Disc Golf Store
Truckee, CA 
Truckee River Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: cjskier Hole #10 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 256ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket (B position)



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A little repetitive

1    6/27/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 764  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: This course clearly has some dedicated locals, the fairways are nicely maintained and the amenities are nice here. The signs are informative and have pin placement indicators that help a lot on the couple blind shots. There's not a ton of elevation in this park, but the small hills on the property are used to good effect to make a couple fun downhill shots.

The course is mostly shorter, many of the holes are reachable off the tee. A few of these have tighter technical lines with a good balance of left and right turning shots. The few longer holes offer some challenges where you're rewarded for hitting a landing zone for an easier second shot. A few holes have multiple lines off the tee with different obstacles and looks at the pin. The scattered trees in the open part of the course are strategically used to protect a few of the pins.
Cons: The course gets pretty repetitive out in the sage brush filled area of the course. There aren't a ton of obstacles on those holes that punish inaccurate shots, just low brush that hides discs without affecting your next shot. A couple holes have odd lines that reward luck more than skill. There's one really long transition between holes that is pretty difficult to follow the first time through the course, some more directional signage would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: This course is mostly beginner friendly outside of the sage brush that hides discs on half the course. The lengths are mostly pretty reasonable and the technical shots are interesting but not very punitive. Experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge here, and the holes can start to feel pretty similar at points. This wouldn't be my first choice in the area, but it's not a bad place for a quick round.

Truckee River Regional Park

1    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 28  Reviewed: 24
Pros: - Lots of parking
- Nice concrete tee pads
- Nice signs with washer system for pin placement
- Nice local people on the course for help with basket locations
- Beautiful scenery; holes along the river with great views of the mountains
- Trash cans to keep the course litter free
- Benches for rest between holes
- Large banner sign showig the start of the course, which makes it easy for a first timer to this location
- Multiple pin locations make it a repeatable course
Cons: - Some baskets are close to each other which makes it difficult to know which you are throwing at. Some are missing hole numbers or are facing the opposite way from the tee pad.
- Navigation is not that good. Washer system in place, but not very accurate. Found that many of the baskets were not in the location indicated by the washer
- Manzanita makes it hard to find the disc if you are not careful.
- Many of the shots were blind as you could not see the basket from the tee pad. You could end up throwing in the complete wrong direction
- Tee pads and baskets can overlap on several holes. This makes it difficult if this were a busy course. Throwing back onto the previous hole can be dangerous.
- Course layout was a little cramped and tight on several holes
- Signage can be improved to update the addtion of new placements. Drawing in a letter with a black sharpie doesn't make the sign look good
Other Thoughts: All in all, this was a nice course to play on a day off. I live in Rocklin, but would much rather drive the extra time to North Tahoe Regional Park or Incline Village to play. There is another course not that far away at Sierra College, but was not able to find my way in with the gate closed for the holiday. The Blue Coyote is a good place to grab some food right after the round. It is across the street and has some nice food. I would probably not come back to play this course again, but would if I had others that are in the area and don't mind spending a few hours on a course for an afternoon. There are some improvements that can be done to make this a playable course for me. It was not too crowded, so that was nice. If it is on your wishlist, go out and play and please review this course as well.

My new local course

2-4    5/5/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: Kinsman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free course conveniently located in one of the town parks. Concrete tee pads on every hole. Nice mix of openly wooded shots give you the chance to try a wide variety of shots throughout your round. Multiple pin placements is a pro, but I'd rather there be multiple permanent placements. Trashcans throughout the course seem to do a good job keeping it litter-free.
Cons: Signage is decent but needs improvement, especially the long walk between 7 and 8. Apparently, according to other reviews, theres a metal disc below the signs (looks like a washer in the photos) that tells you what pin location the basket is in. Well, after several rounds on the course, I never once noticed this and had more than a few blind guesses off the tee my first couple of times on the course. If you're going to have multiple pin placements, then you HAVE to do a better job of letting players know where the basket is on each hole.

Also, Manzanita sucks when your looking for your disc, but that shit is everywhere around here so there's not much to be done about it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice little course to have in town. Most holes are designed well and it's a good spot to get a quick round in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great but not fabuluos

1    2/22/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well marked. Signage was fabulous
- Great views of river
- Change in basket location and marker
- Locals were very nice
Cons: - Locals were 49ers fans (Go Seahawks ;-)
- Nothing fantastic. Needs a good signature hole.
- There is a huge gap between holes 7-8 that is not marked well.
Other Thoughts: - Could have easily played 2 rounds.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good course overall

5+    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: B Stone
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, permanent tees and multiple hole placements. Clean course with no trash. Trash cans at every hole. Benches at almost every hole.
Cons: Lots of trees and scrub bushes. Some Hole placements difficult for par 3. Hard to navigate your first couple times out, especially between holes 7 & 8. (follow the path below hole 7 around to the other side of amphitheater where you link back up with the course). Rocks tend to tear up lesser plastic quickly
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course located right in town. Pretty busy course with generally nice people playing. On the harder side for a par 3 course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great round!

1    10/20/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: TimZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this a fine course. We were welcomed by a huge banner marking the start of the course in a large community park. Tee pads were beautiful, not only "concrete" but actual smooth, leveled, finished concrete, that looked to be 10 feet long. Longest I've seen. Signage was very good, took us a couple holes to notice the rotating metal disc below the sign, indicating which position the pin was at. There were flight paths and distances of all pins. Another nicety was directions to next pin on the tee box sign, and not only that, there was often signs near the pin, directing you to the next tee. Very nice when you forget to check the sign before you throw. Layout was good, with the front 9 almost impeccably laid out with the next tee pad, right near the current pin. There are a few tricky tees to find here, but again that is the case at almost any course.

I think this is a world class course with a fine design and great aesthetic. People were very cool and helpful and it was nicely laid out and maintained. That is not always the case! Good challenge with plenty of right, left, straight shots and some tricky elevation changed and tunnel shots.

I'm unsure of why it was rated "moderately hilly", I found it pretty flat and a leisurely round. Which was exactly what I wanted.
Cons: Very few that you wouldn''t find at any course.

In retrospect, a "next tee" indicator on the basket itself would be outstanding at any course, but obviously that can be a little unwieldy with multiple pin positions.
Other Thoughts: One of my only cons turned into a pro, when my prized broken in disc was lost in a deep shrub or something and I reluctantly left for work at Squaw Creek without finding it. The same afternoon I received a call from from a great brother by the name of Pod. Said that he found it perched atop a basket, and I could pick it up at his trailer nearby anytime. All people playing the course were very cool and helpful. Seems a good disc community here in north lake. I'll certainly be back whenever I'm around, and if you are near, come here. This place comes highly recommended, trust me!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big Trees, long spread out course

1    8/31/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different pin placements. Pretty good signs at the tee boxes and the boxes were good. Back nine had signs pointing the way to the next box (wish front would have them.) Challenging basket placements made it fun and many holes had potential for birdies with a few holes definitely par only (at my level.)
Cons: No signs pointing the way...especially from 7 basket to 8 tee box. The little note on the sign at 7 tee box was totally, totally useless. After 30 minutes of looking a stranger showed us the way---we were walking to the car at that time. If your visiting...you should have a spotter walk down and find the baskets then point the way for you...otherwise the signs are just a rough evaluation of were the basket is. #3 hole is a great example when in the "C" position.
Other Thoughts: Got tired of tripping over rocks but hey when your in the mountains it comes with the territory. Liked playing it and now that I know the way would play it again. First timers be prepared for 3 hours or more...looking for baskets and boxes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

NIce Course Above The Truckee River!

1    8/16/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Truckee River Regional Park is easy to find upon entering the park. It's on the left, has ample parking, picnic table and a kiosk. The course has nice concrete teepads and great informative signs. It plays through high desert type terrain with enough elevation change to keep things interesting. It's obvious that the locals have done a lot of work here to make this course more playable, everything from stringing a net up along the # 1 fairway to keep errant discs from sailing over the fence into the business there to building stairs. There are are garbage cans and benches throughout the course.
It's the first course I've played with a "Quiet Hole". # 4 plays close enough to a neighbors property that there is a sign asking players to respect this particular neighbor by playing this hole quietly. I softly whispered "fore" when I teed off. And I really liked this hole. It being a cool, little anhyser, downhill with a steep drop-off on the left toward the river.
The course has the screw system with the A-B-C-D marked to let you know the current basket position. That's always helpful, especially to the first time player on the course playing alone. There are a couple of nifty downhill chucks on the second nine.
Cons: The first night I played here, I was in kind of a hurry. After playing # 7, I searched and looked all over for the next tee. There's a sign telling you to walk up the hill and over the dale or something but I couldn't find # 8 to save my life. I drove back a day or two later determined to find the rest of the course. I drove around areas of the park that I didn't know existed, through dump areas and old maintenance areas and saw baskets and tee signs. After some fairly exhaustive searching, I was find able to complete the navigation of TRDGC. Now, this all could have been nullified, had I only been able to hook up with a local or two. But there were no locals to be found either day I played.
The hardy desert type terrain, especially on the back nine didn't bode well with me, either aesthetically or physically having to navigate my way through it.
Finding # 18 teepad is also a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: The course is somewhat convoluted in it's meandering design. That design make's it extremely confusing and frustrating for the first time player. I'm not sure any amount of signage could explain the walk from 7 to 8. I think it's one of those courses that's just not very user friendly to the first time player. It happens sometimes.
Despite her navigation issues, this would be an enjoyable 18 to play as your home course. There are quite a few interesting holes to challenge most disc golfers. And it is a great break on the Sacramento to Reno route.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful day

1    6/4/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -beautiful weather(spring/summer)
-nice tee pads
-great paths
Cons: -hard to navigate
-alot of bushes to loose disks
-snow(winter)
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved this course. The only problem i had with it was navigating. I couldn't find 18 but I still had a blast

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and nice signs. The views along the truckee river are nice. Lots of good obsticles and not many easy shots.
Cons: It looks like they had a nice park and just put down tee boxes and pins. There is no even flow to the course. Even if you are an expert player there are some holes that you have no chance at it. Also very crowded, lots of large groups that had issues with a two person group playing thru. Wont be back there.
Other Thoughts: Good local quick play course, not something to go out of your way for.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.