Indianapolis, IN 
George Washington Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #2 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 300ft.   4 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Solid Intermediate Course

5+    12/23/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 Mach 3 baskets. Although they are old and somewhat rusted, they catch great. 9 baskets that are new and look like Spiderweb 3 that are painted yellow and are highly visible. 1-9 have the new baskets.

Concrete tees. Each hole has 1 very large and grippy concrete tee.

Solid intermediate course. Challenging for beginners but easy to save par for experienced players.

Elevation: several holes have some elevation to them (a few even make it a blind shot). Holes 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 16, 17, and 18 all have elevation.

Variety: Most holes are short but I feel like no two holes are alike. Short and hilly, long and open, wooded holes, etc. Several mature trees to make or break your day. Course starts flat and finishes with blind hilly shots. With the right throw, every hole except for 9 has potential for an ace.

Water hazards on holes 12 and 17.

Benches at or near holes 1, 11, 12, 13, and 18. A nice shaded pavilion to start and end course.

For the most part, course flows great, can be tricky for new players (see cons).

Billboard at start of course that includes a course map, other Indy area courses, tournament info, etc.

A few trash cans on site but typically overflowing.

Decent hand drawn signs that list par, distance and picture of hole.
Cons: Only one tee per hole. Dual tees (either alternate or different difficulty level) would Greatly improve this course. It would also add variety.

Signs are hand drawn and wearing away. New signs would be helpful. Also, next hole signs would be nice after holes 3, 11, and 12 for players new to course. A bigger course map at the start would be nice.

Not in nicest part of town, wouldn't recommend stopping at any nearby stores for food or drinks. Not the best idea to play this course alone although I have done it many times.

Could use more benches.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the courses I played to learn how to play. I try to play the course at least twice a year. Alternate tees, new signs, a few more benches, and new baskets on the back 9 would improve this course greatly. Hole 17 is the most interesting hole here. It used to be much more challenging but some of the initial trees were cut.

There is room to expand the course. There used to be two courses at this park (East and West). The West course is gone. Course could easily expand to where the West course used to be to make course 24 or 27 holes. Course is a great compliment to Brookside Park.

It was one of the original Indy courses and has a historic feel to it (shorter holes, not too hard, not too easy, etc). I would definitely recommend playing this course as well as Brookside for anybody who lives in Indy or is visiting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oldie but a Goldie!

5+    5/29/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/6/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course that makes the most of the elevation changes and mature trees. Nice variety of holes where players are required to throw long, short, left, right, etc.... Most holes have a clear fairway and reward good drives.
Only 5-10 minutes from downtown Indy. Great overall coarse that can be fun for all level of players! I definitely recommend playing it.
Cons: Its an older course and could use a few updates. New signs would be nice start because some are either missing or hard to read. The baskets are probably 20+ years old, a few have some wobble. Hole 17 should be a signature hole, but the trees have gotten so big it changes the original design. Its just time for a makeover, but no major flaws.
Other Thoughts: Its my understanding that the Indy disc golf club is working towards new baskets and signs which is nice to hear!
This is my go to course in Indy, and I'm always happy to play it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Confidence booster

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Overall course navigation was easy the first time with the exception of finding #12 and 13
-Overall course design seems well thought out for the size of property available. On the front 9 there are a few holes you can bomb it on. Back 9 not so much.
-Good variety of shots required.....used RHBH, RHFW, a roller, several upshots, Tomahawk. You can be creative.
-Restrooms are available across the street at the family activity center for any mid-course "emergencies" ;-)
-Not many opportunities to lose a disc. Hole 17 is the only hole over a water (small creek)
Cons: -Not in the best part of town, but on the day we played, we never felt unsafe and there were several other disc golfers out playing
-Baskets are a bit old, but still functional
-Tee signs could be replaced. #12 tee sign is missing
-#12 and 13 tees weren't the easiest to find, but we had help from another disc golfer
-A few holes on the back 9 seemed a bit too short but good ace opportunities
-Not the most scenic of courses I've played, but it's also a city park
Other Thoughts: I would come back and play again. If you're looking to do 36 holes, start here, then finish at the courses big brother just south a few minutes at Brookside Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

5+    11/2/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mix of shots (this is big to me)
-multiple routes to each basket.
-some elevation change on a couple holes
pretty easy to follow the course path, basically just goes in a big figure 8 through the park. (11-12 isn't real straight forward though)
Cons: -old baskets, i think they are in the process of replacing them, but more spit outs here than most courses
-not the best area of town, i've heard bad stories from playing with folks, but personally have NEVER had any issues.
-not a lot of variety in hole length, mostly shorter fairway driver/mid range distance. Only use driver on one hole (to throw over the top on 17)
Other Thoughts: fun course. Right behind Brookside in my favorite public courses in Indy list. Older course, which is quite different than newer courses style wise, but definently worth playing. Being only 5-10 min from Brookside, makes a VERY enjoyable day of disc golf that doesn't take too long for 2 good courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Awesome layout that takes full advantage of the terrain
-Tons of elevation changes, blind shots and shots around trees
-Holes flow naturally
-Good variation in shot types
-Good tee pads and tee signs that clearly list distances, obstacles, pars and course par sums
Cons: -Not the greatest neighborhood, saw a stray dog running on the course when I played
-Baskets are pretty old, don't catch too well
-some shots near busy roads
Other Thoughts: Bring a spotter for blind shots and also just play in groups as mentioned before. Lots of people play this course based the amount of people I saw on a Saturday in November. One thing I would note is that if you are expecting to play a disc golf "course" thats not what this is. It's an inner city park that has disc golf baskets. I prefer this style hence the high rating.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a disc golf course should be

5+    9/21/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: burdphil
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fantastic layout requires a wide variety of shots
- Flows nicely from hole to hole
- Great place to learn for beginners, but also a fun challenge for high level players
- Concrete tees
- Lots of mature trees
- The course is well maintained by the locals
- The people who play here regularly are incredibly friendly and helpful
Cons: - Signs could use updating
- Located in kind of a weird part of town
- I was attacked by a swarm of yellow jackets when I got into the woods (not the course's fault)
- Not a bunch of amenities, few benches, only one port-o-potty thing located near hole 14 which I've never seen anyone use
Other Thoughts: Washington Park is an old course, but it is legendary in the Indy area as far as I'm concerned. Every hole is unique and interesting, and you get to test every aspect of your game. I started playing in the weekly handicap league here this summer and I cannot even begin to tell you how much my game has improved as a result. I would say that this is more of an intermediate course as the pros in the area can birdie most of the holes with a fair amount of regularity (playing all par 3's), but they still love it and play here frequently, so I think that says something about the quality of the experience that it provides.

Every time I play this course I marvel at the how well the somewhat limited landscape is used. Highlights for me personally are...
- Hole 1 - You can crank your drive on this opening hole, but you have to fit it through two pine trees about 200 feet down the fairway, and then the basket is well protected behind another tree about 150 yards beyond that
- Hole 4 - You have to throw through two trees right in front of the tee and wrap a big hyzer (RHBH) around a bunch of other trees down to the basket which is in a small valley
- Hole 6 - A big uphill anhyzer to the basket which you can't see, a line of trees and a steep hill on the right will punish you if you miss your line
- Hole 8 - A shot down into another small valley through a bunch of trees, there is a hyzer line on the right and an anhyzer on the left and you can choose which you prefer
- Hole 12 - A long, downhill run with heavy woods on the right and the road as OB immediately on your left, definitely the most satisfying hole on the course if you get it right and the most frustrating if you get it wrong.
- Hole 16 - A short dump into the woods where you can either hyzer over the small trees on the right or anhyzer through an opening on the left. Again, very satisfying if you get it just right.
- Hole 17 - I used to hate this hole before they cleared out the honeysuckle in front of the tee pad, but now it's more playable and therefore more fun
- Hole 18 - A steep uphill hyzer blast through a gap in the trees

In short, this course is old and not super fancy, but it has an amazing amount of character and has provided the most fun I've ever had playing disc golf. I really wanted to give this course a 4 rating, but I'm trying really hard to be objective here. I will say this much... if you're visiting Indy and you only have time to play one course in the area, make sure it's this one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shot types required
-Good variety of hole types (wooded, relatively open, some elevation change)
Cons: -Not located in the best part of town
-Hole #17 is a bit ridiculous
-Not much variety in hole length, most are reachable with decent drive

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/21/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Grover
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets and tee pads (concrete) are all in place and in good shape with only one missing tee sign (#12 as of 10/21).

Pretty easy to follow from one hole to the next until hole 12 (luckily hole 11 is near the hole 1 start of the course and one can check the map on the board to see where 12 and 13 are). Grass is usually cut and there's no overgrowth to interfere with play.

What little elevation there is at this park is used to the fullest possible extent (4-6, 12, 17 and 18).

For newbies, only hole 17 would possibly frustrate or scare them off. This is a great course to learn the game with very few places to lose a disc or need to develop an advanced shot.

Holes 3-6 and 8 make an outstanding series of holes with some undulation and trees.

If you play only to brag about hitting "aces", holes 13 and 16 are for you.

A large open field across the street from the parking lot can be used to toss your drivers and get in some practice (which I'd have noticed this earlier).
Cons: Length. Not really any long holes to really air it out (except maybe for 9). Some of the holes are ridiculously short (13 and 16).

Every hole seems to be straight with little more than a tree to throw around. Hole 7 is without any elevation, tree, or any other anything of interest whatsoever.

The exception to the lack of challenge would be hole 17 which errs too far the other way, throwing blindly over two rows of trees. Don't play without a spotter on this hole.

Course loses its flow after hole 11, with 12 and 13 not easy to find (especially if someone has taken the map off the info board).

Lots of trash on the course and no receptacles. Sometimes there will be people gathering at the picnic tables oblivious to the fact that they are in the middle of a course.

No restrooms or water fountains and the nearest convenience store isn't close.

The road which runs along the west side of the course is awfully close to the course. This is often distracting and annoying (and I'd be surprised if there haven't been a lot of cars hit driving by).
Other Thoughts: I seem to be out of step with the rest of Indianapolis about our city's twin courses. If you're coming from out of town to play, I strongly recommend playing both this course and Brookside as they are just a couple of miles apart between Sherman and Rural/Keystone. But if you only have time for one I seem to be the only person who'd recommend Brookside. Everyone I have ever played with here prefers this course (but this is my review, so fudge 'em).

I wish this course had some doglegs to work around. 18 is the only hole that seems to use the natural tree line in the traditional dogleg fashion. 16 is the only hole that is really buried in the "woods", but it is too short (even newbies can overshoot it teeing off with a putter).

The "culture" of this course is better than Brookside. This is where you are more likely to strike up a conversation with some like minded golfers and the locals who aren't DGers seem to understand that DG IS happening here. Outside of the occasional picnic table group mentioned above, non-DGers don't disturb this course much.

Not a nice neighborhood (lots of boarded up houses and folks milling about with nothing to do), but many churches have moved into the adjacent properties and a police station have improved this dramatically from years gone by.

Not sure why, but this course seems to be muddy and soft long after the last rain has fallen. In spite of this, the creek that runs through the north part of the course is always dry...in the 90's, this creek bed was the home of some snakes (but according to my buddy, they were more afraid of fat white guys than I was of them). I don't believe this is an issue any more (chalk one up for us fat white guys, I reckon).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun

2-4    5/30/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Huk Finn
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really cool park, very lush and green. Some sneaky lines to the basket, something new around every corner.
Thumbers forehand and hyzer bombs come in handy. Some friendly people at the church.
Cons: Where is 12?????Oh i found it......17? Wow?! Thanks for finding my black wraith bro.
Other Thoughts: If you play by the sign, you have some very generous par 4 and 5's. I'm assuming locals play par3.
Slightly hood.
Dude pulls up drunk in a Regal, like "Yo, lemme throw your frisbee!" We look at each other...We are visiting from Cali. Near oakland so this is looking familiar. I didn't want to meet Smith&Wesson
so we let him rip off a few discs towards the basket, after which he stumbles back to the awaiting pimp ride.
Hits play on the Petey Pablo remix and continues his day. Real nice guy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 my 'home' course

5+    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: long tee pads, home disc golf course for Indydiscgolf.com, mature trees, hole 17 is probably the signature hole for this course, pleny of variety of shots not only for RHBH but also flick players
Cons: lack of trashcans, course can sometimes be a little overgrown in spots, in the spring this course is very muddy after all rains, it does dry out by May and is fine all summer and fall.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course as I live only a few miles away in the Broadripple area. This course is very easy to get to from I-69 as well as 70, just a mile or so away from Brookeside Park to south, six or 7 miles from Sahms to the North, and 10 or so from Northwest Way park. Not the longest course in the world, but a decent challenge to beginners as well as more advanced players.

****edit****
Within the last six months the www.indydiscgolf.com club has done quite a bit of work on the course. Our new course maintainance / development person has stepped up and kicked ass - along with a few other people. As of today hole 17 along both sides of the creek has been cleared out for the most part. The tree across the creek on 17 is now an actually walkway. The pines on hole 1 have been trimmed at the bottom and cleaned up quite as well. The information board has been re-vamped and is actually usefull now. Check out our club.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.