Westminster, CO 
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 389ft.   3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
It could be better

5+    6/21/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: The course design is excellent and the holes are long. It really doesn't overlap at all and it is a great walk
Cons: The terrain is horrible, the course really isn't maintained. It's either thick weeds, mud, bugs, or murky streams. Come in hiking boots and jeans. There are prickly weeds everywhere. Easy to loose discs here as well.
Other Thoughts: The design of this course is so great I would rate it a 4 if it were maintained at all. The rough terrain is just such a factor here that I can't look at it as a great course to play. I can't even take my dog here because of the weeds

Bomber Course

1    5/17/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 44  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I just played this course for the first time, I work in the Interlocken tech loop so the course I play all the time and this was a nice change from the short technical 200ft holes, this course is like almost 400ft each hole and lets you rip em.

-Wide open holes with some technical shots
-Do not need to many discs with you, bring a big throw disc and a overstable disc
-Water hazards on most of the holes but there is no way you will lose a disc as the water is very clear and to shallow
Cons: -Bad course to play on a windy day since there is not much tree cover
Other Thoughts: -Play the alternate tee for hole 1, its way cooler!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Typical Front Range

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Nice pads. huge and grippy concrete
+Overall nice place, Westminster clearly has some $$$. Baseball/softball fields were super nice.
+Nice signage, colorful with map of hole (see cons as well)
+Nice baskets with a few basket locations per hole.
+Some minor elevation, especially in the first few holes.
+The few holes that were interesting here involved the creek. It probably won't eat your discs either.
+You shouldn't lose a disc here. It is possible but not likely.
+Lots of parking and I'm sure you can use the rec center for bathrooms, etc.
Cons: -Horrible layout. You start somewhere that you can't park close enough to then you go right past some parking lots after a few holes and then you end up way away from the start. You also do a lot of uneccesary walking around instead of having the next pad close by.
-Open, open, open. Very few obstacles on the whole course. If you like throwing 400+ hyzer bombs all day and not having to control your disc at all then you will like playing here. I didn't really enjoy it. Also no shade on hot days.
-The distances listed on the signs were way off. They were longer than the real distance in most instances. According to them, my 350'ish drives magically became 500'+ drives for this round.
-Very crowded.
-Prairie dogs everywhere making holes to trip in.
-Walking/biking paths weave through the course and are busy.
Other Thoughts: -This course involves a lot of walking and a little fun.
-I wouldn't stop here unless you need to waste a few hours while your kids are at the rec center swimming or something. This course isn't even great for course baggers because of how long it will take you.
-It seems that parks in Colorado (esp in suburbs) were kind of an afterthought. They weren't prepared for the explosion in population and construction so they didn't set aside much nice land. That is reflected in the lack of quality disc golf in the I25 corridor.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun work on Hyzer bombs

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 108  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Teepads 4
Tee signs 4
baskets 4
Flow 4
Difficulty 2
I really enjoyed this course except for big walk back to cars. Nice tricky fairways around the little creek.
Cons: Big walk back to cars was a drag. I started on 3 and finished on 2. Missing some terrain everything tends to be hazers
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course it was clean and easy to follow

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/18/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -cement pads
-good tee signs
-a few technical shots with trees and water obstacles
-multiple basket placments
-free to play
Cons: -not easy to find the start
-good amount of walking without throwing
-pretty flat
-could use some better signs to navigate you around the course
-layout could lead to safety issues
Other Thoughts: Decent course that could be better with a few more signs and a couple holes changed.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Westy!

2-4    8/20/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Distance Holes and lots of great obstacles to go through and around.
Great location with not a lot of other people in the way.
Cons: Difficulty can be high for those who are not as accurate.
Lots of holes on the front 9 due to prairie dogs.
Other Thoughts: Great for Intermediate to advanced players. Beginners Beware!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

westmonster

2-4    9/1/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: distance! (beginner arm here) 250 or better on your drives to play here (imo). One hole was playing over 600....Some challenging holes midway trough course with trees and dry creek calling for a reasonable placement of shot, but not impossible.
Cons: Distance......Maybe not the best place for beginners. Strong potential for lost discs along the dry creek. Witch is not dry, and comes into play in several areas. The weeds/overgrowth can swallow a disc in some areas as well.
Other Thoughts: I am about 3 months into disc golfing and found this course to be be a challenge and fun. (+13 with one melt down hole that cost me 4 and a lost disc.....) When i bought my beginner three disc pack, i came right to westmonster form the store. I was a little discouraged @ that time and wondered if disc golf was for me? Three months later I found this course to be a fair challenge requiring some well placed shots, and other areas with room to rip at it with reckless abandon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Uninteresting

2-4    8/11/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good for big arms
-Easy to navigate
-Minimal foot traffic
-You only need to bring two discs
-Nice tee pads and hole markers
-Free Parking
Cons: -Boring, two drives and putt
-Not much of a challenge
-Like Bird's Nest, big space without a lot of thought
Other Thoughts: Start on hole #3 next to the parking lot. This way you will end in the lot. I don't know why you would make people walk two holes to start when you just could have numbered the holes correctly, weird.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Westminster

1    6/12/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: ccurtiswriting
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to a lot of other things in the Westminster area. The first nine holes (what I've played) are not bad, but not particularly interesting.
Cons: There are a lot of weeds and seeds and stickers that will end up in your shoes in this course. Also, there is little to no shade until around the seventh hole, so bring sunblock or be ready to be cooked. Though the baskets are well maintained, most of the tee signs have been ripped up pretty badly and could use new stickers.
Other Thoughts: This is not a good course for people who can't throw the disc very far. I'm no master myself and it can be daunting when you see most of the hole distances over 500 feet. It can be frustrating for players to be three or four over par before they even get within putting range.
I just hope the back nine is more interesting, which it looks like it is... and has a lot more traps.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Holes But Lots of Filler

1    4/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -DGA baskets that are in decent shape.
- Nice concrete tee-pads that are nice and long.
-Tee-signs at each hole (that show pin position and give the hole length.
-Each tee-sign is numbered on the back, which makes it easier to navigate the course.
-The course is fairly easy to navigate and it is usually pretty obvious which tee-pad is next and which basket you are throwing too.
-The course has a good amount of elevation.
-Water comes into play on quite a few holes. Hole 1 pro tee-pad throws over a part of a lake and quite a few holes on the back nine throw around a river.
-The holes that throw near the river are the best holes on the course, because since the river is pretty overgrown, it provides some interesting risk/reward situations of do you go for it and risk having to look for your disc in the thick brush or do you take the safe route and avoid the brush.
-For those that like long holes most of the holes on this course are over 350 feet, with quite a few in the four hundred range in the right pin position and even a few exceeding 500 or 600 feet.
-Information sign at the beginning of the course.
-Multiple pin positions on all of the holes.
-Some of the pin positions are on hillsides or have drop-offs right into the river, which adds some risk and reward to putting.
Cons: -While this course has some nice holes that are a lot of fun, it also has a lot of throwaway filler holes. Holes 2-8 are mostly wide open shots with very few obstacles and aren't very exciting.
-The course gets very muddy and wet, so if it has been rainy or snowy don't wear your good shoes.
-Many of the tee-signs are peeling and hard to read and need to be replaced.
-There are groundhogs in the area, which add to the muddiness.
-The area around the creek and the pond are quite overgrown and while it does add some nice risk reward, it also can be frustrating to find your disc in the brush at times.
-The course plays near a lot of sidewalks and bike paths and on a nice day you will probably be waiting on some holes for other park users to get out of the way.
-There is a very long walk back to the parking lot from hole 18 and some of the holes have a bit of a long walk between.
-I wish the distance was balanced a little bit better, there are very few holes under 300 feet and the long distance gets a little repetitive. Players who don't throw very far. may become frustrated by the consistently longer distance holes. Overall, it would be nice to have some shorter holes to add variety to the course.
-Water in creek is very murky and finding a disc in it won't be much fun.
-No trashcans or benches on the course. No shade either so if it is a hot day out bring lots of water.
-It would have been nice if they could have brought the lake into play on more than just one hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course definitely has some fun and interesting holes but it has far too many, wide open filler holes that are not very exciting to be a truly great course. Its a pretty good round if you are in the area and looking to get a round in.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.