Federal Heights (Denver), CO
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lost in the Park

1    7/8/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: myaccounts420
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great wide open downhill shots, to air it out!!! Would be an awesome park to just practice your long distance drives. No Monkeys
Cons: Awful awful awful signage in fact the 4th tee box has a 3 on it. Trash all over the place, we even picked up some of it because it was literally feet away from a recycling can. Some of the baskets we actually never found and played to the wrong ones, we eventually left early because we couldnt find the next basket.
Other Thoughts: Could be a better course with much improved signage and maybe even a better layout it seems to play down the hill and back up over and over again.

Like I said great park to practice your long drives.

Another thing, having played this course only hours ago and now looking at the pictures on this website I have no clue where some of those whole were, these pics must be years old

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An interesting course

1    6/1/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: OMGChaos
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was relatively challenging, if nothing else for the hole where you had to clear the lake! It was also pretty long, so players with long arms could definitely get active.
Cons: The course was pretty tough to navigate for a first-timer. The signage was junk and finding the next tee pad wasn't always very intuitive. Also, it was pretty dirty when I was there (lots of rusted out trash cans, turned over cans, etc.)
Other Thoughts: Overall is wasn't awful, but I certainly wouldn't make this my normal course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Dubbel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You can get some great distance if you like to grip it & rip it on the down hill shots.
Cons: Wide open without having any challenges. It's basically throw into the valley and then throw back up the hill. The course is also set up in an illogical way. The poor setup makes it near impossible to find holes. Almost all signs have ben marked up, and some are missing.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you bring a local, and be prepared to be disappointed.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands

2-4    8/10/2010   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of long holes and a decent amount of elevation shots considering it's in Denver. It is a fairly long course, and requires many long bombing throws if you're into that kinda of play.
Cons: There are very few trees in the park. It is also very poorly marked and my brother and I had a very hard time finding our way around the first time we visited Badlands. The park is also kept in poor shape; the grass was brown and there seemed to be trash everywhere. I lost a disc in a water hazard, and was scared to retrieve it due to the quality of the water and the amount of trash in it.
Other Thoughts: This is a good park to check out, but dont expect much besides long, straight, open, fairway-like shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 baskets, baskets everywhere!

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall a great experience. Good use of area... elevation changes work well. Lots of basket choices (too many?) You can play big arm or just play shorter... quite wide open... hard to lose a disc here... 'cept on 12 over water. A LOT of disc golf course squeezed into the land area...
Cons: signs are poor, missing or confusing... play with a local the first time... or print the map. Too many baskets... where do I shoot? Layout is well done as to use of space... but very hard to follow using DG instinct... w/o a map you are going to have a tough time.
Other Thoughts: Bonus 9 holes in the woodsy area was more like courses in my area... Played that with a local... review on that page. If I lived local and played here about 3 times I am sure I would LOVE this place... just overwelming the first time. Putting practice baskets at tee #1 are nice to have.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands DGC

1    3/14/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 44  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice use of elevation changes
-nice tees and decent baskets
-18 holes of varying lengths (also has a 9 hole course on site)
-many interesting throws where the hills come into play
-benches at almost every hole that was nice so you could put your bags on it
-nice park but there were a lot of people there so we had to do a lot of waiting
Cons: -the signs are very poorly done
-can be confusing where to go next after you finish a hole
-the hills get frustrating because you are always throwing up or down hills
-it was really windy the day we played and it made the course frustrating
Other Thoughts: worth the play if you are in the area. It was a fun course and different from many of the courses I have played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Slippery Slope

5+    3/12/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is still the go to Denver Metro course to measure your game.Still challenging enough to drag me back. A good place to work on up and down hill shots in prep to throw mountain courses.
Cons: Sometimes making changes to a course is not a good thing. The nasty swamp that comes into play on hole #1, #2, and 5 has been a problem for years. Tee box #2 now basically gets bombed on by Hole #9 shots. Most of the tee changes and "improvments" along low channel have been disappointing.
Other Thoughts: This course was more of a 3.5 -4.0 rating a few years ago but has been on a downward sprial for some time now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/3/2009   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big, Open Park with moderate traffic. Good course to play if you would like to really open up and throw hard. A couple fun/technical shots.
Cons: No Imagination for this place. Throw down a hill, then up it, then across it, then here's a few completely blind shots with horrible signs to tell you where they're at. Very misleading/confusing layout at times.
This park could maybe have been put together better, but they did okay for the space they had... I guess.
Just not a fun place to play. Many other courses around to play.
Other Thoughts: I think they only reason why this place gets higher ratings is because it's not a starter course. You def. need some experience if you wish to score well here (even). WIth that being said, there really isn't horrible traffic. I've played here more than a few times, but when I started to get better, I realized how bad of a course this really is.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Two courses in 1.

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: HAWKSNEST1979
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.9 Years
Pros: What used to be a pole course in the woods is now an additional 9 holes.

They more or less have a separate 9 hole tree course which is the exact opposite of the regular 18 hole course.
Love the tree course which plays right behind water world amusement park.
Mostly I just play the 9 holes in the woods and a few holes that will get you there and back to the parking lot.
18 hole part has chances for some monster throws on the long downhill shots.
Cons: Most of the open 18 holes are wind up and see how hard you can throw it with little need for accuracy.
Ponds are seriously disgusting and you DO NOT want to go in after your disc. Had a few friends that came out stinking bad. Several holes play around the ponds or over them.
Other Thoughts: I prefer the technical tree course and frequently skip the rest. Course is pretty friendly to dogs as well.
This is the course that I play most often and my collie loves to come with me. Definitely recommend the course and the tree course starts to the left most pond when looking out from the first tee. (next to 13th tee box)

A few holes play directly next to the cop shop.

 

1    7/3/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: rhinos00
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The way some of the holes are set up offer a nice challenge for those that want a little competition.
Cons: There is a severe lack of imagination when it comes to the overall layout of this course. Basically a giant bowl that you will walk up and down from beginning to end. Also some of the tee boxes are on a severe slope. Most of my problems with this course had to do with upkeep and organization. The signs were not helpful at all, making it really difficult to find the next hole. Also the overall feel of the course was just dirty and trashy. The water obstacles were stagnant and littered with trash, flags were tattered, benches and signs had drawings and graffiti all over them...not too mention that a lot of the ditches and trenches were filled with trash.
Other Thoughts: In terms of a challenge, I really liked the course. I simply just couldn't enjoy myself with how trashy this course felt and looked. This place really needs to get cleaned up.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.