Indianapolis, IN 
George Washington Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #10 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 288ft.   4 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Will play again

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cjones63
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety in holes, great for beginners, hilly
Cons: seemed very dirty possibly from the weekend lots of beer bottles and broken glass.
Other Thoughts: Will play again! would like to see some more trash cans throughout course for clean up!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    11/25/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a pretty small park that is bordered on all four sides by roads. Other than that, the course is pretty well clear of any other activites.
- Majority of the holes are set in a mildly hilly area that has mature trees scattered here and there. There are enough to force some different lines; like a pine tree window on #1, a wide hyzer or anhyzer on #2, a pretty decent amount of variety. RHBH hyzers can definitely be used for the majority, but not all. A good range of wide open to pretty tight.
- A handful of other holes are set in more wooded areas, particularly the last three. These have only one clear line to the basket, which include a short little RHFH shot, a longer RHBH hyzer through (or over) a wall of trees, and a longer RHBH anny. A common feature of all these holes are some decently protected baskets, with numerous trees in the green to deal with.
- Elevation changes are mostly subtle, but are almost always constant. A few noticeable uphill shots like #5 and #18, some good downhill shots like #12 and #17, and plenty of lightly sloping fairways and greens. Rollaways are definitely present in some places.
- Wide variety of hole lengths, there are some straight-up ace runs, many over 300', and one bomber at 469'.
- Good teepads, signage, and baskets. Navigation is a breeze... with a map. Hole #12 is on the other side of #1's teepad, and #13 is up the hill to the right of #12's basket. Not too bad.
Cons: - Most of the holes are pretty vanilla, you see the basket off the tee and avoid the trees along the way. While there are some holes with more trees than others, finding a path to the basket is never a big challenge. That does not hold true for #17, however, which has no fairway to speak of. If you can't get it over the trees, you are relying on luck or a short layup.
- The roads that border the course make for some interesting OB at times, but overall it is an eyesore and a distraction. It is a little park, so there really wasn't any option, but it still hurts.
- Not too many areas with tough punishment, a bad drive may only mean a par instead of the birdie for most holes.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a pretty fun course that offers a lot of deuce chances for varying skill levels. Some interesting lines, mild to good elevation changes, and some tough basket placements help to keep things fresh. Great for beginners and mid-level players, more experienced players won't find too much challenge here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Almost all throws used

5+    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 179  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice rolling terrain with grassy fairways, used to it's fullest potential. Mature trees also used well,with baskets strategically placed. Making a little tougher Approach/Putts,atleast for the Beginner/Intermediate. #1 is behind a big tree with somewhat of a low canopy. #2 is surrounded by 5 mature trees. #3 has a roll-a-way green.#4 tees off on a "ridge" down to the "valley".#5 up and over a hill right in front of the tee over another "valley" to the basket on top of another hill,the basket is surrounded by 5/6 trees. #6 has the biggest roll-a-way green....careful it could go into a busy street. #7 flat,wide open...boring if it's not windy. #8 plays on the side of the rolling terrain with low canopy the last half. #9 rip it! The longest hole. #10 is protected by 3/4 mature trees,set within a few feet of them. #11 short & sweet...ace run!...#12 long walk to the tee,west of the pavilion, next to the road. Plays downhill between the road and "dry"creek with a low canopy putt. For #13 step over the guard rail go north over the bridge, take the stairs..ACE run! #14 plays along 34th St. With a low(ish) canopy tee shot. #15 one of the most open, somewhat of a low canopy the last 1/4 of the hole. #16 is another "ACE run" into the woods.#17 tee from a "cliff" either play it safe or rip it over the tree lined creek. #18 uphill shot,basket surrounded by trees. Bulletin board has been re-Done,has update Information.
Cons: Grass should be getting cut weekly. Other areas of the park can go without getting cut longer. Three or Four trash cans need to be placed on the "Front 9". One or two benches would be nice but not NEEDED. Trees should be played soon,the old growth has limited lifetime. Number plates need painted.
Other Thoughts: After the Indy club worked on Brookside I hope the "powers that be" give some T.L.C. To Washington. Alt. Pin postions on #4,behind the tree,up on the hill side would be nice. #16 moved back into the woods another 75' would be cool. Overall the 2nd best course in Indy. If your in the area get a round or two in you'll PM me a Thanks!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Birdie Fest

5+    9/21/2009   2/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a section of park that is basically disc golf exclusive, so there are rarely conflicts with other park users. The park is mostly scattered mature trees and grassy fairways, with a few holes playing near areas of dense brush that add a risk/reward element to shots on those holes. Though there isn't a ton of elevation, the rolling hills that are there are used well to add a little bit more challenge.

Most of the holes have well defined lines through the trees, though many offer a few different ways to get to the hole with some creative lines. To have runs at all the holes, you will need a variety of different shots. If you have an accurate roller, this is a great course for it with mostly smooth grassy fairways, wide lanes between the trees, and relatively little disc-catching underbrush.

The course has decent concrete tees that are a reasonable size and in good shape. The signs have suffered from some vandalism, but are still readable with good hole maps and distances, and direction to the next tee. There is a kiosk at the beginning of the course with a good course map, as well as lots of information about local courses and leagues/tournaments.

There are a couple unique holes here, including one up and over a hill with a steep green that's tough to stick on for the birdie run. The second to last hole has a tough up and over line that has to carry over a couple lines of trees and a creek, or you can lay up down a tunnel and try to find a line through the trees around the creek. Overall, this course isn't the most challenging, but it's a fun birdie fest with some interesting holes.
Cons: The course doesn't have a whole lot of real challenge or distance. Most holes are birdie-able by average players, which can be fun but doesn't really test your game very much. Only a few holes actually punish bad drives with something worse than a lay up for par, I prefer courses that make you pay for errant shots.

The baskets are pretty old, with many having rusty chains. They catch ok, but aren't all that consistent any more. The course plays very close to the park road and a couple other streets, all of which have some traffic. I often felt the need to wait for cars to pass before throwing on these holes, as the best lines often took the disc out over the road.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, but lacks a little variety and challenge. It's a great place to bring new players or go out and have a fun round. It's definitely beginner friendly, with reasonable distances, good signage, and not a whole lot of risk. More advanced players will have fun shooting for lots of deuces, but won't find much here to really challenge them or make them think.

This is one of the better Indy area courses, especially when combined with nearby Brookside park for a little more challenge and length. If you're passing through the area it's worth a stop for a quick and easy round.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 ghetto park

1    8/29/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: IndyTyler
Played: 89  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: the course is pretty fun. well layed out and allows for all sorts of different throws.
Cons: it is in a pretty ghetto area of town. i wouldnt play as an all female group if i were you. i would only play this course as a group. maybe i am a little sheltered living on the north side of indianapolis but the area seemed pretty sketchy to me. leave your jewlery and nice phones and wallets locked in your car out of sight.
Other Thoughts: be careful when you go down here. keep an eye out for strange activity. get your round in before it starts getting dark. oh and have a buddy spot for your disc on 17.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice city park

2-4    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: jrrphil
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has nice tees and nice baskets. The park is very scenic and nice. I like playing a course like this because it makes me feel like I'm actually good at the game.
Cons: The course is not very challenging. It has some fun holes, but the mature trees don't come into play on most holes. It is somewhat challenging if you play it as all par 3's. It is sorta hard to out where the next holes are a couple of time. Hole 17 is just unacceptable. Every hole should have a fairway. I am not very serious about disc golf, but for me hole 17 is too goofy. You have 2 choices: 1. blindly throw it over trees, or 2. take 2 or 3 shots to slowly go around the trees and over the creek. Hole 17 definitely takes away from what could be a very good course.
Other Thoughts: Everyone I met at the park has been very nice and friendly. The park isn't suburbia, but it is a very nice city park. I feel very safe going there. People of all kinds are very friendly there.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2004   8/13/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of pretty good holes.

Characteristic hole seemed to be 300' or so, some mature trees to dodge, little undergrowth, you can park it for a birdie but it's a pretty good shot if you do. There are a variety of holes, requiring different throws, in this general category.

Enjoyable, though no really great or signature holes.
Cons: Probably the neighborhood, not necessarily scary but not the best. I had a local guide; I would have probably been a little uncomfortable had I played it alone.

Hole 17 (?), only option is to throw over some tall trees. It's different, but I wonder how players who can't clear the trees play it?
Other Thoughts: Fun and I'd love to play it again. It might be a course I'd prefer to play when it's crowded, or with a group, instead of my usual solo round while traveling.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/6/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that uses the elevation and trees well. There's a nice variety of hyzer, straight and anhyzer shots here. The course is a little on the shorter side, but has a few long holes including one that's around 450. Overall, the signs and tee pads are in pretty good condition and definitely get the job done.

I think this is a good course for players of all skill levels. It's good for beginners because there are trees to deal with but very little rough or wooded areas. For the more advanced player, this course has lots of birdies opportunities and isn't real challenging but it still has a few tough holes and is fun to play. Hole 12 is one of my favorites, it's a long downhill hole with a road immediately to your left. It takes a very controlled shot to stay in bounds here. Hole 17 is very unique. There's a big downhill in front of you and you shoot over the tops of the trees.
Cons: There's a walk from 11 to 12 and another from 12 to 13. It wasn't difficult to find the next hole, but it wasn't obvious either. A couple signs would be a welcome addition here.

The neighborhood is a little rough but it seems much better than Brookside to me. Maybe that's because there's a police station visible from part of the course.

The course could use more trash cans, there has been a fair amount of litter when ever I've played there.
Other Thoughts: Brookside is just couple miles away and the two courses compliment each other well.

Last time I played here was when their Wednesday leagues were going on. The locals were very nice and great about letting faster groups play through.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

7/11/2008   7/11/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Overall, this is an average course. Not bad at all but not spectacular either. It was an enjoyable round of golf. The course was very well maintained and had good signage and teepads. There is some slight elevation but not a lot. There is a good mixture of long/short holes. Hole 17 was interesting (definitely need a spotter on that one!)
Cons: We played this course the same weekend that we played the Fun Farm in Corydon, IN and it didn't really compare to the Fun Farm. It was in a kinda bad part of town but I agree with the other reviewer that the course feels safe. It was kinda crowded when we played but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I played this course on the way home from visiting my parents in southern Indiana. It was a good time and worth the stop.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.