Westminster, CO 
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 353ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
It could be better

5+    6/21/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course design is excellent and the holes are long. It really doesn't overlap at all and it is a great walk
Cons: The terrain is horrible, the course really isn't maintained. It's either thick weeds, mud, bugs, or murky streams. Come in hiking boots and jeans. There are prickly weeds everywhere. Easy to loose discs here as well.
Other Thoughts: The design of this course is so great I would rate it a 4 if it were maintained at all. The rough terrain is just such a factor here that I can't look at it as a great course to play. I can't even take my dog here because of the weeds

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bomber Course

1    5/17/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I just played this course for the first time, I work in the Interlocken tech loop so the course I play all the time and this was a nice change from the short technical 200ft holes, this course is like almost 400ft each hole and lets you rip em.

-Wide open holes with some technical shots
-Do not need to many discs with you, bring a big throw disc and a overstable disc
-Water hazards on most of the holes but there is no way you will lose a disc as the water is very clear and to shallow
Cons: -Bad course to play on a windy day since there is not much tree cover
Other Thoughts: -Play the alternate tee for hole 1, its way cooler!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Westy!

2-4    8/20/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Distance Holes and lots of great obstacles to go through and around.
Great location with not a lot of other people in the way.
Cons: Difficulty can be high for those who are not as accurate.
Lots of holes on the front 9 due to prairie dogs.
Other Thoughts: Great for Intermediate to advanced players. Beginners Beware!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

westmonster

2-4    9/1/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: distance! (beginner arm here) 250 or better on your drives to play here (imo). One hole was playing over 600....Some challenging holes midway trough course with trees and dry creek calling for a reasonable placement of shot, but not impossible.
Cons: Distance......Maybe not the best place for beginners. Strong potential for lost discs along the dry creek. Witch is not dry, and comes into play in several areas. The weeds/overgrowth can swallow a disc in some areas as well.
Other Thoughts: I am about 3 months into disc golfing and found this course to be be a challenge and fun. (+13 with one melt down hole that cost me 4 and a lost disc.....) When i bought my beginner three disc pack, i came right to westmonster form the store. I was a little discouraged @ that time and wondered if disc golf was for me? Three months later I found this course to be a fair challenge requiring some well placed shots, and other areas with room to rip at it with reckless abandon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -First of all this course is very easy to find and is just a short walk from the parking lot.
-The park itself is very nice and open.
-The concrete tees are nice and the baskets still have their structural integrity.
-The course is very easy to follow. A person who has never been here can easily find his/her way around without a map
-Beginner friendly. Unlike the other courses in the Denver area, this course is big and open with just a small chance of losing your disc in the water.
-Has a few interesting shots with elevation and blind tee shots that give this course a little spice.
Cons: -The tee signs were put in a few years ago I assume, because now they are a mess or gone. Some tee signs show that the hole is 400' away when it couldn't be more then 250' away. Brand new signs would make this place at least half a star better.
-I mentioned that the fairways are well kept, however, if you do not keep it in the fairway there is all kinds of thorns and brush that will pick you apart if you are not careful.
-There is a long walk back to the parking lot from hole #18.
-Have a person spot you. Like mentioned, there are a few blind tee shots to precarious pin placements so a spotter would help locating a disc.
-This course has a lot of repetitive shots and I could see it become boring if I played here often enough
-This course is very crowded with other discers, it is good that the sport is really active out here but bad that you may have to wait.
Other Thoughts: When I was up in Denver on vacation I played here and Interlocken Park, this course is a bit easier and a lot more fun to bring my family that does not play disc golf as much because of the low chance to lose discs.

This course is great for the land that it is on and is a passable course. If you are in the area and you are a newer player or just want to play quickly this may be a course that you should consider.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Suprise

1    5/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 61  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was expecting a hellish safari across open wastelands, but found instead a decent course worth your time on a lazy afternoon. Good back nine brings the stream and dense brush/trees in to play. Beautiful community park with all of the amenities (restrooms, playground, plenty of parking). The course largely keeps you out of the main walking paths, though you have to keep your eyes open on a few holes. Decent elevation changes and gullies come in to play. Enough long holes to air it out if you are working on technique or you have a big arm. Not crowded at all, so you can take your time and throw a couple of discs per hole. Nice that they put the tee number on the back of the signs, which came in handy several times. Pretty close to the 36 highway, so you can stop off on the way to Interlocken course or Boulder. Passive geese on the course don't attack you.
Cons: Course flow is not intuitive for a first timer, and holes 18 and 1 are probably 1/4 mile apart. Best to start on hole 3 near parking. Baskets were tough to see, as they don't have the yellow band and are usually far away. Several baskets are 6"-12" lower than usual.
Other Thoughts: Could be rough in the wind, but that's exactly why you should play it...we can't always have perfect conditions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster dgc

5+    4/5/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with minimal traffic. Good use of the creek that runs through the park.
Cons: Extremely dense under brush.
Other Thoughts: This course is made difficult due to the large amount of plant growth. There is minimal if any maintenance done to this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but bring extra discs

2-4    11/6/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses, but I just can't seem to hold on to discs here. There are lots of variations in the holes with some great long distance shots. Good tee boxes. Really fun course and I keep going back even with all the lost discs.
Cons: This course runs right by a river that seems to have an amazing pull on my discs. It makes for some interesting shots, but the water is nasty if you decide to hop in. It is a pretty rough course so shoes and long pants are a good idea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster DGC

2-4    9/8/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Some tough shots throughout the course.
Can open up for big arms, and also tighten up for some accuracy.
Less traffic. Can play through as a single at ease.
Cons: NO UPKEEP! I swear every time I've been to this course the grass/weeds/overgrowth needs to be cut. It's so easy to loose a disc here it's incredible; That being the hole layouts shouldn't make it so.
Lack of helpful signs. Layout can get confusing.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place overall. If you know the layout, then it can be very fun.
If the grounds had better care, this course could be one of the best in this area.

 Hot Day in Westminster

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: snwbrdr301
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: - Long holes
- Difficult shots
- Natural Vegetation and surroundings
- The terrain varies from long open plains to hills and across creeks
Cons: - Foot tall grass/weeds everywhere
- Occasionally difficult to find disc
- Holes cross and overlap too much
- Pin positions can be difficult to locate
Other Thoughts: Although I enjoy that the surroundings and plant life are native and natural it is very easy to loose a disc. Not a great course to play by yourself as you may need help locating a disc. The holes are long and difficult. Very fun though, especially withe people who have played the course before as some of the pins are hard to locate.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.