Truckee, CA 
Truckee River Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: cjskier Hole #16 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 293ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Bring your GPS Trackers

1    7/22/2006   6/22/2009
Review By: surefee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very scenic course in Truckee
It was one of the best in the Tahoe/Reno area.The cement tee pads were in excellent shape as well as the majority of the holes. The course was quite challenging with plenty of obstacles to get in the way. The course offers slight elevation changes with many tight fairway shots and few open big arm throws.
Cons: This course is so hard to find your frisbee and some of the holes on the course seemed redundant, throwing back and forth between similar looking setups
Other Thoughts: Overall a good Northern California course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Construction/Course Layout

1    5/7/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: RedSoxRob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great range of holes. Some blind shots. Hard shots. Mediocre shots. Nice range.
Cons: Previous review regarding visibility of baskets on course is dead on. They are camouflaged. If this is your first time on the course, I would recommend you find a local as I did.
Other Thoughts: If I recall right HOLE 7 IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION. They moved the tee pad which can be difficult to find. Not to mention the new pad is directly on a path frequented by pedestrians in the park; so be careful with your drive.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Baskets in good shape
-Great Teepads!
-Nice Teesigns
-Restroom available near hole one
-Kiosk/Bulletin Board at hole one with course map and scheduled events posted
-Most holes had a bench of some sort to sit on
-A bit of elevation coming into play on a three or four holes
-Course flow was decent
-Course was very clean! Very little garbage for a disc golf course in a public park!
-The locals we met were very friendly.
Cons:
-Mediocre land
-Many shots felt redundant
-Not very challenging overall, just two or three holes that made me consider my shot.
-VERY DUSTY (high desert course)
-Baskets are sometimes hard to see due to the drab monotones of high desert foliage.
-Really, Really long walkout half way through the course, without the help of some locals, we wouldn't have figured it out.
Other Thoughts:
For me, Truckee was overall neither great nor bad, it just exemplified mediocrity. I think this is due in most part to the available land. It's just not a great plot of land, there is a little elevation, but for the most part it's just high desert land with a few trees, a bunch of rocks, and desert sage. For what was available to the course designers they did a decent job.

As a pro level golfer, the course didn't offer me much challenge, most holes are very straight forward and don't require much contemplation. My playing partner is an Adv Women, and she found the course more difficult than the average course, so I'm sure the course is just about right for the average golfer.

One thing that I think would improve the course is having some help seeing the gray baskets in that gray environment, maybe a flag on top or something? There were a few times I had to walk all the way up the fairway because the baskets just blend in too much.

If you have to choose one course on your way through the area, I'd suggest driving the extra twenty minutes to North Lake Tahoe, I just don't think Truckee is worth too much fuss.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Truckee River DGC

1    7/22/2000   4/23/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This beautiful course is located in the foothills of the Sierra Nevadas, surrounded by Pine trees and other native growth. The ground floor is primarily dirt with folliage spreadout throughout the course. Directions getting to the course made it easy to find and once there, easy to navigate through. The cement tee pads were in excellent shape as well as the majority of the Mach 3 baskets. The course was quite challenging with plenty of obstacles to get in the way. The course offers slight elevation changes with many tight fairway shots and few open big arm throws. A few holes have steep ledges so watch your throws and watch your step. The course is located in a large park with fields just off to the side behind Hole #1.
Cons: This course for the most part was very well put together. However, some of the holes on the course seemed redundant, throwing back and forth between similar looking setups. One more note, large rocks are throughout the course and will damage your discs if not careful so either choose wisely or be prepared to be missing a few grams of plastic on your disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is truely a lot of fun and well worth the trip. Truckee DG course was well kept up and maintained with very little garbage laying around. Also, for those who like to collect discs, there is a local discgolf store in town with custom Truckee stamps as well as any other kind of discs needed to play. The locals are very friendly and always willing to help out and give directions.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.