Williamsburg, OH 
Williamsburg Community Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #17 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 221ft.   3 / 221ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good teaching course

5+    8/29/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: Armus Patheticus
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent shot variety
-Good course progression
-Recently improved tees
Cons: -More or less permanent swamp on holes 1, 7.
-Confusing/contradictory/missing signs
-Bland finishing holes
Other Thoughts: This is a valuable course. The (mostly) short holes make it immediately accessible to new players, while the variety of shot shapes mean that more and more birdies will be unlocked as a player progresses. The wooded holes are a good introduction to fairway play, and in the case of 8 and 10, offer good lessons on risk/reward. After playing here probably 50 rounds, I still find the course engaging, and as a beginner it has done much to improve my play.

A few thoughts on the holes:
-1-4 are mostly unobstructed. This part of course looks boring, but the wind and elevation and length variety make these fun holes and a good warm-up. 4 is surely the easiest and most boring hole on the course, but I still somehow miss the birdie very often.
-5 is short and simple, but deceptively difficult for newer players. A great hole for learning a low, straight/turnover approach.
-7 is long, low, and usually wet. The fairway would be wide enough to tempt some rollers if it weren't for the ponded water. As it is, it's best attacked with anything straight off the tee and a sidearm approach. A 3 here is a great score.
-8 If you're unfamiliar with the conditions, it's worth checking the level of the water before driving. If the river to the right or small creek crossing the fairway are very high, a layup may be wise.
-10 is a great hole. Kicking left shoots your disc into a deep, steep gulley, and all the trees on this hole kick left. There's a great birdie line in there though... have fun finding it!
-11 I still have no idea how to 2 this hole. A sharp left turn and guarded, downhill approach/putt makes this an awfully tough 260-footer
-12 another example of a super-short hole that isn't a gimme.
-Played toward sunset, 13 and 14 are the most attractive holes on the course, in my opinion.
-15-17 are good birdie opportunities, all with very different shapes. It's nice to have these toward the end of the course to keep the hope of a good round alive.
But, after 17, I feel like the round is over. Sure there are guys who can birdie 18 and 19, but very few of them play here. For everyone else, these will be at best boring threes and impossible (barring a throw-in) twos. I think the hole stats on this site would back me up here. I don't know if anything can be done to spice up hole 19 especially, but for now, it just feels like something to do on your walk back to the car.

As usual, I haven't got anything much to say about amenities, as I don't go outside for amenities. As far as it affects play, everything is more than adequate, and the new turf tees are an improvement over (literally!) the rubber ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Looking Better

5+    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: alex513ninja
Played: 102  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's looking the best it has in a while. With an upcoming tournament, the locals have taken upon themselves to clean it up. Holes 7, 8, 16 & 17 have had a lot of the weeds cleared out. Weed eating has been done around baskets and also the fairways in the woods holes have been cleared. Although not a nuisance on those holes it makes the course look prettier. Pretty dry overall with just one puddle in 7 fairway to speak of. Dead trees removed in spots.
Cons: Although weeds have been cleared in spots, you can put one in the nasty stuff if you grip-lock your shot or get an unlucky bounce off a tree. If you make it into the tall stuff hopefully you are wearing pants or have skin of steel. Some people say they're nettles and some call the stuff stingweed, either way look out for the stuff because the stems are lined with stingers that leave skin burning and itchy for a few minutes after contact.
Other Thoughts: If you have been hesitant to play this course due to the upkeep, reviews or past bad experiences, now is the time to play the course. Also if you have a machete, you might want to carry it. I carry one on this course and have not had an issue with the nettles/stingweed when wearing shorts. Also the baskets on holes 1-6 and 18 are a little shoddy, putt gently or prepare to be angry, discs commonly go through the chains on these holes, however I view that as extra challenge on holes 1-4 as they are pretty easy wide open holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a play

1    2/20/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woods holes are fair, never really felt like I was in a "spray and pray" situation. Many fun shots can be had here and I found the river running along several holes to only add to the nice scenery. It is possible to put it in the river, but it would take a pretty errant shot. When played the river seemed low, so this could change based on how deep it is running, not sure. Nonetheless, the only situation I can really see a disc hitting the river is an overthrow on an approach shot. Play cautious and you shouldn't have problems. Some holes have a creek in play but, again, adds to the scenery and challenge, shouldn't really be a disc loser if you throw it in. 14 and the steep downhill throw (16) were my favorite holes.

The new signage, which is on the majority of the tees, is really impressive. Good diagrams, hole length, elevation change, and look to be quite durable. If the course continues to improve and works on some of the cons below I could give this course a 3.5.

If you are a local or in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky region it is certainly worth the short drive to try it out.
Cons: A couple of the holes are difficult to find and only sometimes is the way to the next tee marked with a sign. Most holes have the newer signage mentioned above, but they lack pointers to the next tee direction. Some holes do not have these nice signs, the posts merely have a number and look like holdovers from before the upgrades. The numbers do not always match, for example one hole said "10" in the old signage on the post but the newer hole diagram on the top said it was 12. Many of the woods holes lack tee pads and can be quite muddy and slick. Looks like the course is still being remodeled so I am giving them the benefit of the doubt on these.

As others have said, the beginning of the course is pretty ho-hum. One isn't so bad thanks to a guarded basket, but things don't pick up from there until 5. After that the course is quite pleasant. The course favors straight and right-to-left shots, not quite the amount of variety I would like.
Other Thoughts: Two holes, 9 and 20, are marked as "9L" and "20L" on the new signage. Not sure if this stands for lower meaning there are alternate tee pads, but I could not see any.

Course is in a nice park, seems safe and has a basketball court, walking trails, baseball field, playground, volleyball court, and open field to mess around in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Can't wait to get into the woods

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 152  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of variety in the types of holes and the throws you need to use
Some fun elevation changes
Doubles as a good nature hike
Cons: Can get swampy about every and just plain dangerous on the hills following a lot of rain
They are doing some renovating so it was at times confusing to navigate
The wooded holes could use some mowing and clearing
Open holes are kinda ho hum
Other Thoughts: The Cincinnati area is loaded with great courses so I would imagine that this course gets overlooked. It's a shame because it's a nice course. If I lived in the area I would have no problem with this as my home course and venturing out to the Mt. Airys, Idlewilds and the Lincoln Ridges when I had the time.

The first few holes to honest were a little boring but I knew I would going into the woods soon which is the strong point of this place. Just view them as the warm up holes. Then the fun starts....

Once you get into the woods you have hills, terrain and water to deal with. It's a nature course, it's rugged and will wear you out. Very high fun factor Excellent course layout in here but it can be confusing. I'm willing to hold off judgement on this until the are finished with their course makeover.

It's been raining nonstop here in Ohio for over a month, almost everywhere was swampy. The fairways in the wooded holes badly needed mowing and clearing but I'm sure the rain had a lot to do with why they have been neglected so again, I'm holding off judgement. There are some steep hills in here and when they get muddy it becomes dangerous. I had a horrible time climbing down hole 14. Sharp angled hill slick with mud. Again, no ones fault but I thought I'd warn ya. Just be careful.

I enjoyed this course, wouldn't mind hitting it up again after renovating is finished and giving it a chance to dry up. Check it out if your a local but I wouldn't put it on any road trip lists. Too many over great places in the Cincinnati area


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center