Federal Heights (Denver), CO
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #11 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #11



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Waterworld!

5+    5/15/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: blah
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course to unleash long drives. good workout walk with steep hills. technical. awesome hidden bonus nine. never too busy
Cons: bad neighborhood. mucky areas near the creek and pond. confusing layout
Other Thoughts: think twice about throwing it over the pond

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands

1    5/27/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: A great course for elevation variation... Mostly open holes, and many that allow for an all out bomb. Really fun round, in a nice park. There was a nice guy selling plastic and cold drinks in the parking lot. The water hazards were pretty, and never really got in the way (hole 12 could get ugly if you aren't careful). The tee pads were all concrete and more than I needed. Signage was good for being hand painted. Pin positions all over the place...
Cons: Some signs could use replacements due to vandalism. Some parts of the park can get pretty crowded which slows play. We had a few hiccups when navigating the course, but nothing major. Not much shade.
Other Thoughts: Bring water and sun screen. You are constantly climbing and descending the hills with little to no shade. The round was fun, but it can be a workout at times. Not a bad course, and there are a bonus 9 holes that are completely wooded.

 hated it first time - it got better

2-4    4/26/2004   4/26/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: up shots and down shots for good, varied holes. you can leave your kids at water world and have a good time for a little bit. ;)
Cons: hard to know what you're supposed to throw at. too many baskets close to the one you're supposed to throw at. If it's your first time you better join a veteran.
Other Thoughts: when I left from the first time I was sure I would never return, but I did a couple times and it is better when you know where to throw. not a bad course overall.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/17/2008   4/17/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've only played this course one time but it was a very diverse course. Alot of elevation changes and some challenging water holes. Apparently there is an additionl 9 holes, that I did not play, which makes this course 27 holes which is nice! The length of some of these holes makes this course very fun to show your distance.
Cons: There was a lot of traffic while I was there and some of the holes criss cross so you have to wait to throw on some.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course and I was just a beginner when I played so am excited to play it again now that I have some experience under my belt. This course keep things interesting from Hole 1 where you have a huge bomber shot down a hill with some water hazard at the bottom. There are definately no boring holes here!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Denver area course

1    9/20/2008   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a challenging 18 hole course with multiple pin locations and nearly every hole plays medium to long range, up or downhill. This is a great place to practice those long bombs downhill. Many holes are wide open, but hilly with young trees that will soon present obstacles. The water holes require gutsy and accurate drives for staying dry. Half of the course is nice manicured grass while the other half is more like a desert with a few trees. The tee pads are concrete and the holes have signs showing the pin locations.
Cons: Some have difficulty finding the correct basket for the hole. The course can get busy on nice days. Some areas get very marshy and muddy. This course will wear you out after a round, so bring drinking water! You may have to bring a water disc for a few risky holes.
Other Thoughts: Extra holes exist, but are poorly marked.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of Denver's Best

5+    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mixture of terrain: trees, water and elevation. Multiple pin placements for every hole keeps the course fresh. Long downhill bombs make you feel like the man while the long uphill drives keep you modest. Great layout with most of the foot traffic being other golfers. The added 9 holes, Blair Witch Project, is a fantastic addition to the course and compliments the standard 18 very nicely.
Cons: A few of the holes play almost on top of each other. Some changes in layout have helped that, but there are still a few awkward holes. A lot of the standard 18 is sun-baked, so bring water and sunscreen. Some of the lanes they want you to throw through could be better defined with some light tree trimming. Some tee pads are more worn than others and could use a fixer-upper.
Other Thoughts: What a great course, right in Denver! If you are looking to get better at the game, this is the course for you. A great mixture of length and technicality will definitely keep you coming back to shave a few strokes off of your score. There is a lot of up and downhill hiking in this one, so come prepared with water and a snack. They have finally put in baskets for all nine of the extra Blair Witch holes. Playing all 27 holes (which is what I recommend) is a great workout and the extra nine is a totally different world than the standard 18. Something of everything on this course...I am a big fan. For it's location and what the course offers, you won't find much better in Denver.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Let it Rip

1    3/19/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open field bombs down hill. Good place to let it rip in high altitude. Short grass, possible roller.
Cons: Hard to tell which basket was which. The flags on the pins say the # of the hole. #2 tee pad was dirt. #10 tee pad was real uneven concrete slanted up hill. Some signs needed work. Right next to the police station & trailer park.
Other Thoughts: Good place to practice big throws. Not very technical but still a challenge. Bring a water disc. It's a lot of up and down hill walking. There is a outhouse by hole #1. Not a lotta places to go after that because it's open field. I didn't play Blair Witch unfortunately.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 harder than it looks

1    3/6/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: byoung39
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * a lot of nice, long shots
* much more challenging than it looks at first glance
* a couple of GREAT holes
Cons: * some elevation change is really nice, but sometimes you feel like you are being forced to work out rather than play disc golf.
* Some tee pads are VERY un-level.
* VERY hard to tell which basket you are throwing at sometimes
* Hole... 6, maybe? which is in the middle of the trees in the middle of the creek bed- This hole is a throw and pray hole, which is always a turn off for me.
* Pond gets INSTANTLY deep, so retrieving a disc, even near the edge, is not very likely.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to throw at if you want to rare back and rip. However, the range of shots required is not impressive. It is not technical enough to provide a chance for players who are skilled but don't have a big arm to compete. Basically, if you can throw a long way, especially uphill, you are going to have a huge advantage. This is a nice park, but with a little different design it could be awesome.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: tmbyram
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long with lots of shot challenge. Excellent course with good layout.
Cons: They were doing some work on the course so a couple of holes were not playable. Windy on the day I was there but that made it more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Fairly difficult course. Have a good driver for this one. The front nine was a little hard to follow but not difficult.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands, Good Course

5+    11/20/2008   3/3/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course. It is hard to find a course this big that is so well maintained. The fairways are mowed. The tees and baskets are in good shape. The course features long downhill drives and short winding shots through trees. The first time I played this course I was a bit confused about the layout, but all my rounds since have been enjoyable. The location is convenient just north of the Denver-Boulder Turnpike off Federal. Having the Blair Witch Project Course next door (while still rudimentary compared to Badlands) makes the entire park a major draw for disc golfers. Oh yeah, the great view of the Rocky Mountains is always a plus.
Cons: The tee signs were once pretty decent, but they do tend to get vandalized. The course is located in a poorer neighborhood, but I get the impression that it is more the hard working, recent immigrant, strong family values type of poverty. The houses, mobile homes and apartments all seem to be well kept up and there are families playing disc golf, kids playing on the playground and people walking/biking/skateboarding on the paths. The park can be busy, so watch out for pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Clearing the lake from the pro tee on number 12 can be a challenge in higher winds. At 310ft and downhill, it is very doable, but the numerous obstacles on the far side (small building, large trees) have a habit of bouncing discs backward and into the lake. It is a tough shot for anyone and I recommend using the shorter tee on the sidewalk to the right of the lake if you can't throw 300+ consistently. Otherwise, use a disc you are willing to part with just in case.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.