Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14



Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Fun! Capital F!

5+    6/8/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course, lots of length, challenging layout and elevation galore for a city course. Nice cages, concrete tee pads and the players/supporters of BadCo do an excellent job keeping the place well kept with their BadLands work days.
Cons: Can get soggy. Length gets over bearing with few short/ace hunting drives. My shoulder and feet are usually exhausted by the end of the round. Also, had a couple run ins with tweeker, dope-heads, especially around the parking lot and southside of course.
Other Thoughts: Take your time and don't try to play it fast, you'll be warn out. But, otherwise, a lot of fun and plenty of opportunity to air it out! Please pick up after yourself and your pets!! And bring a throw-away or floater plastic for the water hole(s).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best in Metro Denver

5+    7/26/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the best course in Metro Denver currently. It makes great use of the small amount of elevation change, water hazards, and disc munching trees and bushes. When you are staring down tee #1 you may be deceived into thinking this course is going to be easy, but by the time you first cross the small run-off "creek" in the middle of the course you will understand that this course is not for the feint of heart. The trees and weeds have adapted to the course and learned new ways to re-direct and hide your discs on about 50% of the holes. The pond muck is skilled at swallowing even the brightest disc at a shallow depth so that it's owner will not find it, and golden retrievers only pull out debris. This course can be unforgiving, cruel, and sadistic. For all of these reasons I can't resist returning to Badlands over and over again!
Cons: Be prepared to lose a disc, the odds are much higher that you will lose a disc if it's your first time playing the course, or on windy days. I have personally lost over 10 discs at Badlands in the 7-years I've played it, half of them in the pond you must play over on hole #12. The last few holes are pretty boring, but really the only way to make up for lost strokes on earlier holes, so don't skip them! It's a city park in a bad neighborhood, so it's not well maintained at all, and there are some interesting characters that occasionally stroll by. It gets really crowded here, even on weekdays, be prepared to wait a while, or skip holes. I've only played Badlands from #1-18 sequentially once or twice.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray, there are tons of nasty little critters living in the muck here. Also, watch out for snakes in the tall grasses near the "creek". Bring extra towels, trust me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

an atypical Denver metro course

1    7/15/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Rowick
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nothing like most courses I've played in Denver I.E. not flat at all, a lot of trees and pretty tough.
Every hole was a different challenge
Cons: Signage was Terrible!! if I could even call the signage decent I would give it at least a 3.5 if not 4. Best example; The tee pad for 4 has the number 3 in the corner and I'm pretty sure the sign next to it said it was hole 5 though it was though to tell with how faded it was. Most of the sings if there were even present resembled something that an eight year old would make at summer camp and that's before all the sun fade and cracking and graffiti I guess that's what you get for putting a disc golf course right next to about five different trailer parks. Even the few signs that were legible were not real helpful because of the multiple pin placements. I'm all for variety but do we really need seven pin placements on some holes? some goals had numbers on them most didn't I threw to the wrong goal more than once

some holes are too hard at lest for a noob like me the guys ahead of me who were way better then I am both lost a disc at in the lake at 12 so I just skipped it

also leash laws are apparently not real well enforced(which is odd given the course borders the local PD) I saw about five dogs including one pit bull none of them on a leash. It wasn't a big deal this time but what happens when someones dog thinks your trying to play fetch with it and its not on a leash?
Other Thoughts: glad I made the dive from Aurora very different than say Expo park I would like to come back when I've got a lot more experience. bring someone who has played it before if at all possible

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Long

5+    6/11/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation changes, Long holes, extra 9 holes in "blair witch" area is very fun
Cons: Terrain and ponds are disgusting. It looks like someone dumps waste there. Very dusty and dead grass in late summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a good course to play in the spring and the blair witch is very fun and heavily wooded

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Up and Down at the Badlands

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 344  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation, most holes had some and a lot of them had significant changes in elevation
-Pads were fairly nice and grippy despite being pretty old
-A few water shots. #12 long is a pretty good challenge for most players. There is an alternate tee to the right that is shorter and much more approachable if you're afraid of losing a disc.
-9 bonus holes in the back after hole 12.
-Discatchers were also pretty old but were in decent enough shape.
-3 practice baskets!
-Flow is pretty good, it is relatively open so you can usually see the next tee or follow the group ahead of you.
-Blind tee shots are usually aided by some kind of flag on the basket.
-Hole 5 was fun with many trees and it would be good if they were able to incorporate more holes like that into this open course.
Cons: -The water is foul smelling and looking. Signs tell you to stay out and I would recommend following them.
-Tee signs are either old, vandalized, or a combination of both.
-It was really busy during the day on a Tuesday, it has to be horrible during the weekend.
-It would be a little more fun if there were more trees on many of the holes. Some of them seemed too open.
-This is a long course, if you are out of shape it might tire you out pretty good.
-This isn't the nicest neighborhood despite being right next to the water park. There was a car with a broken out window in the small parking lot and the park wasn't overly clean. The creek and ponds were clearly polluted and there was lots of evidence of homeless people living in Blair Witch.
Other Thoughts: -This course and Blair Witch should really be combined into one solid 27 hole course. They flow right together and I would guess that nobody plays Blair Witch without playing this course first.
-If they got new baskets and tees for BW and tee signs for all 27, this course could be a great 4.0 or better rated course. It had a high fun factor despite all that was wrong with it. I would recommend stopping here as it was one of the best in the Denver area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Challenging enough

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Teepads 3 (not all facing the right direction)
Tee signs 1
Baskets 3
Flow 2
Difficulty 2.5
This course had some of what i like risk reward on downhill shots and elevation changes. the practice basket set up was legit
Cons: Course flow was a bit tough. maybe some next tee signs. Based on the 2 maps available they had a redesign at some point. I don't mind multiple pins but have a way to mark what pin the basket is in.
Other Thoughts: I met some extremely nice folks here and had a chance to chat. I always feel pleasantly greeted by locals here in denver.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    12/17/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Walking up to the first tee and looking out into this valley spotted with DisCathcer baskets was quite a cool experience and feeling. I never get to play in elevation being from Houston, especially elevation of this magnitude. Combine the elevation with long bomber holes down the face of the valley, hole #1 to start off with, and you just have a feeling that this course will be one that will stay in your memory.

There are a few ponds that are in play only a little bit except on Hole 12, which shoots down the hill and needs to cover the pond.. All in all that hole is about 425 feet downhill with a pond to cover. It was easily one of my favorite holes I have played in 93+ courses played.

The course seems to be just for disc golfers without walking trails. With this being said, the course has a lot of character with everything becoming worn down like the tees, signs, and baskets, which adds character to the name of being the "Badlands."
Cons: I am not a huge fan of there being 5 possible pin placements. It makes it hard on the first time to locate where the basket is or which basket you need to be shooting at. Hole 1 was a marvelous hole however it is easily to get confused and shoot at the 17th basket as they are separated by only by 60 or so feet. This could be avoided by having newer tee signs that are legible; the ones now have probably been out for 10 or so years since being replacement.

I did not find navigation as difficult as some other reviewers found but there definitely were no yellow brick roads leading to the next hole.

The course is a bit wide open. I almost gave it the benefit of the doubt since it has very good elevation but I realized the lack of obstacles trumps the big elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Combining this with the Blair Witch Project back 9 can make a great day of disc golf with a wide variety of shots. Once you finish Hole 12, tee 1 will be on the left for the second course. The 9th basket of the second course leads right back up to the 13th tee of Badlands.

This was my favorite course so far to play in the Denver area, not that that is comparing much right now, but it is a course I would go back to and enjoy it every day.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice change of pace

1    9/24/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Somewhat challenging - nice concrete tee pads - good variety of shots used even in wide open areas- restrooms - well maintained park

This course is a nice change of pace from the other courses in the area. There are plenty of green rolling hills and some good distance with a decent amount of challenges. Though we didn't see any walkers, there were walking paths that wound through the course, so I would imagine it gets pretty crowded during peak time.
Cons: Wide open course without many technical shots - poor tee signs and we got turned around in a couple areas due to poor direction

We were there in the morning, so there weren't any locals to follow around, but we found our way. They could use some more descriptive tee signs, but we were able to find our way just fine. Some of the holes are completely wide open, but that made it easy to find the errant shot and encouraged multiple throws on each hole.
Other Thoughts: Fun course without a lot of back and forth. There were a lot of longish ace runs to go after. But, they could really use better tee signs and more directional arrows to help with course flow. Throwing over the lake was a nice addition

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun and challenging course

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun! More diverse/challenging course, elevation changes are fun (even my weak arm can get an occasional 300+ on these). Forces you to think about what disc/shape you are going to try and throw. (helps you learn your arm/discs) Several holes have plenty of room for error, some dont. good exercise walking up and down the hills.
Cons: signage needs a little help. (print the course map if you are a fist timer......even the map is not exact to current course lay out?) As a beginner, the ponds in valley are a disc magnet!
Other Thoughts: Its not the most beginner friendly course. You need to be able throw around 200ft (accurately) to keep par possible. That being said, my son got several pars yesterday using 175-200 ft tomahawks all day. Update: with more experience and courses under my belt. I would consider this course to be more challenging than most. I am starting to throw better and getting better distance but still have not shot par or under on this course. If you compare this course to ball golf, It plays more true to par. Not every week end warrior can shoot even par in ball golf...... And most never will. You are starting to play some frolf if you can shoot even par, or better, on the bad lands. (imo) This is my home course and the challenge never gets old.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Badlands

5+    6/17/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Long holes
-Water hazzards
-Technical shots
-Elevation change
-Well maintained
-Multiple pin placements
-Discs get retrieved from pond
Cons: -Some confusing holes
-Broken glass and trash on some holes
-Civilians on bike paths in fairway
Other Thoughts: -Blair witch branches off

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.