Fairfield, OH 
William Harbin Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #13 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Harbin Park DGC

5+    10/2/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: - Ok for higher level players, great for new players
- Good mix of short and long holes
- Layout very easy to follow (can't get lost)
Cons: - Needs a redesign (other thoughts)
Other Thoughts: With a couple changes that would involve only moving two baskets this course could become very challenging. First, combine 13 and 14 (Flying Pig Layout) As this a challenging but fun hole then. Second, since 14 has a free tee pad, and thirteen has a free basket, move 13's basket further to the upper left and throw from 14's teepad to thirteens basket. Only thing needed would be two simple paths through the woods(it's all honey suckle and would take no time to remove). This would make the course fresh and challenging, plus the new holes would be fun. Also take hole number 8 and move the basket up behind the bush so it still is a birdie attempt but not quite as easy.


1    5/29/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: The_Envelopes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairways and pathways freshly mowed and virtually no mud at all. Tee boxes in great shape.
Cons: It was my first time playing this course and we had a hard time finding the 8th tee. But the rest of them are logically placed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hilltop Challenge

5+    5/2/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (William) Harbin Park features a longish disc golf course north of the Cincinnati outer belt, which runs uphill near a huge water tower, and incorporates a gigantic sledding hill for its occasional temporary holes (played often in a few of the area's prestigious tournaments, like the Flying Pig). I like hole A which allows for a huge downhill bomb to a ridge near the bottom. If you have a portable basket, it's almost worth dragging it out to watch your best stuff glide down there.
The fairways are usually well maintained, and each hole has a good-sized concrete teepad, decent sign and waste receptacle. The park has several shelters, including one with a huge stone fireplace we used for our true Ice Bowl this year. Most other activities occur in the other areas of the park, and a walk/jog path doesn't come into play, unless you really get off track.
The course can be a little intimidating for weaker arms, as it opens out with three uphill shots, followed by a monster 725 footer that finishes near the high point and flagpole at the 'top' of the park.
There are a handful of birdie holes (better players might call them ace runs) to make up for the tougher ones.
The holes flow nicely back to the starting area after nine, and loop to the left side of the park for the back nine.
Harbin incorporates its natural elevation on most every hole, and requires turning drives in each direction, though it's a very open course.
Cons: There are no benches near the tees, the 6 uphill shots tend to feel a lot alike because of the lack of trees/foliage, and at least one of the teepads (#1) has an uncomfortable upslope.
The rough can get quite long, causing surprising difficulty in finding an errant disc (it feels weird to search for more than a minute when you're really just looking in an open field!).
Can get very muddy on the back nine (#14 can be a swamp, as can the passage through the bushes after you finish #18).
Other Thoughts: Harbin is a challenge for novice to recreational players, but its length (relative length, including the uphills) appeals to intermediates and above.
If you're only in the area for a while, I'm sorry, because there are more than a dozen worthwhile courses here, and you might not have time to try them all. But Harbin falls into the worthwhile group, so come on back if you haven't partaken.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    2/26/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: stevemort
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course. Most holes are diverse and have different elements, but nothing treacherous. It's fairly open but most holes have some obstacles.
Cons: It can be muddy, with #14 being nearly unplayable after a good rain. The wind can be an added factor at times.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course. It's not overly strenuous but it doesn't need to be. Most holes can be played as 3's for the intermediate player (except maybe 4 and 18). There are memorable holes (4, 5, 11, 13, 18) and you can have a fun round there no matter what level of player you are.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open Fun

1    7/10/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: Stizall
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for Begginers and Andvanced players alike. Very easy to navigate. Plenty of long drives and short placement shots through out the course.
Cons: This course is very high in elevation so the wind constently blows hard. ONly playing this Course once I wouldnt have known this if it wasnt for my guide.
Other Thoughts: Great course to just go and Let er Rip!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Much Challenge But Still Alot Of Fun

2-4    3/25/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the great things about this course is the elevation. It may be a very open course, but the elevation changes really helped. One thing that i say alot is the nice concrete tee pads. Suprisingly not every course has these. So it is nice when you see one. This course is definately well kept. Meaning that they mow it often, and keep it running smooth. This course is extremely easy to navigate through. Next tee signs located all over the course. There are quiet a few memorable holes here. #4 definately tests you as it is a nice 700 foot shot. Its not terribly difficult. So it is good at times, but that is also a downfall. It really is a beautiful course. Overall it just looks amazing. Also they have nice shelters located all around the park.
Cons: One of the major cons is that it eally doesn't test your skills that much. It is almost all wide open. You could come here with one disc and do just as good as you would with twenty discs. There are alot of short holes that do not challenge you in any way. For the spots that require you to go through some trees is thick. They really dont expect you to go into the trees, so they dont take much care of it. There really were alot of the same holes. The holes were the exact same in many aspects, and required the same exact shots.
Other Thoughts: I would for sure recommend playing this course. It may not be one of the top in the country, but it is still a very diverse course with its own aspects. You hear alot about other courses in the area, but not much about this one. I was actually very suprised when i came and played this course. I will be back soon to play it again.

One funny thing that happened hear one time, was that there was a deer. I was playing with a couple buddies and then we were driving from one of the tees. Then as i drove it all of the sudden a deer came out of no where and i actually skimmed the deer. Then obviously he ran away. But it was still pretty crazy hitting a deer.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Harbin

5+    7/15/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good fun open course. Great for driving practice including a 725 footer, few chances for aces. Good elevation changes though the course. Concrete tee pads, baskets are always good never vandalized. Tee signs are nice as well. Since the course is real open the fairways cut into the grass are very nice. Is usually very crowded. Course flows well, covers a lot of land since the course is pretty long.
Cons: Sometimes grass is not cut well. Can be really windy since it is so open. Not all that much of a technical challenge.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.