Westminster, CO
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 353ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Westy!

2-4    8/20/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Distance Holes and lots of great obstacles to go through and around.
Great location with not a lot of other people in the way.
Cons: Difficulty can be high for those who are not as accurate.
Lots of holes on the front 9 due to prairie dogs.
Other Thoughts: Great for Intermediate to advanced players. Beginners Beware!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

westmonster

2-4    9/1/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: distance! (beginner arm here) 250 or better on your drives to play here (imo). One hole was playing over 600....Some challenging holes midway trough course with trees and dry creek calling for a reasonable placement of shot, but not impossible.
Cons: Distance......Maybe not the best place for beginners. Strong potential for lost discs along the dry creek. Witch is not dry, and comes into play in several areas. The weeds/overgrowth can swallow a disc in some areas as well.
Other Thoughts: I am about 3 months into disc golfing and found this course to be be a challenge and fun. (+13 with one melt down hole that cost me 4 and a lost disc.....) When i bought my beginner three disc pack, i came right to westmonster form the store. I was a little discouraged @ that time and wondered if disc golf was for me? Three months later I found this course to be a fair challenge requiring some well placed shots, and other areas with room to rip at it with reckless abandon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -First of all this course is very easy to find and is just a short walk from the parking lot.
-The park itself is very nice and open.
-The concrete tees are nice and the baskets still have their structural integrity.
-The course is very easy to follow. A person who has never been here can easily find his/her way around without a map
-Beginner friendly. Unlike the other courses in the Denver area, this course is big and open with just a small chance of losing your disc in the water.
-Has a few interesting shots with elevation and blind tee shots that give this course a little spice.
Cons: -The tee signs were put in a few years ago I assume, because now they are a mess or gone. Some tee signs show that the hole is 400' away when it couldn't be more then 250' away. Brand new signs would make this place at least half a star better.
-I mentioned that the fairways are well kept, however, if you do not keep it in the fairway there is all kinds of thorns and brush that will pick you apart if you are not careful.
-There is a long walk back to the parking lot from hole #18.
-Have a person spot you. Like mentioned, there are a few blind tee shots to precarious pin placements so a spotter would help locating a disc.
-This course has a lot of repetitive shots and I could see it become boring if I played here often enough
-This course is very crowded with other discers, it is good that the sport is really active out here but bad that you may have to wait.
Other Thoughts: When I was up in Denver on vacation I played here and Interlocken Park, this course is a bit easier and a lot more fun to bring my family that does not play disc golf as much because of the low chance to lose discs.

This course is great for the land that it is on and is a passable course. If you are in the area and you are a newer player or just want to play quickly this may be a course that you should consider.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Suprise

1    5/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was expecting a hellish safari across open wastelands, but found instead a decent course worth your time on a lazy afternoon. Good back nine brings the stream and dense brush/trees in to play. Beautiful community park with all of the amenities (restrooms, playground, plenty of parking). The course largely keeps you out of the main walking paths, though you have to keep your eyes open on a few holes. Decent elevation changes and gullies come in to play. Enough long holes to air it out if you are working on technique or you have a big arm. Not crowded at all, so you can take your time and throw a couple of discs per hole. Nice that they put the tee number on the back of the signs, which came in handy several times. Pretty close to the 36 highway, so you can stop off on the way to Interlocken course or Boulder. Passive geese on the course don't attack you.
Cons: Course flow is not intuitive for a first timer, and holes 18 and 1 are probably 1/4 mile apart. Best to start on hole 3 near parking. Baskets were tough to see, as they don't have the yellow band and are usually far away. Several baskets are 6"-12" lower than usual.
Other Thoughts: Could be rough in the wind, but that's exactly why you should play it...we can't always have perfect conditions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster dgc

5+    4/5/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with minimal traffic. Good use of the creek that runs through the park.
Cons: Extremely dense under brush.
Other Thoughts: This course is made difficult due to the large amount of plant growth. There is minimal if any maintenance done to this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but bring extra discs

2-4    11/6/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses, but I just can't seem to hold on to discs here. There are lots of variations in the holes with some great long distance shots. Good tee boxes. Really fun course and I keep going back even with all the lost discs.
Cons: This course runs right by a river that seems to have an amazing pull on my discs. It makes for some interesting shots, but the water is nasty if you decide to hop in. It is a pretty rough course so shoes and long pants are a good idea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster DGC

2-4    9/8/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Some tough shots throughout the course.
Can open up for big arms, and also tighten up for some accuracy.
Less traffic. Can play through as a single at ease.
Cons: NO UPKEEP! I swear every time I've been to this course the grass/weeds/overgrowth needs to be cut. It's so easy to loose a disc here it's incredible; That being the hole layouts shouldn't make it so.
Lack of helpful signs. Layout can get confusing.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place overall. If you know the layout, then it can be very fun.
If the grounds had better care, this course could be one of the best in this area.

 Hot Day in Westminster

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: snwbrdr301
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: - Long holes
- Difficult shots
- Natural Vegetation and surroundings
- The terrain varies from long open plains to hills and across creeks
Cons: - Foot tall grass/weeds everywhere
- Occasionally difficult to find disc
- Holes cross and overlap too much
- Pin positions can be difficult to locate
Other Thoughts: Although I enjoy that the surroundings and plant life are native and natural it is very easy to loose a disc. Not a great course to play by yourself as you may need help locating a disc. The holes are long and difficult. Very fun though, especially withe people who have played the course before as some of the pins are hard to locate.

 Cool course.

5+    11/5/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Definistrated29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads and baskets.
Detailed signs with distances and pin placements.
Signs have numbers on back making it easy to find the next hole.
Has multiple long holes where you can really bomb it plus various shorter shots that bring the trees and the creek into play.
Hole 1 from the pro tees plays over the lake making for a fun shot.
Hole 1 has an amateur tee so you don't have to throw over the lake if you don't want to.
Cons: The weeds are really long in some places and a large number of the weeds are thistles or the annoying walk through em and end up with 50 seed pods attached to you.
The creek can eat discs on holes 9-18 and is deep in various places making disc retrieval tougher.
There are walkers/joggers that use paths through the first 8 holes.
After snow melt or heavy rain the course will be pretty muddy.

Other Thoughts: Parking options:
I prefer to park by the soccer fields and walk to hole 1 behind the pavilion over by the lake, leaving a short walk up half of hole 12 to the parking lot after finishing the round.

You can also park on the west side of the rec center. The teepad for hole three is right next to it. Start there and finish with hole 2.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Johnny Roberts and Camenisch Parks Love Child

1    8/14/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Westminster DGC is located in a great park that includes baseball fields, fishing ponds, and walking trails. It comes complete with concrete tee boxes, and signs that are average but still handy. There are minor elevation changes, and the biggest difficulty factor is really the overall hole lengths and the creek that plays along most of the back nine.

Most holes are straight-forward, but it really isn't a negative since the terrain on many holes still forces to you to make an accurate shot. There are also some blind ridges on #8, #9, and #14 to be wary of, because any errant shot left may mean saying goodbye to your disc. Bottom line, if you are long off the tee or have a good mid-range game, you will feel right at home on this course.

BEST HOLE/S: #17; #18
Cons: Where to park, how far to walk - what is the lesser of two evils? I would say this is certainly the biggest con since hole #18 and hole #1 are not close to each other at all. My recommendation is to park by #12 and walk to #1 since it seems slightly shorter or even start at #12 and then make your way to #1 after playing your last six. With a practice basket in this location already, it just seems to be the easiest. However, you can park by the baseball fields and start right on #1; however you'll have a long walk at the end - so just pick your poison.

WORST HOLE/S: #4; #5
Other Thoughts: Northwest Denver course feels like a good old fashion infomercial to me. "Crowds at Johnny Roberts DGC got you down? Tired of the ghetto atmosphere and confusing layout that both Camenisch Park courses have to offer? East Interlocken Park and North Midway Park just to mediocre to satisfy your needs? Well then enjoy a combination of the bunch here at Westminster DGC, now 10% less confusing and less crowded for the first time player!"

Seriously, barring the long walk between the first and eighteenth Westminster feels like the perfect mix between Camenisch and Johnny Roberts, and offers so much more than East Interlocken and North Midway having a full 18 holes. With slightly smaller crowds and non-overlapping holes in more diverse setting - I believe this was just a better disc golf experience. Granted, this place still has its issues that prevent it from being ranking higher, but both experienced players and people new to the sport will be able to enjoy themselves here - I certainly did.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.