Waco, TX 
William Cameron Park Share
Uploaded By: sub ceroh Hole #18
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Alot Nicer then the OL'

2-4    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redesigned finally with more sidewalks to utilize out of bounds the new holes make the course more fun.Dual pin locations,Excellent idea to protect the tree on hole 5 wrapping a protective plastic over the tree!There wasn't but a couple or three really boring holes out here so thats not bad at all.The ground is not full of foilage on the densely wooded holes which makes for easier play,Check out the awesome sign that explains where all the holes are under the bridge by the kids water park.
Cons: I liked the course it was kinda hard to figure out where hole 4 is but someone helped its past the pavilion to the west all the way across the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Bring swimshorts for the natural spring thats a must to take a dip in after or before hole 10.Bring a fishin pole too for bass wrangling along the Beautiful Brazos river as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Recently expanded

2-4    6/3/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
After expanding by adding five holes mostly through the woods this course is now nicely balanced between open vs. tight and long vs. short. The variability of the course is enhanced by multiple pin positions on many of the holes. For the most part baskets are quality multi-chain Chainstars. Concrete tees are always a pleasure. Some brutal drop-offs add to the risk/reward challenge of the course, which is designed to be played with sidewalk/street and beyond as OB. Excellent use of elevation. Good use of trees and water hazards. Nice restrooms with water fountains on site.
Cons:
Signage here is atrocious: leftover signs from the old layout haven't been removed and cause confusion on the new layout. Many holes have no signs at all. Distances on most signs are no longer correct and there is no way of indicating which pin position is active on a hole. This course is subject to hordes of mob golf which can lead to long waits on some holes. Parking has the potential to be tight, but is offset by multiple parking lots spread throughout the course. The holes between #15-19 run through a playground/picnic area where you're apt to run into a lot of oblivious non-golfers in the fairways. Hole #8 needs to lose a couple of the trees on the downside of the hill to reward a shot that hits the early gap. First timers require a map, especially for the transitions between #4/5, #14/15, and #19/20.
Other Thoughts:
For the 2011 Waco Charity Open painted hole numbers were added to each tee pad. Those were nice but we'll see if they hold up over time. Don't be fooled by the "multiple tee" listing here: only two or three holes actually have two pads. Cameron is a good course that will challenge many parts of your game, especially if you play with the tight OB rules.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 You might want a sherpa to play this course

1    1/17/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) OK variety in hole distances. Most are the mid to upper 200's but there are some shorter ones in the 100's and a few in the 300's and 400's. I like to see this as part of a good design.

2) Concrete tees are always a plus. Apparently these have been updated since I was there!

3) Massive elevation changes on this course on the first half of the course. It isn't a skihill but it is nice elevation for Texas that's for sure.

4) Nice park with lots of other things going on. Disc golf seems to be well removed from most of these areas but you still need to be aware of other park users.

5) Old garden or historical arboretum or something is incorporated into the design of this course . . . It is pretty cool to see the old waterfall and fountain infrastructure from what looks to be an old arboretum or something.

6) Fun factor on this course is high, the short but tightly wooded holes are always fun and frustrating at the same time, but that is part of the fun!

7) Nice variety in foliage density on the course starting with some parklike holes, then a few in the dense woods, then it opens up into the Brazos River Flats and finishes right along the river.

8) Garbage cans available on this course to help try to keep the trash down.

9) Benches available in a few areas to sit down on a slow day.

10) It's always nice to get a chance to rip a roller or two . . . and this is the course where I feel I had a breakthrough on the technique so I will forever remember William Cameron Park in Waco Texas!!!

11) Bathrooms located in a couple places on the course and by the parking lot.
Cons: 1) Some of the concrete tees are cracked and could use some repouring. There also seemed to be a few with erosion around them which would be a safety issue. APPARENTLY THESE HAVE BEEN UPDATED SINCE I WAS THERE . . . I will remove and edit the review if I find out this is true.

2) Some of the baskets seem really old and perhaps have seen better days. APPARENTLY THESE HAVE BEEN UPDATED SINCE I WAS THERE . . . I will remove and edit the review if I find out this is true.

3) Lots of compaction issues around baskets and on the slopes which leaves the turf struggling to survive. This is not only an environmental issue but it also impacts the visual appearance of the course.

4) A few areas on the bottom 1/3rd of the course seem to hold a lot of water. I don't remember a storm rolling through before we were there but there were puddles all over the place on the flat part of the course.

5) Old signs seemed to be out of date and needing replacement. Distances were off and the hole #'s also seemed to be off in a couple places, so perhaps this will be updated too or it already has been.

6) Directionals taking you from a basket to the next tee could be helpful in 2 or 3 places on the course.
Other Thoughts: I am writing this review about 6 months after I played the course so if anything is off let me know and I will adjust my review and my rating if necessary. I took into consideration the changes I read about and it actually seemed to take away 2 of my biggest cons.

It is not a pretty course by any means . . . but it is a lot of fun. I enjoyed the challenge of the holes, the variety in how they challenge you, the different shots needed, as well as the disc selection for all of the holes. There are some cool spots on the course for sure and if they could revitalize the waterfall and pond area that would make this course one of the more picturesque courses played to date!

A little bit more maintenance and some correct signage and this is definitely a 4 disc rating from me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/17/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This front 9 holes are great. They have a lot of elevation change and a few water hazards. The back 9 is a little more open if you like open shot more.
Cons: Last time I played it looked like they were moving some holes so the back 9 was tough finding tee boxes the matched up with holes. Old baskets and A LOT of people in the park in the summer. And the people seem to get mad when we asked them to watch out while we threw.
Other Thoughts: Good course overall, but I would rather just play the front 9 twice.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cameron Park Rundown!!!

1    4/13/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Shot variety...spotty trees, down hills and ups, short and long
-Nice baskets
-Nice park..well kept up
-On the river so pretty scenic too
-Lots of ace runs
Cons: -Some of the boxes were kinda short
-I've heard it can get crowded on a nice day or in the late afternoon
-Some of the back nine does play through a picnic area and along a trail...watch out for park-goers and picnicers
Other Thoughts: Have only played this course once, though planning to revisity soon.

Great course with some of the craziest elevation changes I've seen. Not to difficult though, but will test your accuracy

Front 9:

Lots of ups and downs with regards to big elevation changes. Creek does come in to play on a few holes. More of the wooded half of the course.

Back 9:

Plays through open fields pretty much, with spotty trees. The Brazos River does hug the right side of this nine so watch those discs pulled toward the water.

All-in-all this is a really great course. Not to challenging and super fun. Will be making a disc golf road trip to Waco here soon, and this course will be played again.

Worth a drive.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.