Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Basket #4



Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 super cool

1    8/11/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: joeharker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: so many cool things on this course
some long open bombers
some challenging tree zones
a lake to cross
and the blair witch project addition
some shady arias for hot days
Cons: could loose a disk in the lake
hard to find next tee
the signs will mess you up trying to find some of the baskets
Other Thoughts: i really like the diversity of this course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A "must-play" for CO

1    7/15/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow, this course has it all! Excellent use of elevation changes, technical shot selections, water, trees and is kept up well for a city park. Most holes are relatively short for those with big arms... I only threw driver twice during my round as my midrange discs are anywhere from 400 feet in...
Cons: For first timers, it was a bit bewildering determining which basket you need to throw to and where the next tee box and basket are, but after asking a few "locals" and following them, I was able to find my way through this course pretty easily.
Other Thoughts: CO has had a ton of rain this year which is a bit "unseasonable" from what I hear from the locals, so be prepared for a few "mushy and swampy" spots. Be sure to wear footwear that is waterproof if you're not wanting to walk around in wet socks.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great long course, best locally

1    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: AtomicCEO
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the best course I've played in the Arvada/Westminster/Broomfield area. Lots of long holes and uphill/downhill terrain. Great baskets, challenging pin locations, mowed grass and some shade areas to cool down.
Cons: We were following a group in front of us to find our way around the course, and when we lost them, there was a bit of a challenge to find the next tee box. We did eventually manage to find them all though. Some signs were damaged and unreadable, and I think 18 was missing.

Hole 12 over the water was a little silly. None of us could possibly reach dry land. I see now from looking at the course map that we were on the "pro tee". Whoops.
Other Thoughts: Way longer than Johnny Roberts, more interesting terrain (trees and water) than Birds nest, way easier to navigate than the Interlocken course, and much better maintained than the City Park course. This is my favorite in the area.

It will be better the 2nd time we play it now that we know the way around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 baskets, baskets everywhere!

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall a great experience. Good use of area... elevation changes work well. Lots of basket choices (too many?) You can play big arm or just play shorter... quite wide open... hard to lose a disc here... 'cept on 12 over water. A LOT of disc golf course squeezed into the land area...
Cons: signs are poor, missing or confusing... play with a local the first time... or print the map. Too many baskets... where do I shoot? Layout is well done as to use of space... but very hard to follow using DG instinct... w/o a map you are going to have a tough time.
Other Thoughts: Bonus 9 holes in the woodsy area was more like courses in my area... Played that with a local... review on that page. If I lived local and played here about 3 times I am sure I would LOVE this place... just overwelming the first time. Putting practice baskets at tee #1 are nice to have.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Denver Metro Course

5+    3/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many risky shots that can result in birdies. A great course for competitive play. 2 holes have am/pro tees to minimize risk of newer players (and weenie arms) losing discs in the (DEEP) ponds without taking them away from those of us who love the challenge. Some of the elevation changes challenge the mountain courses. I ranked 4.0 because the addition of the tight challenging back 9 added what this course was missing. This is easily the most rounded course in the metro area if you play all 27, has always been one of my favorites.
The course is almost entirely disc exclusive, so you rarely have to wait for pedestrians to walk through.
Cons: The wooded holes are shorter, the open ones are longer. There is no 350' straight uphill shot in the woods (there are long shots in the woods, and 350' straight uphill shots).
Although it can be a big risk most holes are birdie-able by the big arms.
Not super beginner friendly, could be difficult to navigate the first time, but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: I had to stretch a little to think of cons, I love the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Challenge

2-4    6/11/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is about as good as you can get for a mostly open pro par 54 course. you've got some holes that are long and downhill. you've got some that aren't that long, but way uphill. you've also got some longer uphill ones and some shorter downhill ones. one of the best parts of this course is that all the holes have at least 3 pin locations, with some having up to 6. It also makes a great Safari hole course, as there are a few trees spread throughout the entire course, but not enough to make a Safari round way too tough. A course with many OB locations surrounding the course, along with solid tee placement everywhere. On hole 2, the tee is set into the ground about 6'. it's a natural hole, and there is plenty of room to throw-it's just intimidating. There is another course on this site, 9 holes that are much more densely wooded. If you want to play all 27 holes, the great thing is you can do it all in one loop. Hole 1's tee on the other course is between Holes 12 and 13 on this course, and hole 9 on the other course comes out 60' from hole 13's tee on this course. There are a couple of holes with Pro and Am tees, Holes 12 and 17. This is mostly because the pro tees on 12 and 17 are shots over a large, nasty pond. Speaking of this pond, it is well used, although is isn't used a lot. hole 12 goes over the pond, with the pin just on the far side of it. Holes 9 and 16 you throw toward the pond, with the pin being just before it. On 17, the pond is right in front of you, and only comes into play because of a really bad shot. And on hole 6 you are throwing beside the pond. a good practice basket too. It's a great course that will challenge everyone who plays it.
Cons: Losing discs sucks. and this is not a pond you want to be messing around in, as it is very nasty. Parking isn't the greatest. There's no benches. Those are about the only negatives. I could complain about having more tees and more holes in the park, but that's a little silly. It really is a course with very few negatives.
Other Thoughts: What a fun course with friendly locals. In a competitive doubles round on hole 1, I put the disc pin high from the tee. It was at the 552' pin location. Thank you Colorado air! If i lived in or north of Denver, I would play this course more than any other course in the area. (I haven't played all the courses in the area, but of all the ones I played, this one was awesome and by far the best.)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Waterworld!

5+    5/15/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: blah
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course to unleash long drives. good workout walk with steep hills. technical. awesome hidden bonus nine. never too busy
Cons: bad neighborhood. mucky areas near the creek and pond. confusing layout
Other Thoughts: think twice about throwing it over the pond

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of Denver's Best

5+    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mixture of terrain: trees, water and elevation. Multiple pin placements for every hole keeps the course fresh. Long downhill bombs make you feel like the man while the long uphill drives keep you modest. Great layout with most of the foot traffic being other golfers. The added 9 holes, Blair Witch Project, is a fantastic addition to the course and compliments the standard 18 very nicely.
Cons: A few of the holes play almost on top of each other. Some changes in layout have helped that, but there are still a few awkward holes. A lot of the standard 18 is sun-baked, so bring water and sunscreen. Some of the lanes they want you to throw through could be better defined with some light tree trimming. Some tee pads are more worn than others and could use a fixer-upper.
Other Thoughts: What a great course, right in Denver! If you are looking to get better at the game, this is the course for you. A great mixture of length and technicality will definitely keep you coming back to shave a few strokes off of your score. There is a lot of up and downhill hiking in this one, so come prepared with water and a snack. They have finally put in baskets for all nine of the extra Blair Witch holes. Playing all 27 holes (which is what I recommend) is a great workout and the extra nine is a totally different world than the standard 18. Something of everything on this course...I am a big fan. For it's location and what the course offers, you won't find much better in Denver.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: tmbyram
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long with lots of shot challenge. Excellent course with good layout.
Cons: They were doing some work on the course so a couple of holes were not playable. Windy on the day I was there but that made it more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Fairly difficult course. Have a good driver for this one. The front nine was a little hard to follow but not difficult.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands, Good Course

5+    11/20/2008   3/3/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course. It is hard to find a course this big that is so well maintained. The fairways are mowed. The tees and baskets are in good shape. The course features long downhill drives and short winding shots through trees. The first time I played this course I was a bit confused about the layout, but all my rounds since have been enjoyable. The location is convenient just north of the Denver-Boulder Turnpike off Federal. Having the Blair Witch Project Course next door (while still rudimentary compared to Badlands) makes the entire park a major draw for disc golfers. Oh yeah, the great view of the Rocky Mountains is always a plus.
Cons: The tee signs were once pretty decent, but they do tend to get vandalized. The course is located in a poorer neighborhood, but I get the impression that it is more the hard working, recent immigrant, strong family values type of poverty. The houses, mobile homes and apartments all seem to be well kept up and there are families playing disc golf, kids playing on the playground and people walking/biking/skateboarding on the paths. The park can be busy, so watch out for pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Clearing the lake from the pro tee on number 12 can be a challenge in higher winds. At 310ft and downhill, it is very doable, but the numerous obstacles on the far side (small building, large trees) have a habit of bouncing discs backward and into the lake. It is a tough shot for anyone and I recommend using the shorter tee on the sidewalk to the right of the lake if you can't throw 300+ consistently. Otherwise, use a disc you are willing to part with just in case.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.