Cincinnati, OH 
Winton Woods Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
5 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pleasant Stroll

5+    2/11/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: morgantobin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course can be played in about a half hour for a small group.
Not a lot of trees/obstacles on the fairway.
Cons: Course is very muddy when it rains.
Tees and signs are in need of updating.
Other Thoughts: Course grounds are fairly well maintained and track is easy to follow.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short Game

5+    10/5/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: evilduck
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to iron out the kinks in your midrange to approach game. Almost every hole is reachable with a good drive, but I have seen expert players put dents in trees. Good chance to focus off the tee and pick your line. Forgiving in the fact that even a short drive can be saved by a good approach shot. If you are a RHBH player, you will need to hook your shots, or learn to throw either overhand or sidearm.
This course can be frustrating because it seems like it should be easy, but it can frustrate someone who knows how to play.
Cons: It is a short course. It gets very slick and muddy with just a little rain. And, as others have said, it is a popular course. If you ONLY play here, you will not develop your distance game.
Other Thoughts: I like this course because it teases you. The pins are tantalizingly close, but the Woods of Winton can still swallow your touch shot. Not an All-Star course, but definitely one that is convenient to play, and easy to fit in a casual round.
--> Over this past winter, several trees have been taken down, which changes the way to play those holes. Specifically, #2 is opened up, and #3 the woods have been cut back a ways.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Lunch break Special

5+    9/1/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: Stizall
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two poelpe can play this course in 30 mins. I work right down the road and can get there play a round with an associate and still get back to work in under an hour. Great begginer course or just to lossen up
Cons: Way too many shots to the right. understable discs and side arm throwers a must!
Other Thoughts: Very Easy to navigate and low risk of losing any discs

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just a Fun course!

2-4    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Asphalt tees and asphalt around the baskets.
Very good flow, can't get lost.
Lots of trees and pretty clean underbrush.
Plenty of parking.
Can play a quick round.
Cons: Short but that's ok.
Too many holes flow to the right how about some going left! I think there is only one.
Other Thoughts: Great short course, a lot of fun. It is good for beginners and the experienced. I liked the flow, first time had no problem following the course. The more you play this course the more fun it gets. You can try out shots you would never try otherwise. Very low frustration factor!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: chainsmoker513
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course if good for anyone, great beginners course and if you want some practice this place is perfect. All of the holes here are ace potential. Pretty good condition and well kept for a course played as much as this one. There are a few trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: They have very generous pars, even for beginners. i personally play every hole on the course a par 3.
The tee boxes are alright, it would be nice if they did some work on them. very crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoy playing this course, it is a very short but fun place to play, Typically the bigger groups and families will let smaller faster groups play through. They could use a few updates on the tee boxes and signs but other than that it's great. I always try to find the time to play a few times a week and Winton Woods is one of the spots i enjoy playing. Even if you have heard negative feedback from this course you really have to try it out for yourself to see that it has a great fun-factor and maybe get a few aces!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Fav

5+    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a short and beginner focused course but its loads of fun to play. The course is flat and very wooded. The holes are short but provide fun challenges with use of wooded obstacles.
Cons: Very short course, very crowded on the weekends

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 technical and great for the short game

5+    1/16/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to improve your short game. You can quickly play a round (If alone, within 30 minutes). Concrete tee pads and hole nos. are marked on the tee pad as well as the basket. Restrooms are close to tee no. 1. Trash cans spread throughout. The holes can be challenging and very interesting. You can explore your short game/discs or master your one mid range. There are some longer tunnel shots to challenge your accuracy from a distance, but most holes challenge your disc selection and form. Can be technical and tight at times. Take a bag full of mids or just grab a couple mids and a putter and run a round.
Cons: Tee pads are very small. Tee pads are close to the previous basket. No tee signs. I hear there's a lot of traffic here during the "warm season". I can see this course backing up w/ lots of traffic.
Other Thoughts: While it's a short course, I will not "ding" it for that. These types of course are needed (and this course was built in the 80's when trash can tops were used as discs). I loved playing this course today and wish I had the time to play it a few more time through. I'll certainly be back because I had fun here.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 It's not the size that matters.......right?

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: High fun factor
Great for beginners
Very nice Park
Well taken care of
Mowed and trash free
Really Generous Pars
Cons: Not a Challenge
Short
Crowded
Really Generous Pars
Other Thoughts: If you would have described this course to me to before I went I probably would have skipped it but I'm glad I went, I had a good time.

I'm not even close to being a great player, I consider myself slightly above average. But I shot a -20 here (way above my normal score) going by the listed pars (which are extremely generous) I even got a deuce on a par 5 which has never happened or I doubt will ever happen again. An advanced player may want to skip this one

However the fun factor here is very high. I'm not sure I can do a good job of explaining why but it's just a fun little park with a lot of really nice well designed holes. You can tell by how crowded it is that people really seem to like it

Bring your girlfriend, your family, or introduce a friend to Disc Golf on this course. It's a great one to learn the game on. And once you gain the skills to out grow this place, move to to some bigger ones. Cincinnati is loaded with great courses.

I would recommend this course for casual players, children or people just starting out. I wouldn't advise it if your looking for a challenge and I wouldn't drive to far to get to this one (I did but I'm not normal)

But it is fun

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wonton Woods

1    9/27/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although it is very short, there is a bright side to this course. The asphalt tees are pretty nice, keeping you balanced as you through your disc. The park is perfect for a disc golf course. The people who made it knew hoe to utilize thier surroundings. The trees are in the perfect spots for sweet shots. It never has a tree to where it is impossible to throw. There are just enough for it to be great. The layout is very easy to follow, as one hole is right after another. You wont have to search around the whole time for the next hole. It is very quick and very easy. This is for sure not a pro caliber course what so ever. But, it is still fun to bring the family out and play a quick round in under an hour. There are many ace holes. Not many courses have as many ace holes as this one. This is also a very great beginner course. So if you are trying to get a friend or someone into disc golf, then this is for sure, without a doubt the place to go.
Cons: This is super short. You dont even need a driver to play at this course, but on a couple of holes. The signs at the tee were to no use at all. All they said was what the hole number was, not even where it was located or what the distance was. Some of the baskets are starting to get rusty and starting to tear apart. A good paint job could help that. It is very crowded. Sometimes you have to look over your heads while throwing to watch out for flying discs. There really is no elevation change. You pretty much stay flat the hole time and never go up nor down a hill. Sometimes the tee pad is facing the wrong way, and towards the wrong basket. Always watch out for that. On some of the fairways there are just random limbs sticking out, so at all times be aware of that.
Other Thoughts: Like i already stated in my title it was better than i had expected. I had expected to come to a very bad and uneven course, but i was for sure proven wrong. It is for sure a top course in Cincinnati. If you want a quick little course, then this is the place for you to go. When i came there were no people waiting for you to pay. There really wasn't even a spot for someone to pay. I dont think that this is a pay to play course. I know that i for sure didn't have to pay, and i dont think that anyone else will have to. If you are from some where far away and you are visiting Cincinnati for a day or two, i would for sure recommend playing this underrated course. So have fun and good luck.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What else can be said?

5+    9/4/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: CasualBrellow
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a casual player this course is the best in the area. There are enough trees in the way that making a sweet shot can make you feel pretty great but not so difficult that you would get discouraged. Its gently wooded, it has a very open but still enclosed feeling.

Some people have complained that the course is much too short. But playing for fun its easy to set up a tiebreaker match after you play it through or even go for a second or third game.

Hole 12: This is a long and straight shot that parallels a semi-steep hill to the left and the hole way down to the basket is a row of trees right in the center of your way. After playing the course a few times it really gets the fun level up in a game because a bad throw can send your disc rolling pretty far downhill and put the pressure on.
Cons: It can get pretty crowded in the afternoons and definitely on the weekends. However, that could easily be read as it being worth lots of people coming to.

It's not as technically difficult as some would like it to be. Those that enjoy a challenge should make up their own pars or come here to play more for the fun of it.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since I was young enough to think that frisbee golf was played with regular "frisbees" and hadn't known we needed something a little stronger. I hit a tree throwing a frisbee as hard as I could and it shattered into many many pieces.

Its worth playing at least once regardless.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.