Cincinnati, OH
Winton Woods (Hamilton County Park) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Troll's Review

5+    10/3/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 25.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its one of Ohio oldest, so you can see what old school disc was like, back when people called it Frisbee Golf, before had we even had "disc" or fancy plastic

Its a family course, short and easy, stroller friendly, A great way to introduce the sport to, new, and younger players.

Its only takes about 40 minutes at most to play 18, good for lunch games
Cons: Its a county park, so it can get crowded
Rangers are aware of what disc golfers may carry, hide your beer! Have a park pass...

Its more of a rocky, concrete fairway, so its hard on pro and dx, plastics
Other Thoughts: This is where I lost my Disc virginity, I hit my first tree, and ace here, as well as to drive 300 ft. learned my hyzers and anys ... So be careful when challenging me at winton.

I do make certain trees mandatory to give a little challenge

Also its a great course try switching style, go forehand all day,(if ur rhbh)

Good for a putter only challange

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Winton Woods

5+    6/4/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok so time do Winton Woods. This course is for beginners. People looking to just have fun and get outside. For serious disc golfers, we just come here to try to get an ace. 2 holes are over 275 feet.
Good things about this course is if you are looking to get your first ace or hole in one this is the course. The baskets are nice 24-28 chains and catch the disc very well. So if you hit the chains good chance for the ace. I do bring all of my discs here and try for the ace. If you are older the course is not very large and is not hilly. But honestly if you are serious disc golfer you are going to be disc golfing at monroe, idlewild, banklick, osage disc golf courses.
Cons: There are a few cons to this course. First the tee pads are very rough and have cracks. Around all of the baskets are concrete and gravel. if you throw too hard then you will have your disc skip 20 feet passed the hole.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course for beginners. I love going to this course just to ace or work on midrance. If you get a new disc and need to see what it does without any risk of losing it this is that course. Other than that not much hear other than acing or if your a beginner trying to learn this awsome sport. By the way it does cost money to get in sometimes if they have someone there. It is 3 dollars per day and 10 dollars for the year to get to all hamilton county parks. I also have not night disc golfed this course but that would be fun and i think exhilirating. Enjoy this course if you go to it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for what it is.

2-4    5/26/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Pads - (See also Cons)
- Baskets - Nice baskets
- Perfect pitch and put course with a little bit of challenge
-Cleaned up - This place is in very good condition. Looks like it's mowed fairly regular although I only played two rounds on the same day.
Cons: Pads- Aren't pointing towards the baskets which makes it a little hard to tell sometimes where to go.

-Cement Under Baskets - Not on every hole but a few holes have it which can take a toll on some discs.

-Teesigns - They have something that tells the number but not the distances or placement

Distance - A few too many holes under 150 and none over 300

Glow Golf - They only run tourneys/events for this. We camped thinking that we could play glow because we camped which is not part of it. We didn't beg at the front but we called and asked to rent it and they said no.
Other Thoughts: For what this place is it's top of the line. If it had some good tee signs and the tees were pointing at the baskets I may rate it as a 3.5.

DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU WANT TO HAVE A TOUGH COURSE. This place is perfect to make you feel good about yourself after a nice long day at Idlewild.

We went with a group of 8 guys and played 2 rounds in 2 hours. First round half of us finished and the second round we did only ace race rules.

This is the perfect Starter course, that will make a good rec player have a run at every hole as an ace. I played with a zone, ion and a Roc3 and had almost every shot needed for this place.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

How Lo Can You Go?

5+    3/21/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 150  Reviewed: 121  Exp: 2.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Casual and Rec players will really enjoy this relatively short 18 hole course tucked into a large wooded county park on the north side of Cincinnati.
Competitive Rec players shoot under 50 on this course, which can definitely be an ego boost. Higher level players definitely consider this one a 'pitch and putt', or play the whole way for aces (only two holes are longer than 240', and none reach 300').
There is an annual New Years' Day Tournament held here.
Asphalt tees and adequate baskets loop for a front and back nine of tree-lined fairways with definite right, straight, and left-hand bends (in that order of prevalence).
This course doesn't really have a 'signature hole', though the tiny (90') ace run #11 tucked just behind a pair of trees (aimed right at the 12th tee!) is 'memorable'
Cons: Aside from the shelter across the driveway from #4 basket and a couple of nearby fields, this section of the park has limited amenities for non-players.
The fairways can get really muddy in rainy season, and the old asphalt can get slick.
Other Thoughts: Hamilton county park passes are $3/day, but only $10/year with coupons and access to all the parks, including several area DG courses.
As with other county park courses, the easiness of this course adds to the casual player popularity (and thence crowdedness).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Lunch break Special

5+    9/1/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: Stizall
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two poelpe can play this course in 30 mins. I work right down the road and can get there play a round with an associate and still get back to work in under an hour. Great begginer course or just to lossen up
Cons: Way too many shots to the right. understable discs and side arm throwers a must!
Other Thoughts: Very Easy to navigate and low risk of losing any discs

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wonton Woods

1    9/27/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 60  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although it is very short, there is a bright side to this course. The asphalt tees are pretty nice, keeping you balanced as you through your disc. The park is perfect for a disc golf course. The people who made it knew hoe to utilize thier surroundings. The trees are in the perfect spots for sweet shots. It never has a tree to where it is impossible to throw. There are just enough for it to be great. The layout is very easy to follow, as one hole is right after another. You wont have to search around the whole time for the next hole. It is very quick and very easy. This is for sure not a pro caliber course what so ever. But, it is still fun to bring the family out and play a quick round in under an hour. There are many ace holes. Not many courses have as many ace holes as this one. This is also a very great beginner course. So if you are trying to get a friend or someone into disc golf, then this is for sure, without a doubt the place to go.
Cons: This is super short. You dont even need a driver to play at this course, but on a couple of holes. The signs at the tee were to no use at all. All they said was what the hole number was, not even where it was located or what the distance was. Some of the baskets are starting to get rusty and starting to tear apart. A good paint job could help that. It is very crowded. Sometimes you have to look over your heads while throwing to watch out for flying discs. There really is no elevation change. You pretty much stay flat the hole time and never go up nor down a hill. Sometimes the tee pad is facing the wrong way, and towards the wrong basket. Always watch out for that. On some of the fairways there are just random limbs sticking out, so at all times be aware of that.
Other Thoughts: Like i already stated in my title it was better than i had expected. I had expected to come to a very bad and uneven course, but i was for sure proven wrong. It is for sure a top course in Cincinnati. If you want a quick little course, then this is the place for you to go. When i came there were no people waiting for you to pay. There really wasn't even a spot for someone to pay. I dont think that this is a pay to play course. I know that i for sure didn't have to pay, and i dont think that anyone else will have to. If you are from some where far away and you are visiting Cincinnati for a day or two, i would for sure recommend playing this underrated course. So have fun and good luck.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Winton Woods

5+    7/16/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice short course. Plenty of ace chances. All holes are deuce-able, which makes good practice for your short game. Almost all holes are through wooded areas. Making for some tight fairways, and trees that force you to make some so technical decisions in the round. Flow is laid out very well, making it easy to move from hole to hole even on the first time playing through. Nice concrete tee pads. Good fun course. Great for casual rounds to play though several times.
Cons: Over the 7+ years I have been playing the course has lost a lot of trees to being hit repeatedly and dying. Also lots of gravel has been laid down from being played so much which can tear up discs if you use cheaper plastics. Course can be crowded and can be full of hooligans. Baskets get torn up because of the hooligans. The course used to have tee signs on the ground but where replaced with tee signs that no longer have the hole mapped on it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where is all starts

5+    6/11/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great place to have your first game.

-Great place to learn how to take shots through trees.
Cons: -Too easy for anyone thats not a complete beginner. You can make it harder by playing everything as 3, but its still easy to shoot under.

-Very crowded in the after noon.
Other Thoughts: This place is still worth playing. Its close to my house so I go here often when I don't feel liking driving too far to play. This place will make you feel like a pro.

Nice place to relax when people aren't breathing down your neck (which is rare).

They host a few glow disc events in the summer. I was at the one on May 24th. They are having one on June 5th, and July 3rd too.. This place is a blast to play in the dark! Much more difficult when you can't see the trees.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.