Westminster, CO
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 416ft.   3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun work on Hyzer bombs

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 105  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Teepads 4
Tee signs 4
baskets 4
Flow 4
Difficulty 2
I really enjoyed this course except for big walk back to cars. Nice tricky fairways around the little creek.
Cons: Big walk back to cars was a drag. I started on 3 and finished on 2. Missing some terrain everything tends to be hazers
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course it was clean and easy to follow

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

westy

5+    7/20/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: solid course, some decent length and tough throws on the back, overall challenging but not super difficult
Cons: can be very windy, many of my friends dislike this course for some reason i cant figure out
Other Thoughts: fairly wide open, lots of birdies to be had

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix for bombs and technicality

2-4    8/3/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course allowing for power throws as well as adding a degree of technicality to your play. Wide open for the most part and hardly ever crowded. For the most part it is easy to find your discs as it is mostly well groomed.
Cons: Stream flowing on one side of the course and the plant life may make it hard for you to find your throws if you venture into the hazard and in mid season is a huge breeding ground for mosquitos. Bring your bug spray!!!
Other Thoughts: Nice long course with a good view of the mountains and relatively easy to find. Many people park on the south side and play hole 3 first and finish at two as it is easier to find.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Open Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: rhinos00
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the tee boxes...good length and the concrete holds up very well. Numbers on the back of signs makes it real easy to find the next hole. In terms of the course itself: holes 1-6 offer longer distances to make up for a lack of obstacles...great for getting the arm warmed up; some of the shorter holes (like 7, 9, 10, 14, 15) offer a some variety with the addition of water obstacles. Some of the previous reviews disagree with me, but I actually love the prairie field type terrain...especially when the fields have been mowed.
Cons: Lack of maintenance. The first few times I came here, 3 ft. weeds dominated the fairways making it real difficult to spot your disc. Depending on the time of day and if the weeds have not been mowed, mosquitoes become a nuisance on holes 3-7. Some of the water obstacles are really stagnant preventing disc retrieval if one should throw a disc in the water.
Also, try to avoid coming after a heavy rainfall as holes 1-6 can become muddy in parts. And this is really being picky, but sometimes the chirping of the prairie dogs can become quite annoying, especially when they follow you on every hole.
Other Thoughts: If the fairways are maintained, like on the day of this review, then the course can be fun. On the flip side, if the fairways are not maintained, I highly recommend going elsewhere. Also, being new to the area, many have recommended Badlands over this course...I don't get it. I much preferred the layout and environment of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open to long drives

2-4    1/30/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: ShazzyDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
Pros: Open areas for long drives.
Great clean tee boxes.
Grounds were well taken care of.
Easy to find your disks on the terrain.
Overall it is one of my favorites because i get to use a majority of the different types of disks I drag around with me. Keeps me from getting to rusty with the mid-range drivers.
Cons: Hard to find or see certain baskets from tee box.
Water hazards can hidden by bushes or trees.
Can be fairly muddy when snow melts.
You have to think before you throw on some of the water hazard holes otherwise your going to be fish for your disk.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the critters that live in the area. Also watch out on windy days the disk like to glide due to open area.

 Much Better Than Expected!

1    10/8/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: dcarpent
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is underrated in my opinion. While many of the holes on the front nine are very open the back nine has immense character. The course is in a separate area from the soccer and baseball fields, so you won't have to worry about throwing at people, except for the occasional trail that crosses the fairway. The first hole throws directly over a lake and the small trees on the far side of the lake make for an interesting hole. The next few holes are wide open, but give you a chance to practice those long drives. At number 7 it starts to get interesting when the creek and some trees come into play. Number 14 was my favorite hole, it throws down a hill to a basket surrounded on three sides by the creek. The signs at every tee-box make finding the holes easy. The unique prairie grass makes for an interesting course and multiple hole placements for every hole keep the experience changing.
Cons: The lack of trees makes some of the holes boring, but small trees have been planted on many of them. The steep walls on the sides of the creek and numerous wetlands make retrieving your disc from the water difficult. If you're opposed to walking in the weeds this course is not for you.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of space, it's not jammed into a tiny park next to basketball courts and skate parks. Worth the visit if you're in the area, especially if you just played Badlands.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.