Cincinnati, OH 
Winton Woods Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 175ft.   3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Nice Little Course

1    7/24/2014   7/25/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Quick play through with a nice flow
+ Beginning, middle, and ending at the same place
+ Woods that are not too thick
+ Plenty of parking right next to the course
+ Lots of ace potential
Cons: - Lot of baskets too close to the next tee
- Tee pads are also showing some age but not too slick
- Cement surrounded baskets
- No distances indicated
- Pretty busy
Other Thoughts: There are no waste baskets, but since there is a restroom at the middle point I feel this does not matter. The course is very clean. I had fun here and can't wait to play it again in the fall. The 12th hole is a beaut and certainly my favorite. Won't need a big driver here, just some finesse. Definitely a good course for anyone starting out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Winton Woods DGC

5+    9/14/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Quick Rounds
- Good short game practice
- Great for Beginners
Cons: - Course needs update/remodel
- Can get crowded
Other Thoughts: This course has it's downfalls. It is not in its best shape, it definitely needs to be fixed and updated. Fact of the matter is that this course is a great learning course. Want a harder course? look at the course map and go to one. This course is best used for working on Fairway - Putting, you will not be driving unless you're new to disc golf. Go play this course. It's a classic and great practice for the most underrated part of disc golf, short game

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    10/3/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its one of Ohio oldest, so you can see what old school disc was like, back when people called it Frisbee Golf, before had we even had "disc" or fancy plastic

Its a family course, short and easy, stroller friendly, A great way to introduce the sport to, new, and younger players.

Its only takes about 40 minutes at most to play 18, good for lunch games
Cons: Its a county park, so it can get crowded
Rangers are aware of what disc golfers may carry, hide your beer! Have a park pass...

Its more of a rocky, concrete fairway, so its hard on pro and dx, plastics
Other Thoughts: This is where I lost my Disc virginity, I hit my first tree, and ace here, as well as to drive 300 ft. learned my hyzers and anys ... So be careful when challenging me at winton.

I do make certain trees mandatory to give a little challenge

Also its a great course try switching style, go forehand all day,(if ur rhbh)

Good for a putter only challange

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Winton Woods

5+    6/4/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok so time do Winton Woods. This course is for beginners. People looking to just have fun and get outside. For serious disc golfers, we just come here to try to get an ace. 2 holes are over 275 feet.
Good things about this course is if you are looking to get your first ace or hole in one this is the course. The baskets are nice 24-28 chains and catch the disc very well. So if you hit the chains good chance for the ace. I do bring all of my discs here and try for the ace. If you are older the course is not very large and is not hilly. But honestly if you are serious disc golfer you are going to be disc golfing at monroe, idlewild, banklick, osage disc golf courses.
Cons: There are a few cons to this course. First the tee pads are very rough and have cracks. Around all of the baskets are concrete and gravel. if you throw too hard then you will have your disc skip 20 feet passed the hole.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course for beginners. I love going to this course just to ace or work on midrance. If you get a new disc and need to see what it does without any risk of losing it this is that course. Other than that not much hear other than acing or if your a beginner trying to learn this awsome sport. By the way it does cost money to get in sometimes if they have someone there. It is 3 dollars per day and 10 dollars for the year to get to all hamilton county parks. I also have not night disc golfed this course but that would be fun and i think exhilirating. Enjoy this course if you go to it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for what it is.

2-4    5/26/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Pads - (See also Cons)
- Baskets - Nice baskets
- Perfect pitch and put course with a little bit of challenge
-Cleaned up - This place is in very good condition. Looks like it's mowed fairly regular although I only played two rounds on the same day.
Cons: Pads- Aren't pointing towards the baskets which makes it a little hard to tell sometimes where to go.

-Cement Under Baskets - Not on every hole but a few holes have it which can take a toll on some discs.

-Teesigns - They have something that tells the number but not the distances or placement

Distance - A few too many holes under 150 and none over 300

Glow Golf - They only run tourneys/events for this. We camped thinking that we could play glow because we camped which is not part of it. We didn't beg at the front but we called and asked to rent it and they said no.
Other Thoughts: For what this place is it's top of the line. If it had some good tee signs and the tees were pointing at the baskets I may rate it as a 3.5.

DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU WANT TO HAVE A TOUGH COURSE. This place is perfect to make you feel good about yourself after a nice long day at Idlewild.

We went with a group of 8 guys and played 2 rounds in 2 hours. First round half of us finished and the second round we did only ace race rules.

This is the perfect Starter course, that will make a good rec player have a run at every hole as an ace. I played with a zone, ion and a Roc3 and had almost every shot needed for this place.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Finish in an Hour

1    11/10/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A creative and well balanced practice course. Tough enough to work on your game, but easy enough for beginners.
Cons: Very short holes. The longest hole is maybe 290 ft.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this 18 hole wood course, its easy to navigate, reminded me of a shorter, easier Huston Woods. Many Ace worthy holes here too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginner course only

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2013
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Played one time and really not worth the effort!!
Cons: Could not list them all because it was just a bad experience. Others say it is a nice course so maybe I will give you that but with the land available why not spread it out a bit!!
Other Thoughts: Watch out for high speed discs coming from the tee behind you. Almost hit us as chuckers throw nukes at 150FT Holes!!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    6/17/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: robertpaulschehr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an easy course but always fun, It is simple to follow the holes since the paths are just for the disc golf. You can play 18 in under an hour with a group.
Cons: The disc catcher location plate at tee have been covered by sign for hole number. Often have to wait to play winton woods is popular. A good number of trees were cleared making the course easier.
Other Thoughts: Great place to start playing

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 How Lo Can You Go?

5+    3/21/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Casual and Rec players will really enjoy this relatively short 18 hole course tucked into a large wooded county park on the north side of Cincinnati.
Competitive Rec players shoot under 50 on this course, which can definitely be an ego boost. Higher level players definitely consider this one a 'pitch and putt', or play the whole way for aces (only two holes are longer than 240', and none reach 300').
There is an annual New Years' Day Tournament held here.
Asphalt tees and adequate baskets loop for a front and back nine of tree-lined fairways with definite right, straight, and left-hand bends (in that order of prevalence).
This course doesn't really have a 'signature hole', though the tiny (90') ace run #11 tucked just behind a pair of trees (aimed right at the 12th tee!) is 'memorable'
Cons: Aside from the shelter across the driveway from #4 basket and a couple of nearby fields, this section of the park has limited amenities for non-players.
The fairways can get really muddy in rainy season, and the old asphalt can get slick.
Other Thoughts: Hamilton county park passes are $3/day, but only $10/year with coupons and access to all the parks, including several area DG courses.
As with other county park courses, the easiness of this course adds to the casual player popularity (and thence crowdedness).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Stroll

5+    2/11/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: morgantobin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course can be played in about a half hour for a small group.
Not a lot of trees/obstacles on the fairway.
Cons: Course is very muddy when it rains.
Tees and signs are in need of updating.
Other Thoughts: Course grounds are fairly well maintained and track is easy to follow.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.