Federal Heights (Denver), CO
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #4



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Up and Down at the Badlands

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation, most holes had some and a lot of them had significant changes in elevation
-Pads were fairly nice and grippy despite being pretty old
-A few water shots. #12 long is a pretty good challenge for most players. There is an alternate tee to the right that is shorter and much more approachable if you're afraid of losing a disc.
-9 bonus holes in the back after hole 12.
-Discatchers were also pretty old but were in decent enough shape.
-3 practice baskets!
-Flow is pretty good, it is relatively open so you can usually see the next tee or follow the group ahead of you.
-Blind tee shots are usually aided by some kind of flag on the basket.
-Hole 5 was fun with many trees and it would be good if they were able to incorporate more holes like that into this open course.
Cons: -The water is foul smelling and looking. Signs tell you to stay out and I would recommend following them.
-Tee signs are either old, vandalized, or a combination of both.
-It was really busy during the day on a Tuesday, it has to be horrible during the weekend.
-It would be a little more fun if there were more trees on many of the holes. Some of them seemed too open.
-This is a long course, if you are out of shape it might tire you out pretty good.
-This isn't the nicest neighborhood despite being right next to the water park. There was a car with a broken out window in the small parking lot and the park wasn't overly clean. The creek and ponds were clearly polluted and there was lots of evidence of homeless people living in Blair Witch.
Other Thoughts: -This course and Blair Witch should really be combined into one solid 27 hole course. They flow right together and I would guess that nobody plays Blair Witch without playing this course first.
-If they got new baskets and tees for BW and tee signs for all 27, this course could be a great 4.0 or better rated course. It had a high fun factor despite all that was wrong with it. I would recommend stopping here as it was one of the best in the Denver area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging enough

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 105  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Teepads 3 (not all facing the right direction)
Tee signs 1
Baskets 3
Flow 2
Difficulty 2.5
This course had some of what i like risk reward on downhill shots and elevation changes. the practice basket set up was legit
Cons: Course flow was a bit tough. maybe some next tee signs. Based on the 2 maps available they had a redesign at some point. I don't mind multiple pins but have a way to mark what pin the basket is in.
Other Thoughts: I met some extremely nice folks here and had a chance to chat. I always feel pleasantly greeted by locals here in denver.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    12/17/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Walking up to the first tee and looking out into this valley spotted with DisCathcer baskets was quite a cool experience and feeling. I never get to play in elevation being from Houston, especially elevation of this magnitude. Combine the elevation with long bomber holes down the face of the valley, hole #1 to start off with, and you just have a feeling that this course will be one that will stay in your memory.

There are a few ponds that are in play only a little bit except on Hole 12, which shoots down the hill and needs to cover the pond.. All in all that hole is about 425 feet downhill with a pond to cover. It was easily one of my favorite holes I have played in 93+ courses played.

The course seems to be just for disc golfers without walking trails. With this being said, the course has a lot of character with everything becoming worn down like the tees, signs, and baskets, which adds character to the name of being the "Badlands."
Cons: I am not a huge fan of there being 5 possible pin placements. It makes it hard on the first time to locate where the basket is or which basket you need to be shooting at. Hole 1 was a marvelous hole however it is easily to get confused and shoot at the 17th basket as they are separated by only by 60 or so feet. This could be avoided by having newer tee signs that are legible; the ones now have probably been out for 10 or so years since being replacement.

I did not find navigation as difficult as some other reviewers found but there definitely were no yellow brick roads leading to the next hole.

The course is a bit wide open. I almost gave it the benefit of the doubt since it has very good elevation but I realized the lack of obstacles trumps the big elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Combining this with the Blair Witch Project back 9 can make a great day of disc golf with a wide variety of shots. Once you finish Hole 12, tee 1 will be on the left for the second course. The 9th basket of the second course leads right back up to the 13th tee of Badlands.

This was my favorite course so far to play in the Denver area, not that that is comparing much right now, but it is a course I would go back to and enjoy it every day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice change of pace

1    9/24/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 111  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Somewhat challenging - nice concrete tee pads - good variety of shots used even in wide open areas- restrooms - well maintained park

This course is a nice change of pace from the other courses in the area. There are plenty of green rolling hills and some good distance with a decent amount of challenges. Though we didn't see any walkers, there were walking paths that wound through the course, so I would imagine it gets pretty crowded during peak time.
Cons: Wide open course without many technical shots - poor tee signs and we got turned around in a couple areas due to poor direction

We were there in the morning, so there weren't any locals to follow around, but we found our way. They could use some more descriptive tee signs, but we were able to find our way just fine. Some of the holes are completely wide open, but that made it easy to find the errant shot and encouraged multiple throws on each hole.
Other Thoughts: Fun course without a lot of back and forth. There were a lot of longish ace runs to go after. But, they could really use better tee signs and more directional arrows to help with course flow. Throwing over the lake was a nice addition

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun and challenging course

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun! More diverse/challenging course, elevation changes are fun (even my weak arm can get an occasional 300+ on these). Forces you to think about what disc/shape you are going to try and throw. (helps you learn your arm/discs) Several holes have plenty of room for error, some dont. good exercise walking up and down the hills.
Cons: signage needs a little help. (print the course map if you are a fist timer......even the map is not exact to current course lay out?) As a beginner, the ponds in valley are a disc magnet!
Other Thoughts: Its not the most beginner friendly course. You need to be able throw around 200ft (accurately) to keep par possible. That being said, my son got several pars yesterday using 175-200 ft tomahawks all day. Update: with more experience and courses under my belt. I would consider this course to be more challenging than most. I am starting to throw better and getting better distance but still have not shot par or under on this course. If you compare this course to ball golf, It plays more true to par. Not every week end warrior can shoot even par in ball golf...... And most never will. You are starting to play some frolf if you can shoot even par, or better, on the bad lands. (imo) This is my home course and the challenge never gets old.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Badlands

5+    6/17/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: RoaringSeacow
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Long holes
-Water hazzards
-Technical shots
-Elevation change
-Well maintained
-Multiple pin placements
-Discs get retrieved from pond
Cons: -Some confusing holes
-Broken glass and trash on some holes
-Civilians on bike paths in fairway
Other Thoughts: -Blair witch branches off

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good course in the outskirts of Denver

2-4    3/23/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 35  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation changes...uphill, downhill, flat
-Excellent teepads that always seem to be facing in the right position, no matter the location of the pin
-BADCO disc golf takes a lot of pride in the maintence of this course. They also change the pin positions frequently
-Plenty of obstacles and OB, including water, but not anything that is too severe as to make playing the course a chore
-Can be enjoyed by all skill levels, though begginers might have a challenge on their hands
-Park is clean and park-goers are very aware that there is a large, sprawling disc golf course on the grounds. They are also respectful and will let you throw before they walk through
-Plenty of trash cans and several bathrooms in the Camenisch complex...something that is often forgotten in disc golf course design!
-BADCO Disc Golf Club has weekly tags (I believe on Mondays) run by David Nunez, who absolutley rules this course and is a great guide
Cons: -NAVIGATION!!! I played a tourney here last weekend, and came up on Friday to play the traditional layout and the tourney layout of 22 holes. Even with maps of both layouts, my wife and I had a hard time and even threw to the wrong pin on two occasions
-Teepad signs could use a lot of work. BADCO works their butts off on this course, and I know tee signs are not cheap, but it deserves a mention
-Not in the best part of town, which leads to occasional unsavory charecters on the course, but not nearly as bad as it's surroundings would seem
-The pond is murky horribleness, so if you tank on in the drink, even if it's two feet offshore, consider it gone
Other Thoughts: I played this course 3 times this weekend (twice on Friday and once on Saturday for the tournament) and had a lot of fun. It's a very good course, just solid all the way around, with nothing too bad and nothing too memorable.

Even on Saturday, when we were playing in 6-8 inch deep snow with gnarly winds and constant snowfall, I had a good time. That say something about the course and how hard BADCO works to keep it up to snuff. Not a destination course, but if you're in the area, it's well worth a play...just don't skip Blair Witch!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Overrated

2-4    12/1/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation change, forcing you to throw uphill, downhill and side hill shots
-Good concrete tee-pads
-Lots of different pin positions
-Benches and picnic tables on most of the holes
-Water comes into on quite a few holes (there is a drainage ditch and pond that the course plays over)
-Good variety of distances on the holes
Cons: -Very hard to navigate (there are baskets everywhere and it is hard to know which one to throw to) There are no signs pointing to the next tee-pad, which makes it hard to find the next tee-pad as the course flow can be a little weird on some holes.
-There are some long walks between holes, which also adds to the hard navigation
-Lots of crossing fairways (keep an eye out for incoming discs).
-Gets very crowded and with the crossing fairways you sometimes have to wait on other groups playing another hole during your hole and run into conflicts with other groups playing.
-Other than a few holes, the course is mostly wide open with very few obstacles other than the water.
-The course gets repetitive very quickly (most of the shots are either uphill or downhill and there isn't much shot variety).
-There can be some tall grass and lots of water to lose discs on
-Terrible tee-signs (the ones that are still readable are very hard to understand and tell the layout of the hole from, but most are either missing or completely faded out and unreadable).
-Baskets are old and rusted
-Some holes can get really muddy even when its been dry.
-Other park users get in the way on some holes.
-Not in the best part of town
-Lots of trash around the park
Other Thoughts: Decent course that has a lot of good elevation change but the course is nothing special. This course gets very frustrating due to bad tee-signs, hard navigation, and crossing fairways. This course isn't well-designed for the amount of people that play it. If you're in the area give it a try but don't go out of your way.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

super cool

1    8/11/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: joeharker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: so many cool things on this course
some long open bombers
some challenging tree zones
a lake to cross
and the blair witch project addition
some shady arias for hot days
Cons: could loose a disk in the lake
hard to find next tee
the signs will mess you up trying to find some of the baskets
Other Thoughts: i really like the diversity of this course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course with hidden 9

5+    7/21/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set up over a rolling valley. You basically start on one side, and work your way across going up and down the two sides. If your only playing the main 18, the course is mostly open and allows for great distance throwing. There are a few holes wrapped around a section of tight trees, but getting around them isnt too difficult. The tees here and the baskets are awesome. There are a few holes here to watch for water. Hole two can be tough on leftys if their disc comes back too hard. Theres a small pond that becomes its final resting place. Back toward hole 12 you are shooting all the way over a lake, so have your golden retriever ready!
Cons: The tee signs for the holes are way outdated and need some serious updates. Some holes dont even have signs. (this of course being a wishlist item i guess)
Other Thoughts: The practice area at the top of the course is fantastic with three baskets to fire at. Theres enough room to work in some shorter mid shots as well. Take some sun screen 4 sure as there will not be a ton of shade on the main 18 around the boxes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.