Westminster, CO 
Westminster DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 366ft.   3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Tee signs are marked on the back for easy visibility



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Big Drives and Approach Shots

5+    3/18/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 offer nice lay-outs and are a challenge to birdie. Some new pins placments have pumped some new life into a sometimes forgotten Denver metro course.
Cons: Still plenty of LONG wide-open holes. It would probably be a discouraging course for beginners who don't throw a consistent +300'. If you get wind it will kick your a$$ even more on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I think it's easy to bag on bag on Westy but it is a nice lay-out and makes good use of park space that would otherwise go un-used. I have enjoyed knocking the rust off the early spring arm there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but bring extra discs

2-4    11/6/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses, but I just can't seem to hold on to discs here. There are lots of variations in the holes with some great long distance shots. Good tee boxes. Really fun course and I keep going back even with all the lost discs.
Cons: This course runs right by a river that seems to have an amazing pull on my discs. It makes for some interesting shots, but the water is nasty if you decide to hop in. It is a pretty rough course so shoes and long pants are a good idea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Westminster DGC

2-4    9/8/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Some tough shots throughout the course.
Can open up for big arms, and also tighten up for some accuracy.
Less traffic. Can play through as a single at ease.
Cons: NO UPKEEP! I swear every time I've been to this course the grass/weeds/overgrowth needs to be cut. It's so easy to loose a disc here it's incredible; That being the hole layouts shouldn't make it so.
Lack of helpful signs. Layout can get confusing.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place overall. If you know the layout, then it can be very fun.
If the grounds had better care, this course could be one of the best in this area.

 Hot Day in Westminster

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: snwbrdr301
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: - Long holes
- Difficult shots
- Natural Vegetation and surroundings
- The terrain varies from long open plains to hills and across creeks
Cons: - Foot tall grass/weeds everywhere
- Occasionally difficult to find disc
- Holes cross and overlap too much
- Pin positions can be difficult to locate
Other Thoughts: Although I enjoy that the surroundings and plant life are native and natural it is very easy to loose a disc. Not a great course to play by yourself as you may need help locating a disc. The holes are long and difficult. Very fun though, especially withe people who have played the course before as some of the pins are hard to locate.

 Eh.

1    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 85  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long holes, and a variety of shots. Best hole was #8. The obstacles were fun. The tees, baskets, and markers were all in great shape except an over grown 18th tee.
Cons: The biggest problem with this course is layout. There are long walks between baskets and tees, and you often have to backtrack. Additionally, the layout leaves you stranded at the back of the park. This course forces some extremely risky shots. Very easy to lose discs. The stagnant water makes for many bugs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Open Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: rhinos00
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the tee boxes...good length and the concrete holds up very well. Numbers on the back of signs makes it real easy to find the next hole. In terms of the course itself: holes 1-6 offer longer distances to make up for a lack of obstacles...great for getting the arm warmed up; some of the shorter holes (like 7, 9, 10, 14, 15) offer a some variety with the addition of water obstacles. Some of the previous reviews disagree with me, but I actually love the prairie field type terrain...especially when the fields have been mowed.
Cons: Lack of maintenance. The first few times I came here, 3 ft. weeds dominated the fairways making it real difficult to spot your disc. Depending on the time of day and if the weeds have not been mowed, mosquitoes become a nuisance on holes 3-7. Some of the water obstacles are really stagnant preventing disc retrieval if one should throw a disc in the water.
Also, try to avoid coming after a heavy rainfall as holes 1-6 can become muddy in parts. And this is really being picky, but sometimes the chirping of the prairie dogs can become quite annoying, especially when they follow you on every hole.
Other Thoughts: If the fairways are maintained, like on the day of this review, then the course can be fun. On the flip side, if the fairways are not maintained, I highly recommend going elsewhere. Also, being new to the area, many have recommended Badlands over this course...I don't get it. I much preferred the layout and environment of this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty much unplayable today

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: AtomicCEO
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long holes, good tees, close to my house
Cons: 3 ft weeds on every fairway, water slimy and murky, gross.
Other Thoughts: I've never played a course that makes you wade through those nasty thick 3ft tall weeds in the fairway. There was no safe landing place... it was all nasty. Avoid the water like the plague, because it's surrounded by thistle and swampy. You're not going in there to get a lost disc, really. This course needs maintenance badly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open to long drives

2-4    1/30/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: ShazzyDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
Pros: Open areas for long drives.
Great clean tee boxes.
Grounds were well taken care of.
Easy to find your disks on the terrain.
Overall it is one of my favorites because i get to use a majority of the different types of disks I drag around with me. Keeps me from getting to rusty with the mid-range drivers.
Cons: Hard to find or see certain baskets from tee box.
Water hazards can hidden by bushes or trees.
Can be fairly muddy when snow melts.
You have to think before you throw on some of the water hazard holes otherwise your going to be fish for your disk.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the critters that live in the area. Also watch out on windy days the disk like to glide due to open area.

 Cool course.

5+    11/5/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Definistrated29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads and baskets.
Detailed signs with distances and pin placements.
Signs have numbers on back making it easy to find the next hole.
Has multiple long holes where you can really bomb it plus various shorter shots that bring the trees and the creek into play.
Hole 1 from the pro tees plays over the lake making for a fun shot.
Hole 1 has an amateur tee so you don't have to throw over the lake if you don't want to.
Cons: The weeds are really long in some places and a large number of the weeds are thistles or the annoying walk through em and end up with 50 seed pods attached to you.
The creek can eat discs on holes 9-18 and is deep in various places making disc retrieval tougher.
There are walkers/joggers that use paths through the first 8 holes.
After snow melt or heavy rain the course will be pretty muddy.

Other Thoughts: Parking options:
I prefer to park by the soccer fields and walk to hole 1 behind the pavilion over by the lake, leaving a short walk up half of hole 12 to the parking lot after finishing the round.

You can also park on the west side of the rec center. The teepad for hole three is right next to it. Start there and finish with hole 2.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Average

5+    9/28/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery of the mountains is spectacular. The creek is soothing and the chirping prairie dogs are great. #1 (pro tee) over the lake is fun. #15 is over the creek and around a tree. #12 is off a ledge. The park is clean and well maintained. The tee boxes are concrete and big. 2 pin placements.
Cons: The signs tell you distance, but fail to mention the location of the creek. Be careful on #14 because the creek to the left of the hole is deep and not easily accessed. The creek overall is deep for its size and murky at times. You need to survey the holes to know what you are throwing into because the signs fail to help. I played in the summer and the weeds here are unlike any other course. They are thorny, thick, and tall. The park is big so you need to view a course map for navigation and to know where to park. I don't see the point of having one hole with no trees and 400+ ft. of distance (i.e. no/slim chance of an ace) yet this is the case for 7 holes. It gets old after 2 holes and the rest of the holes are only okay. I just played in September and all of the growth is dead. There are trees by the creek, but few of them are utilized. I guess it wouldn't be much fun to hit a tree and have to go through the creek to get it.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Denver for a short time, feel free to skip this course unless you are nearby. The lack of trees make the front 9 a bore. I recommend parking by #3, starting there, and finishing at #2. This method would really increase the drama at #1. The course is not too crowded on weekdays, but the park is nice so there are other parkgoers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.