Williamsburg, OH 
Williamsburg Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
4 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The Burg

2-4    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course seems to have taken a beating in the past in reviews and for me that is not that relevant as I did not play it then. Right now this course is in great shape.
It has some decent concrete tees and some ok flymats in the woods.
It can make you feel good about your game and bad all withing a few holes. This is a fun course and with the extra TLC that it is getting lately is the reason I am giving it a 3.5. The effort definitely needs to be rewarded.
With a good combination of wooded and open holes this course can definitely challenge and intermediate player but is still ok for a semi beginning player. The park itself seems to be packed but the course is not overcrowded at all so you generally can move through the course rather quickly.
The last hole is a great place to air it out and i always like that about a course that you at least have one hole to let it rip.

Cons: Need new signage and can be a bit confusing if it is your first time playing.
Hole 15 is really unneeded but that is a personal thing because I don't like those short straight downhill shots. You could eliminate it and the course would still be a 3.5 in my book.
Going from 8 to 9 can be confusing. Nine is to the left up the path as you aproach the basket on 8. Also 15 to 16 can be tricky just go across the bridge and look for the next tee on the right.
Other Thoughts: This course is a definitely a fun one. We as a family travel 45 minutes to play it just because we enjoy it so much. Hopefully with a little more work and some new tee signs along with next tee sign you will see this course become a legitimate 3+ course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Looking Better

5+    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: alex513ninja
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's looking the best it has in a while. With an upcoming tournament, the locals have taken upon themselves to clean it up. Holes 7, 8, 16 & 17 have had a lot of the weeds cleared out. Weed eating has been done around baskets and also the fairways in the woods holes have been cleared. Although not a nuisance on those holes it makes the course look prettier. Pretty dry overall with just one puddle in 7 fairway to speak of. Dead trees removed in spots.
Cons: Although weeds have been cleared in spots, you can put one in the nasty stuff if you grip-lock your shot or get an unlucky bounce off a tree. If you make it into the tall stuff hopefully you are wearing pants or have skin of steel. Some people say they're nettles and some call the stuff stingweed, either way look out for the stuff because the stems are lined with stingers that leave skin burning and itchy for a few minutes after contact.
Other Thoughts: If you have been hesitant to play this course due to the upkeep, reviews or past bad experiences, now is the time to play the course. Also if you have a machete, you might want to carry it. I carry one on this course and have not had an issue with the nettles/stingweed when wearing shorts. Also the baskets on holes 1-6 and 18 are a little shoddy, putt gently or prepare to be angry, discs commonly go through the chains on these holes, however I view that as extra challenge on holes 1-4 as they are pretty easy wide open holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  First and last.

1    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: Cincyfan0591
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The cement tee pads are nice, I think that is the only thing going good for this course.
Cons: Seems like some holes are out of order.

4-5 foot tall weeds on some holes. Some regulars were playing before us and they lost 2 discs on one hole. I got out of the extreme weeds and had bumps all over my arms and legs.

Other Thoughts: This was my first and probably last time playing here unless someone cuts the grass and gets rid of a lot of the overgrown weeds.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Split Personality Fun

5+    4/13/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After Osage Grove, this is the nicest course in Clermont County, Ohio (East of Cincinnati).
W'burg's first 8 holes have concrete tee pads, as do the last 4 [edit: the other seven are now flypads!]. The tee markers are some of the best I've ever seen: a graphic representation of the hole stamped in durable (PVC?), with distances -and elevations!- clearly marked.

Williamsburg starts with open field shots which at least use the hill elevation, then runs alongside the woods & a small river/stream, ducking a few holes in that have to finish to the right. Then it has a long (535') 'lane' hole, and a pretty neat 8th hole that forces you to risk the ravine in front of the basket 281' away through the sparse trees, and the chance of going in the drink to the right.

The fun starts on hole 9 (Lower) and 9 (Higher) -I'll talk about that later--, where you go steeply uphill and 'into the woods', with an excellent variety of challenges up there, from a 90 degree left turn with a mando, to a short uphill ace run (if you can sneak past the obstructing trees), to a meadow 300 footer with a guarded basket at the end, and then to a tree nicknamed Karl who tries to swat down your effort to reach the basket, and the steepest drop shot in town, before you finally exit the woods on the 18th hole you play (…wait for details). You finish alongside and then across the outfield of the baseball diamond, where the big arms can stretch out and show 'em off a little.

So, a good mix of hole types, shots and distances, with a couple of chances at aces for everyone, and a couple that challenge even the Open players to deuce.

The park is usually uncrowded, has a nice kiddie playground, a picnic shelter, sand volleyball, restrooms, drinking fountain and pop machine, plus excellent hiking opportunities in through the woods, and near the river. Almost every tee has a bench, and trash cans are available. There is really little trash around, and the dedicated 'locals' do a great job of keeping the fairways clear, and the underbrush in check.
Cons: "The Drop" steep downhill NEEDS some stairs put in for safety. I've been told they're trying to get the local Boy Scouts to take that on as a project. I sometimes don't go up to play the hill shots when it's really slick, but this upgrade would likely get me up there then, as well. This rating will go up at least a half point with a safer way to get up & down the hill.

Some of the baskets are a little unforgiving/worn down: I've heard the phrase "You got 'burged" when my disc fell out.

Hole 8 is a disc devourer, depending on the level of the water to your right and the muddy ravine just before the basket.

Finally, the hole numbering is confusing (see below).
Other Thoughts: I've taken to naming the holes, and used to record them as 1-9L,9H,12-20 (which totals 19). Now that they are numbered on here 1-19, I just ignore it when the signs differ. I once nicknamed the holes to limit the confusion. The names are descriptive for rhbh throwers: 1 mando anny, 2 flag raising, 3 open slopin', 4 pathside, 5 lo branch, 6 woods entry, 7 the lane, 8 riverside, 9 (9L) pathside, 10 (9H) cross-hill bridge, 11 the hyzer, 12 shorty, 13 the meadow, 14 tree guards, 15 the drop, 16 creekside, 17 the return, 18 anny fields, & 19 big arm finish. Play here once, and see if you like these names.

There has been (idle) talk of adding holes to get to 21-24 or even 27. There are some ideas which could put a hole after #9L which would solve the numbering confusion for now.

Overall, this is a real great course when it's dry, and a 'diamond in the rough': well worth the trip from other parts of town!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a play

1    2/20/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woods holes are fair, never really felt like I was in a "spray and pray" situation. Many fun shots can be had here and I found the river running along several holes to only add to the nice scenery. It is possible to put it in the river, but it would take a pretty errant shot. When played the river seemed low, so this could change based on how deep it is running, not sure. Nonetheless, the only situation I can really see a disc hitting the river is an overthrow on an approach shot. Play cautious and you shouldn't have problems. Some holes have a creek in play but, again, adds to the scenery and challenge, shouldn't really be a disc loser if you throw it in. 14 and the steep downhill throw (16) were my favorite holes.

The new signage, which is on the majority of the tees, is really impressive. Good diagrams, hole length, elevation change, and look to be quite durable. If the course continues to improve and works on some of the cons below I could give this course a 3.5.

If you are a local or in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky region it is certainly worth the short drive to try it out.
Cons: A couple of the holes are difficult to find and only sometimes is the way to the next tee marked with a sign. Most holes have the newer signage mentioned above, but they lack pointers to the next tee direction. Some holes do not have these nice signs, the posts merely have a number and look like holdovers from before the upgrades. The numbers do not always match, for example one hole said "10" in the old signage on the post but the newer hole diagram on the top said it was 12. Many of the woods holes lack tee pads and can be quite muddy and slick. Looks like the course is still being remodeled so I am giving them the benefit of the doubt on these.

As others have said, the beginning of the course is pretty ho-hum. One isn't so bad thanks to a guarded basket, but things don't pick up from there until 5. After that the course is quite pleasant. The course favors straight and right-to-left shots, not quite the amount of variety I would like.
Other Thoughts: Two holes, 9 and 20, are marked as "9L" and "20L" on the new signage. Not sure if this stands for lower meaning there are alternate tee pads, but I could not see any.

Course is in a nice park, seems safe and has a basketball court, walking trails, baseball field, playground, volleyball court, and open field to mess around in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Day out

1    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: cambo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some open holes and lots of tight hilly holes also. A few possible ace holes also. Some water in play if rained recently.
Cons: No tee pads on many holes. Hole 14 is a cool hole going down steep hole but can be Treacherous. They need steps or something going down that hill. Maybe think twice on wet or snowy days.
Other Thoughts: Over all a good course. A few mandatory shots. Just needs updated a bit..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Can't wait to get into the woods

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of variety in the types of holes and the throws you need to use
Some fun elevation changes
Doubles as a good nature hike
Cons: Can get swampy about every and just plain dangerous on the hills following a lot of rain
They are doing some renovating so it was at times confusing to navigate
The wooded holes could use some mowing and clearing
Open holes are kinda ho hum
Other Thoughts: The Cincinnati area is loaded with great courses so I would imagine that this course gets overlooked. It's a shame because it's a nice course. If I lived in the area I would have no problem with this as my home course and venturing out to the Mt. Airys, Idlewilds and the Lincoln Ridges when I had the time.

The first few holes to honest were a little boring but I knew I would going into the woods soon which is the strong point of this place. Just view them as the warm up holes. Then the fun starts....

Once you get into the woods you have hills, terrain and water to deal with. It's a nature course, it's rugged and will wear you out. Very high fun factor Excellent course layout in here but it can be confusing. I'm willing to hold off judgement on this until the are finished with their course makeover.

It's been raining nonstop here in Ohio for over a month, almost everywhere was swampy. The fairways in the wooded holes badly needed mowing and clearing but I'm sure the rain had a lot to do with why they have been neglected so again, I'm holding off judgement. There are some steep hills in here and when they get muddy it becomes dangerous. I had a horrible time climbing down hole 14. Sharp angled hill slick with mud. Again, no ones fault but I thought I'd warn ya. Just be careful.

I enjoyed this course, wouldn't mind hitting it up again after renovating is finished and giving it a chance to dry up. Check it out if your a local but I wouldn't put it on any road trip lists. Too many over great places in the Cincinnati area


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/19/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Clean and safe feeling park. Nice variety of holes and challenges. Had the course to myself the day I was there.
Cons: Once you get into the woods it gets confusing. I had to walk back and forth to figure out which basket to throw at. The next tee pad was also hard to find in there. There is also some loose brush that I hope has been cleaned up.
Other Thoughts: The course starts out with wide open drives. I had the feeling of "I can't wait to get in the woods." Once in the woods the challenges can begin. There is a nice downhill throw in the woods with a river in the background, but it is quite a workout to get up there. There is room for fairly easy improvements. If you are nearby check it out but it isn't a destination course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Poor Rating and very difficult course

1    5/16/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: Phillip and Steve
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many holes that are easy to find and play
Cons: Difficult to find some of the holes that are in the woods on the hills and too many hills and problems with the river so close to many of the holes
Other Thoughts: Someone needs to redesign this course in order to decrease some of the problems finding and getting to the holes. I dont know what they were thinking when they put the holes in the ground here. Completely dis-satisfied with this course. (in the woods)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress as of 4/11/09

1    4/11/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has decent challenges and great scenery. Once you get into the woods holes (7 and beyond), the course improves tremendously. Also, two signature holes really impressed me. I cannot remember their numbers (and they may change anyway because the holes are being re-designed). One of these holes ends with the pin on top of a hill, with dramatic, panoramic views of a valley stretching out in the distance. The other is a short (175 ft.?) hole that rolls straight down a steep incline. A river runs about 40 ft. past the hole, and you have a great view of that as you tee off.
Cons: The first six holes are boring. They are straight across a field, about 190 - 230 ft. each, with no real obstacles.

Also, the course in currently being rearranged, so the flow is confusing. Many holes have two numbers on them: an old blue and yellow wooden number, and a new plastic tee sign which shows the hole's layout and distance. Once all of the holes are finalized with the new tee signs, the confusion shouldn't be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth a visit, even if it's confusing at the moment. Just wander around and play as many holes as you can find (it's really not THAT difficult, just not as easy as navigating your familiar home course).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.