Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #3

Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Solid Denver-Area Course

5+    8/30/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: Lightbringer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are two major advantages that both Caminesch Park courses (this one and Hylands) share; they are mowed, and they make good use of elevation changes. Many other courses in the area are mainly flat and have fields of tall grass that make finding discs a pain.

Another plus to this course is that the course designer, Ronnie, is a great guy and he's almost always there. You can usually catch him playing the course or selling discs out of his van in the parking lot. He's always willing to help out and talk about disc golf, and he will probably approach you and introduce himself if you are a fresh face.

The quality of the course design here is largely dependent on the pin positions. Ronnie moves them every two months, and they have a dramatic impact on how the course plays. At the time of this review, most of them are in their "long" positions. Holes #1 and #11 stand out as being significantly more difficult in this position. In their shorter positions, some of the holes are just open throws from the tee to the basket.

Some of the more memorable holes are; #2, which plays from a tee pad in a depression across a fairway with several trees and an algae pond to the left; #5, which is over a creek bed through a narrow alley of trees; #6, which forces you to choose between throwing a right-turning shot around a copse of trees or risk throwing straight through them with an absurdly low ceiling; and #12, which is over a corner of the cleaner pond.

The cement tee pads are in excellent condition.

Cons: As noted above, when the pins are in their "easy" positions, those holes can be simply unobstructed shots up or down a hill. It's probably good that they have those positions for newer players to enjoy, though.

There is a scum pond near hole #2. I dare you to go in there and look for your disc.

The signs are basically useless, because they have been completely defaced. If you are confused, ask another player on the course. Or, follow this advice: From hole #3, tee #4 is back up the hill close to the first tee and the basket is toward the western edge of the park close to the creek bed. From there, cross to the other side of the creek bed to find tee #5 shooting back across through the gap in the trees. From basket #5, walk East and cross back to the other half of the course, tee #6 is to the left shooting back toward tee #5. Holes #7-#11 zig zag up and down the hill ending up on the East side of the course. Tee #12 is on the walkway about halfway up the pond. Tee # 13 is east of basket #12, next to hole #3 of the Hylands course, shooting north up the hill. Hole #14 shoots back down the hill, #15 shoots west across the hill about halfway up, #16 is directly east and shoots down, #17 shoot west across the bottom of the hill, and #18 shoots back up toward the parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that is definitely a cut above many other Denver-area courses. There is also a pretty solid community supporting both Camenisch courses, including Ronnie and BADCO, Phenix Disc Sports and a lot of dedicated players. With two very solid courses right next to each other, Camenisch Park is a good destination for disc golf in the Denver area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course Near Denver Metro

5+    7/3/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 66  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Compared to the other courses around the Denver metro area this is one of the better ones. Offers a variety of shots with multiple (3-5) pin locations and elevation between holes. Good mix of long bombs and technical shots that go between trees and water. Pin locations change somewhat frequently, making the course a whole new experience every month or so. Has a great putting area with three pins at the front of the course near the parking lot.
Cons: Like most people have mentioned the course is a bit hard, to follow. With that many pin locations its just kind of the nature of the beast. The last 6 holes on the course are pretty weak compared to the first 12. They are just wide open shots that I have become accustomed to with most of Denver courses. It seems like they could be redesigned better to maximize the space and make them a little more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Fun and challenging course that has a lot of potential to be better. By far one of the best courses around Denver. Also has the Blair Witch course on site making it well worth the trip!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed

1    7/2/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: bengal4life11
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Only real pro is that the course wasn't busy
Cons: Very hard to follow course design. Tees not marked well at all with most having graffiti on them. Pads not marked well either. Hole # 1 completely hidden from view. Holes 6 and 7 confusing placements. Basket 13 could not be located nor the tee for hole 14.
Course did not flow well at all.
Other Thoughts: Here in Denver visiting family, will not be playing this course again when here. Very disappointed.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun but needs a lot of TLC

1    4/6/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
> Nice and hilly with a good mix up up, down and flat shots.
> Relatively challenging for a shorter, easier course which has little in the way of obstacles.
> Good flow - the length, difficulty and topography of the fairways is mixed up nicely to avoid all monotony and avoid exhaustion.
> The downhills are kind of a hoot because they reward control by offering players the distance without a full powered throw... and they generally have a severe punishment for overshooting.
> The pro shot over the pond was fun... as it's at just the right lenght to be totally doable for most players, but just scary enough to make you want to play it safe and take time to throw carefully.
> Navigation along the Badlands 18 was pretty easy without a map.
> Nice opportunity to jump off onto the Blair Witch course to make this a 27 hole game.
> Cool that this park has 3 convenient practice baskets.
> I find this course design to be UNSAFE. 11 of the 18 holes have shots going over biking/walking paths... even teeing off from them in some cases. I don't ever find these scenarios to be excusable because things still happen, even if you're the most careful player ever. I had the displeasure of totally cringing in fear as I watched a player who thought he was being safe send his drive within a couple of feet of a ladies head who was strolling along one of the paths with her dog. It would have easily been a massive injury and law-suit.
> In many cases I found the design to also be UNSAFE for player - as several holes share a fairway and/or cross each others path.
> The tee signs here are an embarrassment. They are all damaged and graffiti covered... and barely legible at all.
> A great many of the concrete tee pads here were very unlevel. Sloping pads are just awkward and I feel it could have been easily avoided with just a little extra work.
> The distance and fairway shape to almost every basket seemed like it was formulaic: It was almost always "drive 300' then putt". I think I could have played the course with two discs - a stable fairway driver and a putter. The uphills were shorter and the downhills were longer... but that is actually part of the problem... as every hole felt like the same amount of distance. Mind you, this is a minor complaint.
> Also a very minor complaint is that the course seemed to have very few obstacles. A few hazards... a few trees... but not much in the way to force you to think about interesting shot shapes or disc selection.
> The course could certainly use some trash cans at the tees and the park needs a good litter-pickup as well.
Other Thoughts:
> I enjoyed the course and played relatively well for being a first-timer at Camenisch. I think it would be even easier on me after another game or two and I could come out well below par regularly. The walk was nice and scenic and the park seems like a pretty relaxing place.
> I honestly feel like there is plenty of room that this course could be redesigned to keep golf discs and folks using the paths away from one another completely. The same redesign would also easily be able to keep fairways separated to keep players from ever throwing at each other.
> Plan a little extra time and take advantage of playing the second, 9-hole course that starts between 12 and 13. It's a very nice compliment and contrast to the Badlands.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

proof elevation alone doesn't make a good course

1    8/13/2013   9/28/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 225  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete tees, discatchers, signs with distances to all pin positions
-several pin positions on each hole
-tons of elevation
-limited trees are used
-large pond and a creek in play on several holes
-multiple practice baskets
-blair witch extra 9 holes between holes 12 and 13
-a fun downhill bomb on hole 1, downhill across the pond on hole 12
Cons: -mostly wide open, uses the sporadic trees on the hillside and the trees around the creek but you can go around or over pretty easily in just about all cases
-with so many basket positions, it's hard to tell which one it's in and how that corresponds to the distance on the signs
-tends to be very windy, combined with big elevation and some close fairways, errant discs will be flying
-the pond, creek, and marshy areas are nasty
-up and down the hills can get pretty tiring, little shade, bring plenty of water
-fairly shady neighborhood
Other Thoughts: Badlands is all about elevation. Most of the holes play up and down (and a few across) two massive hills and in the low-lying area between them is a creek and a large pond.

Sporadic trees come into play on the hillsides and many more trees line the creek but those ones only come into play on 3 or 4 holes. The holes near the creek and pond are the most interesting. Holes 4, 5, and 6 use the creek, the trees, and elevation. The huge downhill bomb on hole 1 and the downhill carry across the pond on hole 12 are other high points.

Some of the pin positions are tucked near an obstacle and some are in the wide open. The way the course plays can be drastically different for better or worse depending on the current positions. It's hard to tell what the distances are even though they are listed on the sign. With 4 or 5 positions it's hard to tell which basket on the sign corresponds to what you're looking at in the fairway. This many positions seems like overkill.

The extra 9 holes of the Blair Witch Project really make this course worth it. Those holes are wooded and provide the variety that is missing from Badlands. Together they make a reasonable stop for a day of discing. By itself, Badlands is one dimensional and, to quote Dr. Sillybizz, leaves a lot to be desired.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Left a lot to be desired

1    9/9/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2015
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The one single thing about this course that makes it interesting is the elevation change. Hole one is a fun downhill shot (wide open however) toward the basket at the bottom of the hill in a valley between the two hills. The entire course is throwing up, down and sideways on these hills which are mostly wide open. There are a few fun treed holes like number five which does have trees straight away and a dangerous creek left but a RHBH hyzer destroys this hole; unless you exclusively throw LHBH or RHFH (which is rare) the best route to this hole is wide open and should be a birdie for most advanced players.

Cons: The multiple, multiple, multiple basket locations are both a curse and a blessing. Honestly I think someone got a little over zealous. Unless you play this course every day or are the one who moves the baskets it is almost impossible to know where you are going and the tee signs don't help much when you are looking at five or more locations the basket could be at and then look around and see three or four baskets you could be shooting at. At that point you might as well play safari because every hole is basically in each others fairway and navigating the course is complete chaos anyways.... There was a course in my home state that had multiple tees, multiple pins and 15 different course layouts, they got over zealous as well. Finally over the last few years the course has been restored and only one layout was conceived and now the course plays much better, easier and smoother than it did before. Something similar here would probably be best.

I haven't felt so uncomfortable on a course in many years! There are lots of shady people lurking around this course and this might not be the greatest neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what the designer(s) were going for; some of the pin locations are geared for families, some for pros and some for intermediate players. One course can't do it all in most situations. Judging by the players I saw, most of the time you have beginners playing the course, maybe you should play to your audience and keep the long pins for only tournaments or something.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun! Capital F!

5+    6/8/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course, lots of length, challenging layout and elevation galore for a city course. Nice cages, concrete tee pads and the players/supporters of BadCo do an excellent job keeping the place well kept with their BadLands work days.
Cons: Can get soggy. Length gets over bearing with few short/ace hunting drives. My shoulder and feet are usually exhausted by the end of the round. Also, had a couple run ins with tweeker, dope-heads, especially around the parking lot and southside of course.
Other Thoughts: Take your time and don't try to play it fast, you'll be warn out. But, otherwise, a lot of fun and plenty of opportunity to air it out! Please pick up after yourself and your pets!! And bring a throw-away or floater plastic for the water hole(s).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best in Metro Denver

5+    7/26/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in Metro Denver currently. It makes great use of the small amount of elevation change, water hazards, and disc munching trees and bushes. When you are staring down tee #1 you may be deceived into thinking this course is going to be easy, but by the time you first cross the small run-off "creek" in the middle of the course you will understand that this course is not for the feint of heart. The trees and weeds have adapted to the course and learned new ways to re-direct and hide your discs on about 50% of the holes. The pond muck is skilled at swallowing even the brightest disc at a shallow depth so that it's owner will not find it, and golden retrievers only pull out debris. This course can be unforgiving, cruel, and sadistic. For all of these reasons I can't resist returning to Badlands over and over again!
Cons: Be prepared to lose a disc, the odds are much higher that you will lose a disc if it's your first time playing the course, or on windy days. I have personally lost over 10 discs at Badlands in the 7-years I've played it, half of them in the pond you must play over on hole #12. The last few holes are pretty boring, but really the only way to make up for lost strokes on earlier holes, so don't skip them! It's a city park in a bad neighborhood, so it's not well maintained at all, and there are some interesting characters that occasionally stroll by. It gets really crowded here, even on weekdays, be prepared to wait a while, or skip holes. I've only played Badlands from #1-18 sequentially once or twice.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray, there are tons of nasty little critters living in the muck here. Also, watch out for snakes in the tall grasses near the "creek". Bring extra towels, trust me.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

an atypical Denver metro course

1    7/15/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Rowick
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nothing like most courses I've played in Denver I.E. not flat at all, a lot of trees and pretty tough.
Every hole was a different challenge
Cons: Signage was Terrible!! if I could even call the signage decent I would give it at least a 3.5 if not 4. Best example; The tee pad for 4 has the number 3 in the corner and I'm pretty sure the sign next to it said it was hole 5 though it was though to tell with how faded it was. Most of the sings if there were even present resembled something that an eight year old would make at summer camp and that's before all the sun fade and cracking and graffiti I guess that's what you get for putting a disc golf course right next to about five different trailer parks. Even the few signs that were legible were not real helpful because of the multiple pin placements. I'm all for variety but do we really need seven pin placements on some holes? some goals had numbers on them most didn't I threw to the wrong goal more than once

some holes are too hard at lest for a noob like me the guys ahead of me who were way better then I am both lost a disc at in the lake at 12 so I just skipped it

also leash laws are apparently not real well enforced(which is odd given the course borders the local PD) I saw about five dogs including one pit bull none of them on a leash. It wasn't a big deal this time but what happens when someones dog thinks your trying to play fetch with it and its not on a leash?
Other Thoughts: glad I made the dive from Aurora very different than say Expo park I would like to come back when I've got a lot more experience. bring someone who has played it before if at all possible

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Long

5+    9/24/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Elevation changes, Long holes, extra 9 holes in "blair witch" area is very fun. The layout of the course is great and this can be a very challenging course. The grass quality has improved in the last few years
Cons: Terrain and ponds are disgusting. It looks like someone dumps waste there. Broken glass on some holes and trash, beware if you bring a dog not to let them walk on the glass.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a good course to play in the spring and the blair witch is very fun and heavily wooded

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.