5) Old garden or historical arboretum or something is incorporated into the design of this course . . . It is pretty cool to see the old waterfall and fountain infrastructure from what looks to be an old arboretum or something.

6) Fun factor on this course is high, the short but tightly wooded holes are always fun and frustrating at the same time, but that is part of the fun!

7) Nice variety in foliage density on the course starting with some parklike holes, then a few in the dense woods, then it opens up into the Brazos River Flats and finishes right along the river.

8) Garbage cans available on this course to help try to keep the trash down.

9) Benches available in a few areas to sit down on a slow day.

10) It's always nice to get a chance to rip a roller or two . . . and this is the course where I feel I had a breakthrough on the technique so I will forever remember William Cameron Park in Waco Texas!!!

11) Bathrooms located in a couple places on the course and by the parking lot.
Cons: 1) Some of the concrete tees are cracked and could use some repouring. There also seemed to be a few with erosion around them which would be a safety issue. APPARENTLY THESE HAVE BEEN UPDATED SINCE I WAS THERE . . . I will remove and edit the review if I find out this is true.

2) Some of the baskets seem really old and perhaps have seen better days. APPARENTLY THESE HAVE BEEN UPDATED SINCE I WAS THERE . . . I will remove and edit the review if I find out this is true.

3) Lots of compaction issues around baskets and on the slopes which leaves the turf struggling to survive. This is not only an environmental issue but it also impacts the visual appearance of the course.

4) A few areas on the bottom 1/3rd of the course seem to hold a lot of water. I don't remember a storm rolling through before we were there but there were puddles all over the place on the flat part of the course.

5) Old signs seemed to be out of date and needing replacement. Distances were off and the hole #'s also seemed to be off in a couple places, so perhaps this will be updated too or it already has been.

6) Directionals taking you from a basket to the next tee could be helpful in 2 or 3 places on the course.
Other Thoughts: I am writing this review about 6 months after I played the course so if anything is off let me know and I will adjust my review and my rating if necessary. I took into consideration the changes I read about and it actually seemed to take away 2 of my biggest cons.

It is not a pretty course by any means . . . but it is a lot of fun. I enjoyed the challenge of the holes, the variety in how they challenge you, the different shots needed, as well as the disc selection for all of the holes. There are some cool spots on the course for sure and if they could revitalize the waterfall and pond area that would make this course one of the more picturesque courses played to date!

A little bit more maintenance and some correct signage and this is definitely a 4 disc rating from me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Cameron Park 23 hole course

5+    6/23/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: bjleathers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has just about any type of hole you'll ever see in Disc Golf. The First 14 holes are challenging. They range from uphill doglegs, to straight downhill thru tree canopy. There are narrow, wooded holes, and even nice open field holes. Then it really gets fun. 15-23 for the most part are wide open field holes. On 21 & 23 I can really work on distance as the holes are straight with minimal tree threat.
Cons: There are a few cons, but overall this is a great course. However:
1.) Many of the holes back the creek so if you overthrow, your roll could land you in some water.
2.) 22 can also land you in the water, running parallel with the Bravos River.
3.) Also, the park doesn't really trim......ever. They are going for the natural feel I guess, but its still a pain.

Besides that it's a good course with many different looks.
Other Thoughts: I feel when I become a regularly score par on this course, I can play well anywhere.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.