Waco, TX 
William Cameron Park Share
Uploaded By: araytx Hole #19 (Taken 3/2016)
3 / 351ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 You might want a sherpa to play this course

1    1/17/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) OK variety in hole distances. Most are the mid to upper 200's but there are some shorter ones in the 100's and a few in the 300's and 400's. I like to see this as part of a good design.

2) Concrete tees are always a plus. Apparently these have been updated since I was there!

3) Massive elevation changes on this course on the first half of the course. It isn't a skihill but it is nice elevation for Texas that's for sure.

4) Nice park with lots of other things going on. Disc golf seems to be well removed from most of these areas but you still need to be aware of other park users.

5) Old garden or historical arboretum or something is incorporated into the design of this course . . . It is pretty cool to see the old waterfall and fountain infrastructure from what looks to be an old arboretum or something.

6) Fun factor on this course is high, the short but tightly wooded holes are always fun and frustrating at the same time, but that is part of the fun!

7) Nice variety in foliage density on the course starting with some parklike holes, then a few in the dense woods, then it opens up into the Brazos River Flats and finishes right along the river.

8) Garbage cans available on this course to help try to keep the trash down.

9) Benches available in a few areas to sit down on a slow day.

10) It's always nice to get a chance to rip a roller or two . . . and this is the course where I feel I had a breakthrough on the technique so I will forever remember William Cameron Park in Waco Texas!!!

11) Bathrooms located in a couple places on the course and by the parking lot.
Cons: 1) Some of the concrete tees are cracked and could use some repouring. There also seemed to be a few with erosion around them which would be a safety issue. APPARENTLY THESE HAVE BEEN UPDATED SINCE I WAS THERE . . . I will remove and edit the review if I find out this is true.

2) Some of the baskets seem really old and perhaps have seen better days. APPARENTLY THESE HAVE BEEN UPDATED SINCE I WAS THERE . . . I will remove and edit the review if I find out this is true.

3) Lots of compaction issues around baskets and on the slopes which leaves the turf struggling to survive. This is not only an environmental issue but it also impacts the visual appearance of the course.

4) A few areas on the bottom 1/3rd of the course seem to hold a lot of water. I don't remember a storm rolling through before we were there but there were puddles all over the place on the flat part of the course.

5) Old signs seemed to be out of date and needing replacement. Distances were off and the hole #'s also seemed to be off in a couple places, so perhaps this will be updated too or it already has been.

6) Directionals taking you from a basket to the next tee could be helpful in 2 or 3 places on the course.
Other Thoughts: I am writing this review about 6 months after I played the course so if anything is off let me know and I will adjust my review and my rating if necessary. I took into consideration the changes I read about and it actually seemed to take away 2 of my biggest cons.

It is not a pretty course by any means . . . but it is a lot of fun. I enjoyed the challenge of the holes, the variety in how they challenge you, the different shots needed, as well as the disc selection for all of the holes. There are some cool spots on the course for sure and if they could revitalize the waterfall and pond area that would make this course one of the more picturesque courses played to date!

A little bit more maintenance and some correct signage and this is definitely a 4 disc rating from me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Cameron Park 23 hole course

5+    6/23/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: bjleathers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has just about any type of hole you'll ever see in Disc Golf. The First 14 holes are challenging. They range from uphill doglegs, to straight downhill thru tree canopy. There are narrow, wooded holes, and even nice open field holes. Then it really gets fun. 15-23 for the most part are wide open field holes. On 21 & 23 I can really work on distance as the holes are straight with minimal tree threat.
Cons: There are a few cons, but overall this is a great course. However:
1.) Many of the holes back the creek so if you overthrow, your roll could land you in some water.
2.) 22 can also land you in the water, running parallel with the Bravos River.
3.) Also, the park doesn't really trim......ever. They are going for the natural feel I guess, but its still a pain.

Besides that it's a good course with many different looks.
Other Thoughts: I feel when I become a regularly score par on this course, I can play well anywhere.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/17/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This front 9 holes are great. They have a lot of elevation change and a few water hazards. The back 9 is a little more open if you like open shot more.
Cons: Last time I played it looked like they were moving some holes so the back 9 was tough finding tee boxes the matched up with holes. Old baskets and A LOT of people in the park in the summer. And the people seem to get mad when we asked them to watch out while we threw.
Other Thoughts: Good course overall, but I would rather just play the front 9 twice.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 William Cameron Park

2-4    2/19/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: backward_axis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. From uphill(#1,6,10,13) to downhill (#3,8,12,14). Heavily wooded (#3,6,7,8,9) to open (#15,17,19,20sb,23) and everything in between. A creek to the Brazos comes into play on holes #4,5,14,20lb and then the Brazos river itself can possibly snatch your disc on windy days for holes #16,19,22. The course seems to have some pretty good upkeep and none of the fairways are overgrown. It also seems that what trees ARE in the fairway would just ruin the hole if they were taken away. Last week the baskets for holes #14,15,16,22,23 were relocated to nearby locations. The best of which is the basket for #16, which was just a straight-ahead, there it is type of hole before. Now, it has been moved to directly between two big live oaks that are only a few feet apart, giving the hole something unique that it previously lacked.
My personal favorite hole at the park has to be Hole #8. That hole involves teeing off through a cluster of slender cedars, hoping to make it anywhere near the basket, (which is placed out of sight, to the left, and over a hill at the end of the fairway). Also, the bathrooms are located in very reasonable places in the course, (one in the parking lot for hole #1 and another by the playground at hole #19).
Cons: The signage for this course is unhelpful and as of the last time I went, there are only about 5 holes that actually have signs. At some points, the next box can be hard to find. This is most evident going from #4 to #5, which are a good distance apart, and isn't helped by the fact that the box for #5 can't be seen until you're right up on it. Holes #15-19 are all placed in and around a multi-use area (field, playground, picnic pavillion), which is filled with non-dgers on the weekend; most of which were in the fairways when I went last time. Hole #15 is the worst in that regard because the basket, as of last week, has been moved even closer to the center of the multi-use field. The relocation of basket 22 is kind of lame and the relocation of basket 23 is an atrocity. #22 was just moved closer to the box to make a more reasonable par 3. #23, (which WAS one of the best holes at the park; a neat little par 3 where you had to throw straight ahead and then curve off to the right and up a ten foot hill through lots of little trees and all kinds of thorny nastiness to get to the basket), is now a boring par 3 where you throw straight ahead in the open and try not to hit the people at the barbecue pit by which the basket is now located. No longer on the hill, no longer through the trees, just straight ahead and go get it.
Other Thoughts: Even with some of the recent negative changes, Cameron Park is still an overall awesome course to take on. Bringing a map is a must for any first visit. If you do happen to go on the weekend and do not like crowds and yelling "fore!" all of the time, Holes #15-19 can probably be skipped for a solid 18 holes at one of the most fun courses in the area. Overall, I would suggest going on a weekday to make sure you can play all 23 and enjoy everything Cameron Park has to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Construction & Redesigns - Not the old Course You're used to.

1    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is great to help practice your technical skills with elevation changes, and precarious pin locations. Being off by ten feet may mean a thirty foot uphill pitch. I like it when a 15 year old design can still challenge me to think and pick my lines carefully. If you on, birdies can come pretty easily, but if your off - watch out.

The back nine is flatter, longer, and offers a different overall look playing along the Brazos River. The concrete boxes are nice for big run ups and the park is well manicured. It's too bad you can only experience five of these great holes, (six if you want to make the trek to #17). Construction on the walkways should be ending soon, but expect it to be a while before things get back to normal.

There are also new holes, with fresh concrete tees (less than a day old at the time!), but you can't find them on the maps currently provided. After playing 4A - work your way across the road and into the woods to find these four holes. They are a little rough, but are a very nice addition, and will bring the grand total to 22 holes when all is said and done.

BEST HOLE/S: #1; #17
Cons: Three holes (#15, #16, and #18) are out of commission because of construction. #17 is there, but is now way out of the way without the other holes. Of the remaining old 14 holes, four of them (#3, #4, #5, and #7) don't have a basket, and instead have a large water jug on a post. It does the job, but is certainly a con.

Signage is also a real issue, since any sign still standing is severely dilapidated. Small 4x4 inch signs have been screwed into trees on certain holes of the front nine to help guide your way. Even with good signage, I still recommend playing with a local or having the map, because you will have some walks to make the back nine in different locations.

WORST HOLE/S: #12
Other Thoughts: Construction and redesigns - it's hard to gauge a course's true potential when it's in a state of flux. After reading over the discussion threads I found a nice post by Mike W. with progress: The way I understand it, there will be 22 holes so how about this: hole 1, 2, 3, 4(when it returns), 5(4a), 6(4b), 7(4c), 8(4d), 9(4e), 10(old 5, when it returns), 11(old 6), (old 7 is history), 12(old 13(old 9), 14(old 10), 15(old 11), 16(old 12), 17(old 13), 18(old 14), 19(old 15), 20(old 16), 21(old 17), 22(old 18). Did you get all that? :)

So, obviously you have to take things with a grain of salt when you come out here. And although there looks to be a lot of improvements being made to the park, none of these are going to course. It is, as usual, a small group of people faithfully laying concrete boxes, replacing missing baskets with water jugs, and keeping the course going.

I enjoyed this course a lot, and appreciate when an old design can still offer difficulty to new technology. However, in its current state - it's no longer a destination location, and with the construction hindering the front nine of The Beast, Woodway Park is your best bet for a clean 18. This will be a course to enjoy coming out to in about six months or so, to see the final outcome and make a better judgment on its future.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Cameron Park Rundown!!!

1    4/13/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Shot variety...spotty trees, down hills and ups, short and long
-Nice baskets
-Nice park..well kept up
-On the river so pretty scenic too
-Lots of ace runs
Cons: -Some of the boxes were kinda short
-I've heard it can get crowded on a nice day or in the late afternoon
-Some of the back nine does play through a picnic area and along a trail...watch out for park-goers and picnicers
Other Thoughts: Have only played this course once, though planning to revisity soon.

Great course with some of the craziest elevation changes I've seen. Not to difficult though, but will test your accuracy

Front 9:

Lots of ups and downs with regards to big elevation changes. Creek does come in to play on a few holes. More of the wooded half of the course.

Back 9:

Plays through open fields pretty much, with spotty trees. The Brazos River does hug the right side of this nine so watch those discs pulled toward the water.

All-in-all this is a really great course. Not to challenging and super fun. Will be making a disc golf road trip to Waco here soon, and this course will be played again.

Worth a drive.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

1    8/17/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice baskets, concrete tees (some are a little short though), fun holes. lots of elevation changes on the front nine. nice, clean park. has a playground with water fountain/cannon/shower thingies that you can cool off in during the summer.
Cons: signage is terrible. not difficult to navigate but the signs aren't much more than a number next to the teebox. no map, barely shows placement of pin, etc. construction going on in parts of the park and currently 5 baskets are missing: 4,5,7,16,18. the first 3 are playable, basket is just not there. on 16, the basket is inside a fenced off area under construction. all of 18 (tee, fairway and basket) is also inside said area.
Other Thoughts: fun course. the front 9 has many elevation changes and mostly shorter holes. the back 9 is mostly flat with a few longer holes but nothing too long. only a couple real long ones and a few of those are under construction in the back 9.

once the construction is finished this will be a great course. needs new signs though.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I heart Cameron

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 15 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this park for many reasons! This is a great course that has tons of different shots all over the place. There are your big boomers where you can air it out and then there are places where you have to hit your line or its a disaster! The terrain is great and the grass is always well taken care of for those who like to roll and for those who like skip shots. The park is always clean for the most part too. I think that this course is a good blend for the newer players and for the more pro/adv player and it makes it fun for all. The elevation is used well here just as it has been used everywhere else in Waco. The baskets are good and there are good concrete teepads and sometimes 2 on some of the holes. The course flows very well and is easy to follow. Makes for a great day of golf with the other 2 courses in town! Lots of shade which helps on a hotter day.
Cons: The signage sucks for the most part. Where there are signs they are just screwed into a nearby tree and they are just numbers, no pic or anything like that. The water on 9 is pretty nasty. Parking can be an issue but with construction taking place that doesnt seem like it will be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Hole 9 is super sweet and can either put a smile on your face or make you cry when it lands in the nasty water behind it. Play this and the "bEast" during the hot of the day and dont forget Woodway early or late. And dont forget to test your arm out and try to cross the Brazos. Many holes are missing now due to construction.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My first and still my favorite!

5+    7/20/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: rudyacedyou
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is almost the perfect balance of "easy" holes for beginners and more challenging holes for advanced players. My group plays this course more than the others in Waco because of this versatility. We go with girls that don't have big arms and play way less than the competitive guys; yet they can still have fun and be competitive after drives. But, this course is still no joke. Some specifics include: the long tee @ 15 can be a pain that might put you in a creek, 9 probably claims the most discs in thickets of bamboo if you can't control your drive, and most holes have trees that make sure you aren't too wild with any throw yet are open and very playable. Those sound like cons but I just consider them challenges rather than outright obstructions that cause headaches.
Cons: Signage is inconsistent. They made an attempt to get new universal signs for all holes, but they are small metal signs that are drilled into trees so not all holes have them because not all tees have a tree close by to do so. Crowds are consistently present so just be patient because most of them are cool. Along the same lines, the park is crowded with non golfers on the back 9 on weekends. Also, summertime foliage makes the course more difficult. I prefer winter-early spring when less green is on the course.
Other Thoughts: As my title says, this course introduced me to the sport and I still go back to get a rare combo of the ability to work on technique and fundamentals yet challenge myself at the same time. You need to make time to play this if you're from the Metroplex or Austin.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My favorite course

5+    4/10/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: kingps97
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great scenery with the trees and river; good variety of holes from fairly tight to wide open; beginner friendly; good elevation changes on the front nine.
Cons: Can get very crouded on weekends and weekdays after work; large groups of 6 to 8 people fairly common.
Other Thoughts: My all-time favorite course. Beautiful scenery, nice variety of holes, beginner friendly in that this is not an overly long or difficult course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.