Cincinnati, OH 
Winton Woods Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
5 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Wonton Woods

1    9/27/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 66  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although it is very short, there is a bright side to this course. The asphalt tees are pretty nice, keeping you balanced as you through your disc. The park is perfect for a disc golf course. The people who made it knew hoe to utilize thier surroundings. The trees are in the perfect spots for sweet shots. It never has a tree to where it is impossible to throw. There are just enough for it to be great. The layout is very easy to follow, as one hole is right after another. You wont have to search around the whole time for the next hole. It is very quick and very easy. This is for sure not a pro caliber course what so ever. But, it is still fun to bring the family out and play a quick round in under an hour. There are many ace holes. Not many courses have as many ace holes as this one. This is also a very great beginner course. So if you are trying to get a friend or someone into disc golf, then this is for sure, without a doubt the place to go.
Cons: This is super short. You dont even need a driver to play at this course, but on a couple of holes. The signs at the tee were to no use at all. All they said was what the hole number was, not even where it was located or what the distance was. Some of the baskets are starting to get rusty and starting to tear apart. A good paint job could help that. It is very crowded. Sometimes you have to look over your heads while throwing to watch out for flying discs. There really is no elevation change. You pretty much stay flat the hole time and never go up nor down a hill. Sometimes the tee pad is facing the wrong way, and towards the wrong basket. Always watch out for that. On some of the fairways there are just random limbs sticking out, so at all times be aware of that.
Other Thoughts: Like i already stated in my title it was better than i had expected. I had expected to come to a very bad and uneven course, but i was for sure proven wrong. It is for sure a top course in Cincinnati. If you want a quick little course, then this is the place for you to go. When i came there were no people waiting for you to pay. There really wasn't even a spot for someone to pay. I dont think that this is a pay to play course. I know that i for sure didn't have to pay, and i dont think that anyone else will have to. If you are from some where far away and you are visiting Cincinnati for a day or two, i would for sure recommend playing this underrated course. So have fun and good luck.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What else can be said?

5+    9/4/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: CasualBrellow
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a casual player this course is the best in the area. There are enough trees in the way that making a sweet shot can make you feel pretty great but not so difficult that you would get discouraged. Its gently wooded, it has a very open but still enclosed feeling.

Some people have complained that the course is much too short. But playing for fun its easy to set up a tiebreaker match after you play it through or even go for a second or third game.

Hole 12: This is a long and straight shot that parallels a semi-steep hill to the left and the hole way down to the basket is a row of trees right in the center of your way. After playing the course a few times it really gets the fun level up in a game because a bad throw can send your disc rolling pretty far downhill and put the pressure on.
Cons: It can get pretty crowded in the afternoons and definitely on the weekends. However, that could easily be read as it being worth lots of people coming to.

It's not as technically difficult as some would like it to be. Those that enjoy a challenge should make up their own pars or come here to play more for the fun of it.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since I was young enough to think that frisbee golf was played with regular "frisbees" and hadn't known we needed something a little stronger. I hit a tree throwing a frisbee as hard as I could and it shattered into many many pieces.

Its worth playing at least once regardless.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Loca Hot Spot

5+    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: metthem
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Location is very good, plenty of things to do in and around this park. Course is old but still good as ever. It is a short course, but it's still cool, some go right, some go left, and if you go left on hole 12, you will pay the price and go down the hill. Plus they still have the puffer spot before hole 12......Don't be alarmed if you are teeing off for hole 12 and people pop up behind you, they will wait, they just got done puffin.
Cons: Gets very crowded, go early or on a weekday before people get off work.
Other Thoughts: this place definately is hollowed ground for the locals, come on out, bring the pipe and enjoy!!!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Winton Woods

5+    7/16/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice short course. Plenty of ace chances. All holes are deuce-able, which makes good practice for your short game. Almost all holes are through wooded areas. Making for some tight fairways, and trees that force you to make some so technical decisions in the round. Flow is laid out very well, making it easy to move from hole to hole even on the first time playing through. Nice concrete tee pads. Good fun course. Great for casual rounds to play though several times.
Cons: Over the 7+ years I have been playing the course has lost a lot of trees to being hit repeatedly and dying. Also lots of gravel has been laid down from being played so much which can tear up discs if you use cheaper plastics. Course can be crowded and can be full of hooligans. Baskets get torn up because of the hooligans. The course used to have tee signs on the ground but where replaced with tee signs that no longer have the hole mapped on it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Harmless

1    8/21/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: Kellermeyer14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Reasonably tight fairways. Doglegs. Obstacles. Logical layout (Tees right next to pins). Nice quiet area.
Cons: Short. Did I say, "Short?" I meant minirature. You only need a midrange and a putter, or just a putter. The pars for each hole are ridiculous. I think they just picked numbers out of a hat.
Other Thoughts: Good for kids or if you have kids. Otherwise don't waste your time.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  I Love This Course

5+    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: cincinnatidiscgolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: fun, good for short game, LOTS of aces
Ect.
Cons: nope
Other Thoughts: PLAY here!!
and also check out Sweetees disc golf dont even work there and still promoting it its off of mill
turn on to holiday DR. and it is a small 2 story building

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Where is all starts

5+    6/11/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great place to have your first game.

-Great place to learn how to take shots through trees.
Cons: -Too easy for anyone thats not a complete beginner. You can make it harder by playing everything as 3, but its still easy to shoot under.

-Very crowded in the after noon.
Other Thoughts: This place is still worth playing. Its close to my house so I go here often when I don't feel liking driving too far to play. This place will make you feel like a pro.

Nice place to relax when people aren't breathing down your neck (which is rare).

They host a few glow disc events in the summer. I was at the one on May 24th. They are having one on June 5th, and July 3rd too.. This place is a blast to play in the dark! Much more difficult when you can't see the trees.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where it all began

5+    5/26/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you need to get in a quick round before work, on lunch break, or after work with some friends this is the place. If it isn't crowded you can get in a full round in about 15 mins....yea...literally you can play this entire course in a mild hurry in about 15mins.

The course plays well in the rain. There is enough gravel down and those horrid paved rings under the basket to allow you to play this in a pouring rain and not be too muddy. The course is a Steady Ed course and makes the absolute most out of being so short. Designed back in the day for lids...it can still challenge you in a putter only round with pin placements around trees.

This is the most ideal course on the planet to take a buddy or girlfriend and introduce them to the game of disc golf without them feeling blown away by the course.
Cons: This course is VERY popular and on weekends you will get to the course and see 8-10 person groups, 3 deep....on every hole. The baskets are old but not near as bad as some older parks. There are only two holes where you can rip a mid range...the rest of the time you are putter, putter, putter.

Recently the parks decided that honeysuckle wasn't an indigenous plant and almost murdered the course in its removal. The course went from challenging to almost wide open over night. There are still many well placed trees but it got very easy...which was a hit with the beginner crowd..

The tiny asphalt teepads that buckle in some places are dangerous if you do an xstep and drag your feet. The asphalt rings around the bottom of the baskets can cause a great shot to skip way past the basket.

The crowds can get overwhelming at times and you may have newbies throwing in on you because they didn't see you, they didn't think they could get that Boss out that 165 feet to the pin and 'got a hold of one'. Some teepads are really close to the previous pin and you must watch where the disc is coming from.
Other Thoughts: For many in the Cincinnati area...this is where it all began. Most here played for their first time at Winton Woods and judge all their development according to their rounds at Winton Woods. As they progress they go back and play a round at Winton and see how they are coming along.

I know several people that will get beat up in a tournament and travel back to Winton Woods and play a few rounds to get back into their 'Happy Place'. It is said by many...this is hollowed ground.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/12/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: one5one3
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very quick and easy. It is great to learn how to play on, or to take someone that has never played before. You can spend 2 hours here and play 3 or more times. There is a small variety in the holes...on some holes you get a straight shot to the basket, and on others you will have to work your way around a bunch of trees to get it in.
Cons: This course is really popular due to the facts that it is the midde of everything, and that it's so easy to play, so the traffic here can get ridiculous at times. This course is not very challeging if you have been playing for longer than a month.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played, so i'll always love it. I've played it hundreds of times, and will probably play it hundreds more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: tima820
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good variety of shots and trees to play around, good chance at an ace
Cons: concrete around holes scuffs discs. lots of slow traffic and big group.
Other Thoughts: it is easy to shoot well under par here which most think as bad but your really playing against others not just the par. as in a lot of golf courses some players can shoot well under par on some but its hard to hold at even on others.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.