Denver, CO
Schaefer DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 8/2008)
One of the many prarie dogs on the course



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home on the Range

5+    9/22/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its local, uncrowded, welcomes the tagging of tee signs for your ace (space provided as well as the post) and is great to introduce players to the game. Popped my cherry there! Hole seven's dance floor is almost changed on a weekly basis with all the stumps and dead tree branches. Come put your spin on it. Dog friendly course as I have never had a problem with my off leash Great Dane with any players and vice versa for those who also bring their pets.
Cons: Distinct lack of obstacles makes this too easy for intermediate and advanced players. My average there is 6 down for nine. During the rainy season it gets very muddy. Prairie dogs bark in your back stroke, holes all over the place. Wide open so the slightest winds can affect your throw if you don't know how to fight it.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I play there more often than anywhere else and it is my home and I love it. No traffic can allow you to make your own course to mix it up, try it for fun. A lot of cool people are usually playing and it is a friendly atmosphere. All the pros and cons aside, this is a "passable" course, not great but I call it home. This is where I do my field work and try out all my new discs and throws.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Course

5+    6/7/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Kuiky
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: Great for beginners. Easily located. Great place just to go if you don't have much time or wanna travel far (at least for myself) Simple shots so good place to boost your ego!
Cons: Prairie dog holes will grab you and trip ya. Watch out! People don't respect the course! Clean up your trash, they offer cans through-out the course if you can't hang onto it for 2 more holes than don't bring it along!
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it makes me feel good! I've had 2 aces myself and seen many others at this course! Great for boosting the ego and just going out to hang out with friends for a quick game of disc.

 Meh....

5+    5/13/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Sidearm Slinger
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for first time players and putting practice.
Cons: Growing popularity with the younger crowd, they play in groups of 10. Trash gets left all around and there's several trash cans on course.
Just a barren field with baskets
Go elsewhere if you have the option.
Other Thoughts: I basically live across the street so I play here more than I would like, but it's nice to work on new shots and putting practice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Skip this one

1    3/13/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: + Good for first time players
+ Baskets are in good shape
+ concrete tee pads
Cons: - No vegatation
- an ugly, flat course
- Packed on weekends, no shots require much skill
- windy windy windy
Other Thoughts: I would honestly never play this again, Ken Caryl is 3-4 miles away with more grass, and tree's to make some holes require accuracy..

This course doesn't offer anything that other courses around don't offer better. I would skip this and go to Conifer, or Ken Caryl. You will hae a better time

 A quick lunch break course.

2-4    3/2/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: skammah
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick play ~30 - 35 minutes
Easy for beginners with limited cover.
Some logs used to make holes slightly more challenging and a couple holes great fun. .
Easy to reach location.
Mostly dirt.
Cons: Prairie dogs
Very little shade.
Popular with lots of folks playing. Especially on the weekend.
Graffiti
Trash
Other Thoughts: You could use this course for driving or putting practice during the day, midweek.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 You are being watched!

2-4    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to parking right next to the first hole. Navigation is no real issue here, you can see the next tee right next to the previous basket. Teepads are nice large cement pads in great shape. No teesigns, but it is very obvious where the basket is as you can see them all. Need and ace, then some here. Some pretty short holes that are just asking for and ace. Old tree limbs are carefully placed around some of the baskets to add to the challenge and give it a unique feel.
Cons: Flat dry and void of vegitation. Some dry weeds and a few trees but thats about it, except for lots of dirt. Looks like it was built on an abandoned lot. I slightly enjoyed my two rounds here, but after that the excitement was gone. Nothing too special here.
Other Thoughts: You are being watched by prairie dogs all the time. You are playing on their land. They will watch you putt and drive, but at least they are quiet. A beginner course for sure. If you are looking for a challenge then go elsewhere otherwise just bring your putter and work on your short game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 watch the prairie dogs scatter!

5+    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets and tees are in excellent shape and all at a uniform height.
good flow with easy navigation with the exception of between 5 and 6.
Great use of dead trees to add character to the course and protect some of the most vulnerable greens.
Has it's own part of the park with very little chance of hitting non-golfers except maybe if you loose it way left on 2.
Lot of ace runs here!
It's a mile from my house!!
Cons: Not a lot of variety in shots.Not one hole I can't drive.
if you can throw it 250+ you can putt for birdieon every hole.
Tends to attract a lot of douchebags.Don't be surprised if playing alone the groups of 4+ wont even so much as think of letting you play through.You usually have to skip them.
As with the last paragraph you can't put it beyond people throwing on the same hole your playing.
Litter again the douches strike again.The course has more than enough trash cans and yet there are butts everywhere.A couple of times there were beer cans lying around within 10 feet of a trash can.
Parking lots a little to close for comfort to the first basket and with a lot of beginners playing here I would advise against parking close to the basket.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Easy

2-4    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick and easy course that is great for practicing putts/mid-range shots. It was fun for the beginner and had a few holds that were surprisingly decent (5,6,7,9).
Cons: Not very inspiring due to location. Tees pads not all marked well but only #6 is hard to find (near the far-fence). Some old pathways intersecting the course can beat-up the discs.
Other Thoughts: Bring your whole bag when it is not busy and throw multiple shots per hole to make it a great practice spot for accuracy and putting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Against the grain

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 75  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I will be apparently going against the grain, but out of all of the nine hole courses I have played, this is one of the best. The course has a wide variety of lengths, and obstacles. The paths are paved concrete which is nice. The best part of this course is the 100's of spectators. This course is covered with prairie dogs. You get to disc golf and see some entertaining wildlife.
Cons: The holes are very short, and it is in an odd part of town. Also, hole layout is a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast on this course, and will likely return.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Dead Log Arrangment you Have

1    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schaefer DGC is a surprisingly fun short nine hole course that is perfect for novice players. At just over 2100' holes average around 250' on open and easy to navigate terrain. The course runs in a circle design starting and ending near the parking lot area. Baskets are in average shape and the concrete tees are ample and nice to shoot from.

I love when people go the extra mile on a course that is relatively plain and boring. Note the amount of dead tree trunks surrounding many of the pins, and you know that someone cares for this place. Some might think this is silly or unnecessary, but I thought they were a cool touch. This is a great course to learn, practice, and improve your short game. Plus a round only takes 30 minutes max, so you can play a few rounds in a short amount of time.

BEST HOLE/S: #7; #9
Cons: Intermediate players and above might find this place a bit boring because of the lack of challenge in length, pin placement, and foliage density. All of the holes are straight shots and never force you to use more than two or three discs in a round. If you're experienced and looking to improve your game, head into the mountains because this is not the course that raises the bar.

Print the map, because navigation can be difficult for first timers. The tee boxes and pins are easy to spot, but it's hard to know if you're shooting in the correct location some of the time. Note taking a left after pin #8, because you naturally want to move back over to #5. Finally, the course is pretty pitted since you're playing in a prairie dog town that is very reminiscent of Westminster DGC up in northwest Denver.

WORST HOLE/S: #4
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses people tend to love or hate since it's fairly straight forward with not much to challenge you. The concrete tees and dead logs are nice addition, but even then it'll never be a destination location. I enjoyed my experience here and it helped me work out some kinks in my game before I hit the more challenging courses.

If you're new to the sport, need a quick fix, or like me - annoyed with your round at Arapahoe Community College a few miles away, Schaefer DGC is a welcome relief. However, since you're already in south Denver and have time, just make the pilgrimage up to Beaver Ranch/Conifer Park - one of the top courses in the United States, but if time or distance is a concern this place certainly fits the bill.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.