Disc Golf Center
Indianapolis, IN 
George Washington Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #6 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 232ft.   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Solid Intermediate Course

5+    12/23/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 74  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 Mach 3 baskets. Although they are old and somewhat rusted, they catch great. 9 baskets that are new and look like Spiderweb 3 that are painted yellow and are highly visible. 1-9 have the new baskets.

Concrete tees. Each hole has 1 very large and grippy concrete tee.

Solid intermediate course. Challenging for beginners but easy to save par for experienced players.

Elevation: several holes have some elevation to them (a few even make it a blind shot). Holes 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 16, 17, and 18 all have elevation.

Variety: Most holes are short but I feel like no two holes are alike. Short and hilly, long and open, wooded holes, etc. Several mature trees to make or break your day. Course starts flat and finishes with blind hilly shots. With the right throw, every hole except for 9 has potential for an ace.

Water hazards on holes 12 and 17.

Benches at or near holes 1, 11, 12, 13, and 18. A nice shaded pavilion to start and end course.

For the most part, course flows great, can be tricky for new players (see cons).

Billboard at start of course that includes a course map, other Indy area courses, tournament info, etc.

A few trash cans on site but typically overflowing.

Decent hand drawn signs that list par, distance and picture of hole.
Cons: Only one tee per hole. Dual tees (either alternate or different difficulty level) would Greatly improve this course. It would also add variety.

Signs are hand drawn and wearing away. New signs would be helpful. Also, next hole signs would be nice after holes 3, 11, and 12 for players new to course. A bigger course map at the start would be nice.

Not in nicest part of town, wouldn't recommend stopping at any nearby stores for food or drinks. Not the best idea to play this course alone although I have done it many times.

Could use more benches.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the courses I played to learn how to play. I try to play the course at least twice a year. Alternate tees, new signs, a few more benches, and new baskets on the back 9 would improve this course greatly. Hole 17 is the most interesting hole here. It used to be much more challenging but some of the initial trees were cut.

There is room to expand the course. There used to be two courses at this park (East and West). The West course is gone. Course could easily expand to where the West course used to be to make course 24 or 27 holes. Course is a great compliment to Brookside Park.

It was one of the original Indy courses and has a historic feel to it (shorter holes, not too hard, not too easy, etc). I would definitely recommend playing this course as well as Brookside for anybody who lives in Indy or is visiting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oldie but a Goldie!

5+    5/29/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/6/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course that makes the most of the elevation changes and mature trees. Nice variety of holes where players are required to throw long, short, left, right, etc.... Most holes have a clear fairway and reward good drives.
Only 5-10 minutes from downtown Indy. Great overall coarse that can be fun for all level of players! I definitely recommend playing it.
Cons: Its an older course and could use a few updates. New signs would be nice start because some are either missing or hard to read. The baskets are probably 20+ years old, a few have some wobble. Hole 17 should be a signature hole, but the trees have gotten so big it changes the original design. Its just time for a makeover, but no major flaws.
Other Thoughts: Its my understanding that the Indy disc golf club is working towards new baskets and signs which is nice to hear!
This is my go to course in Indy, and I'm always happy to play it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Confidence booster

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Overall course navigation was easy the first time with the exception of finding #12 and 13
-Overall course design seems well thought out for the size of property available. On the front 9 there are a few holes you can bomb it on. Back 9 not so much.
-Good variety of shots required.....used RHBH, RHFW, a roller, several upshots, Tomahawk. You can be creative.
-Restrooms are available across the street at the family activity center for any mid-course "emergencies" ;-)
-Not many opportunities to lose a disc. Hole 17 is the only hole over a water (small creek)
Cons: -Not in the best part of town, but on the day we played, we never felt unsafe and there were several other disc golfers out playing
-Baskets are a bit old, but still functional
-Tee signs could be replaced. #12 tee sign is missing
-#12 and 13 tees weren't the easiest to find, but we had help from another disc golfer
-A few holes on the back 9 seemed a bit too short but good ace opportunities
-Not the most scenic of courses I've played, but it's also a city park
Other Thoughts: I would come back and play again. If you're looking to do 36 holes, start here, then finish at the courses big brother just south a few minutes at Brookside Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

5+    11/2/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mix of shots (this is big to me)
-multiple routes to each basket.
-some elevation change on a couple holes
pretty easy to follow the course path, basically just goes in a big figure 8 through the park. (11-12 isn't real straight forward though)
Cons: -old baskets, i think they are in the process of replacing them, but more spit outs here than most courses
-not the best area of town, i've heard bad stories from playing with folks, but personally have NEVER had any issues.
-not a lot of variety in hole length, mostly shorter fairway driver/mid range distance. Only use driver on one hole (to throw over the top on 17)
Other Thoughts: fun course. Right behind Brookside in my favorite public courses in Indy list. Older course, which is quite different than newer courses style wise, but definently worth playing. Being only 5-10 min from Brookside, makes a VERY enjoyable day of disc golf that doesn't take too long for 2 good courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Will play again

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cjones63
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety in holes, great for beginners, hilly
Cons: seemed very dirty possibly from the weekend lots of beer bottles and broken glass.
Other Thoughts: Will play again! would like to see some more trash cans throughout course for clean up!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    11/25/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a pretty small park that is bordered on all four sides by roads. Other than that, the course is pretty well clear of any other activites.
- Majority of the holes are set in a mildly hilly area that has mature trees scattered here and there. There are enough to force some different lines; like a pine tree window on #1, a wide hyzer or anhyzer on #2, a pretty decent amount of variety. RHBH hyzers can definitely be used for the majority, but not all. A good range of wide open to pretty tight.
- A handful of other holes are set in more wooded areas, particularly the last three. These have only one clear line to the basket, which include a short little RHFH shot, a longer RHBH hyzer through (or over) a wall of trees, and a longer RHBH anny. A common feature of all these holes are some decently protected baskets, with numerous trees in the green to deal with.
- Elevation changes are mostly subtle, but are almost always constant. A few noticeable uphill shots like #5 and #18, some good downhill shots like #12 and #17, and plenty of lightly sloping fairways and greens. Rollaways are definitely present in some places.
- Wide variety of hole lengths, there are some straight-up ace runs, many over 300', and one bomber at 469'.
- Good teepads, signage, and baskets. Navigation is a breeze... with a map. Hole #12 is on the other side of #1's teepad, and #13 is up the hill to the right of #12's basket. Not too bad.
Cons: - Most of the holes are pretty vanilla, you see the basket off the tee and avoid the trees along the way. While there are some holes with more trees than others, finding a path to the basket is never a big challenge. That does not hold true for #17, however, which has no fairway to speak of. If you can't get it over the trees, you are relying on luck or a short layup.
- The roads that border the course make for some interesting OB at times, but overall it is an eyesore and a distraction. It is a little park, so there really wasn't any option, but it still hurts.
- Not too many areas with tough punishment, a bad drive may only mean a par instead of the birdie for most holes.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a pretty fun course that offers a lot of deuce chances for varying skill levels. Some interesting lines, mild to good elevation changes, and some tough basket placements help to keep things fresh. Great for beginners and mid-level players, more experienced players won't find too much challenge here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Awesome layout that takes full advantage of the terrain
-Tons of elevation changes, blind shots and shots around trees
-Holes flow naturally
-Good variation in shot types
-Good tee pads and tee signs that clearly list distances, obstacles, pars and course par sums
Cons: -Not the greatest neighborhood, saw a stray dog running on the course when I played
-Baskets are pretty old, don't catch too well
-some shots near busy roads
Other Thoughts: Bring a spotter for blind shots and also just play in groups as mentioned before. Lots of people play this course based the amount of people I saw on a Saturday in November. One thing I would note is that if you are expecting to play a disc golf "course" thats not what this is. It's an inner city park that has disc golf baskets. I prefer this style hence the high rating.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a disc golf course should be

5+    9/21/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: burdphil
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fantastic layout requires a wide variety of shots
- Flows nicely from hole to hole
- Great place to learn for beginners, but also a fun challenge for high level players
- Concrete tees
- Lots of mature trees
- The course is well maintained by the locals
- The people who play here regularly are incredibly friendly and helpful
Cons: - Signs could use updating
- Located in kind of a weird part of town
- I was attacked by a swarm of yellow jackets when I got into the woods (not the course's fault)
- Not a bunch of amenities, few benches, only one port-o-potty thing located near hole 14 which I've never seen anyone use
Other Thoughts: Washington Park is an old course, but it is legendary in the Indy area as far as I'm concerned. Every hole is unique and interesting, and you get to test every aspect of your game. I started playing in the weekly handicap league here this summer and I cannot even begin to tell you how much my game has improved as a result. I would say that this is more of an intermediate course as the pros in the area can birdie most of the holes with a fair amount of regularity (playing all par 3's), but they still love it and play here frequently, so I think that says something about the quality of the experience that it provides.

Every time I play this course I marvel at the how well the somewhat limited landscape is used. Highlights for me personally are...
- Hole 1 - You can crank your drive on this opening hole, but you have to fit it through two pine trees about 200 feet down the fairway, and then the basket is well protected behind another tree about 150 yards beyond that
- Hole 4 - You have to throw through two trees right in front of the tee and wrap a big hyzer (RHBH) around a bunch of other trees down to the basket which is in a small valley
- Hole 6 - A big uphill anhyzer to the basket which you can't see, a line of trees and a steep hill on the right will punish you if you miss your line
- Hole 8 - A shot down into another small valley through a bunch of trees, there is a hyzer line on the right and an anhyzer on the left and you can choose which you prefer
- Hole 12 - A long, downhill run with heavy woods on the right and the road as OB immediately on your left, definitely the most satisfying hole on the course if you get it right and the most frustrating if you get it wrong.
- Hole 16 - A short dump into the woods where you can either hyzer over the small trees on the right or anhyzer through an opening on the left. Again, very satisfying if you get it just right.
- Hole 17 - I used to hate this hole before they cleared out the honeysuckle in front of the tee pad, but now it's more playable and therefore more fun
- Hole 18 - A steep uphill hyzer blast through a gap in the trees

In short, this course is old and not super fancy, but it has an amazing amount of character and has provided the most fun I've ever had playing disc golf. I really wanted to give this course a 4 rating, but I'm trying really hard to be objective here. I will say this much... if you're visiting Indy and you only have time to play one course in the area, make sure it's this one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Must play

5+    7/2/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jcfluhr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course! It's a must play if you are in the Indy area. It's got tons of trees, a variety of shots a little hilly and is tons of fun. Great place to take beginners with enough challenge for vets.
Cons: The neighborhood isn't awesome.
Other Thoughts: Take a map. The layout can have you retracing your steps the first time you play it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Accessible by the Masses

1    6/12/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Most holes offer a choice of lines to the basket.
Cons:
Baskets were quite old - shallower, for sure, and seemingly of smaller diameter, when compared to modern baskets.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length a bit under 300', and only two holes > 350', the distances at this course are quite suitable for beginners/intermediates. Two-thirds of the course plays on grassy land that could be described as gently rolling, with large hardwoods scattered about, making the optimal lines to the basket not too difficult for a player to hit - and not inflicting much punishment if they're missed. Experienced players will likely have plenty of birdy opportunities, but the trees and minor elevation changes keep the holes from being too simple. Challenging holes include #11, with its tiny window 200' feet away; downslope #12 with left-side ob road and right-side woods; how-the-heck-am-I-gonna-play this - through woods? Up-n-over? Number-17; and upslope number-18, needing a sharp left after exiting the woods.

Fun course, with most holes suitable for those in the +/- intermediate range. The extra challenges found on the latter half of the course are a good introduction to what tougher courses might offer - including the "thrill" of searching for wayward discs in the thick bits of woods, brush, and undergrowth that define some of these fairways.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.