Denver, CO 
Schaefer DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGWookie Hole #5 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 162ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My New Olympic Sport-Disc Biathalon!

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schaefer DGC is another of those wonderful little beginner, ACE run courses. This one, however, has a couple of elements which make it unique and in my opinion could be developed into another national pastime.

The first unique feature about this course is the cottonwood stumps and branches which are buried and/or built into obstacles to make otherwise ho-hum holes much more interesting. I've seen similiar features on just 2-3 other courses and it's a great idea and they've really stretched the imagination of it here especially on hole # 7 with it's plethora of dead logs and stumps all twisted and set up to make that hole special.

The other interesting thing here is the ever-present groundhog population. They seem to be watching you on every hole. But I noticed that the seemingly cute little bastards were gorging on what meager grass grows here thereby leaving the golfers to play on ugly brown dirt, which then turns into mud. So this is what I am proposing. I want to designate this course as a trial run for the sport of DISC GOLF BIATHOLON or DGB. In DGB, players play disc golf but also carry a 22 caliber rifle strapped to their back. On each hole they are allowed one shot at one of the little burrowing miners. Hitting/killing one results in taking one stroke off your score. A miss won't change your score. There would have to be a major penalty for accidently shooting another disc golfer. I'm thinking maybe a three stroke penalty would suffice.
In a very short time, the rodent population on this course would be exterminated. The grass would grow and players would be playing on a lovely, lush green carpet of grass. Also companies that sell Disc Golf merchandise would try to design the best new bags to carry your rifles along with your discs.
Anybody with me?
Cons: Currently, the course is semi-dangerous with all the groundhog holes. It's just a pitch and putt. The wind probably gets pretty bad and I hear it turns into a mud hole.
Other Thoughts: Another curious fact about this course is it gets a ton of use and they ALL only carry one disc. Many of the players wear flip-flops. I felt terribly over-dressed with my tennies and a bag ( And I didn't even have a rifle in it).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Course

5+    6/7/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Kuiky
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Great for beginners. Easily located. Great place just to go if you don't have much time or wanna travel far (at least for myself) Simple shots so good place to boost your ego!
Cons: Prairie dog holes will grab you and trip ya. Watch out! People don't respect the course! Clean up your trash, they offer cans through-out the course if you can't hang onto it for 2 more holes than don't bring it along!
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it makes me feel good! I've had 2 aces myself and seen many others at this course! Great for boosting the ego and just going out to hang out with friends for a quick game of disc.

 A quick lunch break course.

2-4    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: skammah
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick play ~30 - 35 minutes
Easy for beginners with limited cover.
Some logs used to make holes slightly more challenging and a couple holes great fun. .
Easy to reach location.
Mostly dirt.
Cons: Prairie dogs
Very little shade.
Popular with lots of folks playing. Especially on the weekend.
Graffiti
Trash
Other Thoughts: You could use this course for driving or putting practice during the day, midweek.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 watch the prairie dogs scatter!

5+    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets and tees are in excellent shape and all at a uniform height.
good flow with easy navigation with the exception of between 5 and 6.
Great use of dead trees to add character to the course and protect some of the most vulnerable greens.
Has it's own part of the park with very little chance of hitting non-golfers except maybe if you loose it way left on 2.
Lot of ace runs here!
It's a mile from my house!!
Cons: Not a lot of variety in shots.Not one hole I can't drive.
if you can throw it 250+ you can putt for birdieon every hole.
Tends to attract a lot of douchebags.Don't be surprised if playing alone the groups of 4+ wont even so much as think of letting you play through.You usually have to skip them.
As with the last paragraph you can't put it beyond people throwing on the same hole your playing.
Litter again the douches strike again.The course has more than enough trash cans and yet there are butts everywhere.A couple of times there were beer cans lying around within 10 feet of a trash can.
Parking lots a little to close for comfort to the first basket and with a lot of beginners playing here I would advise against parking close to the basket.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.