Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #2



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
A good course for locals

1    8/20/2016   8/20/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first hole is awesome if you like throwing downhill. Par'd it on its longest tee placement (~650 ft.) using my DX Leopard to tee off and my Aviar the rest of the way. I'm a beginner and don't par many holes, so it felt nice to par such a long hole. If the hole were flat, it would be closer to 350-400 ft.

Scenic views on holes beginning on top of hills

Not many disc-eater holes

Varied pin placement makes the course play differently. Each hole has about 4 different placements

Course has a very nice practice area with three practice baskets.
Cons: INSANE to try and navigate for the first time. No available maps on-site and I couldn't find one online either. Navigation was absolute hell.

Some tee pads have mud on them in places. If you like a spotless tee pad, you won't find too many here.

Signs at the tee pads are mostly defaced. This makes it really difficult to know which pin to play, since most aren't marked with their hole number. Many holes have 2+ pins in view that could reasonably be where you're supposed to throw.

It got very crowded around 9:45 a.m. on a Saturday. 12 people showed up within 5 minutes of each other, congesting the hell outta the front 6 or so holes.
Other Thoughts: The Badlands is a really fun course with varied holes. Out-of-Towners might want to avoid this one, though, unless you have a local to show you around. In the 4 hours I was at the course, 2.5 (easily) were spent looking for tee pads and their corresponding pin. In the end, I was so frustrated that I just left.

I'd play this place again, though, if I had a local to tag-along with. Or the park could make a map of the course. That would be most preferable.

If this course gets tee signs (that last - and that are repaired if defaced), a map for out-of-towners, markers for each pin with corresponding numbers, and signs directing players to the next hole (when not obvious), the Badlands gets an EASY 4.5 rating from me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid Denver-Area Course

5+    8/30/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: Lightbringer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are two major advantages that both Caminesch Park courses (this one and Hylands) share; they are mowed, and they make good use of elevation changes. Many other courses in the area are mainly flat and have fields of tall grass that make finding discs a pain.

Another plus to this course is that the course designer, Ronnie, is a great guy and he's almost always there. You can usually catch him playing the course or selling discs out of his van in the parking lot. He's always willing to help out and talk about disc golf, and he will probably approach you and introduce himself if you are a fresh face.

The quality of the course design here is largely dependent on the pin positions. Ronnie moves them every two months, and they have a dramatic impact on how the course plays. At the time of this review, most of them are in their "long" positions. Holes #1 and #11 stand out as being significantly more difficult in this position. In their shorter positions, some of the holes are just open throws from the tee to the basket.

Some of the more memorable holes are; #2, which plays from a tee pad in a depression across a fairway with several trees and an algae pond to the left; #5, which is over a creek bed through a narrow alley of trees; #6, which forces you to choose between throwing a right-turning shot around a copse of trees or risk throwing straight through them with an absurdly low ceiling; and #12, which is over a corner of the cleaner pond.

The cement tee pads are in excellent condition.



Cons: As noted above, when the pins are in their "easy" positions, those holes can be simply unobstructed shots up or down a hill. It's probably good that they have those positions for newer players to enjoy, though.

There is a scum pond near hole #2. I dare you to go in there and look for your disc.

The signs are basically useless, because they have been completely defaced. If you are confused, ask another player on the course. Or, follow this advice: From hole #3, tee #4 is back up the hill close to the first tee and the basket is toward the western edge of the park close to the creek bed. From there, cross to the other side of the creek bed to find tee #5 shooting back across through the gap in the trees. From basket #5, walk East and cross back to the other half of the course, tee #6 is to the left shooting back toward tee #5. Holes #7-#11 zig zag up and down the hill ending up on the East side of the course. Tee #12 is on the walkway about halfway up the pond. Tee # 13 is east of basket #12, next to hole #3 of the Hylands course, shooting north up the hill. Hole #14 shoots back down the hill, #15 shoots west across the hill about halfway up, #16 is directly east and shoots down, #17 shoot west across the bottom of the hill, and #18 shoots back up toward the parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that is definitely a cut above many other Denver-area courses. There is also a pretty solid community supporting both Camenisch courses, including Ronnie and BADCO, Phenix Disc Sports and a lot of dedicated players. With two very solid courses right next to each other, Camenisch Park is a good destination for disc golf in the Denver area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course Near Denver Metro

5+    7/3/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2016
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Compared to the other courses around the Denver metro area this is one of the better ones. Offers a variety of shots and multiple (3-5) pin locations with lots of elevation change between holes. Good mix of long bombs and technical shots that go between vegetation and water. Pin locations change somewhat frequently, making the course a whole new experience every month or so. Has a great putting area with three pins at the front of the course near the parking lot.
Cons: Like most people have mentioned the course layout is a bit hard to follow especially for first timers. With so many pin locations that frequently change, its just the nature of the beast. There are some signs posted on the holes, but many of them are damaged or non existent. Also, the signs that do remain look like they have been drawn by a kindergartner and don't translate very well to the actual course. I would highly recommend using map on your phone if you have not played here before and don't want to get frustrated by the layout. Some updated signs with accurate information would really do a lot to improve this course.

The last 6 holes on the course are pretty weak compared to the first 12. They are basically wide open shots (which I have become accustomed to with most of the Denver courses) that don't really offer a whole lot. It seems like there is plenty of space to potentially improve these final holes.

Hole 18 has a particularly bad tee pad that is small, uneven, and shared by a sidewalk. I like the fact that the course takes advantage of using existing sidewalks as tee pads on various holes, but in this case feel like i'm going to sprain my ankle every time I throw from it. On a hole that is long and pretty much straight up a hill a proper size pad is really necessary.

There is also somewhat of a missed opportunity at hole 16 regarding the tee pad. There is literally a giant existing built up concrete pad that could almost qualify as a helicopter landing pad right next to the actual tee pad that was built right beside it. They could have used this as the tee pad for at least one hole if not multiple holes to make things a little interesting. It seems strange that they went through so much trouble to use sidewalks as tee pads throughout the course, but decided not to use a seemingly abandoned over sized pad that you literally have to walk over between the holes.
Other Thoughts: Really fun and challenging course that has a lot of potential to be better. If the course could be fixed up and cleaned up a little bit it would be pro level course. They should almost start doing pay to play to generate the money to make the necessary improvements. Regardless, its still by far one of the better if not best courses around Denver. Also, has the new and improved Blair Witch/Hylands course on site making it well worth the trip!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun! Capital F!

5+    6/8/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course, lots of length, challenging layout and elevation galore for a city course. Nice cages, concrete tee pads and the players/supporters of BadCo do an excellent job keeping the place well kept with their BadLands work days.
Cons: Can get soggy. Length gets over bearing with few short/ace hunting drives. My shoulder and feet are usually exhausted by the end of the round. Also, had a couple run ins with tweeker, dope-heads, especially around the parking lot and southside of course.
Other Thoughts: Take your time and don't try to play it fast, you'll be warn out. But, otherwise, a lot of fun and plenty of opportunity to air it out! Please pick up after yourself and your pets!! And bring a throw-away or floater plastic for the water hole(s).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Metro Denver

5+    7/26/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in Metro Denver currently. It makes great use of the small amount of elevation change, water hazards, and disc munching trees and bushes. When you are staring down tee #1 you may be deceived into thinking this course is going to be easy, but by the time you first cross the small run-off "creek" in the middle of the course you will understand that this course is not for the feint of heart. The trees and weeds have adapted to the course and learned new ways to re-direct and hide your discs on about 50% of the holes. The pond muck is skilled at swallowing even the brightest disc at a shallow depth so that it's owner will not find it, and golden retrievers only pull out debris. This course can be unforgiving, cruel, and sadistic. For all of these reasons I can't resist returning to Badlands over and over again!
Cons: Be prepared to lose a disc, the odds are much higher that you will lose a disc if it's your first time playing the course, or on windy days. I have personally lost over 10 discs at Badlands in the 7-years I've played it, half of them in the pond you must play over on hole #12. The last few holes are pretty boring, but really the only way to make up for lost strokes on earlier holes, so don't skip them! It's a city park in a bad neighborhood, so it's not well maintained at all, and there are some interesting characters that occasionally stroll by. It gets really crowded here, even on weekdays, be prepared to wait a while, or skip holes. I've only played Badlands from #1-18 sequentially once or twice.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray, there are tons of nasty little critters living in the muck here. Also, watch out for snakes in the tall grasses near the "creek". Bring extra towels, trust me.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/17/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 196  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Walking up to the first tee and looking out into this valley spotted with DisCathcer baskets was quite a cool experience and feeling. I never get to play in elevation being from Houston, especially elevation of this magnitude. Combine the elevation with long bomber holes down the face of the valley, hole #1 to start off with, and you just have a feeling that this course will be one that will stay in your memory.

There are a few ponds that are in play only a little bit except on Hole 12, which shoots down the hill and needs to cover the pond.. All in all that hole is about 425 feet downhill with a pond to cover. It was easily one of my favorite holes I have played in 93+ courses played.

The course seems to be just for disc golfers without walking trails. With this being said, the course has a lot of character with everything becoming worn down like the tees, signs, and baskets, which adds character to the name of being the "Badlands."
Cons: I am not a huge fan of there being 5 possible pin placements. It makes it hard on the first time to locate where the basket is or which basket you need to be shooting at. Hole 1 was a marvelous hole however it is easily to get confused and shoot at the 17th basket as they are separated by only by 60 or so feet. This could be avoided by having newer tee signs that are legible; the ones now have probably been out for 10 or so years since being replacement.

I did not find navigation as difficult as some other reviewers found but there definitely were no yellow brick roads leading to the next hole.

The course is a bit wide open. I almost gave it the benefit of the doubt since it has very good elevation but I realized the lack of obstacles trumps the big elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Combining this with the Blair Witch Project back 9 can make a great day of disc golf with a wide variety of shots. Once you finish Hole 12, tee 1 will be on the left for the second course. The 9th basket of the second course leads right back up to the 13th tee of Badlands.

This was my favorite course so far to play in the Denver area, not that that is comparing much right now, but it is a course I would go back to and enjoy it every day.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging course

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun! More diverse/challenging course, elevation changes are fun (even my weak arm can get an occasional 300+ on these). Forces you to think about what disc/shape you are going to try and throw. (helps you learn your arm/discs) Several holes have plenty of room for error, some dont. good exercise walking up and down the hills.
Cons: signage needs a little help. (print the course map if you are a fist timer......even the map is not exact to current course lay out?) As a beginner, the ponds in valley are a disc magnet!
Other Thoughts: Its not the most beginner friendly course. You need to be able throw around 200ft (accurately) to keep par possible. That being said, my son got several pars yesterday using 175-200 ft tomahawks all day. Update: with more experience and courses under my belt. I would consider this course to be more challenging than most. I am starting to throw better and getting better distance but still have not shot par or under on this course. If you compare this course to ball golf, It plays more true to par. Not every week end warrior can shoot even par in ball golf...... And most never will. You are starting to play some frolf if you can shoot even par, or better, on the bad lands. (imo) This is my home course and the challenge never gets old.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands

5+    6/17/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Long holes
-Water hazzards
-Technical shots
-Elevation change
-Well maintained
-Multiple pin placements
-Discs get retrieved from pond
Cons: -Some confusing holes
-Broken glass and trash on some holes
-Civilians on bike paths in fairway
Other Thoughts: -Blair witch branches off

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course in the outskirts of Denver

2-4    3/23/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 50  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 25.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation changes...uphill, downhill, flat
-Excellent teepads that always seem to be facing in the right position, no matter the location of the pin
-BADCO disc golf takes a lot of pride in the maintence of this course. They also change the pin positions frequently
-Plenty of obstacles and OB, including water, but not anything that is too severe as to make playing the course a chore
-Can be enjoyed by all skill levels, though begginers might have a challenge on their hands
-Park is clean and park-goers are very aware that there is a large, sprawling disc golf course on the grounds. They are also respectful and will let you throw before they walk through
-Plenty of trash cans and several bathrooms in the Camenisch complex...something that is often forgotten in disc golf course design!
-BADCO Disc Golf Club has weekly tags (I believe on Mondays) run by David Nunez, who absolutley rules this course and is a great guide
Cons: -NAVIGATION!!! I played a tourney here last weekend, and came up on Friday to play the traditional layout and the tourney layout of 22 holes. Even with maps of both layouts, my wife and I had a hard time and even threw to the wrong pin on two occasions
-Teepad signs could use a lot of work. BADCO works their butts off on this course, and I know tee signs are not cheap, but it deserves a mention
-Not in the best part of town, which leads to occasional unsavory charecters on the course, but not nearly as bad as it's surroundings would seem
-The pond is murky horribleness, so if you tank on in the drink, even if it's two feet offshore, consider it gone
Other Thoughts: I played this course 3 times this weekend (twice on Friday and once on Saturday for the tournament) and had a lot of fun. It's a very good course, just solid all the way around, with nothing too bad and nothing too memorable.

Even on Saturday, when we were playing in 6-8 inch deep snow with gnarly winds and constant snowfall, I had a good time. That say something about the course and how hard BADCO works to keep it up to snuff. Not a destination course, but if you're in the area, it's well worth a play...just don't skip Blair Witch!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with hidden 9

5+    7/21/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set up over a rolling valley. You basically start on one side, and work your way across going up and down the two sides. If your only playing the main 18, the course is mostly open and allows for great distance throwing. There are a few holes wrapped around a section of tight trees, but getting around them isnt too difficult. The tees here and the baskets are awesome. There are a few holes here to watch for water. Hole two can be tough on leftys if their disc comes back too hard. Theres a small pond that becomes its final resting place. Back toward hole 12 you are shooting all the way over a lake, so have your golden retriever ready!
Cons: The tee signs for the holes are way outdated and need some serious updates. Some holes dont even have signs. (this of course being a wishlist item i guess)
Other Thoughts: The practice area at the top of the course is fantastic with three baskets to fire at. Theres enough room to work in some shorter mid shots as well. Take some sun screen 4 sure as there will not be a ton of shade on the main 18 around the boxes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.