Indianapolis, IN 
George Washington Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 284ft.   4 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Must play

5+    7/2/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jcfluhr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course! It's a must play if you are in the Indy area. It's got tons of trees, a variety of shots a little hilly and is tons of fun. Great place to take beginners with enough challenge for vets.
Cons: The neighborhood isn't awesome.
Other Thoughts: Take a map. The layout can have you retracing your steps the first time you play it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Indy

5+    11/29/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Washington Park is, simply put, the best, most complete disc golf course in the immediate Indianapolis area. This course has an excellent design with great flow from hole to hole (for the most part) and very little fairway interference.

The course is an older course (which is part of why I appreciate it so much - but that is my own personal bias). As such it has older but adequate baskets (Machs), adequate tee signs, and has been well broken in.

The holes are each fairly different, keeping it interesting. The design makes excellent usage of the trees and small hills that can be found throughout the park.

The course also has at least one hole (#17)that is unique among the 80+ courses that I have played (and I mean unique in a good way).

The course boasts a nice variety with some lightly wooded holes, some wide open holes, and some technical holes in the woods.

While by no means easy, the course is short enough that it remains the only 18 hole course where I have ever broken par (perhaps that says more about me than the course!).

There is a kiosk at Hole #1 with a park map, though, for the most part, a map is not really a necessity here (which speaks again to the good design).
Cons: The cons of this course are few and minor. There is only one bench on the course (Hole #13) and very few trash cans. While the signs and baskets are adequate, they are showing their age, especially with some of the older Mach baskets that have very shallow catchers. Also, Hole #12 is completely missing its sign.

The only real flow issues are between holes 3 and 4 (take a left at 3's basket), holes 11 and 12 (take another left at the basket, cross between 1's tee pad and 18's basket, and head toward the road and the missing sign), and between 12 and 13 (take another left at the basket, follow the road to the right, and take the wooden steps on the right). Directional signs would be an excellent addition to these spots. The only real backtracking on this course is after holing out on #16.

After heavy rains, this course gets wet (like all courses do) but also seems to stay wet for a while.

If you bring new players here, be aware that a decently-well traveled road is very much in play on holes 2-5, and especially on hole 12. There are also woods in play on holes 11 &12, and 16 & 17 as potential lost disc areas. A spotter is almost a must on Hole #17.

Due to the fact that this is an older course and that a couple of the basket placements are nicely on the sides of hills (3 and 6), there are some erosion problems that might be alleviated by the addition of a few alternate pin placements.

Some with bigger arms than I may not like the short distances throughout this course.

Honestly, there is nothing about this course that I complain about in any real sense. It is a pleasure to play.
Other Thoughts: The course is divided into a front 11 and a back 7, and they are very different. The front is fairly straight forward, city-park type disc golf. The back is far more of an adventure.

Not coincidentally, the back features my 3 favorite holes: Hole 12 - a hole I have yet to figure out. I struggle to keep it in bounds and not in the woods; Hole 16 - a short tease of a hole that is far harder to birdie than it looks; and Hole 17 - a hole requiring an arm and a shot I do not possess, but that is fun and challanging nonetheless. As I said earlier, this hole is very unique in my disc golf experience.

Bottom line: Washington Park is a solid, well-balanced, complete disc golf experience. If you had time for only one course in Indy, this is the one.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    7/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: crawdad62
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course with a decent variety of possible shots. Early holes have some trees that need to be navigated then the course sort of opens up a bit to where you can let it out. Course is pretty well marked and is in decent shape.

Players that throw low will probably have a much better time than ones that bomb big. There's enough trees that keeping it low and straight will lead to some sub-par scores.
Cons: 17 is sort of a joke. It's not too bad when you're playing with others since you can watch where the other players disc are going. It's a blind shot over trees that also has to clear a stream bed. It's dry most of the time but it's another obstacle that makes this hole a disc loser.

Also the course has some deceptive low spots that really don't look like it but can be pretty swampy even when the course for the most part is dry.
Other Thoughts: This is sort of my "home course" since I'm a firefighter that's stationed in the area. As others have stated Brightwood/Forrest Manor area ain't the best but it's not as bad as you would think. Last time I played there was a neighbor of the park over picking up trash in the park. I always play in the morning after I get off work and it's very nice. People out taking their morning walk, me throwing my discs :-)

Certainly don't let the neighborhood deter you from playing a really fun, diverse course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

2-4    6/15/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course! Holes and tee pads in good condition, tee signs give the essential info (where the hole is, how far away), holes out in the open have well-maintained grass, rolling hills and trees make for some interesting course layout
Cons: Confusion walking from some holes to next tee - could use some signage, gets pretty muddy/sloppy especially in the front 9 after a rain, the neighborhood is a little rough, but I've never felt unsafe or anything.
Other Thoughts: Fun course for both advanced players and beginners. A good course to take a beginner to - you won't get bored while you're teaching them.

The course map is found close by the first tee - I highly recommend taking a picture of it on your phone or printing out the one from this site (it's the same thing).

The first time both my buddy and I played, we ran into a local who plays the course a lot. He helped us find where some of the tricky holes/tees were (tee 4, hole 7, hole/tee 12, tee 13, hole 17, hole 18).

I wasn't sure whether to put hole 17 under "pro" or "con" - the hole is absurd! You have to throw it over some trees to lay it up in an open area, throw through a line of trees to get it near the hole, THEN putt . . . if you're lucky/good.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Washington Park is Great!

5+    11/2/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained, wide variety of shots can be used, holes are placed very nicely, scenery is great!
Cons: There is a lot of trash on the course, as on a number of the other courses too, we all need to do our best to get it picked up.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course to play. It's one of the best in Indy.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety of Holes

5+    7/10/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: NoChinDeluxe
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 17 is a beast and will eat you alive. First timers will have a "wait, where is the basket?" moment. Nice variety of holes mixing elevation changes and wooded shots including the blind, straight-uphill 18th and the dreaded "over the river and through the woods" 17th.
Cons: A little too close to the road for my tastes and there are some questionable characters roaming around trying to sell me discs, their bike, crack, etc.
Other Thoughts: I'd have to say this is the best in Indy because it offers the most variety and is a full 18. There is only one completely open-field hole while the rest play in the trees in some way, which makes it very fun for all skill levels. The neighborhood isn't quite Castleton or Noblesville, but don't be scared off either. Sometimes you'll get some weirdos hanging around, but I've been there a lot when families are BBQ-ing in the pavilions and it's quite the family-friendly park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Almost a favorite

1    8/20/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well laid-out course. Great use has been made use of the rolling terrain to provide a variety of shots with a good amount of elevation changes. I very much enjoyed finding out what each hole had to offer. Signage is excellent; the signs are noticeable with the tee numbers in large print so there's only a couple of holes where you can't easily spot where the next tee is- I'd printed out an online course map but didn't much need it.
Cons: Poison Ivy, and plenty of it. Holes 11-12 and 16-18 all have it at the edge of the woods along their fairways. This problem is compounded by a lack of facilities- I carry a poison ivy wash in my bag to get the plant oil off hands and discs, but there isn't so much as a water fountain here in which to make use of it. The only other problem I had is the proximity of multiple fairways to a road that's not exactly busy, but definitely had some traffic on it.
Other Thoughts: I'll almost certainly go back to this course the next time I'm in Indy (about once year). If they cleared out the poison ivy, this would be one of my favorite courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

6/8/2008   6/20/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2008
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of different types of shots, some decent elevation changes, lots of trees, some very unique holes (17). Not too busy most days. Good layout, considering the space available.
Cons: In a rough area, but the course feels pretty safe. Can lose disc easily on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot, this and Brookside are my favorites in Indianapolis.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 George Washington Park, Indianapolis

5+    9/26/2005   5/26/2008
Review By: ZipperBlueZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large course with varied terrain and good usage of the land it's on. Holes are in good shape. Nice variety in terms of obstacles and shot selection needed. Very low traffic, if you go on a weekday, you'll have the whole (very large and mostly well kept) course to yourself.
Cons: Other than it's in a rough part of town, none.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course, and in the greater Indianapolis area, it's second to none in terms of layout, hole variety, and land usage. Several blind shots will challenge your accuracy, with one particular hole (I believe the 17th) leaving you completely terrified to throw, especially in the summer when the vegetation makes finding errant throws even harder. I usually make a day of it, and play both this course and Brookside Park, but if you're visiting the city and only have time for one course, make it George Washington Park.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.