Westminster, CO 
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #15 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 441ft.   3 / 441ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Some Good Holes But Lots of Filler

1    4/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -DGA baskets that are in decent shape.
- Nice concrete tee-pads that are nice and long.
-Tee-signs at each hole (that show pin position and give the hole length.
-Each tee-sign is numbered on the back, which makes it easier to navigate the course.
-The course is fairly easy to navigate and it is usually pretty obvious which tee-pad is next and which basket you are throwing too.
-The course has a good amount of elevation.
-Water comes into play on quite a few holes. Hole 1 pro tee-pad throws over a part of a lake and quite a few holes on the back nine throw around a river.
-The holes that throw near the river are the best holes on the course, because since the river is pretty overgrown, it provides some interesting risk/reward situations of do you go for it and risk having to look for your disc in the thick brush or do you take the safe route and avoid the brush.
-For those that like long holes most of the holes on this course are over 350 feet, with quite a few in the four hundred range in the right pin position and even a few exceeding 500 or 600 feet.
-Information sign at the beginning of the course.
-Multiple pin positions on all of the holes.
-Some of the pin positions are on hillsides or have drop-offs right into the river, which adds some risk and reward to putting.
Cons: -While this course has some nice holes that are a lot of fun, it also has a lot of throwaway filler holes. Holes 2-8 are mostly wide open shots with very few obstacles and aren't very exciting.
-The course gets very muddy and wet, so if it has been rainy or snowy don't wear your good shoes.
-Many of the tee-signs are peeling and hard to read and need to be replaced.
-There are groundhogs in the area, which add to the muddiness.
-The area around the creek and the pond are quite overgrown and while it does add some nice risk reward, it also can be frustrating to find your disc in the brush at times.
-The course plays near a lot of sidewalks and bike paths and on a nice day you will probably be waiting on some holes for other park users to get out of the way.
-There is a very long walk back to the parking lot from hole 18 and some of the holes have a bit of a long walk between.
-I wish the distance was balanced a little bit better, there are very few holes under 300 feet and the long distance gets a little repetitive. Players who don't throw very far. may become frustrated by the consistently longer distance holes. Overall, it would be nice to have some shorter holes to add variety to the course.
-Water in creek is very murky and finding a disc in it won't be much fun.
-No trashcans or benches on the course. No shade either so if it is a hot day out bring lots of water.
-It would have been nice if they could have brought the lake into play on more than just one hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course definitely has some fun and interesting holes but it has far too many, wide open filler holes that are not very exciting to be a truly great course. Its a pretty good round if you are in the area and looking to get a round in.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    7/21/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 154  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -First of all this course is very easy to find and is just a short walk from the parking lot.
-The park itself is very nice and open.
-The concrete tees are nice and the baskets still have their structural integrity.
-The course is very easy to follow. A person who has never been here can easily find his/her way around without a map
-Beginner friendly. Unlike the other courses in the Denver area, this course is big and open with just a small chance of losing your disc in the water.
-Has a few interesting shots with elevation and blind tee shots that give this course a little spice.
Cons: -The tee signs were put in a few years ago I assume, because now they are a mess or gone. Some tee signs show that the hole is 400' away when it couldn't be more then 250' away. Brand new signs would make this place at least half a star better.
-I mentioned that the fairways are well kept, however, if you do not keep it in the fairway there is all kinds of thorns and brush that will pick you apart if you are not careful.
-There is a long walk back to the parking lot from hole #18.
-Have a person spot you. Like mentioned, there are a few blind tee shots to precarious pin placements so a spotter would help locating a disc.
-This course has a lot of repetitive shots and I could see it become boring if I played here often enough
-This course is very crowded with other discers, it is good that the sport is really active out here but bad that you may have to wait.
Other Thoughts: When I was up in Denver on vacation I played here and Interlocken Park, this course is a bit easier and a lot more fun to bring my family that does not play disc golf as much because of the low chance to lose discs.

This course is great for the land that it is on and is a passable course. If you are in the area and you are a newer player or just want to play quickly this may be a course that you should consider.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/29/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: flowinowen
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses the entire lower half of the park. While it crosses over paths, it is designed to be able to see incoming traffic. 12-18 are across the main parking lot, little to no foot traffic, and Big Dry Creek ups the challenge level. Worn paths and good tee pad markings.
Cons: First 10 holes are relatively boring, all field play. I have lost three discs on 14+15. Not many tree or obstacles to make things interesting. That being said, when the wind blows even the slightest bit, theres no chance of playing here.
Other Thoughts: Bring your binoculars! there are many hawks/falcons living in the area. I saw a green warbler my first time out. The creek drys towards the end of autumn, so discs lost in the creek are more obtainable. Its a course worth checking out at least.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Three Totally Distinct Courses!

1    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Westminister DGC is one the more disc-combobulated courses I've ever encountered. The first 7-8 holes play across a praire and are mostly long, kinda boring and not really very stimulating. Then you get to the middle section of the course and I really liked it a lot. It was perfect for me, an aging recreational type player. There was some risk-reward type holes. There were some birdie ops. I was excited and had fun during this part of the course.
Then I came to the final stage of the course and it was like some madman had constructed it. Every hole was long, played across the dark, murky creek and featured way too much risk and more arm than I have. Advanced/pro players would love these holes and the challenge they offer. I mostly skipped them or played them ultra safely like an elementary wussy girl would.
Cons: Besides the tri-personalty of this course, there are a few more cons I might wish to point out. There is quite a walk to the first tee. The teesigns, when new, were probably wonderful. Now, the fiberglass covering is broken off every one leaving the information underneath exposed to the weather or vandals or both. Most of the info is now unreadable. There is also no way to tell which position the basket is in. On this course, A or B is sometimes 150' different. Not knowing is a real problem. How about drilling a hole in the sign and putting a colored washer in either the A or B position like many courses do. That would really help here.
# 4 sign says the basket is either 498' or 576' and the basket was set about 200' directly in front???? What's this about?
Other Thoughts: I'm totally not sure who this course is designed for? That's probably why the ratings are so totally all over the board. Those last holes are awesome but not for a Rec player like me. And I'm talking about mid-July. What is that creek like in April? I wanted no part of it today, in spring it might look like the North Shore of Oahu. You could probably surf in it. If it ever completely dries up, you might find more than some discs in there, there might be some missing disc golfers down there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/20/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: solid course, some decent length and tough throws on the back, overall challenging but not super difficult
Cons: can be very windy, many of my friends dislike this course for some reason i cant figure out
Other Thoughts: fairly wide open, lots of birdies to be had

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Suprise

1    5/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 70  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was expecting a hellish safari across open wastelands, but found instead a decent course worth your time on a lazy afternoon. Good back nine brings the stream and dense brush/trees in to play. Beautiful community park with all of the amenities (restrooms, playground, plenty of parking). The course largely keeps you out of the main walking paths, though you have to keep your eyes open on a few holes. Decent elevation changes and gullies come in to play. Enough long holes to air it out if you are working on technique or you have a big arm. Not crowded at all, so you can take your time and throw a couple of discs per hole. Nice that they put the tee number on the back of the signs, which came in handy several times. Pretty close to the 36 highway, so you can stop off on the way to Interlocken course or Boulder. Passive geese on the course don't attack you.
Cons: Course flow is not intuitive for a first timer, and holes 18 and 1 are probably 1/4 mile apart. Best to start on hole 3 near parking. Baskets were tough to see, as they don't have the yellow band and are usually far away. Several baskets are 6"-12" lower than usual.
Other Thoughts: Could be rough in the wind, but that's exactly why you should play it...we can't always have perfect conditions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster dgc

5+    4/5/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with minimal traffic. Good use of the creek that runs through the park.
Cons: Extremely dense under brush.
Other Thoughts: This course is made difficult due to the large amount of plant growth. There is minimal if any maintenance done to this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: disc dunker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Not crowded, easy to navigate, nice tees, baskets are labeled nicely.
Cons: no shade, horrible weeds, snakes
Other Thoughts: this place was rough. i felt like i needed a machete to get through the weeds and sticker patches. not to mention i almost stepped on a snake in the swamp that you have to walk through.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix for bombs and technicality

2-4    8/3/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course allowing for power throws as well as adding a degree of technicality to your play. Wide open for the most part and hardly ever crowded. For the most part it is easy to find your discs as it is mostly well groomed.
Cons: Stream flowing on one side of the course and the plant life may make it hard for you to find your throws if you venture into the hazard and in mid season is a huge breeding ground for mosquitos. Bring your bug spray!!!
Other Thoughts: Nice long course with a good view of the mountains and relatively easy to find. Many people park on the south side and play hole 3 first and finish at two as it is easier to find.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long Drives. Lose Discs.

1    6/11/2010   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice Baskets
-Many Long Shots
-Not many other visitors
Cons: This course had no imagination, and had very few shots that were not straight. It was nearly impossible to find the first hole, and the confusion continued on from there. While there were a few long bombs, this fact was overshadowed by the bushes, grass, and brush that would consume your discs. Unlike others who seem to lose discs in the river, I spent far too much time searching for discs amongst the little bushes, grass, and cacti which seemed to eat every throw. On the back nine, I lost a disc in the thick brush by the river. There is also minimal shade cover from the sun on a hot day.
Other Thoughts: If you like long, straight, uncreative shots... this is your course. You can bomb it and aim straight for the basket. The course seems to improve as you go along, and the back 9 get a bit better, however the lack of creativity and presence of "same-ness" is why I rate this course low.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.