Federal Heights (Denver), CO
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #11 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #11



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best Denver Metro Course

5+    3/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many risky shots that can result in birdies. A great course for competitive play. 2 holes have am/pro tees to minimize risk of newer players (and weenie arms) losing discs in the (DEEP) ponds without taking them away from those of us who love the challenge. Some of the elevation changes challenge the mountain courses. I ranked 4.0 because the addition of the tight challenging back 9 added what this course was missing. This is easily the most rounded course in the metro area if you play all 27, has always been one of my favorites.
The course is almost entirely disc exclusive, so you rarely have to wait for pedestrians to walk through.
Cons: The wooded holes are shorter, the open ones are longer. There is no 350' straight uphill shot in the woods (there are long shots in the woods, and 350' straight uphill shots).
Although it can be a big risk most holes are birdie-able by the big arms.
Not super beginner friendly, could be difficult to navigate the first time, but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: I had to stretch a little to think of cons, I love the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit, come with a guide

1    3/7/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course lives in a very large "bowl" (probably 50 acres total?) The bowl has lots of undulations that makes for very tricky winds. Badlands provides a great wind training ground.

There are several very nice vantage points and fun shots that feature big elevation changes. There are lots of opportunities to let discs rip and watch them fly.

The yellow discatchers are nicely visible from a distance. They are old, but do feature added inner chains and catch reasonably well.

The cement tees are large and not cracked on the holes that have them. The "blair witch" holes yet to have cement tees, but are actually provide a very nice technical challenge and are the best on the course.

Walking the hills provides a great physical workout. If you're looking to get in shape while disc golfing, this is the best course in Denver for that purpose.
Cons: The signage is confusing at some points. Some of the holes have up to six basket locations and many of the tees point to several baskets that could possibly be the hole. There aren't any "next tee" signs.

Several of the cement tees have significant slopes to them. The uphill tees slope uphill and some of the other tees have large sideways slopes. The ground should have been built up and reinforced prior to pouring cement quite a few holes.

The baskets have golf flags, which I appreciate, but most of them are pretty ratty looking and could use replacing.

The use of terrain is largely unimaginative, featuring mostly holes straight up and straight down the hills.

There are several points at which drives are thrown very close to other baskets. Some of the holes actually criss-cross. The 9th hole does not return to the parking lot. There's only one or two "two-shot" holes. There is a HUGE amount of space in this park that could have been better utilized.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my playing experience here and would play it frequently if I lived close by for the leg workout.

As previously mentioned the "blair witch" holes provide short/medium technical holes of interest, but they are still rather rough. It won't take too much work, but there does need to be some clearing of bushes and small limbs that invade into the fairways. Also, these holes are quite tricky to navigate.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/22/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging/technical course for my sea-legs; loved the down hill shots, and the tucked in baskets on some of the front 9; not use to throwing uphill, but was surprisingly enjoyable, nice baskets and tee pads
Cons: up-down, up-down; extra mud from melting snow, bring your boots
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed watching my driver slide across the frozen pond to the other side on 12?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and exhausting.

2-4    11/14/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: CBass
Played: 76  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you throughout with lots of elevation changes, water and obstacles to contend with. Great opening hole throwing way downhill to the basket. Judge the slope correctly or par may be a challenge. One blind shot over the trees and creek was one of the more interesting holes. My favorite would have to be the long downhill over the water shot on 12(I think it was 12). It seemed as though there were just a plethora of fun shots out there, a lot of room to throw but still a nice challenge. You can find lots of helpful people around if you need them, or if you want someone to throw with. Concrete tees on all holes as well as signage that the local club updates with the movement of pins.
Cons: Lots of walking up and back down the slopes, which isn't too much of a con since I was there for exercise. A few filler holes, but solid overall. Not a great course for back to back rounds due to the climbing, depends on who you are though. The pond water looks pretty scummy, so I would steer clear at all costs.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to venture through the Blair Witch while your there!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Starts off strong, but falls short in the end

2-4    8/27/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 57  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation with blend of short and long holes
-Lots of pin locations
-Decent concrete tee boxes
-The newer tee signs are good enough, but the prettiest, but they get the job done.
Cons: -Design quality of the finishing holes drops off significantly on the last few holes. It's relatively fun in the beginning, but the last few holes are pretty blah.
-Navigation is confusing without a guide
-Some tee signs need to be updated/replaced.
-Mostly open shots, not too many technical holes. The holes that do have trees, they are all around the basket, so it's a wide open drive to a wooded basket which, with a good drive, makes the holes pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I played this course 6 years ago and thought it was boring and poor condition. This time when I played it I had low expectations, but it was better than I remember. From what I can tell of courses in the area, this is probably the best one to play. My score -6.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/14/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.8 Years
Pros: This is a well laid out course n i think its one of the better ones in the denver area ( i know i didnt come close to playing them all). Alot of different shots needed for a good round. Benches and garbage cans are plentiful, but bring fluids because there are no water fountains.
Cons: Man the denver heat and no shade can make this course brutal. the blair witch project is DIFFICULT. Ijust walked the first few holes and there is no way i was going to attempt it. Also the up n down the hillside get kind of annoying,
Other Thoughts: All in all this course i a good, definetly next time im in colo this will be a definate stop.

 sum of play experience

2-4    7/18/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Nice mix of holes / shots - from open to water to a bit of trees. Chance to use many discs. DG friendly park. Holes / tees reasonably well kept up - tee pads in decent shape - signs need some TLC. Easy to navigate for the most part - if you aren't with a local, there is some confusion finding tee for 3 or 4 I think it was.
Cons: nasty swampy sections on first few holes. The water on this course is just plain nasty / gross / EPA scary. Avoid after heavy rains. Most important don't go right on the first tee (as lefty I end up wading through the muck more often than i would like - skills could solve that problem I know - but still learning)
Other Thoughts: I want to play Blair Witch still - haven't ventured back there.

 Fun but challenging

1    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Elkman27
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Lots of elavated tee boxes. Lots of shade for those hot days out on the course. all around good course
Cons: Hard to get started for first timmers maps really dont give hole location. Very hilly it will be a work out so wear your hiking shoes.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Some Holes should be par 4 instead of par 3 I think very long holes but fun a very wide range of plays as in throwing up hill and then back down hill and a couple across the lake. Would play again for sure

 Big Hills and Big Shots Required

1    7/7/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Badlands ideally offers 27 holes of golf that if played in its entirety offer a real mix of varied hole design. Even though I didn't have time, I would highly recommend tagging along with a course regular, hitting the front eleven of the badlands, skipping into the Blair Witch Project course that is very tight and technical, and coming back out to finishing off the Badlands. Combined, these two courses offer a unique balance to each other.

There are plenty of opportunities to practice your elevation shots, and long bombers will certainly get a thrill out of this mostly long and open course. There is also an interesting mix of water hazards, with hole #12 being the greatest challenge. Newer players that don't want to lose a disc may want to consider making their own tee. There are good park facilities, and the course currently has one practice basket (the others were stolen) for you to warm up on.

Ronnie, course designer and maintainer goes to the trouble of moving pins every few months to keep the course fresh and challenging. He also can usually be found selling discs from his van in the parking lot to help raise money for the course, which I believe is very commendable and speaks to the level at which people love this course.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #12
Cons: The tee signs, while cool in their hand painted style, are in need of some repair. There are still yardage markings, as well as a little star that should show the current pin placement. The course is undergoing some minor design changes, which makes the current online map as well as a map I received at the course off in the first four to five holes. This should be remedied in the near future, but tee #2 is set behind the marsh and don't expect to find well marked #4 box.

As with any course design sometimes things can feel a bit repetitive. I actually got a little bored with the ample up downs in elevation by the end of #18, which is weird because it's something I usually long for in a course. Also, some holes play in and over each other, so just be wary of nearby golfers. This includes the golfers coming out at #13 from the Blair Witch Project course in the trees. Finally, parking is sparse at best, so just be prepared to walk on a busy day.

WORST HOLE/S: #13; #14; #15
Other Thoughts: The Badlands was the end to a marathon day of disc golf for me that starting with Johnny Roberts, moving into the mountains at Beaver Ranch and Phantom Falls, before ending my afternoon here. It was a little anti-climatic given the company of courses I played that day and my exhausted state, but Camenisch Park still had it's own personally that I would love devote more time too. I would also like to spend a little time fresh on the course as well as play in the Blair Witch Project, since I believe this is basically an extension of the existing eighteen.

Is the Badlands a premiere course? No, but after spending some time talking to Ronnie about the design and effort that has gone into making the course what it is, I certainly have a healthy respect for it. Newer players might get frustrated at the length, but most players will be happy to learn the sport on the open slopes as long as they steer clear of the water. I recommend playing here while in the Denver area, based on the solid design, love, and 10-year history - just don't expect to be blown away from it. If you have questions, want to help Ronnie keep the course in shape, or just want to see more of Denver area courses - make sure you check out www.badcodisc.com.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Challenge

2-4    6/11/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is about as good as you can get for a mostly open pro par 54 course. you've got some holes that are long and downhill. you've got some that aren't that long, but way uphill. you've also got some longer uphill ones and some shorter downhill ones. one of the best parts of this course is that all the holes have at least 3 pin locations, with some having up to 6. It also makes a great Safari hole course, as there are a few trees spread throughout the entire course, but not enough to make a Safari round way too tough. A course with many OB locations surrounding the course, along with solid tee placement everywhere. On hole 2, the tee is set into the ground about 6'. it's a natural hole, and there is plenty of room to throw-it's just intimidating. There is another course on this site, 9 holes that are much more densely wooded. If you want to play all 27 holes, the great thing is you can do it all in one loop. Hole 1's tee on the other course is between Holes 12 and 13 on this course, and hole 9 on the other course comes out 60' from hole 13's tee on this course. There are a couple of holes with Pro and Am tees, Holes 12 and 17. This is mostly because the pro tees on 12 and 17 are shots over a large, nasty pond. Speaking of this pond, it is well used, although is isn't used a lot. hole 12 goes over the pond, with the pin just on the far side of it. Holes 9 and 16 you throw toward the pond, with the pin being just before it. On 17, the pond is right in front of you, and only comes into play because of a really bad shot. And on hole 6 you are throwing beside the pond. a good practice basket too. It's a great course that will challenge everyone who plays it.
Cons: Losing discs sucks. and this is not a pond you want to be messing around in, as it is very nasty. Parking isn't the greatest. There's no benches. Those are about the only negatives. I could complain about having more tees and more holes in the park, but that's a little silly. It really is a course with very few negatives.
Other Thoughts: What a fun course with friendly locals. In a competitive doubles round on hole 1, I put the disc pin high from the tee. It was at the 552' pin location. Thank you Colorado air! If i lived in or north of Denver, I would play this course more than any other course in the area. (I haven't played all the courses in the area, but of all the ones I played, this one was awesome and by far the best.)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.