Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 660ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #1



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun and Long

5+    6/11/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Elevation changes, Long holes, extra 9 holes in "blair witch" area is very fun
Cons: Terrain and ponds are disgusting. It looks like someone dumps waste there. Very dusty and dead grass in late summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a good course to play in the spring and the blair witch is very fun and heavily wooded

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Up and Down at the Badlands

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation, most holes had some and a lot of them had significant changes in elevation
-Pads were fairly nice and grippy despite being pretty old
-A few water shots. #12 long is a pretty good challenge for most players. There is an alternate tee to the right that is shorter and much more approachable if you're afraid of losing a disc.
-9 bonus holes in the back after hole 12.
-Discatchers were also pretty old but were in decent enough shape.
-3 practice baskets!
-Flow is pretty good, it is relatively open so you can usually see the next tee or follow the group ahead of you.
-Blind tee shots are usually aided by some kind of flag on the basket.
-Hole 5 was fun with many trees and it would be good if they were able to incorporate more holes like that into this open course.
Cons: -The water is foul smelling and looking. Signs tell you to stay out and I would recommend following them.
-Tee signs are either old, vandalized, or a combination of both.
-It was really busy during the day on a Tuesday, it has to be horrible during the weekend.
-It would be a little more fun if there were more trees on many of the holes. Some of them seemed too open.
-This is a long course, if you are out of shape it might tire you out pretty good.
-This isn't the nicest neighborhood despite being right next to the water park. There was a car with a broken out window in the small parking lot and the park wasn't overly clean. The creek and ponds were clearly polluted and there was lots of evidence of homeless people living in Blair Witch.
Other Thoughts: -This course and Blair Witch should really be combined into one solid 27 hole course. They flow right together and I would guess that nobody plays Blair Witch without playing this course first.
-If they got new baskets and tees for BW and tee signs for all 27, this course could be a great 4.0 or better rated course. It had a high fun factor despite all that was wrong with it. I would recommend stopping here as it was one of the best in the Denver area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice change of pace

1    9/24/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Somewhat challenging - nice concrete tee pads - good variety of shots used even in wide open areas- restrooms - well maintained park

This course is a nice change of pace from the other courses in the area. There are plenty of green rolling hills and some good distance with a decent amount of challenges. Though we didn't see any walkers, there were walking paths that wound through the course, so I would imagine it gets pretty crowded during peak time.
Cons: Wide open course without many technical shots - poor tee signs and we got turned around in a couple areas due to poor direction

We were there in the morning, so there weren't any locals to follow around, but we found our way. They could use some more descriptive tee signs, but we were able to find our way just fine. Some of the holes are completely wide open, but that made it easy to find the errant shot and encouraged multiple throws on each hole.
Other Thoughts: Fun course without a lot of back and forth. There were a lot of longish ace runs to go after. But, they could really use better tee signs and more directional arrows to help with course flow. Throwing over the lake was a nice addition

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 An interesting course

1    6/1/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: OMGChaos
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was relatively challenging, if nothing else for the hole where you had to clear the lake! It was also pretty long, so players with long arms could definitely get active.
Cons: The course was pretty tough to navigate for a first-timer. The signage was junk and finding the next tee pad wasn't always very intuitive. Also, it was pretty dirty when I was there (lots of rusted out trash cans, turned over cans, etc.)
Other Thoughts: Overall is wasn't awful, but I certainly wouldn't make this my normal course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands DGC

1    3/14/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very nice use of elevation changes
-nice tees and decent baskets
-18 holes of varying lengths (also has a 9 hole course on site)
-many interesting throws where the hills come into play
-benches at almost every hole that was nice so you could put your bags on it
-nice park but there were a lot of people there so we had to do a lot of waiting
Cons: -the signs are very poorly done
-can be confusing where to go next after you finish a hole
-the hills get frustrating because you are always throwing up or down hills
-it was really windy the day we played and it made the course frustrating
Other Thoughts: worth the play if you are in the area. It was a fun course and different from many of the courses I have played.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Starts off strong, but falls short in the end

2-4    8/27/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation with blend of short and long holes
-Lots of pin locations
-Decent concrete tee boxes
-The newer tee signs are good enough, but the prettiest, but they get the job done.
Cons: -Design quality of the finishing holes drops off significantly on the last few holes. It's relatively fun in the beginning, but the last few holes are pretty blah.
-Navigation is confusing without a guide
-Some tee signs need to be updated/replaced.
-Mostly open shots, not too many technical holes. The holes that do have trees, they are all around the basket, so it's a wide open drive to a wooded basket which, with a good drive, makes the holes pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I played this course 6 years ago and thought it was boring and poor condition. This time when I played it I had low expectations, but it was better than I remember. From what I can tell of courses in the area, this is probably the best one to play. My score -6.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/14/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well laid out course n i think its one of the better ones in the denver area ( i know i didnt come close to playing them all). Alot of different shots needed for a good round. Benches and garbage cans are plentiful, but bring fluids because there are no water fountains.
Cons: Man the denver heat and no shade can make this course brutal. the blair witch project is DIFFICULT. Ijust walked the first few holes and there is no way i was going to attempt it. Also the up n down the hillside get kind of annoying,
Other Thoughts: All in all this course i a good, definetly next time im in colo this will be a definate stop.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 sum of play experience

2-4    7/18/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes / shots - from open to water to a bit of trees. Chance to use many discs. DG friendly park. Holes / tees reasonably well kept up - tee pads in decent shape - signs need some TLC. Easy to navigate for the most part - if you aren't with a local, there is some confusion finding tee for 3 or 4 I think it was.
Cons: nasty swampy sections on first few holes. The water on this course is just plain nasty / gross / EPA scary. Avoid after heavy rains. Most important don't go right on the first tee (as lefty I end up wading through the muck more often than i would like - skills could solve that problem I know - but still learning)
Other Thoughts: I want to play Blair Witch still - haven't ventured back there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands

1    5/27/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for elevation variation... Mostly open holes, and many that allow for an all out bomb. Really fun round, in a nice park. There was a nice guy selling plastic and cold drinks in the parking lot. The water hazards were pretty, and never really got in the way (hole 12 could get ugly if you aren't careful). The tee pads were all concrete and more than I needed. Signage was good for being hand painted. Pin positions all over the place...
Cons: Some signs could use replacements due to vandalism. Some parts of the park can get pretty crowded which slows play. We had a few hiccups when navigating the course, but nothing major. Not much shade.
Other Thoughts: Bring water and sun screen. You are constantly climbing and descending the hills with little to no shade. The round was fun, but it can be a workout at times. Not a bad course, and there are a bonus 9 holes that are completely wooded.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Let it Rip

1    3/19/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open field bombs down hill. Good place to let it rip in high altitude. Short grass, possible roller.
Cons: Hard to tell which basket was which. The flags on the pins say the # of the hole. #2 tee pad was dirt. #10 tee pad was real uneven concrete slanted up hill. Some signs needed work. Right next to the police station & trailer park.
Other Thoughts: Good place to practice big throws. Not very technical but still a challenge. Bring a water disc. It's a lot of up and down hill walking. There is a outhouse by hole #1. Not a lotta places to go after that because it's open field. I didn't play Blair Witch unfortunately.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.