Disc Golf Store
Truckee, CA
Truckee River Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: cjskier Hole #5 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 313ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket (C position)



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great but not fabuluos

1    2/22/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well marked. Signage was fabulous
- Great views of river
- Change in basket location and marker
- Locals were very nice
Cons: - Locals were 49ers fans (Go Seahawks ;-)
- Nothing fantastic. Needs a good signature hole.
- There is a huge gap between holes 7-8 that is not marked well.
Other Thoughts: - Could have easily played 2 rounds.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course overall

5+    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: B Stone
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, permanent tees and multiple hole placements. Clean course with no trash. Trash cans at every hole. Benches at almost every hole.
Cons: Lots of trees and scrub bushes. Some Hole placements difficult for par 3. Hard to navigate your first couple times out, especially between holes 7 & 8. (follow the path below hole 7 around to the other side of amphitheater where you link back up with the course). Rocks tend to tear up lesser plastic quickly
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course located right in town. Pretty busy course with generally nice people playing. On the harder side for a par 3 course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great round!

1    10/20/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: TimZ
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this a fine course. We were welcomed by a huge banner marking the start of the course in a large community park. Tee pads were beautiful, not only "concrete" but actual smooth, leveled, finished concrete, that looked to be 10 feet long. Longest I've seen. Signage was very good, took us a couple holes to notice the rotating metal disc below the sign, indicating which position the pin was at. There were flight paths and distances of all pins. Another nicety was directions to next pin on the tee box sign, and not only that, there was often signs near the pin, directing you to the next tee. Very nice when you forget to check the sign before you throw. Layout was good, with the front 9 almost impeccably laid out with the next tee pad, right near the current pin. There are a few tricky tees to find here, but again that is the case at almost any course.

I think this is a world class course with a fine design and great aesthetic. People were very cool and helpful and it was nicely laid out and maintained. That is not always the case! Good challenge with plenty of right, left, straight shots and some tricky elevation changed and tunnel shots.

I'm unsure of why it was rated "moderately hilly", I found it pretty flat and a leisurely round. Which was exactly what I wanted.
Cons: Very few that you wouldn''t find at any course.

In retrospect, a "next tee" indicator on the basket itself would be outstanding at any course, but obviously that can be a little unwieldy with multiple pin positions.
Other Thoughts: One of my only cons turned into a pro, when my prized broken in disc was lost in a deep shrub or something and I reluctantly left for work at Squaw Creek without finding it. The same afternoon I received a call from from a great brother by the name of Pod. Said that he found it perched atop a basket, and I could pick it up at his trailer nearby anytime. All people playing the course were very cool and helpful. Seems a good disc community here in north lake. I'll certainly be back whenever I'm around, and if you are near, come here. This place comes highly recommended, trust me!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Big Trees, long spread out course

1    8/31/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
Pros: Lots of different pin placements. Pretty good signs at the tee boxes and the boxes were good. Back nine had signs pointing the way to the next box (wish front would have them.) Challenging basket placements made it fun and many holes had potential for birdies with a few holes definitely par only (at my level.)
Cons: No signs pointing the way...especially from 7 basket to 8 tee box. The little note on the sign at 7 tee box was totally, totally useless. After 30 minutes of looking a stranger showed us the way---we were walking to the car at that time. If your visiting...you should have a spotter walk down and find the baskets then point the way for you...otherwise the signs are just a rough evaluation of were the basket is. #3 hole is a great example when in the "C" position.
Other Thoughts: Got tired of tripping over rocks but hey when your in the mountains it comes with the territory. Liked playing it and now that I know the way would play it again. First timers be prepared for 3 hours or more...looking for baskets and boxes.

NIce Course Above The Truckee River!

1    8/16/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Truckee River Regional Park is easy to find upon entering the park. It's on the left, has ample parking, picnic table and a kiosk. The course has nice concrete teepads and great informative signs. It plays through high desert type terrain with enough elevation change to keep things interesting. It's obvious that the locals have done a lot of work here to make this course more playable, everything from stringing a net up along the # 1 fairway to keep errant discs from sailing over the fence into the business there to building stairs. There are are garbage cans and benches throughout the course.
It's the first course I've played with a "Quiet Hole". # 4 plays close enough to a neighbors property that there is a sign asking players to respect this particular neighbor by playing this hole quietly. I softly whispered "fore" when I teed off. And I really liked this hole. It being a cool, little anhyser, downhill with a steep drop-off on the left toward the river.
The course has the screw system with the A-B-C-D marked to let you know the current basket position. That's always helpful, especially to the first time player on the course playing alone. There are a couple of nifty downhill chucks on the second nine.
Cons: The first night I played here, I was in kind of a hurry. After playing # 7, I searched and looked all over for the next tee. There's a sign telling you to walk up the hill and over the dale or something but I couldn't find # 8 to save my life. I drove back a day or two later determined to find the rest of the course. I drove around areas of the park that I didn't know existed, through dump areas and old maintenance areas and saw baskets and tee signs. After some fairly exhaustive searching, I was find able to complete the navigation of TRDGC. Now, this all could have been nullified, had I only been able to hook up with a local or two. But there were no locals to be found either day I played.
The hardy desert type terrain, especially on the back nine didn't bode well with me, either aesthetically or physically having to navigate my way through it.
Finding # 18 teepad is also a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: The course is somewhat convoluted in it's meandering design. That design make's it extremely confusing and frustrating for the first time player. I'm not sure any amount of signage could explain the walk from 7 to 8. I think it's one of those courses that's just not very user friendly to the first time player. It happens sometimes.
Despite her navigation issues, this would be an enjoyable 18 to play as your home course. There are quite a few interesting holes to challenge most disc golfers. And it is a great break on the Sacramento to Reno route.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

beautiful day

1    6/4/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -beautiful weather(spring/summer)
-nice tee pads
-great paths
Cons: -hard to navigate
-alot of bushes to loose disks
-snow(winter)
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved this course. The only problem i had with it was navigating. I couldn't find 18 but I still had a blast

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and nice signs. The views along the truckee river are nice. Lots of good obsticles and not many easy shots.
Cons: It looks like they had a nice park and just put down tee boxes and pins. There is no even flow to the course. Even if you are an expert player there are some holes that you have no chance at it. Also very crowded, lots of large groups that had issues with a two person group playing thru. Wont be back there.
Other Thoughts: Good local quick play course, not something to go out of your way for.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/12/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well cared for course, you can tell the locals take pride in it
- Nice long concrete tee pads
- Mach 3 Baskets are in good condition
- Good tee signs showing pin positions and distances
- River access with a little hike
- Bathrooms available neer hole 1
- Locals are friendly and willing to show around new people on the course.
- In the 3 times I've played here I've never seen trash on the ground
- Multiple pin positions
- Natural Benches around the course
- Close to I-80, makes for a good break from a long road trip.
- The slight elevation changes around the course are used well
- Beter for beginers than most Tahoe area courses
Cons: - Quite a few holes out here feel repetitive
- Sage brush can hide discs in plain view
- Baskets are hard to see aginst the colors of the high desert
- Most holes are just straight ahead and don't require much thinking
- Dusty in the summer time
- There's one long walk, I think its 7-8, where you might get lost if you don't have a guide
- Rocky ground can do alot of damage to DX plastic discs, I would recomend bringing some higher quality plastic
- Very little elevation change compared to most around the Tahoe area
- A badly shanked drive can end up in the Truckee River on a few holes
Other Thoughts: Truckee River Park is a decent course that helps add another to the list of Tahoe disc golf courses The park has river access and even signs pointing you down trails to the river in case you shank your drive realy badly (the signs even say shankers trail). There is a long walk between holes 7 and 8 which would be hard to find if you were walking around by yourself trying to find the course without a guide. The locals around here take very good care of this course, cleaning up garbage, and keeping up signs. It is not the best course in the area, but definatly still fun and worth a stop if your driving through on the 80.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Trucke Regional Rocks!!

5+    6/28/2010   1/24/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Super fun technical course next to the Truckee River! Mostly rocky terrain with sage brush and dirt fairways
Fresh pine scented air with awesome temperatures in the summertime for golf!
Cement tees with Signs and Distances
Natural Benches (with a unique bench idea on Hole 10 with a rock for backrest!)
Neat terrain with low lying sage and lots of pine trees!
Each hole has multiple pin placements with an amazing mix of short pitch n putts to very technical long holes
Cons: Hole 7 to 8 was a bit confusing the first time they changed it up.
Other Thoughts: There's something about the Sierras that just give you that awesome golf feel.. it actually feels like a mini vacation when your out on the courses! Truckee is an awesome little town with numerous great places to dine at after your round! I love this place!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great course in a great area

1    10/27/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Super-duper tee pads. Great layout, excellent signs, and "next tee" pointers. Beautiful Tahoe scenery and course features. Good hiking throughout course, with some challenging terrain on misguided shots. Some of the freshest air available on Earth!
Cons: A little crowded, even for middle of the week. Need awareness on back nine from adjacent tee shots from other groups. Long, but scenic trek between #7 & #8.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, and really look forward to playing it again...maybe even in the snow. Would love to see a concert going on during the summer season.
=================
Uniqueness: A- (Tahoe scenery combined with a great layout)
Difficulty: A- (some tough pin positions; trees everywhere)
Fun Factor: A (great variety; clean air; isolation)
Aesthetics: A (exceptionally clean; to me, a very picturesque course)
----------------------
Overall: A

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.