Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 (Pro tee)



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 baskets, baskets everywhere!

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall a great experience. Good use of area... elevation changes work well. Lots of basket choices (too many?) You can play big arm or just play shorter... quite wide open... hard to lose a disc here... 'cept on 12 over water. A LOT of disc golf course squeezed into the land area...
Cons: signs are poor, missing or confusing... play with a local the first time... or print the map. Too many baskets... where do I shoot? Layout is well done as to use of space... but very hard to follow using DG instinct... w/o a map you are going to have a tough time.
Other Thoughts: Bonus 9 holes in the woodsy area was more like courses in my area... Played that with a local... review on that page. If I lived local and played here about 3 times I am sure I would LOVE this place... just overwelming the first time. Putting practice baskets at tee #1 are nice to have.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands DGC

1    3/14/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very nice use of elevation changes
-nice tees and decent baskets
-18 holes of varying lengths (also has a 9 hole course on site)
-many interesting throws where the hills come into play
-benches at almost every hole that was nice so you could put your bags on it
-nice park but there were a lot of people there so we had to do a lot of waiting
Cons: -the signs are very poorly done
-can be confusing where to go next after you finish a hole
-the hills get frustrating because you are always throwing up or down hills
-it was really windy the day we played and it made the course frustrating
Other Thoughts: worth the play if you are in the area. It was a fun course and different from many of the courses I have played.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Slippery Slope

5+    3/12/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is still the go to Denver Metro course to measure your game.Still challenging enough to drag me back. A good place to work on up and down hill shots in prep to throw mountain courses.
Cons: Sometimes making changes to a course is not a good thing. The nasty swamp that comes into play on hole #1, #2, and 5 has been a problem for years. Tee box #2 now basically gets bombed on by Hole #9 shots. Most of the tee changes and "improvments" along low channel have been disappointing.
Other Thoughts: This course was more of a 3.5 -4.0 rating a few years ago but has been on a downward sprial for some time now.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/3/2009   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big, Open Park with moderate traffic. Good course to play if you would like to really open up and throw hard. A couple fun/technical shots.
Cons: No Imagination for this place. Throw down a hill, then up it, then across it, then here's a few completely blind shots with horrible signs to tell you where they're at. Very misleading/confusing layout at times.
This park could maybe have been put together better, but they did okay for the space they had... I guess.
Just not a fun place to play. Many other courses around to play.
Other Thoughts: I think they only reason why this place gets higher ratings is because it's not a starter course. You def. need some experience if you wish to score well here (even). WIth that being said, there really isn't horrible traffic. I've played here more than a few times, but when I started to get better, I realized how bad of a course this really is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Two courses in 1.

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: HAWKSNEST1979
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What used to be a pole course in the woods is now an additional 9 holes.

They more or less have a separate 9 hole tree course which is the exact opposite of the regular 18 hole course.
Love the tree course which plays right behind water world amusement park.
Mostly I just play the 9 holes in the woods and a few holes that will get you there and back to the parking lot.
18 hole part has chances for some monster throws on the long downhill shots.
Cons: Most of the open 18 holes are wind up and see how hard you can throw it with little need for accuracy.
Ponds are seriously disgusting and you DO NOT want to go in after your disc. Had a few friends that came out stinking bad. Several holes play around the ponds or over them.
Other Thoughts: I prefer the technical tree course and frequently skip the rest. Course is pretty friendly to dogs as well.
This is the course that I play most often and my collie loves to come with me. Definitely recommend the course and the tree course starts to the left most pond when looking out from the first tee. (next to 13th tee box)

A few holes play directly next to the cop shop.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: rhinos00
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The way some of the holes are set up offer a nice challenge for those that want a little competition.
Cons: There is a severe lack of imagination when it comes to the overall layout of this course. Basically a giant bowl that you will walk up and down from beginning to end. Also some of the tee boxes are on a severe slope. Most of my problems with this course had to do with upkeep and organization. The signs were not helpful at all, making it really difficult to find the next hole. Also the overall feel of the course was just dirty and trashy. The water obstacles were stagnant and littered with trash, flags were tattered, benches and signs had drawings and graffiti all over them...not too mention that a lot of the ditches and trenches were filled with trash.
Other Thoughts: In terms of a challenge, I really liked the course. I simply just couldn't enjoy myself with how trashy this course felt and looked. This place really needs to get cleaned up.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best Denver Metro Course

5+    3/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has many risky shots that can result in birdies. A great course for competitive play. 2 holes have am/pro tees to minimize risk of newer players (and weenie arms) losing discs in the (DEEP) ponds without taking them away from those of us who love the challenge. Some of the elevation changes challenge the mountain courses. I ranked 4.0 because the addition of the tight challenging back 9 added what this course was missing. This is easily the most rounded course in the metro area if you play all 27, has always been one of my favorites.
The course is almost entirely disc exclusive, so you rarely have to wait for pedestrians to walk through.
Cons: The wooded holes are shorter, the open ones are longer. There is no 350' straight uphill shot in the woods (there are long shots in the woods, and 350' straight uphill shots).
Although it can be a big risk most holes are birdie-able by the big arms.
Not super beginner friendly, could be difficult to navigate the first time, but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: I had to stretch a little to think of cons, I love the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit, come with a guide

1    3/7/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course lives in a very large "bowl" (probably 50 acres total?) The bowl has lots of undulations that makes for very tricky winds. Badlands provides a great wind training ground.

There are several very nice vantage points and fun shots that feature big elevation changes. There are lots of opportunities to let discs rip and watch them fly.

The yellow discatchers are nicely visible from a distance. They are old, but do feature added inner chains and catch reasonably well.

The cement tees are large and not cracked on the holes that have them. The "blair witch" holes yet to have cement tees, but are actually provide a very nice technical challenge and are the best on the course.

Walking the hills provides a great physical workout. If you're looking to get in shape while disc golfing, this is the best course in Denver for that purpose.
Cons: The signage is confusing at some points. Some of the holes have up to six basket locations and many of the tees point to several baskets that could possibly be the hole. There aren't any "next tee" signs.

Several of the cement tees have significant slopes to them. The uphill tees slope uphill and some of the other tees have large sideways slopes. The ground should have been built up and reinforced prior to pouring cement quite a few holes.

The baskets have golf flags, which I appreciate, but most of them are pretty ratty looking and could use replacing.

The use of terrain is largely unimaginative, featuring mostly holes straight up and straight down the hills.

There are several points at which drives are thrown very close to other baskets. Some of the holes actually criss-cross. The 9th hole does not return to the parking lot. There's only one or two "two-shot" holes. There is a HUGE amount of space in this park that could have been better utilized.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my playing experience here and would play it frequently if I lived close by for the leg workout.

As previously mentioned the "blair witch" holes provide short/medium technical holes of interest, but they are still rather rough. It won't take too much work, but there does need to be some clearing of bushes and small limbs that invade into the fairways. Also, these holes are quite tricky to navigate.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/22/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging/technical course for my sea-legs; loved the down hill shots, and the tucked in baskets on some of the front 9; not use to throwing uphill, but was surprisingly enjoyable, nice baskets and tee pads
Cons: up-down, up-down; extra mud from melting snow, bring your boots
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed watching my driver slide across the frozen pond to the other side on 12?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and exhausting.

2-4    11/14/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: CBass
Played: 83  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you throughout with lots of elevation changes, water and obstacles to contend with. Great opening hole throwing way downhill to the basket. Judge the slope correctly or par may be a challenge. One blind shot over the trees and creek was one of the more interesting holes. My favorite would have to be the long downhill over the water shot on 12(I think it was 12). It seemed as though there were just a plethora of fun shots out there, a lot of room to throw but still a nice challenge. You can find lots of helpful people around if you need them, or if you want someone to throw with. Concrete tees on all holes as well as signage that the local club updates with the movement of pins.
Cons: Lots of walking up and back down the slopes, which isn't too much of a con since I was there for exercise. A few filler holes, but solid overall. Not a great course for back to back rounds due to the climbing, depends on who you are though. The pond water looks pretty scummy, so I would steer clear at all costs.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to venture through the Blair Witch while your there!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.