Cincinnati, OH 
Winton Woods Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
4 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Track

1    1/1/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course with interesting holes. Almost all the holes are less than 200' and there is even one hole that's less than 100'

Lots of fun to practice short game by playing this course. Deuces available on each hole.
Cons: Asphault around the base of baskets chews up discs.
Other Thoughts: Ace - Hole 5 - 1/1/09

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Most Aces wins!

1    7/7/2005   12/7/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a popular course and you could always find someone to play with here. The course plays through the woods with well defined fairways. Even the area outside of the fairways is not thick with undergrowth because of the heavy traffic.

Lots of birdies to be had! I witnessed 2 aces the first time I played this course. One of them was probably only 90 feet.

Good place to come and work on your midrange/approach game.
Cons: Can be extremely crowded on nice days. Look out for flying discs as the holes are crowded together.

The teepads are asphalt, which is better than dirt - but not ideal.
Other Thoughts: This is a pitch and putt course, where it is easy to shoot under par. Great for beginners, but only if you want to fight through the crowd. Not as good as other courses in the area - but still a fun course to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/23/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 80  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of ACE possibilities on this short and easy course,great for beginners,clean park,nice variety,easy to navigate,can easily play 9 or 18,
Cons: Mostly short holes,no signs,tees too close to baskets you have to wait for the group in front of you to tee off so you accidentally don't hit them,have to go seperate park entrance to purchase pass,

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This is where I learned Disc Golf

5+    8/18/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have such fond memories of playing this course in the early 80's. Back then we all played it with the big trash can lid frisbees and it was a hard course. If I remember correctly the longest hole on the course is 290' and it was a bomb to get out that far when the new style disc golf discs weren't around.

The course is heavily played and it's an ok place to bring beginners or people who are just playing with frisbees. It's more of a picnic atmosphere than a disc golf course as we all know them now.

There are asphault tee pads. There's a restroom at the beginning of course. It also plays in 2 loops so that you can start on hole 1 or 10 with no problem. You will often run in to groups of 10 here so its nice to be able to start on the back 9 so you don't have to follow them.
Cons: This course is best played with old school plastic or with just a putter. It's very short. The shortest hole is 90', the longest is around 290' and there's only a handfull of holes over 200' on the course. There are usually tons of people on the course. The more advanced disc golfers in the area don't go here because there are about 30 other courses in the area. With that in mind you should definitely look out for stray plastic from people who tend to yank every now and then.

There's a couple places where the pins and tee pads are very close together. This wasn't a very big problem back in the day because a big trash can lid frisbee didn't hurt that much when it hits you but the new ones do. So be careful when you're throwing and watch out for stray discs.

The pins have an asphault ring around them that's about 12 feet in diameter. I assume it was an attempt to make a green but what it really does is completely screw you if you skip one off of it on the fly. It makes for a lot of really long putts after good drives.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes I miss the innocent days when Winton Woods was a hard course. I wish I could see the GCFDA Course Challange scores from tournaments played back in the early 80's. If you played a tournament there now you had best shoot about -16 per round or you'll get smoked.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Beginner Course!

4/14/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great short game challange for intermediate and advanced - or a real treat for new players and kids! 18 holes - through fairly dense woods. There are a couple of semi-challenging holes - only because of very narrow fairways. Unlike many beginner courses - this one is not in an open field where you are in constant danger of hitting other players.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a challenge - head to Mt Airy, Banklick, Idlewild, Monroe, or Gulley. Great place to take the whole family.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.