Westminster, CO 
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #15 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 441ft.   3 / 441ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    2/18/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -cement pads
-good tee signs
-a few technical shots with trees and water obstacles
-multiple basket placments
-free to play
Cons: -not easy to find the start
-good amount of walking without throwing
-pretty flat
-could use some better signs to navigate you around the course
-layout could lead to safety issues
Other Thoughts: Decent course that could be better with a few more signs and a couple holes changed.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Uninteresting

2-4    8/11/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good for big arms
-Easy to navigate
-Minimal foot traffic
-You only need to bring two discs
-Nice tee pads and hole markers
-Free Parking
Cons: -Boring, two drives and putt
-Not much of a challenge
-Like Bird's Nest, big space without a lot of thought
Other Thoughts: Start on hole #3 next to the parking lot. This way you will end in the lot. I don't know why you would make people walk two holes to start when you just could have numbered the holes correctly, weird.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Westminster

1    6/12/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: ccurtiswriting
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to a lot of other things in the Westminster area. The first nine holes (what I've played) are not bad, but not particularly interesting.
Cons: There are a lot of weeds and seeds and stickers that will end up in your shoes in this course. Also, there is little to no shade until around the seventh hole, so bring sunblock or be ready to be cooked. Though the baskets are well maintained, most of the tee signs have been ripped up pretty badly and could use new stickers.
Other Thoughts: This is not a good course for people who can't throw the disc very far. I'm no master myself and it can be daunting when you see most of the hole distances over 500 feet. It can be frustrating for players to be three or four over par before they even get within putting range.
I just hope the back nine is more interesting, which it looks like it is... and has a lot more traps.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Holes But Lots of Filler

1    4/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -DGA baskets that are in decent shape.
- Nice concrete tee-pads that are nice and long.
-Tee-signs at each hole (that show pin position and give the hole length.
-Each tee-sign is numbered on the back, which makes it easier to navigate the course.
-The course is fairly easy to navigate and it is usually pretty obvious which tee-pad is next and which basket you are throwing too.
-The course has a good amount of elevation.
-Water comes into play on quite a few holes. Hole 1 pro tee-pad throws over a part of a lake and quite a few holes on the back nine throw around a river.
-The holes that throw near the river are the best holes on the course, because since the river is pretty overgrown, it provides some interesting risk/reward situations of do you go for it and risk having to look for your disc in the thick brush or do you take the safe route and avoid the brush.
-For those that like long holes most of the holes on this course are over 350 feet, with quite a few in the four hundred range in the right pin position and even a few exceeding 500 or 600 feet.
-Information sign at the beginning of the course.
-Multiple pin positions on all of the holes.
-Some of the pin positions are on hillsides or have drop-offs right into the river, which adds some risk and reward to putting.
Cons: -While this course has some nice holes that are a lot of fun, it also has a lot of throwaway filler holes. Holes 2-8 are mostly wide open shots with very few obstacles and aren't very exciting.
-The course gets very muddy and wet, so if it has been rainy or snowy don't wear your good shoes.
-Many of the tee-signs are peeling and hard to read and need to be replaced.
-There are groundhogs in the area, which add to the muddiness.
-The area around the creek and the pond are quite overgrown and while it does add some nice risk reward, it also can be frustrating to find your disc in the brush at times.
-The course plays near a lot of sidewalks and bike paths and on a nice day you will probably be waiting on some holes for other park users to get out of the way.
-There is a very long walk back to the parking lot from hole 18 and some of the holes have a bit of a long walk between.
-I wish the distance was balanced a little bit better, there are very few holes under 300 feet and the long distance gets a little repetitive. Players who don't throw very far. may become frustrated by the consistently longer distance holes. Overall, it would be nice to have some shorter holes to add variety to the course.
-Water in creek is very murky and finding a disc in it won't be much fun.
-No trashcans or benches on the course. No shade either so if it is a hot day out bring lots of water.
-It would have been nice if they could have brought the lake into play on more than just one hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course definitely has some fun and interesting holes but it has far too many, wide open filler holes that are not very exciting to be a truly great course. Its a pretty good round if you are in the area and looking to get a round in.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/29/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: flowinowen
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses the entire lower half of the park. While it crosses over paths, it is designed to be able to see incoming traffic. 12-18 are across the main parking lot, little to no foot traffic, and Big Dry Creek ups the challenge level. Worn paths and good tee pad markings.
Cons: First 10 holes are relatively boring, all field play. I have lost three discs on 14+15. Not many tree or obstacles to make things interesting. That being said, when the wind blows even the slightest bit, theres no chance of playing here.
Other Thoughts: Bring your binoculars! there are many hawks/falcons living in the area. I saw a green warbler my first time out. The creek drys towards the end of autumn, so discs lost in the creek are more obtainable. Its a course worth checking out at least.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Three Totally Distinct Courses!

1    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 675  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Westminister DGC is one the more disc-combobulated courses I've ever encountered. The first 7-8 holes play across a praire and are mostly long, kinda boring and not really very stimulating. Then you get to the middle section of the course and I really liked it a lot. It was perfect for me, an aging recreational type player. There was some risk-reward type holes. There were some birdie ops. I was excited and had fun during this part of the course.
Then I came to the final stage of the course and it was like some madman had constructed it. Every hole was long, played across the dark, murky creek and featured way too much risk and more arm than I have. Advanced/pro players would love these holes and the challenge they offer. I mostly skipped them or played them ultra safely like an elementary wussy girl would.
Cons: Besides the tri-personalty of this course, there are a few more cons I might wish to point out. There is quite a walk to the first tee. The teesigns, when new, were probably wonderful. Now, the fiberglass covering is broken off every one leaving the information underneath exposed to the weather or vandals or both. Most of the info is now unreadable. There is also no way to tell which position the basket is in. On this course, A or B is sometimes 150' different. Not knowing is a real problem. How about drilling a hole in the sign and putting a colored washer in either the A or B position like many courses do. That would really help here.
# 4 sign says the basket is either 498' or 576' and the basket was set about 200' directly in front???? What's this about?
Other Thoughts: I'm totally not sure who this course is designed for? That's probably why the ratings are so totally all over the board. Those last holes are awesome but not for a Rec player like me. And I'm talking about mid-July. What is that creek like in April? I wanted no part of it today, in spring it might look like the North Shore of Oahu. You could probably surf in it. If it ever completely dries up, you might find more than some discs in there, there might be some missing disc golfers down there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Eh.

1    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 78  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long holes, and a variety of shots. Best hole was #8. The obstacles were fun. The tees, baskets, and markers were all in great shape except an over grown 18th tee.
Cons: The biggest problem with this course is layout. There are long walks between baskets and tees, and you often have to backtrack. Additionally, the layout leaves you stranded at the back of the park. This course forces some extremely risky shots. Very easy to lose discs. The stagnant water makes for many bugs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Average

5+    9/28/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery of the mountains is spectacular. The creek is soothing and the chirping prairie dogs are great. #1 (pro tee) over the lake is fun. #15 is over the creek and around a tree. #12 is off a ledge. The park is clean and well maintained. The tee boxes are concrete and big. 2 pin placements.
Cons: The signs tell you distance, but fail to mention the location of the creek. Be careful on #14 because the creek to the left of the hole is deep and not easily accessed. The creek overall is deep for its size and murky at times. You need to survey the holes to know what you are throwing into because the signs fail to help. I played in the summer and the weeds here are unlike any other course. They are thorny, thick, and tall. The park is big so you need to view a course map for navigation and to know where to park. I don't see the point of having one hole with no trees and 400+ ft. of distance (i.e. no/slim chance of an ace) yet this is the case for 7 holes. It gets old after 2 holes and the rest of the holes are only okay. I just played in September and all of the growth is dead. There are trees by the creek, but few of them are utilized. I guess it wouldn't be much fun to hit a tree and have to go through the creek to get it.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Denver for a short time, feel free to skip this course unless you are nearby. The lack of trees make the front 9 a bore. I recommend parking by #3, starting there, and finishing at #2. This method would really increase the drama at #1. The course is not too crowded on weekdays, but the park is nice so there are other parkgoers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/21/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well all i got to say good about this course is... i guess that it another course to play in denver. couple of nice holes but nothing to brag about.
Cons: The canal that runs through the course is bad! murkey moving fast and deep causes alot of problems, an the fact no info on the signs that there is a canal. Also all but maybe 2 holes have shade to cool off.
Other Thoughts: instead of "westminister" you should change the name to "praire land " or something to that nature...every hole is filled with praire dog holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Barren, but fun

2-4    10/10/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is wide open and you have a lot of long shots to improve your drives. There are not too many players to make it crowded. The back 9 will force more accurate long drives. There are some fun holes to watch your disc just glide down the hill. Good course for big arms.
Cons: Bring a course map if you plan to play it all. The first 9 are easy to locate. There are not too many trees to shoot around so its just wide open shooting. There is a creek that runs by half of the holes. Thick trees and bushes near the bank make retreival tough.
Other Thoughts: Plan to walk a lot at this course. If you play in the summer the weeds can eat your discs if they get lost. Walking from hole 18 back to the parking lot close to the course beginning is a long walk. My advice is to park near hole 11/12 and walk down to hole 1 then you will be close to your car. After a hot afternoon there is nothing worse than having to drag yourself a mile back to your car after a grueling course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.