Cincinnati, OH 
Winton Woods Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
5 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Winton Woods DGC

5+    9/14/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Quick Rounds
- Good short game practice
- Great for Beginners
Cons: - Course needs update/remodel
- Can get crowded
Other Thoughts: This course has it's downfalls. It is not in its best shape, it definitely needs to be fixed and updated. Fact of the matter is that this course is a great learning course. Want a harder course? look at the course map and go to one. This course is best used for working on Fairway - Putting, you will not be driving unless you're new to disc golf. Go play this course. It's a classic and great practice for the most underrated part of disc golf, short game

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finish in an Hour

1    11/10/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A creative and well balanced practice course. Tough enough to work on your game, but easy enough for beginners.
Cons: Very short holes. The longest hole is maybe 290 ft.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this 18 hole wood course, its easy to navigate, reminded me of a shorter, easier Huston Woods. Many Ace worthy holes here too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Game

5+    10/5/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: evilduck
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to iron out the kinks in your midrange to approach game. Almost every hole is reachable with a good drive, but I have seen expert players put dents in trees. Good chance to focus off the tee and pick your line. Forgiving in the fact that even a short drive can be saved by a good approach shot. If you are a RHBH player, you will need to hook your shots, or learn to throw either overhand or sidearm.
This course can be frustrating because it seems like it should be easy, but it can frustrate someone who knows how to play.
Cons: It is a short course. It gets very slick and muddy with just a little rain. And, as others have said, it is a popular course. If you ONLY play here, you will not develop your distance game.
Other Thoughts: I like this course because it teases you. The pins are tantalizingly close, but the Woods of Winton can still swallow your touch shot. Not an All-Star course, but definitely one that is convenient to play, and easy to fit in a casual round.
--> Over this past winter, several trees have been taken down, which changes the way to play those holes. Specifically, #2 is opened up, and #3 the woods have been cut back a ways.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just a Fun course!

2-4    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Asphalt tees and asphalt around the baskets.
Very good flow, can't get lost.
Lots of trees and pretty clean underbrush.
Plenty of parking.
Can play a quick round.
Cons: Short but that's ok.
Too many holes flow to the right how about some going left! I think there is only one.
Other Thoughts: Great short course, a lot of fun. It is good for beginners and the experienced. I liked the flow, first time had no problem following the course. The more you play this course the more fun it gets. You can try out shots you would never try otherwise. Very low frustration factor!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 technical and great for the short game

5+    1/16/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to improve your short game. You can quickly play a round (If alone, within 30 minutes). Concrete tee pads and hole nos. are marked on the tee pad as well as the basket. Restrooms are close to tee no. 1. Trash cans spread throughout. The holes can be challenging and very interesting. You can explore your short game/discs or master your one mid range. There are some longer tunnel shots to challenge your accuracy from a distance, but most holes challenge your disc selection and form. Can be technical and tight at times. Take a bag full of mids or just grab a couple mids and a putter and run a round.
Cons: Tee pads are very small. Tee pads are close to the previous basket. No tee signs. I hear there's a lot of traffic here during the "warm season". I can see this course backing up w/ lots of traffic.
Other Thoughts: While it's a short course, I will not "ding" it for that. These types of course are needed (and this course was built in the 80's when trash can tops were used as discs). I loved playing this course today and wish I had the time to play it a few more time through. I'll certainly be back because I had fun here.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 What else can be said?

5+    9/4/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: CasualBrellow
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a casual player this course is the best in the area. There are enough trees in the way that making a sweet shot can make you feel pretty great but not so difficult that you would get discouraged. Its gently wooded, it has a very open but still enclosed feeling.

Some people have complained that the course is much too short. But playing for fun its easy to set up a tiebreaker match after you play it through or even go for a second or third game.

Hole 12: This is a long and straight shot that parallels a semi-steep hill to the left and the hole way down to the basket is a row of trees right in the center of your way. After playing the course a few times it really gets the fun level up in a game because a bad throw can send your disc rolling pretty far downhill and put the pressure on.
Cons: It can get pretty crowded in the afternoons and definitely on the weekends. However, that could easily be read as it being worth lots of people coming to.

It's not as technically difficult as some would like it to be. Those that enjoy a challenge should make up their own pars or come here to play more for the fun of it.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since I was young enough to think that frisbee golf was played with regular "frisbees" and hadn't known we needed something a little stronger. I hit a tree throwing a frisbee as hard as I could and it shattered into many many pieces.

Its worth playing at least once regardless.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Loca Hot Spot

5+    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: metthem
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 31.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Location is very good, plenty of things to do in and around this park. Course is old but still good as ever. It is a short course, but it's still cool, some go right, some go left, and if you go left on hole 12, you will pay the price and go down the hill. Plus they still have the puffer spot before hole 12......Don't be alarmed if you are teeing off for hole 12 and people pop up behind you, they will wait, they just got done puffin.
Cons: Gets very crowded, go early or on a weekday before people get off work.
Other Thoughts: this place definately is hollowed ground for the locals, come on out, bring the pipe and enjoy!!!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old days

5+    10/25/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: fairmike9
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 30.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good flow from hole to hole. Can either start on front or back nine. Good practice on wide range of shots.
Cons: At this point it has been to cleared out makes it way to easy.
Other Thoughts: For anybody who rips this course if you could have played it 20 years ago you would have been impressed. It was an extremely hard course for the equipment you had to use. Had an old 150 gram professional frisbee big black one....hahaha. Play that course with one of those and you get a far better appreciation of what you had to do.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.