Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #2



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun! Capital F!

5+    6/8/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course, lots of length, challenging layout and elevation galore for a city course. Nice cages, concrete tee pads and the players/supporters of BadCo do an excellent job keeping the place well kept with their BadLands work days.
Cons: Can get soggy. Length gets over bearing with few short/ace hunting drives. My shoulder and feet are usually exhausted by the end of the round. Also, had a couple run ins with tweeker, dope-heads, especially around the parking lot and southside of course.
Other Thoughts: Take your time and don't try to play it fast, you'll be warn out. But, otherwise, a lot of fun and plenty of opportunity to air it out! Please pick up after yourself and your pets!! And bring a throw-away or floater plastic for the water hole(s).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best in Metro Denver

5+    7/26/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in Metro Denver currently. It makes great use of the small amount of elevation change, water hazards, and disc munching trees and bushes. When you are staring down tee #1 you may be deceived into thinking this course is going to be easy, but by the time you first cross the small run-off "creek" in the middle of the course you will understand that this course is not for the feint of heart. The trees and weeds have adapted to the course and learned new ways to re-direct and hide your discs on about 50% of the holes. The pond muck is skilled at swallowing even the brightest disc at a shallow depth so that it's owner will not find it, and golden retrievers only pull out debris. This course can be unforgiving, cruel, and sadistic. For all of these reasons I can't resist returning to Badlands over and over again!
Cons: Be prepared to lose a disc, the odds are much higher that you will lose a disc if it's your first time playing the course, or on windy days. I have personally lost over 10 discs at Badlands in the 7-years I've played it, half of them in the pond you must play over on hole #12. The last few holes are pretty boring, but really the only way to make up for lost strokes on earlier holes, so don't skip them! It's a city park in a bad neighborhood, so it's not well maintained at all, and there are some interesting characters that occasionally stroll by. It gets really crowded here, even on weekdays, be prepared to wait a while, or skip holes. I've only played Badlands from #1-18 sequentially once or twice.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray, there are tons of nasty little critters living in the muck here. Also, watch out for snakes in the tall grasses near the "creek". Bring extra towels, trust me.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    12/17/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Walking up to the first tee and looking out into this valley spotted with DisCathcer baskets was quite a cool experience and feeling. I never get to play in elevation being from Houston, especially elevation of this magnitude. Combine the elevation with long bomber holes down the face of the valley, hole #1 to start off with, and you just have a feeling that this course will be one that will stay in your memory.

There are a few ponds that are in play only a little bit except on Hole 12, which shoots down the hill and needs to cover the pond.. All in all that hole is about 425 feet downhill with a pond to cover. It was easily one of my favorite holes I have played in 93+ courses played.

The course seems to be just for disc golfers without walking trails. With this being said, the course has a lot of character with everything becoming worn down like the tees, signs, and baskets, which adds character to the name of being the "Badlands."
Cons: I am not a huge fan of there being 5 possible pin placements. It makes it hard on the first time to locate where the basket is or which basket you need to be shooting at. Hole 1 was a marvelous hole however it is easily to get confused and shoot at the 17th basket as they are separated by only by 60 or so feet. This could be avoided by having newer tee signs that are legible; the ones now have probably been out for 10 or so years since being replacement.

I did not find navigation as difficult as some other reviewers found but there definitely were no yellow brick roads leading to the next hole.

The course is a bit wide open. I almost gave it the benefit of the doubt since it has very good elevation but I realized the lack of obstacles trumps the big elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Combining this with the Blair Witch Project back 9 can make a great day of disc golf with a wide variety of shots. Once you finish Hole 12, tee 1 will be on the left for the second course. The 9th basket of the second course leads right back up to the 13th tee of Badlands.

This was my favorite course so far to play in the Denver area, not that that is comparing much right now, but it is a course I would go back to and enjoy it every day.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun and challenging course

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun! More diverse/challenging course, elevation changes are fun (even my weak arm can get an occasional 300+ on these). Forces you to think about what disc/shape you are going to try and throw. (helps you learn your arm/discs) Several holes have plenty of room for error, some dont. good exercise walking up and down the hills.
Cons: signage needs a little help. (print the course map if you are a fist timer......even the map is not exact to current course lay out?) As a beginner, the ponds in valley are a disc magnet!
Other Thoughts: Its not the most beginner friendly course. You need to be able throw around 200ft (accurately) to keep par possible. That being said, my son got several pars yesterday using 175-200 ft tomahawks all day. Update: with more experience and courses under my belt. I would consider this course to be more challenging than most. I am starting to throw better and getting better distance but still have not shot par or under on this course. If you compare this course to ball golf, It plays more true to par. Not every week end warrior can shoot even par in ball golf...... And most never will. You are starting to play some frolf if you can shoot even par, or better, on the bad lands. (imo) This is my home course and the challenge never gets old.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Badlands

5+    6/17/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Long holes
-Water hazzards
-Technical shots
-Elevation change
-Well maintained
-Multiple pin placements
-Discs get retrieved from pond
Cons: -Some confusing holes
-Broken glass and trash on some holes
-Civilians on bike paths in fairway
Other Thoughts: -Blair witch branches off

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good course in the outskirts of Denver

2-4    3/23/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 40  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 23.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation changes...uphill, downhill, flat
-Excellent teepads that always seem to be facing in the right position, no matter the location of the pin
-BADCO disc golf takes a lot of pride in the maintence of this course. They also change the pin positions frequently
-Plenty of obstacles and OB, including water, but not anything that is too severe as to make playing the course a chore
-Can be enjoyed by all skill levels, though begginers might have a challenge on their hands
-Park is clean and park-goers are very aware that there is a large, sprawling disc golf course on the grounds. They are also respectful and will let you throw before they walk through
-Plenty of trash cans and several bathrooms in the Camenisch complex...something that is often forgotten in disc golf course design!
-BADCO Disc Golf Club has weekly tags (I believe on Mondays) run by David Nunez, who absolutley rules this course and is a great guide
Cons: -NAVIGATION!!! I played a tourney here last weekend, and came up on Friday to play the traditional layout and the tourney layout of 22 holes. Even with maps of both layouts, my wife and I had a hard time and even threw to the wrong pin on two occasions
-Teepad signs could use a lot of work. BADCO works their butts off on this course, and I know tee signs are not cheap, but it deserves a mention
-Not in the best part of town, which leads to occasional unsavory charecters on the course, but not nearly as bad as it's surroundings would seem
-The pond is murky horribleness, so if you tank on in the drink, even if it's two feet offshore, consider it gone
Other Thoughts: I played this course 3 times this weekend (twice on Friday and once on Saturday for the tournament) and had a lot of fun. It's a very good course, just solid all the way around, with nothing too bad and nothing too memorable.

Even on Saturday, when we were playing in 6-8 inch deep snow with gnarly winds and constant snowfall, I had a good time. That say something about the course and how hard BADCO works to keep it up to snuff. Not a destination course, but if you're in the area, it's well worth a play...just don't skip Blair Witch!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with hidden 9

5+    7/21/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set up over a rolling valley. You basically start on one side, and work your way across going up and down the two sides. If your only playing the main 18, the course is mostly open and allows for great distance throwing. There are a few holes wrapped around a section of tight trees, but getting around them isnt too difficult. The tees here and the baskets are awesome. There are a few holes here to watch for water. Hole two can be tough on leftys if their disc comes back too hard. Theres a small pond that becomes its final resting place. Back toward hole 12 you are shooting all the way over a lake, so have your golden retriever ready!
Cons: The tee signs for the holes are way outdated and need some serious updates. Some holes dont even have signs. (this of course being a wishlist item i guess)
Other Thoughts: The practice area at the top of the course is fantastic with three baskets to fire at. Theres enough room to work in some shorter mid shots as well. Take some sun screen 4 sure as there will not be a ton of shade on the main 18 around the boxes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starting Hole!

1    7/16/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Camenisch Park is a large sprawling urban park. The disc golf course plays from one end of this park to seemingly every corner. The course is definitely showing here age. Everything is a little bit beat down from the signs to the concrete pads to the baskets. Navigation is difficult at best. You really want to follow a local or play with someone who knows their way.

There are a few epic downhill throws starting with # 1 although I wouldn't have known which basket to aim for without the help of a local.
Cons: Navigation is very difficult. The signs are old and hard (impossible) to decipher with up to four basket positions per hole and no way to tell which position the basket is currently in.
There are ugly uphill climbs.
Other Thoughts: The Badlands course was probably the most challenging course I played on the whole I-25 corridor between the Cheyenne, Wyoming and Colorado Springs. The throw over the nasty pond on # 12 only adds to this challenge. Then when the locals veer off and play #'s 2-9 of the Blair Witch Project course, this adds another different challenge both physical and technical to your day here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Large Course-Kinda confusing

1    6/5/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: sPinister
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of different challenges and obstacles. Uphill, downhill, over water, over/under trees, elevated basket on 14 or 15. Parts are heavily wooded, but most are open.
Cons: Poorly labeled. Almost impossible to navigate if its your first time playing the course. A couple baskets were removed on back nine.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. Its a huge course with many challenges. Takes a good 2+ hours start to finish. Much fun and highly recommended.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 badlands (pecos0

5+    9/8/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: lots of elevation changes
difficult throws in the wind, this course can eat you and your discs up, thats why i like it, water in play

they do move baskets as well which is always a plus!
Cons: not too many, the park itself needs to be cleaned up
Other Thoughts: challenging course, bring all the shots in your bag

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.