Amory, MS 
Panther Prowl DGC Share



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 An Improving Course

5+    8/16/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: mfarrar
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Nice mix of long holes and technical holes.
Nice incorporation of existing water hazards and woods.
Long pads on most holes and novice tees on all.
The course is much better maintained and easier to navigate than before.
Cons: Holes 10-16 in the woods are very soggy in the wet months.
Not all holes have long pads.
No alternate basket positions.
More signage is needed to help direct newcomers.
Other Thoughts: While the new layout is still challenging for most players, moving the baskets from across the railroad tracks has made this course much friendlier and inviting. Much work has been done by the club to improve and maintain the course the last few years and it shows. The city park and recreation department has become much more involved in upkeep which is a great help. Someone who hasn't visited this course in a few years will be pleasantly surprised and pleased with what they find. It's a really fun and challenging course.

Follow the yellow tee signs!

1    7/30/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: -Pro and Am tees on most holes
-Great use of obstacles and O.B.
-Very technical on several holes
-Scorecards in mailbox near hole #1
-Very pretty park with a horse park and a great playground for the kiddies.
Cons: -Holes #7-#15 are very confusing; the basket numbers are 1 off. Hole #9 has an eight (and a 'B') on the basket, #10 has a 9, #11 has a 10 and so forth... until #14 which has a 10 and a "to #14" sign on the basket (which if followed leads nowhere).
-The playground area had trash everywhere (looked like someone just had a birthday party)
-There are minimal trash cans and benches (1 or 2 of each)
-The map on the scorecards is way off. #12, #13 & #14 are no longer across the RR tracks
Other Thoughts: This course is currently very confusing due to hole 'rearranging', which removed 12-14 from across the RR tracks. I updated the course map as best I could, so be sure to print one before playing.
This DGC is worth playing and once they finish the changes and update the maps and baskets numbers it could easily be a 3.5.

 Nice

1    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: The choice of holes is really diverse. I also liked the use of what little elevation there is (several uphill putts so be careful).
Cons: Much of the course has grass tee pads and i an not a big fan of grass tee pads. The course is also rather wet so make sure you wear waterproof shoes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a really good course but could be so much better. The local club does what is can but the Amory parks and rec department should step up and help out and realize what a gem they have.

 Great Potential but Incomplete

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2010
Pros: This could be a great course. The first 8 holes are long and open. Then come some technical shots in the woods - some of them still long with OB water. Some of the fairways have nice (sponsored) concrete tees. Most have alternate tees. Some have nice tee signs. And some directional signs are very helpful.
Cons: On the other hand, some directional signs point to the wrong holes and many more are needed. There is no course map, and many tees are not marked. One tee will be concrete on a defined fairway. For the next shot you may have to just look for a worn patch on the ground and guess where to throw. What tee signs there are seem to be in conflict - at least three tee signs were marked as hole number 4. (Though I believe the baskets were all accurately marked.) The course crosses several paved roads and some railroad tracks.

As to the holes themselves, they are long and flat - which can be fun. But it means that recovery shots are easy. The course has some added artificial elevation, which helps, but in general it is short on risk/reward decisions, tricky shots, or significant challenges other than distance. You will not need most of the shots or discs in your bag.
Other Thoughts: If you like to air out your discs and have a local guide, this could be a fun course. I drove down to play the course because it is highly rated, but in it's present condition, this course is not worth the drive. Without a guide, it is very frustrating. Once the directional signs, tee signs, and tees are all in place, this could be an enjoyable outing with moderate challenges.

  

1    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: markb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course with various different types of shots. Starts out fairly open but long, then you hit the woods for some more technical holes. Throw it well and you will be rewarded but miss and you will pay. Overall an awesome course if you like a little bit of difficulty.
Cons: Across the tracks is still rough and very nasty when it rains. Tee pads need work on the newer holes. Skeeters are getting bad on warm days.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course that is really nice. With just a little work could be one of the nicer ones in area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/15/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very well take care of by the local club.

Lot of shot variety. First few holes are more rip and grip style moving on into the woods you have trees to deal with and accuracy comes into play.

Concrete tee pads on half the holes with correct distances. Other holes will be eventually concreted.

Bathrooms are near the playground by hole #1.

Tee arrows for guiding you in the right direction for you out of towners.
Cons: The newer holes down the railroad tracks on the backside teeing off area is extremely muddy if it's rained lately, also these holes need to be played more to get a path and cleared out better. So go play it!
Other Thoughts: The local club says it should be at best by the end of Summer 09. This course is one of my top favorites! I will try to keep this course review up to date.

They aren't very many gimme birdie holes at all. This course can be very unforgiving. A few of the holes have OB either it be a road or a creek.

Everything from grip it and rip it to slow and steady roc shots.

Some holes have a pro pad which makes it extra tough mainly distance for you long arms.

Hole # 5, "The Dragon's back" , hole has 2 elevated hills with the basket on the 2nd hill. Lay up on it or risk going for that duece and chance taking a 4 or 5!

I have seen a lot of good players get ate up by this course.

The majority of players who play this course shoot up on it...so go for par and take a birdie when you see one :)

If you are in the area and looking for a challenge it is definitely worth stopping by and playing.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

6/25/2007   6/25/2007
Review By: wayne durbin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: excellent pad placements because the open fields u can rip it, but in the woods u must be accurate. this course will make u a better player
Cons: no signs pointing the directions yet.
Other Thoughts: beautiful course in a very friendly southern town. all players are welcome.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Panther Prowl Course

6/24/2007   6/25/2007
Review By: Amorybulldog
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long and difficult pro tees with very challenging am tees as well. Flush with ground level tees where they are concreted. Excellent mixture of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Incomplete course. Natural tees in the woods. Not signed yet.
Other Thoughts: Since I am the founder and president of our club and designer of most of the course I am a bit biased. I have however taken careful consideration in my review to be sure to list what I hear are our strengths and our weaknesses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.