Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Left a lot to be desired

1    9/9/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The one single thing about this course that makes it interesting is the elevation change. Hole one is a fun downhill shot (wide open however) toward the basket at the bottom of the hill in a valley between the two hills. The entire course is throwing up, down and sideways on these hills which are mostly wide open. There are a few fun treed holes like number five which does have trees straight away and a dangerous creek left but a RHBH hyzer destroys this hole; unless you exclusively throw LHBH or RHFH (which is rare) the best route to this hole is wide open and should be a birdie for most advanced players.

Cons: The multiple, multiple, multiple basket locations are both a curse and a blessing. Honestly I think someone got a little over zealous. Unless you play this course every day or are the one who moves the baskets it is almost impossible to know where you are going and the tee signs don't help much when you are looking at five or more locations the basket could be at and then look around and see three or four baskets you could be shooting at. At that point you might as well play safari because every hole is basically in each others fairway and navigating the course is complete chaos anyways.... There was a course in my home state that had multiple tees, multiple pins and 15 different course layouts, they got over zealous as well. Finally over the last few years the course has been restored and only one layout was conceived and now the course plays much better, easier and smoother than it did before. Something similar here would probably be best.

I haven't felt so uncomfortable on a course in many years! There are lots of shady people lurking around this course and this might not be the greatest neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what the designer(s) were going for; some of the pin locations are geared for families, some for pros and some for intermediate players. One course can't do it all in most situations. Judging by the players I saw, most of the time you have beginners playing the course, maybe you should play to your audience and keep the long pins for only tournaments or something.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Overrated

2-4    12/1/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation change, forcing you to throw uphill, downhill and side hill shots
-Good concrete tee-pads
-Lots of different pin positions
-Benches and picnic tables on most of the holes
-Water comes into on quite a few holes (there is a drainage ditch and pond that the course plays over)
-Good variety of distances on the holes
Cons: -Very hard to navigate (there are baskets everywhere and it is hard to know which one to throw to) There are no signs pointing to the next tee-pad, which makes it hard to find the next tee-pad as the course flow can be a little weird on some holes.
-There are some long walks between holes, which also adds to the hard navigation
-Lots of crossing fairways (keep an eye out for incoming discs).
-Gets very crowded and with the crossing fairways you sometimes have to wait on other groups playing another hole during your hole and run into conflicts with other groups playing.
-Other than a few holes, the course is mostly wide open with very few obstacles other than the water.
-The course gets repetitive very quickly (most of the shots are either uphill or downhill and there isn't much shot variety).
-There can be some tall grass and lots of water to lose discs on
-Terrible tee-signs (the ones that are still readable are very hard to understand and tell the layout of the hole from, but most are either missing or completely faded out and unreadable).
-Baskets are old and rusted
-Some holes can get really muddy even when its been dry.
-Other park users get in the way on some holes.
-Not in the best part of town
-Lots of trash around the park
Other Thoughts: Decent course that has a lot of good elevation change but the course is nothing special. This course gets very frustrating due to bad tee-signs, hard navigation, and crossing fairways. This course isn't well-designed for the amount of people that play it. If you're in the area give it a try but don't go out of your way.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

2-4    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, some decent use of features out on the main course that gets better if you venture into the Blair witch. Has three practice baskets at the top. Multiple pins placements make sure that it isn't the same old course.
Cons: Breading ground for mosquitos down in the valley that I have been told is fueled by sewage run off. Do not venture into the water to grab your disc. It is the nastiest water hazard I have ever come across. Despite the multiple pins placements, the signs on the tee pad are marked with the general direction of where they all are but never designated making the course confusing if you do not play it regularly.
Other Thoughts: The gentleman who supposedly keeps the maintenance of the course is always at the top selling discs and will supposedly call you if his "diver" finds yours. I have never recieved a call on one of mine nor have any of my friends making me suspect that this is not true. The course has great potential to be better, but is obviously hindered by the lack of community funding. If you do decide to play this course I would recommend playing the first 10 then going into the Blair Witch which is more technical but is harder to lose your discs without the water hazard and then skipping the last 8 holes. Always disappointed when I leave there but have a great time trying to thread the lines in the trees to the east of the main.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands

2-4    8/10/2010   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of long holes and a decent amount of elevation shots considering it's in Denver. It is a fairly long course, and requires many long bombing throws if you're into that kinda of play.
Cons: There are very few trees in the park. It is also very poorly marked and my brother and I had a very hard time finding our way around the first time we visited Badlands. The park is also kept in poor shape; the grass was brown and there seemed to be trash everywhere. I lost a disc in a water hazard, and was scared to retrieve it due to the quality of the water and the amount of trash in it.
Other Thoughts: This is a good park to check out, but dont expect much besides long, straight, open, fairway-like shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.