Fairfield, OH 
William Harbin Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #11 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 290ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/8/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: William Harbin Park is a fun, scenic course with moderate elevation changes on nearly every hole and some great views!

Next tee signs make navigating the course easy, the tee signs are good and make it easy to find baskets that are out of sight from the tee. There is a good mix of short, medium and long holes and the concrete tee pads are nice and big. The course is mostly open with mature trees to navigate on some holes. For a mostly open course, there are a good number of anhyzer shots which is nice to see.

There were a few holes that really stick out in my mind here. Hole 5 is a fun turnover shot with a challenging putting green. The basket on hole 6 is guarded in such a way that this unique hole that will only reward very skilled shots with a birdie. Hole 13 is a fun downhill bomb. And the course finishes with a huge downhill anhyzer shot I wanted to empty my bag on.

It seems they mow the fairways and path to the next tee but let the rest of the grass grow a little more. When I was here the grass off the fairway was taller but certainly not long enough to make it difficult to find discs. Hopefully that's how it's normally kept otherwise finding discs could be a problem.
Cons: About a third of the holes are completely wide open.

The course lacks challenge. Because the course is so open, bad shots are not punished and it's easy to recover for par if you have a bad tee shot.

There is virtually no shade, there isn't water close by and there are no benches if you need to rest and catch your breath from walking the hills.

Some of the holes start to feel repetitive due to the lack of obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed playing this course and I loved the views from the top of the hills. With good views and high elevations often comes wind. It was calm the day I played here but I'm sure the wind is often present here.

It's an excellent course for new players through the Rec or Int division. They'll be challenged by elevation and distance, but there are still some shorts holes that will yield birdies to them to them.

More advanced players will not be challenged here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Jowsepi
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice 18 hole course. The signs are nice and they even have arrows pointing you to the next tee box. The course is open, so there aren't a lot of obstructions to get in your way.
Cons: This course plays almost all of the holes up hill. Even getting to the first tee is up hill. If you are a beginner and haven't got a good drive or tend to not be very straight, it is a hike getting to bad shots. Make sure you have endurance to play this course.
Other Thoughts: Due to the up hill nature of this course, I recommend that you play with a group of at least 4 people. That way you get a chance to catch your breathe between shots and holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park just too open

2-4    6/11/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Hilly: The course uses its hilly landscape pretty well. There are some beautiful views as you go up and down the hills, and some nice breezes.

-Hole 4 is 725 feet. The second longest hole iv played so far. (Idlewild had 1001 foot hole)
Cons: -This course is too open: Who ever can toss it for more distance will win. Out side of a few holes, most of them aren't even that long. There are some areas with bushes but there is plenty of room between them for the most part.

-None of the holes (except the 700 footer) really stand out.
Other Thoughts: This park is a decent place to play when you are starting off, and don't want to play through woods. If you love being able to rip it with plenty of room, this is your place.

I only play this course when I'm in the area, or if I haven't played it in a long time.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mediocre defined

4/18/2008   4/18/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to get to, good flow from hole to hole, locals were nice, not much traffic from non disc golfers,
Cons: Pretty bland and wide open
Other Thoughts: Turtle Creek and Monroe are better choices if you are visiting the north side of Cincy for Disc Golf

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 202  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: short open course, a few trees that have to be thrown around, windy north of cincy, easy to navigate
Other Thoughts: the extra holes for the flying pig should be permanent they are so sweet and make the course that much better

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.