Disc Golf Center
Denver, CO 
Schaefer DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The disc golfer versus prairie dog

2-4    7/21/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tees
Interesting obstacles on 3-4 holes
Quick play
Near impossible to lose disc (unless a prairie dog takes it)
Cons: Prairie dogs are taking over the course
(Feels like) Barren wasteland
Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: When we played here, the course seemed very dry, barren and sterile. Seems like whatever trees were there before, they died, and tree remnants have been used as obstacles on some holes instead of real trees. With that said, the course is laid out pretty well, but other than a few holes with obstacles, it seems like it should be fairly easy to master by applying "decent drive/decent putt" over and over.
Update 11/23/12 - recalibrating my scores. I have not come back to play this course since visiting it the last time, as the feeling seems to be this course does not really seem to offer much to warrant a trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ok, good for noobs

1    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: DRod
Played: 55  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for short/mid game and beginners
Cons: Gets very windy, lots of dirt and dust. Prairie dogs all over the place.

All holes play straight forward and are a bit boring
Other Thoughts: course was getting a lot of use while I was there and the crowd seemed like a lot of beginners playing in large groups.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Quick

5+    7/24/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee-pads
-Baskets are in good shape
-Trashcans and benches and a picnic table spread throughout the course
-Lots of opportunities for an ace as pretty much every hole provides that chance for an ace
-Some of the holes have man made obstacles created around them to make the holes slightly more challenging
-Many of the holes have a board on the post to sign if you get an ace on the hole which is a nice touch for a course.
-Can play a round in about 15 minutes solo if you need a quick stop
-Decent use of some of the few trees on the property
Cons: -Most if not all of the holes are under 300 feet and there is no chance to really just let the disc rip on any of the holes
-Lots of prairie dogs scattered throughout the course
-Course is mostly dirt and as such it can be really dusty and if it rains the course gets very muddy
-Lack of tee-signs- there are post that mark the hole number and have an ace board but they give you absolutely no information about the current hole...distance of the hole at the least would be nice
-Lots of vandalism on the course, several of the boards that you can sign if you get an ace are missing, one of the benches is in bad shape and several of the man made obstacles have either started to fall apart or been pulled down. There are signs posted around the course that say if the vandalism continues the course will be pulled
-Lots of wide open and straight shots
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to work on throwing your mid ranges and putters. Its also a great place to bring beginners as its not very difficult and they will probably have a good time on the course. This course gets fairly crowded in the summer but still doesn't take too long to play. Don't go out of your way to play this course but if you are in the area and looking for somewhere to practice your short game then give this course a chance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Come One, Come All

2-4    9/27/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 72  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schaefer DGC is a small, easy, flat, plain and simple place to throw a disc. The layout is an oval shape on a field of dirt and grass, dotted with short evergreens and, oddly enough, bare white tree trunks and branches stuck in the ground. It makes for an intriguing foreign-looking landscape. The most interesting hole on the course is #7, where a criss-crossing web of movable bone-dry cottonwood branches can be rearranged by the more creative and ambitious players to increase or decrease the difficulty of the hole. It's a fascinating obstacle the likes of which you'd be hard pressed to find elsewhere. Another positive note is that if you aren't too hindered by players ahead of you, a 9 hole round can be wrapped up in 15 minutes. You could easily switch up some of your tee-off spots and create your own network of holes if you aren't playing through someone else's line. The short distances can be fun if you're just practicing, throwing new discs, going for aces, or rushing through on a time crunch.
Cons: The course can get crowded on weeknights between 5 and 8 PM. If you're a solo player or small group, this not only means you'll be waiting on those ahead of you, but you'll also need to be mindful of other nearby discers and dogs when throwing since some of the baskets are near adjacent fairways. You could get stuck behind novices, an innocent couple enjoying a lazy round, or a family of 5 with toddlers and a stroller. The network of baseball and soccer fields to the west allows swift breezes from the foothills to whip through. There is no protection from the elements, but you should be able to see incoming weather clearly. Prairie dog holes could easily sprain an ankle if you're not watching where you step.
Other Thoughts: This is not a course to go out on a PBR-pounding, bowl-blazing, swearing rampage with your friends. There are plenty of children and families around the park and the picket fences of a residential area are within reach from several of the holes. Take this course for what it is and enjoy the fact that it is yet another decent place to play a beginner-friendly sport.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home on the Range

5+    9/22/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its local, uncrowded, welcomes the tagging of tee signs for your ace (space provided as well as the post) and is great to introduce players to the game. Popped my cherry there! Hole seven's dance floor is almost changed on a weekly basis with all the stumps and dead tree branches. Come put your spin on it. Dog friendly course as I have never had a problem with my off leash Great Dane with any players and vice versa for those who also bring their pets.
Cons: Distinct lack of obstacles makes this too easy for intermediate and advanced players. My average there is 6 down for nine. During the rainy season it gets very muddy. Prairie dogs bark in your back stroke, holes all over the place. Wide open so the slightest winds can affect your throw if you don't know how to fight it.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I play there more often than anywhere else and it is my home and I love it. No traffic can allow you to make your own course to mix it up, try it for fun. A lot of cool people are usually playing and it is a friendly atmosphere. All the pros and cons aside, this is a "passable" course, not great but I call it home. This is where I do my field work and try out all my new discs and throws.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 You are being watched!

2-4    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to parking right next to the first hole. Navigation is no real issue here, you can see the next tee right next to the previous basket. Teepads are nice large cement pads in great shape. No teesigns, but it is very obvious where the basket is as you can see them all. Need and ace, then some here. Some pretty short holes that are just asking for and ace. Old tree limbs are carefully placed around some of the baskets to add to the challenge and give it a unique feel.
Cons: Flat dry and void of vegitation. Some dry weeds and a few trees but thats about it, except for lots of dirt. Looks like it was built on an abandoned lot. I slightly enjoyed my two rounds here, but after that the excitement was gone. Nothing too special here.
Other Thoughts: You are being watched by prairie dogs all the time. You are playing on their land. They will watch you putt and drive, but at least they are quiet. A beginner course for sure. If you are looking for a challenge then go elsewhere otherwise just bring your putter and work on your short game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Easy

2-4    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick and easy course that is great for practicing putts/mid-range shots. It was fun for the beginner and had a few holds that were surprisingly decent (5,6,7,9).
Cons: Not very inspiring due to location. Tees pads not all marked well but only #6 is hard to find (near the far-fence). Some old pathways intersecting the course can beat-up the discs.
Other Thoughts: Bring your whole bag when it is not busy and throw multiple shots per hole to make it a great practice spot for accuracy and putting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Dead Log Arrangment you Have

1    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schaefer DGC is a surprisingly fun short nine hole course that is perfect for novice players. At just over 2100' holes average around 250' on open and easy to navigate terrain. The course runs in a circle design starting and ending near the parking lot area. Baskets are in average shape and the concrete tees are ample and nice to shoot from.

I love when people go the extra mile on a course that is relatively plain and boring. Note the amount of dead tree trunks surrounding many of the pins, and you know that someone cares for this place. Some might think this is silly or unnecessary, but I thought they were a cool touch. This is a great course to learn, practice, and improve your short game. Plus a round only takes 30 minutes max, so you can play a few rounds in a short amount of time.

BEST HOLE/S: #7; #9
Cons: Intermediate players and above might find this place a bit boring because of the lack of challenge in length, pin placement, and foliage density. All of the holes are straight shots and never force you to use more than two or three discs in a round. If you're experienced and looking to improve your game, head into the mountains because this is not the course that raises the bar.

Print the map, because navigation can be difficult for first timers. The tee boxes and pins are easy to spot, but it's hard to know if you're shooting in the correct location some of the time. Note taking a left after pin #8, because you naturally want to move back over to #5. Finally, the course is pretty pitted since you're playing in a prairie dog town that is very reminiscent of Westminster DGC up in northwest Denver.

WORST HOLE/S: #4
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses people tend to love or hate since it's fairly straight forward with not much to challenge you. The concrete tees and dead logs are nice addition, but even then it'll never be a destination location. I enjoyed my experience here and it helped me work out some kinks in my game before I hit the more challenging courses.

If you're new to the sport, need a quick fix, or like me - annoyed with your round at Arapahoe Community College a few miles away, Schaefer DGC is a welcome relief. However, since you're already in south Denver and have time, just make the pilgrimage up to Beaver Ranch/Conifer Park - one of the top courses in the United States, but if time or distance is a concern this place certainly fits the bill.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 use your imagination for great practice round

5+    7/11/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great place to introduce others to the great sport of disc golf. It is a drive and put for us short throwers, but I have been able to carefully gage how much my drives are improving. 1, 5, and 8 can be a beginners first birdie holes. It is embarrasing when the Prarie dogs laugh and chuckle at your drive. Also, head here when the Denver skys turn dark. Just before the rain comes down the wind here gets trickey. If you show up alone, there is always someone to play with. Lots of interesting stories, always somebody to critique your shots.
Cons: A large group of young people can gather and play 8 to a hole, and they can manage to loose a disc in the Long grass around 9. Their biggest bragging thing was how many beers they could carry in their bag. There was a hornet's nest at the 8th tee, but, I called the Foothills park people and it was wiped out the following day! Since this is mainly a dirt course, if you play it a lot, you can get used to sliding an Aero up to the basket. This won't help at other courses, and can be a bad habbit.
Other Thoughts: Play this course with imagination. Make the tree on 8 a Mando opposite the natural fade of your disc. Instead of throwing your Roc at 1, see if you can get your longest driver from going past the hole. Use the old Teepad for 3 adds another 100 feet. You want to park as close as possible to the first teepad, because the farther down you are the more likely your car is to be hit by errant throws. I do love playing this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy course to play with no way of losing a disc. The baskets and tee pads are in good condition. There are some man-made obstacles around some of the baskets to add a little extra challenge. (see photos) I had a map with me so it was very easy to see which way I needed to be throwing. The course starts and end by the parking lot and minimal walking between holes.
Cons: The tee sighs consists of an six foot tall wood 4x4 with a number on it. Nothing too challenging and not too eye catching. All dirt all year long and watch out for those prairie dog holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall I do feel that this is a decent course to stop by and play a round at. I played it twice for 18 holes and it took no time at all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.