Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Badlands DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Denver area course

1    9/20/2008   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a challenging 18 hole course with multiple pin locations and nearly every hole plays medium to long range, up or downhill. This is a great place to practice those long bombs downhill. Many holes are wide open, but hilly with young trees that will soon present obstacles. The water holes require gutsy and accurate drives for staying dry. Half of the course is nice manicured grass while the other half is more like a desert with a few trees. The tee pads are concrete and the holes have signs showing the pin locations.
Cons: Some have difficulty finding the correct basket for the hole. The course can get busy on nice days. Some areas get very marshy and muddy. This course will wear you out after a round, so bring drinking water! You may have to bring a water disc for a few risky holes.
Other Thoughts: Extra holes exist, but are poorly marked.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Denver's Best

5+    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mixture of terrain: trees, water and elevation. Multiple pin placements for every hole keeps the course fresh. Long downhill bombs make you feel like the man while the long uphill drives keep you modest. Great layout with most of the foot traffic being other golfers. The added 9 holes, Blair Witch Project, is a fantastic addition to the course and compliments the standard 18 very nicely.
Cons: A few of the holes play almost on top of each other. Some changes in layout have helped that, but there are still a few awkward holes. A lot of the standard 18 is sun-baked, so bring water and sunscreen. Some of the lanes they want you to throw through could be better defined with some light tree trimming. Some tee pads are more worn than others and could use a fixer-upper.
Other Thoughts: What a great course, right in Denver! If you are looking to get better at the game, this is the course for you. A great mixture of length and technicality will definitely keep you coming back to shave a few strokes off of your score. There is a lot of up and downhill hiking in this one, so come prepared with water and a snack. They have finally put in baskets for all nine of the extra Blair Witch holes. Playing all 27 holes (which is what I recommend) is a great workout and the extra nine is a totally different world than the standard 18. Something of everything on this course...I am a big fan. For it's location and what the course offers, you won't find much better in Denver.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Let it Rip

1    3/19/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open field bombs down hill. Good place to let it rip in high altitude. Short grass, possible roller.
Cons: Hard to tell which basket was which. The flags on the pins say the # of the hole. #2 tee pad was dirt. #10 tee pad was real uneven concrete slanted up hill. Some signs needed work. Right next to the police station & trailer park.
Other Thoughts: Good place to practice big throws. Not very technical but still a challenge. Bring a water disc. It's a lot of up and down hill walking. There is a outhouse by hole #1. Not a lotta places to go after that because it's open field. I didn't play Blair Witch unfortunately.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 harder than it looks

1    3/6/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: byoung39
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * a lot of nice, long shots
* much more challenging than it looks at first glance
* a couple of GREAT holes
Cons: * some elevation change is really nice, but sometimes you feel like you are being forced to work out rather than play disc golf.
* Some tee pads are VERY un-level.
* VERY hard to tell which basket you are throwing at sometimes
* Hole... 6, maybe? which is in the middle of the trees in the middle of the creek bed- This hole is a throw and pray hole, which is always a turn off for me.
* Pond gets INSTANTLY deep, so retrieving a disc, even near the edge, is not very likely.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to throw at if you want to rare back and rip. However, the range of shots required is not impressive. It is not technical enough to provide a chance for players who are skilled but don't have a big arm to compete. Basically, if you can throw a long way, especially uphill, you are going to have a huge advantage. This is a nice park, but with a little different design it could be awesome.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: tmbyram
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long with lots of shot challenge. Excellent course with good layout.
Cons: They were doing some work on the course so a couple of holes were not playable. Windy on the day I was there but that made it more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Fairly difficult course. Have a good driver for this one. The front nine was a little hard to follow but not difficult.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Badlands, Good Course

5+    11/20/2008   3/3/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course. It is hard to find a course this big that is so well maintained. The fairways are mowed. The tees and baskets are in good shape. The course features long downhill drives and short winding shots through trees. The first time I played this course I was a bit confused about the layout, but all my rounds since have been enjoyable. The location is convenient just north of the Denver-Boulder Turnpike off Federal. Having the Blair Witch Project Course next door (while still rudimentary compared to Badlands) makes the entire park a major draw for disc golfers. Oh yeah, the great view of the Rocky Mountains is always a plus.
Cons: The tee signs were once pretty decent, but they do tend to get vandalized. The course is located in a poorer neighborhood, but I get the impression that it is more the hard working, recent immigrant, strong family values type of poverty. The houses, mobile homes and apartments all seem to be well kept up and there are families playing disc golf, kids playing on the playground and people walking/biking/skateboarding on the paths. The park can be busy, so watch out for pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Clearing the lake from the pro tee on number 12 can be a challenge in higher winds. At 310ft and downhill, it is very doable, but the numerous obstacles on the far side (small building, large trees) have a habit of bouncing discs backward and into the lake. It is a tough shot for anyone and I recommend using the shorter tee on the sidewalk to the right of the lake if you can't throw 300+ consistently. Otherwise, use a disc you are willing to part with just in case.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Best the Mile High City has to offer

5+    2/5/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has everything.....Long shots, short shots, back hander, sidearm, tight&technical, and wide open, up hill, and down hill. With 27 holes(including Blair Witch project) you cant ask for a better course.
Cons: Very hilley. you walk up and down big hills. a true test of your stamina. a great combo with the thin air of 5280'. The back 9 is tough to navagate so find someone on the course to play with. I don't think i have ever NOT seen anyone out there who wouldn't play with you
Other Thoughts: I felt the need to write this review cause i just got my 1st ACE there Yesterday 2/5/09 on hole #9. GREAT COURSE. a must play if in the Denver area.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Get To Know A Regular

1    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice park with a lot of challenges. On the regular 18 the biggest challenge is usually the elevation change. On thier back 9, also known as The Blair Witch Project, the name of the game is can you put your disc in this spot. There were a number of regulars around on the weekend who were very friendly and helpful. The course is also right next to Hyland Hills Water World which is the best water park in the world. The signs that were hand painted were very nice looking and helpful.
Cons: The course is very confusing for a first time player even with a map. There were also a few holes under construction due to some complaints from park neighbors. While the course is obviously an established course, the feel was more like a work in progress type of a course. This is particularly true on the back nine which lacked many signs and had a variety of different hole types including a few pole holes. There was really no consistency in the type of basket when there were baskets. There is one water hole, #12, with multiple tee locations for various different skill levels. You will want to bring a junk disc for this hole as even the intermediate tee, if you can find it provides a bit of a challenge. My suggestion is to play the Junior tee, it is still fun.
Other Thoughts: This is a good park course and one that is well played. It is certainly not my favorite park course even if I have only played one other true park course. The back nine is worth playing though many of the regulars do not play these nine holes. If you can you will want to hang around a regular on this course as even with a map this course was not easy to get around. I just played the new layout of holes 2 through 5 this past weekend and they are fun.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too much space!

1    11/17/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: disconsolator
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's a lot of space and downhill and uphill shots. It has the right amount of shots over or by the water (2 I think). It also has some room for some bombs and some shorter shots - not necessarily technical, but it'll make you think a little.
Cons: Where to start... Really confusing layout from the first hole. You stand at the top of a hill and throw a 600 foot downhill shot - fun, right? But from the tee you see 3 pins all within 80 feet of each other. You look at the tee sign to see that there are pin positions for A through E! There's a sticker telling you which is the pin, but you still can't tell. I think (I'm not really sure) they use the same pins for different positions on different holes. Again confusing.
The course has a kind of creek in the middle and each side of the course slopes down into this creek area which allows for some good uphill and downhill shots. However, this up and down 5 times in a row gets really old, really fast. I feel they could have made a course with only 18 holes that runs along this creek (with lots of thick and big trees) and had a more pleasing and interesting course. Then have those one or two great elevation shots that make you appreciate that part of the game instead of walking up and down a hill a bunch of times and losing your breath when trying to make a putt. Also, it's under construction, I think, and they have some temporary alternate tees - I don't know how long this has gone on as I have only been here a couple weeks. Hopefully someone is taking care of that.
The tee signs need work.
Other Thoughts: There's so much space I think the designers felt they had to make it 27 holes, but I think a more thought out 18 holes would be perfect.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Would love to come back

1    8/21/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2008
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Practice basket. Nice hand painted tee signs. Sufficient concrete tee pads. Multiple pins should keep things interestings. Flags on baskets to enhance visibility. Very nice use of elevation, a good mix of uphill and downhill shots. Baskets in good condition. A very accurate online map. Benches and trash cans placed throughout the course. A playground for the kiddos.

The course is easy to navigate; it was my first time and only a few holes (#4-#6, and #11) required me to scout ahead to find the basket.

The course plays mostly open and overall isn't too difficult if you have a decent drive. Though there are some pretty tough holes mixed in.
Cons:
Several tee signs in need of repair; including one that has completely fallen off the post. Several holes have very long downhill shots that you need to watch carefully or you'll have a hard time finding that disc you bombed from atop the hill.
Other Thoughts:
The course was freshly mowed when I played which made for a nicer round. The first hole is a very long downhill shot and sets the tone nicely for the course. My favorite shot was the Pro tee on #12 across the lake to the far pin position; great hole.

There's another "back 9" 9-hole course on site that starts by the tee for #13. It's called the "Blair Witch Project" and isn't on the map. I was advised by a couple locals not to play if I didn't have a guide, so I skipped it. (UPDATE: Blair Witch course now has its own DGCR page.)

This was my first Denver course played and it set the standard pretty high, I enjoyed my round here a lot. It ended up being my second favorite Denver course behind Beaver Ranch. I'd love for this to be my home course.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.