Westminster, CO 
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 575ft.   3 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Weed City

1    9/13/2015   9/17/2015
Review By: Lightbringer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs.

Good Mach baskets.

Set in a nice park area with a lake and many nice sports facilities.

Very good place to practice pure distance drives without having to worry about obstructions.

The holes here are longer than average for those who want to throw some bombs.

There are a few well designed holes that are very cool, mostly in the back 9.

The front 9 is well mowed, and except for the water hazards it's difficult to lose a disc there.

The water hazards add a little interest and pressure.

When I was there it was not very crowded.

It's not very difficult to navigate.

You have to walk for a good bit across the soccer field to get to the first hole from the parking, but other than that it is designed so that you loop around and end up back at the parking lot without too many wasted steps.
Cons: Unless you just want to work on your maximum distance drives, the front 9 is going to be very boring. The holes are all just wide open, long distance shots in a flat and treeless area of the park.

The back 9, while having much more interesting shots, is an abyss of uncontrolled vegetation. The fairways consist of 6 foot tall thorny thistles, prickly bushes and yucca, with small foot trails from the tee to the basket. Often, making a great shot in terms of the game will land you 15 feet deep in this mess and you'll have to bushwhack your way through to reach your disc. It seems from the pictures posted here that they cut all of this stuff out a few months ago, but it grew back with a vengeance.

While the signs and pads are nice, they are it when it comes to amenities at the tees. No benches, no trashcans, no nothing.

There is basically no shade, and nothing to break the wind.

Other Thoughts: If you have the time and the means to play another course, I would recommend doing so. If you're in the area and just looking for a round this will do. If they cut down the weeds on the back 9 it would greatly improve the course, but the front 9 would still just be long, wide open shots.

Not a destination course, but not completely horrible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It could be better

5+    6/21/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course design is excellent and the holes are long. It really doesn't overlap at all and it is a great walk
Cons: The terrain is horrible, the course really isn't maintained. It's either thick weeds, mud, bugs, or murky streams. Come in hiking boots and jeans. There are prickly weeds everywhere. Easy to loose discs here as well.
Other Thoughts: The design of this course is so great I would rate it a 4 if it were maintained at all. The rough terrain is just such a factor here that I can't look at it as a great course to play. I can't even take my dog here because of the weeds

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bomber Course

1    5/17/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 54  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I just played this course for the first time, I work in the Interlocken tech loop so the course I play all the time and this was a nice change from the short technical 200ft holes, this course is like almost 400ft each hole and lets you rip em.

-Wide open holes with some technical shots
-Do not need to many discs with you, bring a big throw disc and a overstable disc
-Water hazards on most of the holes but there is no way you will lose a disc as the water is very clear and to shallow
Cons: -Bad course to play on a windy day since there is not much tree cover
Other Thoughts: -Play the alternate tee for hole 1, its way cooler!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Typical Front Range

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Nice pads. huge and grippy concrete
+Overall nice place, Westminster clearly has some $$$. Baseball/softball fields were super nice.
+Nice signage, colorful with map of hole (see cons as well)
+Nice baskets with a few basket locations per hole.
+Some minor elevation, especially in the first few holes.
+The few holes that were interesting here involved the creek. It probably won't eat your discs either.
+You shouldn't lose a disc here. It is possible but not likely.
+Lots of parking and I'm sure you can use the rec center for bathrooms, etc.
Cons: -Horrible layout. You start somewhere that you can't park close enough to then you go right past some parking lots after a few holes and then you end up way away from the start. You also do a lot of uneccesary walking around instead of having the next pad close by.
-Open, open, open. Very few obstacles on the whole course. If you like throwing 400+ hyzer bombs all day and not having to control your disc at all then you will like playing here. I didn't really enjoy it. Also no shade on hot days.
-The distances listed on the signs were way off. They were longer than the real distance in most instances. According to them, my 350'ish drives magically became 500'+ drives for this round.
-Very crowded.
-Prairie dogs everywhere making holes to trip in.
-Walking/biking paths weave through the course and are busy.
Other Thoughts: -This course involves a lot of walking and a little fun.
-I wouldn't stop here unless you need to waste a few hours while your kids are at the rec center swimming or something. This course isn't even great for course baggers because of how long it will take you.
-It seems that parks in Colorado (esp in suburbs) were kind of an afterthought. They weren't prepared for the explosion in population and construction so they didn't set aside much nice land. That is reflected in the lack of quality disc golf in the I25 corridor.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun work on Hyzer bombs

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 118  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Teepads 4
Tee signs 4
baskets 4
Flow 4
Difficulty 2
I really enjoyed this course except for big walk back to cars. Nice tricky fairways around the little creek.
Cons: Big walk back to cars was a drag. I started on 3 and finished on 2. Missing some terrain everything tends to be hazers
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course it was clean and easy to follow

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    2/18/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 81  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -cement pads
-good tee signs
-a few technical shots with trees and water obstacles
-multiple basket placments
-free to play
Cons: -not easy to find the start
-good amount of walking without throwing
-pretty flat
-could use some better signs to navigate you around the course
-layout could lead to safety issues
Other Thoughts: Decent course that could be better with a few more signs and a couple holes changed.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/20/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Distance Holes and lots of great obstacles to go through and around.
Great location with not a lot of other people in the way.
Cons: Difficulty can be high for those who are not as accurate.
Lots of holes on the front 9 due to prairie dogs.
Other Thoughts: Great for Intermediate to advanced players. Beginners Beware!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/1/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: distance! (beginner arm here) 250 or better on your drives to play here (imo). One hole was playing over 600....Some challenging holes midway trough course with trees and dry creek calling for a reasonable placement of shot, but not impossible.
Cons: Distance......Maybe not the best place for beginners. Strong potential for lost discs along the dry creek. Witch is not dry, and comes into play in several areas. The weeds/overgrowth can swallow a disc in some areas as well.
Other Thoughts: I am about 3 months into disc golfing and found this course to be be a challenge and fun. (+13 with one melt down hole that cost me 4 and a lost disc.....) When i bought my beginner three disc pack, i came right to westmonster form the store. I was a little discouraged @ that time and wondered if disc golf was for me? Three months later I found this course to be a fair challenge requiring some well placed shots, and other areas with room to rip at it with reckless abandon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/11/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Good for big arms
-Easy to navigate
-Minimal foot traffic
-You only need to bring two discs
-Nice tee pads and hole markers
-Free Parking
Cons: -Boring, two drives and putt
-Not much of a challenge
-Like Bird's Nest, big space without a lot of thought
Other Thoughts: Start on hole #3 next to the parking lot. This way you will end in the lot. I don't know why you would make people walk two holes to start when you just could have numbered the holes correctly, weird.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/12/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: ccurtiswriting
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to a lot of other things in the Westminster area. The first nine holes (what I've played) are not bad, but not particularly interesting.
Cons: There are a lot of weeds and seeds and stickers that will end up in your shoes in this course. Also, there is little to no shade until around the seventh hole, so bring sunblock or be ready to be cooked. Though the baskets are well maintained, most of the tee signs have been ripped up pretty badly and could use new stickers.
Other Thoughts: This is not a good course for people who can't throw the disc very far. I'm no master myself and it can be daunting when you see most of the hole distances over 500 feet. It can be frustrating for players to be three or four over par before they even get within putting range.
I just hope the back nine is more interesting, which it looks like it is... and has a lot more traps.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.