Indianapolis, IN 
George Washington Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 333ft.   5 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Accessible by the Masses

1    6/12/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Most holes offer a choice of lines to the basket.
Cons:
Baskets were quite old - shallower, for sure, and seemingly of smaller diameter, when compared to modern baskets.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length a bit under 300', and only two holes > 350', the distances at this course are quite suitable for beginners/intermediates. Two-thirds of the course plays on grassy land that could be described as gently rolling, with large hardwoods scattered about, making the optimal lines to the basket not too difficult for a player to hit - and not inflicting much punishment if they're missed. Experienced players will likely have plenty of birdy opportunities, but the trees and minor elevation changes keep the holes from being too simple. Challenging holes include #11, with its tiny window 200' feet away; downslope #12 with left-side ob road and right-side woods; how-the-heck-am-I-gonna-play this - through woods? Up-n-over? Number-17; and upslope number-18, needing a sharp left after exiting the woods.

Fun course, with most holes suitable for those in the +/- intermediate range. The extra challenges found on the latter half of the course are a good introduction to what tougher courses might offer - including the "thrill" of searching for wayward discs in the thick bits of woods, brush, and undergrowth that define some of these fairways.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Indy

5+    11/29/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Washington Park is, simply put, the best, most complete disc golf course in the immediate Indianapolis area. This course has an excellent design with great flow from hole to hole (for the most part) and very little fairway interference.

The course is an older course (which is part of why I appreciate it so much - but that is my own personal bias). As such it has older but adequate baskets (Machs), adequate tee signs, and has been well broken in.

The holes are each fairly different, keeping it interesting. The design makes excellent usage of the trees and small hills that can be found throughout the park.

The course also has at least one hole (#17)that is unique among the 80+ courses that I have played (and I mean unique in a good way).

The course boasts a nice variety with some lightly wooded holes, some wide open holes, and some technical holes in the woods.

While by no means easy, the course is short enough that it remains the only 18 hole course where I have ever broken par (perhaps that says more about me than the course!).

There is a kiosk at Hole #1 with a park map, though, for the most part, a map is not really a necessity here (which speaks again to the good design).
Cons: The cons of this course are few and minor. There is only one bench on the course (Hole #13) and very few trash cans. While the signs and baskets are adequate, they are showing their age, especially with some of the older Mach baskets that have very shallow catchers. Also, Hole #12 is completely missing its sign.

The only real flow issues are between holes 3 and 4 (take a left at 3's basket), holes 11 and 12 (take another left at the basket, cross between 1's tee pad and 18's basket, and head toward the road and the missing sign), and between 12 and 13 (take another left at the basket, follow the road to the right, and take the wooden steps on the right). Directional signs would be an excellent addition to these spots. The only real backtracking on this course is after holing out on #16.

After heavy rains, this course gets wet (like all courses do) but also seems to stay wet for a while.

If you bring new players here, be aware that a decently-well traveled road is very much in play on holes 2-5, and especially on hole 12. There are also woods in play on holes 11 &12, and 16 & 17 as potential lost disc areas. A spotter is almost a must on Hole #17.

Due to the fact that this is an older course and that a couple of the basket placements are nicely on the sides of hills (3 and 6), there are some erosion problems that might be alleviated by the addition of a few alternate pin placements.

Some with bigger arms than I may not like the short distances throughout this course.

Honestly, there is nothing about this course that I complain about in any real sense. It is a pleasure to play.
Other Thoughts: The course is divided into a front 11 and a back 7, and they are very different. The front is fairly straight forward, city-park type disc golf. The back is far more of an adventure.

Not coincidentally, the back features my 3 favorite holes: Hole 12 - a hole I have yet to figure out. I struggle to keep it in bounds and not in the woods; Hole 16 - a short tease of a hole that is far harder to birdie than it looks; and Hole 17 - a hole requiring an arm and a shot I do not possess, but that is fun and challanging nonetheless. As I said earlier, this hole is very unique in my disc golf experience.

Bottom line: Washington Park is a solid, well-balanced, complete disc golf experience. If you had time for only one course in Indy, this is the one.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shot types required
-Good variety of hole types (wooded, relatively open, some elevation change)
Cons: -Not located in the best part of town
-Hole #17 is a bit ridiculous
-Not much variety in hole length, most are reachable with decent drive

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Almost all throws used

5+    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice rolling terrain with grassy fairways, used to it's fullest potential. Mature trees also used well,with baskets strategically placed. Making a little tougher Approach/Putts,atleast for the Beginner/Intermediate. #1 is behind a big tree with somewhat of a low canopy. #2 is surrounded by 5 mature trees. #3 has a roll-a-way green.#4 tees off on a "ridge" down to the "valley".#5 up and over a hill right in front of the tee over another "valley" to the basket on top of another hill,the basket is surrounded by 5/6 trees. #6 has the biggest roll-a-way green....careful it could go into a busy street. #7 flat,wide open...boring if it's not windy. #8 plays on the side of the rolling terrain with low canopy the last half. #9 rip it! The longest hole. #10 is protected by 3/4 mature trees,set within a few feet of them. #11 short & sweet...ace run!...#12 long walk to the tee,west of the pavilion, next to the road. Plays downhill between the road and "dry"creek with a low canopy putt. For #13 step over the guard rail go north over the bridge, take the stairs..ACE run! #14 plays along 34th St. With a low(ish) canopy tee shot. #15 one of the most open, somewhat of a low canopy the last 1/4 of the hole. #16 is another "ACE run" into the woods.#17 tee from a "cliff" either play it safe or rip it over the tree lined creek. #18 uphill shot,basket surrounded by trees. Bulletin board has been re-Done,has update Information.
Cons: Grass should be getting cut weekly. Other areas of the park can go without getting cut longer. Three or Four trash cans need to be placed on the "Front 9". One or two benches would be nice but not NEEDED. Trees should be played soon,the old growth has limited lifetime. Number plates need painted.
Other Thoughts: After the Indy club worked on Brookside I hope the "powers that be" give some T.L.C. To Washington. Alt. Pin postions on #4,behind the tree,up on the hill side would be nice. #16 moved back into the woods another 75' would be cool. Overall the 2nd best course in Indy. If your in the area get a round or two in you'll PM me a Thanks!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Birdie Fest

5+    9/21/2009   2/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a section of park that is basically disc golf exclusive, so there are rarely conflicts with other park users. The park is mostly scattered mature trees and grassy fairways, with a few holes playing near areas of dense brush that add a risk/reward element to shots on those holes. Though there isn't a ton of elevation, the rolling hills that are there are used well to add a little bit more challenge.

Most of the holes have well defined lines through the trees, though many offer a few different ways to get to the hole with some creative lines. To have runs at all the holes, you will need a variety of different shots. If you have an accurate roller, this is a great course for it with mostly smooth grassy fairways, wide lanes between the trees, and relatively little disc-catching underbrush.

The course has decent concrete tees that are a reasonable size and in good shape. The signs have suffered from some vandalism, but are still readable with good hole maps and distances, and direction to the next tee. There is a kiosk at the beginning of the course with a good course map, as well as lots of information about local courses and leagues/tournaments.

There are a couple unique holes here, including one up and over a hill with a steep green that's tough to stick on for the birdie run. The second to last hole has a tough up and over line that has to carry over a couple lines of trees and a creek, or you can lay up down a tunnel and try to find a line through the trees around the creek. Overall, this course isn't the most challenging, but it's a fun birdie fest with some interesting holes.
Cons: The course doesn't have a whole lot of real challenge or distance. Most holes are birdie-able by average players, which can be fun but doesn't really test your game very much. Only a few holes actually punish bad drives with something worse than a lay up for par, I prefer courses that make you pay for errant shots.

The baskets are pretty old, with many having rusty chains. They catch ok, but aren't all that consistent any more. The course plays very close to the park road and a couple other streets, all of which have some traffic. I often felt the need to wait for cars to pass before throwing on these holes, as the best lines often took the disc out over the road.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, but lacks a little variety and challenge. It's a great place to bring new players or go out and have a fun round. It's definitely beginner friendly, with reasonable distances, good signage, and not a whole lot of risk. More advanced players will have fun shooting for lots of deuces, but won't find much here to really challenge them or make them think.

This is one of the better Indy area courses, especially when combined with nearby Brookside park for a little more challenge and length. If you're passing through the area it's worth a stop for a quick and easy round.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/21/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Grover
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets and tee pads (concrete) are all in place and in good shape with only one missing tee sign (#12 as of 10/21).

Pretty easy to follow from one hole to the next until hole 12 (luckily hole 11 is near the hole 1 start of the course and one can check the map on the board to see where 12 and 13 are). Grass is usually cut and there's no overgrowth to interfere with play.

What little elevation there is at this park is used to the fullest possible extent (4-6, 12, 17 and 18).

For newbies, only hole 17 would possibly frustrate or scare them off. This is a great course to learn the game with very few places to lose a disc or need to develop an advanced shot.

Holes 3-6 and 8 make an outstanding series of holes with some undulation and trees.

If you play only to brag about hitting "aces", holes 13 and 16 are for you.

A large open field across the street from the parking lot can be used to toss your drivers and get in some practice (which I'd have noticed this earlier).
Cons: Length. Not really any long holes to really air it out (except maybe for 9). Some of the holes are ridiculously short (13 and 16).

Every hole seems to be straight with little more than a tree to throw around. Hole 7 is without any elevation, tree, or any other anything of interest whatsoever.

The exception to the lack of challenge would be hole 17 which errs too far the other way, throwing blindly over two rows of trees. Don't play without a spotter on this hole.

Course loses its flow after hole 11, with 12 and 13 not easy to find (especially if someone has taken the map off the info board).

Lots of trash on the course and no receptacles. Sometimes there will be people gathering at the picnic tables oblivious to the fact that they are in the middle of a course.

No restrooms or water fountains and the nearest convenience store isn't close.

The road which runs along the west side of the course is awfully close to the course. This is often distracting and annoying (and I'd be surprised if there haven't been a lot of cars hit driving by).
Other Thoughts: I seem to be out of step with the rest of Indianapolis about our city's twin courses. If you're coming from out of town to play, I strongly recommend playing both this course and Brookside as they are just a couple of miles apart between Sherman and Rural/Keystone. But if you only have time for one I seem to be the only person who'd recommend Brookside. Everyone I have ever played with here prefers this course (but this is my review, so fudge 'em).

I wish this course had some doglegs to work around. 18 is the only hole that seems to use the natural tree line in the traditional dogleg fashion. 16 is the only hole that is really buried in the "woods", but it is too short (even newbies can overshoot it teeing off with a putter).

The "culture" of this course is better than Brookside. This is where you are more likely to strike up a conversation with some like minded golfers and the locals who aren't DGers seem to understand that DG IS happening here. Outside of the occasional picnic table group mentioned above, non-DGers don't disturb this course much.

Not a nice neighborhood (lots of boarded up houses and folks milling about with nothing to do), but many churches have moved into the adjacent properties and a police station have improved this dramatically from years gone by.

Not sure why, but this course seems to be muddy and soft long after the last rain has fallen. In spite of this, the creek that runs through the north part of the course is always dry...in the 90's, this creek bed was the home of some snakes (but according to my buddy, they were more afraid of fat white guys than I was of them). I don't believe this is an issue any more (chalk one up for us fat white guys, I reckon).

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 ghetto park

1    8/29/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: IndyTyler
Played: 90  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: the course is pretty fun. well layed out and allows for all sorts of different throws.
Cons: it is in a pretty ghetto area of town. i wouldnt play as an all female group if i were you. i would only play this course as a group. maybe i am a little sheltered living on the north side of indianapolis but the area seemed pretty sketchy to me. leave your jewlery and nice phones and wallets locked in your car out of sight.
Other Thoughts: be careful when you go down here. keep an eye out for strange activity. get your round in before it starts getting dark. oh and have a buddy spot for your disc on 17.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice city park

2-4    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: jrrphil
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has nice tees and nice baskets. The park is very scenic and nice. I like playing a course like this because it makes me feel like I'm actually good at the game.
Cons: The course is not very challenging. It has some fun holes, but the mature trees don't come into play on most holes. It is somewhat challenging if you play it as all par 3's. It is sorta hard to out where the next holes are a couple of time. Hole 17 is just unacceptable. Every hole should have a fairway. I am not very serious about disc golf, but for me hole 17 is too goofy. You have 2 choices: 1. blindly throw it over trees, or 2. take 2 or 3 shots to slowly go around the trees and over the creek. Hole 17 definitely takes away from what could be a very good course.
Other Thoughts: Everyone I met at the park has been very nice and friendly. The park isn't suburbia, but it is a very nice city park. I feel very safe going there. People of all kinds are very friendly there.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2004   8/13/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of pretty good holes.

Characteristic hole seemed to be 300' or so, some mature trees to dodge, little undergrowth, you can park it for a birdie but it's a pretty good shot if you do. There are a variety of holes, requiring different throws, in this general category.

Enjoyable, though no really great or signature holes.
Cons: Probably the neighborhood, not necessarily scary but not the best. I had a local guide; I would have probably been a little uncomfortable had I played it alone.

Hole 17 (?), only option is to throw over some tall trees. It's different, but I wonder how players who can't clear the trees play it?
Other Thoughts: Fun and I'd love to play it again. It might be a course I'd prefer to play when it's crowded, or with a group, instead of my usual solo round while traveling.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    7/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: crawdad62
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course with a decent variety of possible shots. Early holes have some trees that need to be navigated then the course sort of opens up a bit to where you can let it out. Course is pretty well marked and is in decent shape.

Players that throw low will probably have a much better time than ones that bomb big. There's enough trees that keeping it low and straight will lead to some sub-par scores.
Cons: 17 is sort of a joke. It's not too bad when you're playing with others since you can watch where the other players disc are going. It's a blind shot over trees that also has to clear a stream bed. It's dry most of the time but it's another obstacle that makes this hole a disc loser.

Also the course has some deceptive low spots that really don't look like it but can be pretty swampy even when the course for the most part is dry.
Other Thoughts: This is sort of my "home course" since I'm a firefighter that's stationed in the area. As others have stated Brightwood/Forrest Manor area ain't the best but it's not as bad as you would think. Last time I played there was a neighbor of the park over picking up trash in the park. I always play in the morning after I get off work and it's very nice. People out taking their morning walk, me throwing my discs :-)

Certainly don't let the neighborhood deter you from playing a really fun, diverse course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.