Cincinnati, OH 
Winton Woods Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
4 / 145ft.   3 / 145ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Hone your upshots on a historic course

5+    1/22/2017   1/24/2017
Review By: onthemile
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Accessible. Whether you've been playing disc golf for a few days or a few decades, you'll appreciate the hassle free nature of Winton. Mostly flat, minimal thorns, and only a few chances for a lost disc.
+ Quick. While some courses in the area ask you to set aside 2-3 hours for one round, you can probably play 5 laps at Winton in that amount of time.
+ Historic. Winton is Steady Ed original and one of the oldest courses in Ohio. Play the course just once and you can really gain an appreciation for the how far the sport has come.
+ Fun! I think of this course the way a pro golfer might think of a casual putt-putt outing. No windmills though. I always leave Winton thinking I'm much better than I really am.
Cons:
- Simple. I would never go so far to say this course is boring, but you may want to pass if you are looking for a serious challenge.
- Crowded. Some days are better than others. Stop by on a summer evening and you'll stand in line on every hole.
- Muddy. Always. The course gets so much traffic that some of the fairways are just one long drainage ditch. Bring an extra towel and watch your step.
- Repetitive. There's 8 or 9 holes here that play the same. The design does a good job spreading these out and punctuating them with more unique lines.
- Tattered. Some tees are nearly washed away and the baskets need some TLC. Buy an annual pass if you get the chance and know that your money might eventually go toward some much needed improvements.
Other Thoughts:
As others have advised, don't skip a chance to play Winton Woods just because you've heard how basic it is. If you give it a chance, I promise you'll be back for more.

Be advised that the course is very much geared to casual and first-time players. In the two years I've been playing here I've seen middle school gym classes, church youth groups, large families, etc out on the course. Be courteous and show these future pros that disc golf is a patient game for dignified individuals.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Billy Boys Review

5+    1/1/2017   1/4/2017
Review By: BillyBoy
Played: 95  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners to learn on, and for experienced players to practice on. This original Steady Ed design helps new players learn different types of throws and lets them focus on accuracy more than power. For the advanced player; think of it as a great practice course. Each hole has multiple approaches, can be easily birdied and even aced, but if you miss the ace you may trade your birdie for a par or worse. Think of it as a nice technical course without having to bother with drives. Play a day here and your short game will improve for sure.
This is a busy course so plan on meeting new people of all levels of play, yet, amazingly, you can finish a round in 20 - 40 minutes. The course flows very easily so you don't need to worry about finding your way. There is plenty of safe parking, bathrooms, and water at #1, #9, & #18. There is a practice field for drives next to the parking lot, but there is no practice basket for putting. The basket for #9, however, serves well for putting practice if the course is not too busy. The flora and fauna is as beautiful and divers as any course in the region, If you are there first thing in the morning, you may even see herds of wild turkey.
Cons: The Tee pads are pretty broken up in places and the signage has long since worn to unreadable, though you really don't need the signage to play. The baskets are old and broken in places, but somebody does make repairs as needed from time to time. The baskets are set in asphalt circles that can damage you discs, so plan on some wear. There are some pretty nasty thorns around so be careful if you end up in the rough. Not much poison ivy or poison oak to worry about, but it is there. While this course does play fast and easy, allowing you to play many rounds in a day, the tee pads are often right next to the previous basket. So, if you are playing on a pretty weekend afternoon, plan on spending some time waiting on other players.
Other Thoughts: There is a $3 per day parking fee ($10 per year).

For the beginner:
This is the place to start! Don't be shy about asking for pointers from the more advanced players, either. Most people here are happy to help.

For the advanced players:
Don't turn your nose up at this course right off. Play a few rounds. I'm sure you'll find it far more enjoyable than you had expected at first glance.

For everybody:
If you have some time, explore the rest of the park. Winton Woods is huge and has a lot to offer.

It should be noted that many trees had to be removed over the last couple years leaving the course more open than before, and many of the pictures out dated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

1    7/24/2014   7/25/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Quick play through with a nice flow
+ Beginning, middle, and ending at the same place
+ Woods that are not too thick
+ Plenty of parking right next to the course
+ Lots of ace potential
Cons: - Lot of baskets too close to the next tee
- Tee pads are also showing some age but not too slick
- Cement surrounded baskets
- No distances indicated
- Pretty busy
Other Thoughts: There are no waste baskets, but since there is a restroom at the middle point I feel this does not matter. The course is very clean. I had fun here and can't wait to play it again in the fall. The 12th hole is a beaut and certainly my favorite. Won't need a big driver here, just some finesse. Definitely a good course for anyone starting out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    6/17/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: robertpaulschehr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an easy course but always fun, It is simple to follow the holes since the paths are just for the disc golf. You can play 18 in under an hour with a group.
Cons: The disc catcher location plate at tee have been covered by sign for hole number. Often have to wait to play winton woods is popular. A good number of trees were cleared making the course easier.
Other Thoughts: Great place to start playing

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Stroll

5+    2/11/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: morgantobin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course can be played in about a half hour for a small group.
Not a lot of trees/obstacles on the fairway.
Cons: Course is very muddy when it rains.
Tees and signs are in need of updating.
Other Thoughts: Course grounds are fairly well maintained and track is easy to follow.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's not the size that matters.......right?

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 152  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 14.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: High fun factor
Great for beginners
Very nice Park
Well taken care of
Mowed and trash free
Really Generous Pars
Cons: Not a Challenge
Short
Crowded
Really Generous Pars
Other Thoughts: If you would have described this course to me to before I went I probably would have skipped it but I'm glad I went, I had a good time.

I'm not even close to being a great player, I consider myself slightly above average. But I shot a -20 here (way above my normal score) going by the listed pars (which are extremely generous) I even got a deuce on a par 5 which has never happened or I doubt will ever happen again. An advanced player may want to skip this one

However the fun factor here is very high. I'm not sure I can do a good job of explaining why but it's just a fun little park with a lot of really nice well designed holes. You can tell by how crowded it is that people really seem to like it

Bring your girlfriend, your family, or introduce a friend to Disc Golf on this course. It's a great one to learn the game on. And once you gain the skills to out grow this place, move to to some bigger ones. Cincinnati is loaded with great courses.

I would recommend this course for casual players, children or people just starting out. I wouldn't advise it if your looking for a challenge and I wouldn't drive to far to get to this one (I did but I'm not normal)

But it is fun

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Where it all began

5+    5/26/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you need to get in a quick round before work, on lunch break, or after work with some friends this is the place. If it isn't crowded you can get in a full round in about 15 mins....yea...literally you can play this entire course in a mild hurry in about 15mins.

The course plays well in the rain. There is enough gravel down and those horrid paved rings under the basket to allow you to play this in a pouring rain and not be too muddy. The course is a Steady Ed course and makes the absolute most out of being so short. Designed back in the day for lids...it can still challenge you in a putter only round with pin placements around trees.

This is the most ideal course on the planet to take a buddy or girlfriend and introduce them to the game of disc golf without them feeling blown away by the course.
Cons: This course is VERY popular and on weekends you will get to the course and see 8-10 person groups, 3 deep....on every hole. The baskets are old but not near as bad as some older parks. There are only two holes where you can rip a mid range...the rest of the time you are putter, putter, putter.

Recently the parks decided that honeysuckle wasn't an indigenous plant and almost murdered the course in its removal. The course went from challenging to almost wide open over night. There are still many well placed trees but it got very easy...which was a hit with the beginner crowd..

The tiny asphalt teepads that buckle in some places are dangerous if you do an xstep and drag your feet. The asphalt rings around the bottom of the baskets can cause a great shot to skip way past the basket.

The crowds can get overwhelming at times and you may have newbies throwing in on you because they didn't see you, they didn't think they could get that Boss out that 165 feet to the pin and 'got a hold of one'. Some teepads are really close to the previous pin and you must watch where the disc is coming from.
Other Thoughts: For many in the Cincinnati area...this is where it all began. Most here played for their first time at Winton Woods and judge all their development according to their rounds at Winton Woods. As they progress they go back and play a round at Winton and see how they are coming along.

I know several people that will get beat up in a tournament and travel back to Winton Woods and play a few rounds to get back into their 'Happy Place'. It is said by many...this is hollowed ground.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/12/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: one5one3
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very quick and easy. It is great to learn how to play on, or to take someone that has never played before. You can spend 2 hours here and play 3 or more times. There is a small variety in the holes...on some holes you get a straight shot to the basket, and on others you will have to work your way around a bunch of trees to get it in.
Cons: This course is really popular due to the facts that it is the midde of everything, and that it's so easy to play, so the traffic here can get ridiculous at times. This course is not very challeging if you have been playing for longer than a month.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played, so i'll always love it. I've played it hundreds of times, and will probably play it hundreds more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: tima820
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good variety of shots and trees to play around, good chance at an ace
Cons: concrete around holes scuffs discs. lots of slow traffic and big group.
Other Thoughts: it is easy to shoot well under par here which most think as bad but your really playing against others not just the par. as in a lot of golf courses some players can shoot well under par on some but its hard to hold at even on others.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick short and sweet.

5+    7/20/2008   2/10/2009
Review By: eck_03
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of woods and meadows with tree overhang for summer playing without the sunburn.
Quick holes that are great for beginners or people looking to work on their short game.
The holes are fairly maintained and there is enough drainage that the course is playable right after a rain.
Cons: The holes may be too short for some.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for introducing a date to the sport... you should be able to show off a little here without seeming like a d*ck. Play a round (or two, the course is short enough), eat dinner at a restaurant nearby, then go see a movie.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.