Westminster, CO
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 366ft.   3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Three Totally Distinct Courses!

1    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Westminister DGC is one the more disc-combobulated courses I've ever encountered. The first 7-8 holes play across a praire and are mostly long, kinda boring and not really very stimulating. Then you get to the middle section of the course and I really liked it a lot. It was perfect for me, an aging recreational type player. There was some risk-reward type holes. There were some birdie ops. I was excited and had fun during this part of the course.
Then I came to the final stage of the course and it was like some madman had constructed it. Every hole was long, played across the dark, murky creek and featured way too much risk and more arm than I have. Advanced/pro players would love these holes and the challenge they offer. I mostly skipped them or played them ultra safely like an elementary wussy girl would.
Cons: Besides the tri-personalty of this course, there are a few more cons I might wish to point out. There is quite a walk to the first tee. The teesigns, when new, were probably wonderful. Now, the fiberglass covering is broken off every one leaving the information underneath exposed to the weather or vandals or both. Most of the info is now unreadable. There is also no way to tell which position the basket is in. On this course, A or B is sometimes 150' different. Not knowing is a real problem. How about drilling a hole in the sign and putting a colored washer in either the A or B position like many courses do. That would really help here.
# 4 sign says the basket is either 498' or 576' and the basket was set about 200' directly in front???? What's this about?
Other Thoughts: I'm totally not sure who this course is designed for? That's probably why the ratings are so totally all over the board. Those last holes are awesome but not for a Rec player like me. And I'm talking about mid-July. What is that creek like in April? I wanted no part of it today, in spring it might look like the North Shore of Oahu. You could probably surf in it. If it ever completely dries up, you might find more than some discs in there, there might be some missing disc golfers down there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

westy

5+    7/20/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: solid course, some decent length and tough throws on the back, overall challenging but not super difficult
Cons: can be very windy, many of my friends dislike this course for some reason i cant figure out
Other Thoughts: fairly wide open, lots of birdies to be had

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Suprise

1    5/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was expecting a hellish safari across open wastelands, but found instead a decent course worth your time on a lazy afternoon. Good back nine brings the stream and dense brush/trees in to play. Beautiful community park with all of the amenities (restrooms, playground, plenty of parking). The course largely keeps you out of the main walking paths, though you have to keep your eyes open on a few holes. Decent elevation changes and gullies come in to play. Enough long holes to air it out if you are working on technique or you have a big arm. Not crowded at all, so you can take your time and throw a couple of discs per hole. Nice that they put the tee number on the back of the signs, which came in handy several times. Pretty close to the 36 highway, so you can stop off on the way to Interlocken course or Boulder. Passive geese on the course don't attack you.
Cons: Course flow is not intuitive for a first timer, and holes 18 and 1 are probably 1/4 mile apart. Best to start on hole 3 near parking. Baskets were tough to see, as they don't have the yellow band and are usually far away. Several baskets are 6"-12" lower than usual.
Other Thoughts: Could be rough in the wind, but that's exactly why you should play it...we can't always have perfect conditions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster dgc

5+    4/5/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with minimal traffic. Good use of the creek that runs through the park.
Cons: Extremely dense under brush.
Other Thoughts: This course is made difficult due to the large amount of plant growth. There is minimal if any maintenance done to this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: disc dunker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Not crowded, easy to navigate, nice tees, baskets are labeled nicely.
Cons: no shade, horrible weeds, snakes
Other Thoughts: this place was rough. i felt like i needed a machete to get through the weeds and sticker patches. not to mention i almost stepped on a snake in the swamp that you have to walk through.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix for bombs and technicality

2-4    8/3/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course allowing for power throws as well as adding a degree of technicality to your play. Wide open for the most part and hardly ever crowded. For the most part it is easy to find your discs as it is mostly well groomed.
Cons: Stream flowing on one side of the course and the plant life may make it hard for you to find your throws if you venture into the hazard and in mid season is a huge breeding ground for mosquitos. Bring your bug spray!!!
Other Thoughts: Nice long course with a good view of the mountains and relatively easy to find. Many people park on the south side and play hole 3 first and finish at two as it is easier to find.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long Drives. Lose Discs.

1    6/11/2010   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice Baskets
-Many Long Shots
-Not many other visitors
Cons: This course had no imagination, and had very few shots that were not straight. It was nearly impossible to find the first hole, and the confusion continued on from there. While there were a few long bombs, this fact was overshadowed by the bushes, grass, and brush that would consume your discs. Unlike others who seem to lose discs in the river, I spent far too much time searching for discs amongst the little bushes, grass, and cacti which seemed to eat every throw. On the back nine, I lost a disc in the thick brush by the river. There is also minimal shade cover from the sun on a hot day.
Other Thoughts: If you like long, straight, uncreative shots... this is your course. You can bomb it and aim straight for the basket. The course seems to improve as you go along, and the back 9 get a bit better, however the lack of creativity and presence of "same-ness" is why I rate this course low.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster DGC

1    3/15/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 44  Reviewed: 30
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -nice baskets and tees
-has potential to be a fun course with some interesting landscapes and some fun holes
-located on a nice park
Cons: -the back nine holes were all right on the edge of the river and were not very much fun to play because of the risk of throwing into the water
-the first hole is a long ways from the closest parking lot
-the 18th hole ends about a mile away from the parking lot that was closest to the first hole
-the holes do not flow very well and many times when you are walking between holes you back track a lot
-the main problems are that the course was laid out terribly
Other Thoughts: There were groundhog holes everywhere and they were pretty annoying but it does not really affect the play

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Big Drives and Approach Shots

5+    3/18/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 offer nice lay-outs and are a challenge to birdie. Some new pins placments have pumped some new life into a sometimes forgotten Denver metro course.
Cons: Still plenty of LONG wide-open holes. It would probably be a discouraging course for beginners who don't throw a consistent +300'. If you get wind it will kick your a$$ even more on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I think it's easy to bag on bag on Westy but it is a nice lay-out and makes good use of park space that would otherwise go un-used. I have enjoyed knocking the rust off the early spring arm there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but bring extra discs

2-4    11/6/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses, but I just can't seem to hold on to discs here. There are lots of variations in the holes with some great long distance shots. Good tee boxes. Really fun course and I keep going back even with all the lost discs.
Cons: This course runs right by a river that seems to have an amazing pull on my discs. It makes for some interesting shots, but the water is nasty if you decide to hop in. It is a pretty rough course so shoes and long pants are a good idea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.