Disc Golf Store
Federal Heights (Denver), CO
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Starting Hole!

1    7/16/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Camenisch Park is a large sprawling urban park. The disc golf course plays from one end of this park to seemingly every corner. The course is definitely showing here age. Everything is a little bit beat down from the signs to the concrete pads to the baskets. Navigation is difficult at best. You really want to follow a local or play with someone who knows their way.

There are a few epic downhill throws starting with # 1 although I wouldn't have known which basket to aim for without the help of a local.
Cons: Navigation is very difficult. The signs are old and hard (impossible) to decipher with up to four basket positions per hole and no way to tell which position the basket is currently in.
There are ugly uphill climbs.
Other Thoughts: The Badlands course was probably the most challenging course I played on the whole I-25 corridor between the Cheyenne, Wyoming and Colorado Springs. The throw over the nasty pond on # 12 only adds to this challenge. Then when the locals veer off and play #'s 2-9 of the Blair Witch Project course, this adds another different challenge both physical and technical to your day here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Large Course-Kinda confusing

1    6/5/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: sPinister
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of different challenges and obstacles. Uphill, downhill, over water, over/under trees, elevated basket on 14 or 15. Parts are heavily wooded, but most are open.
Cons: Poorly labeled. Almost impossible to navigate if its your first time playing the course. A couple baskets were removed on back nine.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. Its a huge course with many challenges. Takes a good 2+ hours start to finish. Much fun and highly recommended.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

badlands (pecos0

5+    9/8/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of elevation changes
difficult throws in the wind, this course can eat you and your discs up, thats why i like it, water in play

they do move baskets as well which is always a plus!
Cons: not too many, the park itself needs to be cleaned up
Other Thoughts: challenging course, bring all the shots in your bag

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bad Lands

5+    4/6/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well groomed park with long rolling hills. There is a great amount of elevation change for a city course. There are a great number of long holes and each hole has multiple pin placements that are changed on a semi regular basis. The ponds and creek are used well to add difficulty.
Cons: The sighs on the tee pads are difficult to read and often mark the wrong pin placement. Beware of the ponds they are putrid but there is a good chance you will be called if your disc takes a splash.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to play Blair Witch while you are on the course it is a must and can be started after hole 12.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/24/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: mhctravis
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice big open spaces to air it out. Lots of walking over mixed terrain. Up and down hills. Plenty of tight technical shots to test your skills.
Cons: If your not into puttin some miles on your arms and legs, this isnt the course for you. The water shots will definetly eat your discs. The tee signs are old and beat down and since it is such a big course, finding your way can be tough.
Other Thoughts: Overall i thought this course had it all! Tons of fun. Some super tough shots and some long straight gunners. I bet itll be awesome in the summer when everything is lush and green!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Ground for the Pound

1    3/4/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: StarBeast89
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads are well placed and provide enough area for any type of form/stance. The distance to each hole is excellent ranging from very long uphill/downhill to very short straight away. Elevation changes from hole to hole is very challenging as the holes are actually farther than what you think and see. The flags on top of each pin is also helpful when the hole goes over a hill.
Cons: The only bad thing about this course is its map on each tee pad. Its very outdated and confusing as it show multiple pin placements. It doesn't really show where the ponds/water hazard are.
Other Thoughts: As a player from wisconsin/minnesota states, this course is challenging. Playing this course you will get to test your drive distance uphill/downhill and disc control to avoid the ponds especially on hole #2 and #11.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

2-4    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, some decent use of features out on the main course that gets better if you venture into the Blair witch. Has three practice baskets at the top. Multiple pins placements make sure that it isn't the same old course.
Cons: Breading ground for mosquitos down in the valley that I have been told is fueled by sewage run off. Do not venture into the water to grab your disc. It is the nastiest water hazard I have ever come across. Despite the multiple pins placements, the signs on the tee pad are marked with the general direction of where they all are but never designated making the course confusing if you do not play it regularly.
Other Thoughts: The gentleman who supposedly keeps the maintenance of the course is always at the top selling discs and will supposedly call you if his "diver" finds yours. I have never recieved a call on one of mine nor have any of my friends making me suspect that this is not true. The course has great potential to be better, but is obviously hindered by the lack of community funding. If you do decide to play this course I would recommend playing the first 10 then going into the Blair Witch which is more technical but is harder to lose your discs without the water hazard and then skipping the last 8 holes. Always disappointed when I leave there but have a great time trying to thread the lines in the trees to the east of the main.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another dissapointment in the Denver area.

2-4    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great opportunities to grip it and rip it. There are 18 tees and 18 baskets.
Three practice baskets so you don't have to feel like your in other peoples way.
The grass is very green and beautiful. There are also great views of the Rockies.
Cons: Horrible layout. Felt like the designer was like "Ok, we're going to go straight downhill than straight back up and repeat this for most of the course."
The creek had a lot of potential, but there was not one creek hole that I felt was even worth a damn. Holes five and six felt like the tee was placed close to the creek and the basket placed at an arbitrary position through some trees.
Might be the worst marked course in the Denver area. The second tee is behind a knoll.
Never really enjoyed this course. I played three times and each time it seemed to get worse.
Other Thoughts: If you live less than 10 miles away than it's a decent course to go get a round in. I moved to the Denver area about two years ago from the ft-worth-Dallas area which has am abundant supply of great courses. While I love Denver and feel more at home here than I ever did in Texas the low number of good courses is disappointing.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A "must-play" for CO

1    7/15/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow, this course has it all! Excellent use of elevation changes, technical shot selections, water, trees and is kept up well for a city park. Most holes are relatively short for those with big arms... I only threw driver twice during my round as my midrange discs are anywhere from 400 feet in...
Cons: For first timers, it was a bit bewildering determining which basket you need to throw to and where the next tee box and basket are, but after asking a few "locals" and following them, I was able to find my way through this course pretty easily.
Other Thoughts: CO has had a ton of rain this year which is a bit "unseasonable" from what I hear from the locals, so be prepared for a few "mushy and swampy" spots. Be sure to wear footwear that is waterproof if you're not wanting to walk around in wet socks.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great long course, best locally

1    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: AtomicCEO
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the best course I've played in the Arvada/Westminster/Broomfield area. Lots of long holes and uphill/downhill terrain. Great baskets, challenging pin locations, mowed grass and some shade areas to cool down.
Cons: We were following a group in front of us to find our way around the course, and when we lost them, there was a bit of a challenge to find the next tee box. We did eventually manage to find them all though. Some signs were damaged and unreadable, and I think 18 was missing.

Hole 12 over the water was a little silly. None of us could possibly reach dry land. I see now from looking at the course map that we were on the "pro tee". Whoops.
Other Thoughts: Way longer than Johnny Roberts, more interesting terrain (trees and water) than Birds nest, way easier to navigate than the Interlocken course, and much better maintained than the City Park course. This is my favorite in the area.

It will be better the 2nd time we play it now that we know the way around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.