Fairfield, OH 
William Harbin Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #7 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Middle of the road muni course

5+    7/30/2016   8/1/2016
Review By: UFM82
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent muni course that plays well for all levels. It's mainly open and does not have a lot of wood to deal with but it does have dense tufts of honeysuckle that will break up the obvious lines and snag your disc. The holes are a decent mix of long and short ( 220 up to 725) and almost can give you birdie shots. Also several good ace shots here with #8 bring a main suspect. Baskets are good, concrete tee pads are good, signage is good and there is water on the course up by 8/9.
Elevation changes in that you go uphill for the first the holes and then back down on the backside. But each hole is difference even though they are the same, if that makes sense. Lots of lines to try here. This is technically my home course but I don't claim it as such because of the cons.
Cons: Cons- I like this course because it's close but I hate this course because of the rough. They mow the fairways short and that's great but the rough is brutal. When they do mow it, they leave the long dead grass on top of the live grass. It is VERY easy to lose a disc here due to this. It drives me crazy to see my disc land and then not be able to find it. Spending 15 minutes to search for a disc anytime you wind up in the rough is aggravating and disruptive. I have a hard time focusing on the game when I have to worry about finding my disc.
There is very little shade on this course and it is almost always breezy so take that into consideration. A par round is no gimme but it's doable by any good rec or better player.
Other Thoughts: It's close to food, drinks or other needs. It's a community park so it's clean and pretty well maintained. Even though there are a lot of people doing other things at the park, they really don't get in the way. It has a lot of right-hand bends so if you are a RHFH player you'll have fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Open with lots of wind!

5+    3/22/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 342  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets in a well-maintained park on top of a large hill with scenic views. Great place to practice your wind game since it's always windy here. Not many holes to get in any real trouble with errant drives.
Cons: The course can get kind of boring. You won't be punished on most holes for bad shots and can easily recover to get par. If you don't have a cannon, several holes will be just a bit out of reach for birdie. The ground around a few baskets has been worn down pretty bad and needs to be addressed.
Other Thoughts: I hear the Flying Pig Open layout is much more challenging and fun than the original layout. If you're looking for a course to throw new plastic without losing any or practice throwing in the wind, this is the course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

5+    10/3/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 28.2 Years
Pros: good for new and intermediate players
Very open and clear
holes avg 330 ft. or so
easy lay out, and good signs
Nice view on #4,5....
Cons: No water fountains or benches, or picnic tables

could use more large trees for shade, and give a little more challenge
Other Thoughts: I can see this course expanding and being reconfigured all together... its a big park, and the disc golf course does run into the mountain bike trails, that hardly get used, and they could make a very challenging expansion if they thought about it...

 Harbin Park

2-4    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: chris171
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Very good course to practice drives on, holes are easy to find and generally easy to play. This is the first course i played on and had fun.
Cons: Most holes are not challenging other then a few that require long drives.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to practice long drives, because the long holes, elevation, and wind. Will return for more fun!

 Harbin Park

1    5/22/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: jchlody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Wide open holes
-Nicely groomed all around the park
-Fantastic views throughout the course
-Spread out over most of the park
-Hole-to-hole fairly obvious so easy to navigate
Cons: -Repetitive
-Not to much of a challenge with the exception of elevation change
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was very fun. I was visiting my family in Hamilton and we drove over to Fairfield to play this course. The next time I go down there I will probably return to this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising Challenge

2-4    5/8/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Park is in a good location that features wide open fields and some wooded area. The holes feature cement tees and are sponsored by local supporters. The grass fairways are kept cut weekly.
Cons: The fairways are surrounded by high grass that makes it very easy to loose a disc. When it rains course collects water and becomes very muddy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

5+    4/7/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: cambo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 33.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: well kept, Some long holes. Good parking, always a nice wind on top of hill. which affects maybe 6 or so holes. Many open holes but well placed trees.
Cons: Mostly open. only 1 hole thru cover. Can be soggy in a few spots. but this is Disc Golf do not wear your best shoes.
Other Thoughts: This is converted into a really great Temp course for tourneys. Would like to see this expanded. there is so much other park that could be used for a perm course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/30/2011   10/3/2010
Review By: Triflusal
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2011
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It is nice and hilly, great concrete teepads. well marked, the signs are great. Easy to find next tee/navigate the course. Wind can become a factor. Thick woods and underbrush (when present) does punish errant shots.
Cons: kind of repetitive, only several holes are over 300'. The teepad on hole 8 is smaller than the rest, and several teepads are not level. The pad on hole 11 is cracked, but not to badly. The sign for hole 15 is missing. This is a wide open course with few obstacles.
Other Thoughts: there are restrooms and drinking fountains in other parts of the park. There is plenty of parking. There are trash cans on some of the holes, but I do not know how regularly they are emptied.

I would say this course is not very challenging if you can throw far. It does make great use of the elevation though.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 harbin

5+    11/5/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: tatonka
Played: 69  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: wide open fairways to boost confidence
every type of drive needed throughout course
most holes require a full chuck to get it there but good drives will have you putting.
there is a 725 footer to test your long arm
well maintained and good use of land.
Cons: this course could benefit by a more difficult second shots, and a little more woods.
a true par 3 course... 2's are harder than you'd think but 4's are fairly uncommon except for on holes 4 (725 feet) and 18 an out of reach hole with a dogleg right. a few more par 4's could greatly improve this course.
Other Thoughts: not a bad course to hit up if you're in the area and a nice change from the mostly wooded courses in the area, but can be a little repetitive... {[decent drive... missed 25 to 40 footer... tap in 3]}

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Harbin Non-Tournament Layout Review

5+    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to work on your game off of the tee. Most players who can throw over 300' regularly and with accuracy have a chance of parking 16 holes. The distance of this course allows for players in the NOV-INT range to have a great round.
Most holes use terrain elevation changes to challenge the player. This in some cases can make up for the short distances. This will also keep you from parking holes you believe you should easily reach.
This course is often windy, this allows for the more advanced player to practice placing shots in windy conditions.
725' hole with rolling hills and a mowed field allows for players of all ranges to flex their muscle off of the tee.
Although the course is in an open field the placement of baskets around certain trees and along lines of trees and forest forces players to throw Hyzers, Annhyzers, and in certain circumstances creative shots. This is applicable for both the RH and LH.
Several trees and bushes can punish throws that you think are going right for the chains. This will keep you coming back to try and redeem that shot.
Cons: Tournament conditions and set ups are used seldom during the year. This limits the chances advanced players find this course challenging.
12 holes 300' or under, this doesn't allow for a lot of challenge for big arms or for players in the ADV-OPEN level.
Most holes have open fairways that have limited trees to threaten drives.
This course as noted above is often windy and can really challenge players who do not understand the challenge of wind and disc selection.
Other Thoughts: Normally I like to do hole by hole descriptions for individuals who would like to travel to courses. However with this course I do not feel it is necessary, if you are in the area this course is worth playing. You should know before going into the course that you can reach most baskets from variable angles for both the RH and LH. This is a great course to play on a road trip if you are in the area and are looking for a big round under par or are new to the game. The one thing that keeps locals coming back to this course and the reason it is used in tournaments is that it often presents difficulty mentally more than physically. I say this because of the ever changing wind conditions and the way the elevation changes play on your mind.

** This course and Mt. Airy combine for the annual Flying Pig Open. This tournament changes the way this course plays quite a bit and is a great tournament.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.