Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Starts off strong, but falls short in the end

2-4    8/27/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation with blend of short and long holes
-Lots of pin locations
-Decent concrete tee boxes
-The newer tee signs are good enough, but the prettiest, but they get the job done.
Cons: -Design quality of the finishing holes drops off significantly on the last few holes. It's relatively fun in the beginning, but the last few holes are pretty blah.
-Navigation is confusing without a guide
-Some tee signs need to be updated/replaced.
-Mostly open shots, not too many technical holes. The holes that do have trees, they are all around the basket, so it's a wide open drive to a wooded basket which, with a good drive, makes the holes pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I played this course 6 years ago and thought it was boring and poor condition. This time when I played it I had low expectations, but it was better than I remember. From what I can tell of courses in the area, this is probably the best one to play. My score -6.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/14/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well laid out course n i think its one of the better ones in the denver area ( i know i didnt come close to playing them all). Alot of different shots needed for a good round. Benches and garbage cans are plentiful, but bring fluids because there are no water fountains.
Cons: Man the denver heat and no shade can make this course brutal. the blair witch project is DIFFICULT. Ijust walked the first few holes and there is no way i was going to attempt it. Also the up n down the hillside get kind of annoying,
Other Thoughts: All in all this course i a good, definetly next time im in colo this will be a definate stop.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 sum of play experience

2-4    7/18/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes / shots - from open to water to a bit of trees. Chance to use many discs. DG friendly park. Holes / tees reasonably well kept up - tee pads in decent shape - signs need some TLC. Easy to navigate for the most part - if you aren't with a local, there is some confusion finding tee for 3 or 4 I think it was.
Cons: nasty swampy sections on first few holes. The water on this course is just plain nasty / gross / EPA scary. Avoid after heavy rains. Most important don't go right on the first tee (as lefty I end up wading through the muck more often than i would like - skills could solve that problem I know - but still learning)
Other Thoughts: I want to play Blair Witch still - haven't ventured back there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but challenging

1    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Elkman27
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elavated tee boxes. Lots of shade for those hot days out on the course. all around good course
Cons: Hard to get started for first timmers maps really dont give hole location. Very hilly it will be a work out so wear your hiking shoes.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Some Holes should be par 4 instead of par 3 I think very long holes but fun a very wide range of plays as in throwing up hill and then back down hill and a couple across the lake. Would play again for sure

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Big Hills and Big Shots Required

1    7/7/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Badlands ideally offers 27 holes of golf that if played in its entirety offer a real mix of varied hole design. Even though I didn't have time, I would highly recommend tagging along with a course regular, hitting the front eleven of the badlands, skipping into the Blair Witch Project course that is very tight and technical, and coming back out to finishing off the Badlands. Combined, these two courses offer a unique balance to each other.

There are plenty of opportunities to practice your elevation shots, and long bombers will certainly get a thrill out of this mostly long and open course. There is also an interesting mix of water hazards, with hole #12 being the greatest challenge. Newer players that don't want to lose a disc may want to consider making their own tee. There are good park facilities, and the course currently has one practice basket (the others were stolen) for you to warm up on.

Ronnie, course designer and maintainer goes to the trouble of moving pins every few months to keep the course fresh and challenging. He also can usually be found selling discs from his van in the parking lot to help raise money for the course, which I believe is very commendable and speaks to the level at which people love this course.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #12
Cons: The tee signs, while cool in their hand painted style, are in need of some repair. There are still yardage markings, as well as a little star that should show the current pin placement. The course is undergoing some minor design changes, which makes the current online map as well as a map I received at the course off in the first four to five holes. This should be remedied in the near future, but tee #2 is set behind the marsh and don't expect to find well marked #4 box.

As with any course design sometimes things can feel a bit repetitive. I actually got a little bored with the ample up downs in elevation by the end of #18, which is weird because it's something I usually long for in a course. Also, some holes play in and over each other, so just be wary of nearby golfers. This includes the golfers coming out at #13 from the Blair Witch Project course in the trees. Finally, parking is sparse at best, so just be prepared to walk on a busy day.

WORST HOLE/S: #13; #14; #15
Other Thoughts: The Badlands was the end to a marathon day of disc golf for me that starting with Johnny Roberts, moving into the mountains at Beaver Ranch and Phantom Falls, before ending my afternoon here. It was a little anti-climatic given the company of courses I played that day and my exhausted state, but Camenisch Park still had it's own personally that I would love devote more time too. I would also like to spend a little time fresh on the course as well as play in the Blair Witch Project, since I believe this is basically an extension of the existing eighteen.

Is the Badlands a premiere course? No, but after spending some time talking to Ronnie about the design and effort that has gone into making the course what it is, I certainly have a healthy respect for it. Newer players might get frustrated at the length, but most players will be happy to learn the sport on the open slopes as long as they steer clear of the water. I recommend playing here while in the Denver area, based on the solid design, love, and 10-year history - just don't expect to be blown away from it. If you have questions, want to help Ronnie keep the course in shape, or just want to see more of Denver area courses - make sure you check out www.badcodisc.com.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Challenge

2-4    6/11/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is about as good as you can get for a mostly open pro par 54 course. you've got some holes that are long and downhill. you've got some that aren't that long, but way uphill. you've also got some longer uphill ones and some shorter downhill ones. one of the best parts of this course is that all the holes have at least 3 pin locations, with some having up to 6. It also makes a great Safari hole course, as there are a few trees spread throughout the entire course, but not enough to make a Safari round way too tough. A course with many OB locations surrounding the course, along with solid tee placement everywhere. On hole 2, the tee is set into the ground about 6'. it's a natural hole, and there is plenty of room to throw-it's just intimidating. There is another course on this site, 9 holes that are much more densely wooded. If you want to play all 27 holes, the great thing is you can do it all in one loop. Hole 1's tee on the other course is between Holes 12 and 13 on this course, and hole 9 on the other course comes out 60' from hole 13's tee on this course. There are a couple of holes with Pro and Am tees, Holes 12 and 17. This is mostly because the pro tees on 12 and 17 are shots over a large, nasty pond. Speaking of this pond, it is well used, although is isn't used a lot. hole 12 goes over the pond, with the pin just on the far side of it. Holes 9 and 16 you throw toward the pond, with the pin being just before it. On 17, the pond is right in front of you, and only comes into play because of a really bad shot. And on hole 6 you are throwing beside the pond. a good practice basket too. It's a great course that will challenge everyone who plays it.
Cons: Losing discs sucks. and this is not a pond you want to be messing around in, as it is very nasty. Parking isn't the greatest. There's no benches. Those are about the only negatives. I could complain about having more tees and more holes in the park, but that's a little silly. It really is a course with very few negatives.
Other Thoughts: What a fun course with friendly locals. In a competitive doubles round on hole 1, I put the disc pin high from the tee. It was at the 552' pin location. Thank you Colorado air! If i lived in or north of Denver, I would play this course more than any other course in the area. (I haven't played all the courses in the area, but of all the ones I played, this one was awesome and by far the best.)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Waterworld!

5+    5/15/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: blah
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great course to unleash long drives. good workout walk with steep hills. technical. awesome hidden bonus nine. never too busy
Cons: bad neighborhood. mucky areas near the creek and pond. confusing layout
Other Thoughts: think twice about throwing it over the pond

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands

1    5/27/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for elevation variation... Mostly open holes, and many that allow for an all out bomb. Really fun round, in a nice park. There was a nice guy selling plastic and cold drinks in the parking lot. The water hazards were pretty, and never really got in the way (hole 12 could get ugly if you aren't careful). The tee pads were all concrete and more than I needed. Signage was good for being hand painted. Pin positions all over the place...
Cons: Some signs could use replacements due to vandalism. Some parts of the park can get pretty crowded which slows play. We had a few hiccups when navigating the course, but nothing major. Not much shade.
Other Thoughts: Bring water and sun screen. You are constantly climbing and descending the hills with little to no shade. The round was fun, but it can be a workout at times. Not a bad course, and there are a bonus 9 holes that are completely wooded.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 hated it first time - it got better

2-4    4/26/2004   4/26/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: up shots and down shots for good, varied holes. you can leave your kids at water world and have a good time for a little bit. ;)
Cons: hard to know what you're supposed to throw at. too many baskets close to the one you're supposed to throw at. If it's your first time you better join a veteran.
Other Thoughts: when I left from the first time I was sure I would never return, but I did a couple times and it is better when you know where to throw. not a bad course overall.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/17/2008   4/17/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've only played this course one time but it was a very diverse course. Alot of elevation changes and some challenging water holes. Apparently there is an additionl 9 holes, that I did not play, which makes this course 27 holes which is nice! The length of some of these holes makes this course very fun to show your distance.
Cons: There was a lot of traffic while I was there and some of the holes criss cross so you have to wait to throw on some.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course and I was just a beginner when I played so am excited to play it again now that I have some experience under my belt. This course keep things interesting from Hole 1 where you have a huge bomber shot down a hill with some water hazard at the bottom. There are definately no boring holes here!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.